Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 05:29
[quote]Everyone knows drinking can lead to drink driving so it is premeditated. You willingly drink, willingly get in your car and willingly drive home drunk. I could choose not to pick up the gun, you could choose not to pick up the keys. Being drunk is not an excuse.[/quote]
Flawed thinking - been guilty of it myself (the flawed thinking).
Where to start?
It all seems so simple doesn't it?
But your wrong - I know this thru life experience. At say 17 years of age - the son of an alcoholic - I thought the same way. My dads a drunk - he chooses to drink, and he then gets drunk and embarrasses the whole family in public.
Never saw or spoke to my ol man from 17 till I was 28...bout 11 years - easier to leave home and start a new life away from his problem.
OK
Then the ol bugga got sober after being given 6 weeks to live (advanced liver failure).
He stayed sober another 20 odd years and even gave up smokes in that time as
well - but not before throat cancer killed him.
In those 20 years he headed up the AA association in the state - was a
delegate to
Sydney and other states and helped a LOT of alcoholics turn their lives around - as ONLY a reformed alcoholic can do..... he started a business for EG RA Industries - (recovering alcoholics industries) - where they could get work - despite their problem - as LONG as they stayed on the wagon.
So not every "no hoper drunk" will end his years that way - some do turn their lives around with help and become productive members of society again.
Whats the point?
They don't have a choice - they have a disease of the brain. Its called addiction.
They have the same disease of the brain as Drug addicts have. You could "catch this illness / disease", it's dead easey to do.
Heres how you catch this disease!
1. You believe the TV adverts for alcohol - its good for you - makes you relaxed and fun to be around, helps at parties to get everyone happy and gets ugly women laid even.
Miracle juice!
2. Peer pressure, peers already on their own personal journey toward alcoholism encourage you to have a drink - as an excuse so they can have what they crave.
3. As a crutch to relax from the days stress. Just a few beers / drinks each night when you get home to help you relax.
Nuthing in and of itself wrong with that, except
Except when it gets to this point!
Except when you start to drink so much that your liver doesn't expel / process ALL the alcohol in your body in a 24 hour period - before you take your next drink.
That's when the rot starts - loss of liver function - liver disease, slows your body's ability to process alcohol - and before you know it you've entered the downward spiral where theres ALWAYS alcohol in your bloodstream 24 hours a day.
You probably don't drink any more than you did when you were
young, BUT - your now getting older and liver function is down, the alcohol stays in your blood 24 hours a day coz your body can't process it. Now it takes less drinks to get you drunk...because your just "topping up from yesterdays intake" by the time you have your next beer.
Your a cheap drunk - 2 beers and you start to sway - slur your words... for 2 reasons.
1. Your Livers ill - starting the disease of alcoholics called cirrhosis of the liver.
2. You've formed a "chemical" in your brain, that causes dependency - you re now screwed, just like a herion addict, you CAN'T stop - even if you want too - because you have a DISEASE.
Its a curable DISEASE - but not easily curable and not without help (from recovered alcoholics at AA).
So - that "useless drunk" you see weaving everywhere and hitting others head on - has a disease - one that often proves fatal.
Its a disease you catch because the drug that causes it, is socially acceptable, everyone's happier with a drink or two under their belt, the TV adds promoting it tell us so.
What the adds (just like smoking adds of the good ol days) DON'T tell you is that if your not smart (educated) enough to control your alcohol intake - it can lead to cardio vascular disease that will kill you - alcoholic hepatitis that causes liver cirrhosis that will kill you, drunkenness behind a wheel that will kill you (and innocent others), family breakdown, marriage breakdown, loss of job, loss of sexual function, depression, and a whole raft of maladies - you don't want to know about!
But consumption of Alcohol is part of our social fabric - your not a REAL AUSSIE, unless you have a few at the local on the way home from work every day - buy it for others, and everyone drives home a bit wobbly - if you do that your a good bloke.
So - there's peer pressure that some can't handle that leads to alcoholism.
I happen to enjoy a beer - on a hot day 2 but most people (even my alcoholic relative) call me "OBE EE One Can Only" - in the hope I'll one day become a drinking buddy so he can have the excuse to drink more. Likes to tell people I wouldn't shout if a shark bit me.
Had he grown up the child of an alcoholic (actually he did) he might realize WHY I am so careful about alcohol consumption.
As the child of an alcoholic I am genetically predisposed to the disease (as he is).
I love a couple cold beers at the end of a long hot day - some guys use it as a motivation / reward to help them cope with long hard & hot days.
I particularly like a cold beer at the end of a days off-roading, traveling or fishing, while sitting round a
camp fire, and crawl off to the tent to sleep it off.
It's a rare day I'd drink more than 2 beers.
People like him with an obsessive compulsive disorder - who eat too much and drink too much - can't help but become alcoholics eventually specially where thru family history there is a genetic predisposition towards it already.
Anyway - the whole point is that Alcoholism is a disease that's a community concern - and its something that people drift into, a little bit a day, and that insidiously catches up with them eventually - it's mostly fatal, but there are some who beat it and return to society to become positive contributors.
So the drunk you see about to climb behind the wheel - has a disease & it's a disease of addiction just as bad as heroin addiction - it ISN'T something that our kids are
well enough educated about, and it IS something that far too many in our society "catch" thru "trying to be a good Aussie bloke", from peer pressure.
"They should have the smarts not to drive!"
Yeah and Heroin Addicts should have the smarts not to inject themselves too - but we all know that's not going to happen.
Saying it, doesn't make it possible, for the addict!
We as a community should be open about dealing with the problems of alcohol addiction.
We can make all the driving laws you like, it won't stop people becoming alcoholics & driving drunk and killing others.
We need a cultural change in Australia, one that embraces safe consumption of alcohol and that ostracizes those who aren't "safe in their drinking habits".
Instead of such behavior denoting "a good Aussie bloke" it should denote the sort of people we avoid, ostracize and basically don't invite to social functions.
Where in our drink driving laws is compulsory treatment for alcoholism?
It isn't and as long as that's the case we keep missing our chance at early intervention.
Your first drink driving charge should result in loss of license for life, UNTIL you have passed a detox and alcohol addiction treatment program where reformed alcoholics from AA, "vouch for you" in person, in front of a Judge, as someone who's now earned the right to be trusted again with the responsibility of driving a vehicle.
Might seem a bit harsh - but that's the reality if you want to save those innocents that the drunk alcoholics kill every day on our roads!
You want the freedom to be ill with a deadly disease that kills others - then the cost is dead innocents killed by drunks / alcoholics on our roads.
There isn't another way - yet!
Maybe one day technology will prevent people with alcohol in their system from being able to drive a car - but until that day - innocents are going to keep dieing so we can have a nation full of "good Aussie blokes" (at east until they kill someone - then they are just a mongrel).
If they could choose to stop drinking - if they could simply choose not to be drunks - then they would.
The trouble is - once your addicted - you no longer have choice - you have an almost incurable and fatal disease of addiction.
We should feel sorry for people with this disease - BUT we shouldn't afford them the privilege of the right to drive a vehicle & kill our family & kids on the roads.
They can't choose to stop - get it?
My 2c and then some.
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 07:12
Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 07:12
Hi FW.
After working in the Liquor industry during the 70's got to see some very sad sights. Human dignity dissappears when you 'need' that drink, however, also have seen people have a ball after a few drinks. In fact, I recall some of the best and funnies times Ive had, Ive been half 'schickered'.
Its a very wide brush your using.
Back then drink-driving didnt carry the social stigma it does these days....why ?
The media was not the mammoth industry it is now. Internet etc.
The vehicles back then did not have anywhere near the performance they do now.
Dont recall a lot of aggressive people during those days but now.....mix booze with aggression, add a vehicle....look out, here I come.
These current crop of reality tv shows where the camera goes out with coppers for the night, the car chases etc have made the drink driver a bit of a hero.
I also dont recall having a myriad of small social pressure groups trying to force me to live my life their way. Now, the world is full of them. Enough of them and you soon feel the need to kick back and rebell.
Im sure there are many other reasons.
To me, anyway, I reckon the minority aggressive, speeding, accident prone drunks have spoilt it for all us every day tipplers.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 07:24
Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 07:24
Just a quick ps:
The coppers back then had authority. If you did or said anything you could now, you wouldnt go to court for a slap the next day, you'd still be crawling back
home, bruised to hell.
Them were the days.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 07:32
Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 07:32
Good post Flywest.
I also like a couple of drinks with friends, and the great thing about stubbies is that after the first drink I fill it up with
water. Friends are happy because I am still sipping from a stubbie. Yeah, I have been drunk a few times, and drunk driving. Don't want to go there again.
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 07:45
Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 07:45
I hear what you are saying but I don't beleive every drink driver is an alchohlic. I won't catch that decease either as I don't drink at all. The reasons are simple. Why put yourself in that position in the first place. It is your choice to pick up the first drink. It is your choice to pick up the second drink ect. An addict choice to take the first drug. I have worked with both drug addicts and alchoholics doing youth work. These weren't old men either they were 10 - 16 year olds so I do have some expirience with it.
Why does one person drink to much and another not. The points you offered are very real. Tv ads have a lot to answer for in social behaviour. But we all have a free will and choose to drink or not. I agree until the sentencing gets real about drink driving it won't change.
Thanks for your reply Flywest I do understand where you are coming from and appreciate your comments. Our society does let these people down with lack of help. I don't believe all drink drivers are alcholics though and we all do have a choice albeit some choices are made harder by your up bringing. Having seen the effects of drinking why drink at all and risk it. I have copped heaps over the years for not drinking but other people opinions don't bother me. I didn't won't this to be a bash the drinkers thread. Just get people too think a bit about their actions and the consequences.
Josh
Follow Up By: Traveller - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 08:11
Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 08:11
Flywest, have you ever considered going into politics? :-)
Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 10:23
Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 10:23
What has this got to do with the original posting.
Not everyone is addicted to alcohol who has a collision after drinking....most people that crash after drinking have just had the "odd few" so there is no need to give us your feelings...your ARE NOT an expert.
...and sorry Flywest, I don't need to read your family problems, or your rants about alcoholism.