Sand Flags

Submitted: Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 17:33
ThreadID: 71927 Views:4222 Replies:6 FollowUps:16

Is there set dimensions, colour and material that a sand flag has to be made out of? I've heard they have to be 2.5m high but I'm unsure of flag specifications.

Cheers Mike

Reply By: RobAck - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 17:38

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 17:38
If you are looking for a standard then there is none. But the mining companies have created a defacto one which is 2.5m high and around 300x300 orange flag and I note that some are now coming with reflective tape as well.

You need to have the flag visible well above roof height to compensate for coming up a steep dune and to allow the flag to be seen around 2-3 vehicle lengths before the top so the oncoming vehicle can safely stop. Or that's the idea anyway. Flags should be mounted as far forward on the vehicle as possible and in my line of work no further back than the rear of the cab on a ute

RobA
AnswerID: 381297

Follow Up By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 18:47

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 18:47
Thanks RobA,

I have 2 of the Mining flags (no poles as yet)and was just checking to ensure legally i was covered. Good to see common sense is in practise

Cheers Mike
FollowupID: 648736

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:45

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:45
Mining vehicles aren't usually going over sanddunes on single lane tracks - thats why they are only 2.5M high.
For 4wders it better to aim for 3.6 metres off the ground and like Rob says, best at the front of the vehicle to help prevent head-ons on the top of dunes.
Orange flag stands out well against a blue sky background.
FollowupID: 648774

Follow Up By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:59

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:59
Hi Phil G,

Thanks for the feedback. It all sounds like comon sense to me.

Cheers Mike
FollowupID: 648776

Reply By: Member - Jeff O (VIC) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 18:52

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 18:52
This site has a sandflag for sale in their online shop.
I have the bolt on kit and it is great
jeff.o

AnswerID: 381314

Follow Up By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:45

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:45
Thanks Jeff

will check them out.

Regards Mike
FollowupID: 648754

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:31

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:31
I made my own, sits on a fibreglass rod, about 2m above the roof rack. Couldnt decide what shape to make the flying end of the flag so I used what first came to mind.

Neat hey!

AnswerID: 381324

Follow Up By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:43

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 19:43
Hi Bonz

The main aim of the sand flag is to let the oncoming 4x4's know your there. If I saw that magnificent flag poking it err 'head" over the top of a dune, It'd certainly catch my eye.

Congrats on what surely is a modern marvel of engineering.

Cheers Mike
FollowupID: 648752

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:39

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:39
Bonz,
Here's some campfire tools to go with the flag:
FollowupID: 648772

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:40

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:40
hahah oh my

FollowupID: 648773

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 08:52

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 08:52
Eye-catching Phil. I guess you have those for every camp fire trip. LOL
FollowupID: 648848

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 17:29

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 17:29
Never seen Bonz blush before!

John, have you got a birthday coming up? :-))) Actually a friend sent me the photo - haven't seen them in real life yet!
FollowupID: 648944

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 18:49

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 18:49
Phil, I don't have one coming up for a few months yet - indeed, not until next year. May have to find an excuse to head to the Eyre Peninsula even before Heather's. I happen to be to take her to a dinner the Saturday night of the EO weekend and won't be at the Pyrenees which is unfortunate. Do you think a pair like that would be a good pressie for her?
FollowupID: 648970

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 18:51

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 18:51
Phil,

I have been hunting the internet all day trying to find where to get some of those and as yet haven't found anything LOL

I reckon they would be a great talking point around the campfire.

FollowupID: 648971

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 23:15

Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 23:15
Mike,

anything that assists in alerting others to the presence off your vehicle is an advantage t5o safety. There are no specific standards. My most improptu sandflag was a telescoping fishing rod with a pair of red jocks at full mast, attached to the roofrack (Canning 2006). Drew a few comments but did the job. Jocks were salvageable after the trip!

Have used a tea towel on the UHF whip areal and these days use a 3.2 metre, purpose made mining flag I scored in an interesting card game in Wedgefield in 2007. Alls fair as far as outback safety is concerned.

Cheers. Mick

AnswerID: 381375

Follow Up By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 08:35

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 08:35
Hi Mick,

Thanks for the feedback, was concidering an old 3 piece surf rod that I have Its about the right length and Ive got the correct flag (flouro orange etc)

Cheers Mike
FollowupID: 648846

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 08:55

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 08:55
Mike, I reckon the jocks or a g-string may be seen earlier than some of the other flags I have seen.
FollowupID: 648849

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 10:14

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 10:14
There was a plumber on the central coast that used a Working girls crutchless g string for a saftey flag on his pipe work around town!!!!
FollowupID: 648857

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 10:23

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 10:23
Christopher, not the sort of thing I would recognise, me thinks. Was there enough material to see?
FollowupID: 648858

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 17:47

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 17:47
I'll tell you now, you couldn't miss it if you tried and if you did then the bright red lace would attrach anyone's attention!!! made the radio station and all on the coast
FollowupID: 648953

Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 21:59

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 21:59
When I did a solo Simpson crossing back in 06 I had a very thorough list of what I needed to take........got to the start of the Simpson (west side) and realised I'd forgotton the flag. Duh!!!!

So I grabbed a tent pole and searched thru my bag for red jocks (got a luv them 7 days in Rio packs) and tapped it all to the bullbar. Have a look at my picture below.

Not ideal but I didn't have any close encounters ;)) and it cost me 1m of 100mph tape.

AnswerID: 381533

Reply By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 22:21

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 22:21

Thanks for all your advice, Its good to see PC hasnt fully taken over the world and there is still a bit of larikin in people.

Cheers Mike
AnswerID: 381538