What next??????????????

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 00:50
ThreadID: 71997 Views:5546 Replies:24 FollowUps:49
Hi all, at times I shake my head at bureaucracy but today I was just astounded, went to a battery place to get a new deep cycle battery, ordinarily when we get a new battery the guy usually replaces the old for the new, we pay and we are on our way, all good and normal you say!well things have changed, today's scenario went something like this, "hi would like a new deep cycle battery" .... "Yep we've got one of those for you, I will take it out to your vehicle but I can't change it for you" ....."Uh why?" and here is the explanation:
Now this guy has been selling and changing batteries since 1973, that is 36 years in his business, a couple of weeks ago an Inspector from some Government Dept called to his workplace and advised him he is not qualified to change batteries as he hadn't done a "course on battery changing", 8hr course $70 to the Gov. He can sell the battery to the customer and if the customer wants it changed there and then he can direct the customer as to how to change it but he can't do it himself as he doesn't have that certificate to say that he is qualified. I believe this is only a WA thing, has anyone else come across it before? it must be a fairly new ruling, I guess the coffers have to get money somehow. I'm still shaking my head, can't believe it.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

Reply By: Tessysdad - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 01:02

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 01:02
Sounds like they have been caught up in some new legislation which has been put into place to further promote the "nanny state". Apparently businesses and people who engage in repairs or servicing of vehicles now need to have a licence. I am sure it will be of great benefit to all of us. I do love being a skeptic and our governments seem to know it as they keep finding bigger and better ways of validating my skepticism.
Happy travelling,
Mike.
AnswerID: 381714

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 01:16

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 01:16
"I am sure it will be of great benefit to all of us."

I'm sure you are right but I can't see how having to put your own battery in (which is no big deal) is of benefit, it's another case of service to the customer depleting even further, not being the fault of the busines or it's workers this time.

Deanna

FollowupID: 649269

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 07:28

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 07:28
Dunworkin

I can see your point about the level of service dropping, and I'm not sure about the new legislation, but having worked in the parts & service game for 15 years, if a customer comes in to buy parts, we have never been allowed to fit it for them, or even give instructions. Reason being if something does go wrong, we would be held liable.
One of my workmates put an oil cap on a customers car once. ( there wasn't one there at the time and oil had been spurting all over the engine bay) Two days later the guy comes back yelling and screeming that we did something wrong and caused an engine fire which destroyed the car. This is the sought of thing you need to be weary of.
My personal opinion is that if you buy something over the counter, you should be able to fit it yourself, not expect it to be fitted for free. If you don't know how to do it, take the car ( TV/Fridge/Mower) to a service dept. and pay for the job.

Donks1
FollowupID: 649277

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:30

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:30
Interesting you should say that Donks1, because that is exactly what I understood most auto-battery shops to be: service shops, generally staffed by qualified auto-electricians (not just sales people). Yes, technically you pay the money over a counter, but you are usually paying for a service of having that battery fitted (very few people would buy a battery and not have it fitted there & then). It's similar to when you buy tyres for your rig - you pay the money over the counter, but unless you ask specifically, they'll assume you want them fitted (& balanced) and include that in the price.

As typical for this sort of bureaucracy though, the alternative is far more dangerous than the "problem" (if there was any) that it is intended to solve - consider the implications of driving home with an unrestrained wet-cell battery in the back of your car because you didn't expect to need spanners to fit the battery yourself...
FollowupID: 649305

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:05

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:05
G'day Timbo

Yes most are licenced, but not all. It comes down to a liability / insurance issue.
My local Battery World does full electrical work aswell. eg. dual batt setup.
But has clearly on the wall all the MTA certificates and his licence.
I notice that Supercrap now advertises they will fit any part that you purchase. I had a good laugh at a " sales man" ( check out chick ) trying to fit a towbar and bike rack to a new Disco in the carpark a few months ago. It wasn't going well. Their insurance must be through the roof, as the store in the midle of a large complex.

Donks1
FollowupID: 649317

Follow Up By: Tessysdad - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:21

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:21
I was being cynical.

Timbo and Donks1, yes there will always be rogues out there but it does seem a bit silly where in the original post we have the situation where someone has obviously been doing something successfully for 30 years or so and all of a sudden needs to justify their position. Apparently there are quite a few things that need to be ironed out with the implementation of the legislation, from what I gleaned from the fellow from Consumer Protection being interviewed on radio the other day. They always seem to go about these things like a bloke cracking peanuts with a sledge hammer. If they are going to charge a licence fee to administer these things then they should do a good job of it and make suitable enquiries about the business they are about to treat like its been around for a couple of minutes or so. I am not a business person but I can see how certain ways of implementing things would not go down too well.

Happy camping,
Mike.
FollowupID: 649319

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 21:38

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 21:38
"My personal opinion is that if you buy something over the counter, you should be able to fit it yourself, not expect it to be fitted for free."

Hi Donks, that reallly wasn't my point, I was taught to change a battery when I was still at primary school, and the last thing we do is chase 'freebies' (sometimes they can become more expensive) this guy has always changed our batteries over whenever we have bought a new one, (which is quite often considering the whole family buys their batteries from him) could be his 'good service' that gets us to go back LOL I understand where you are coming from as far as buying a part over the counter and not being able to put it on, not everyone is a mechanic, I guess it is an age thing, coming from an era where some things like changing batteries over has been automatic since I left the farm.

FollowupID: 649415

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 21:40

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 21:40
OOPs hit the wrong button before signing off.

Deanna

FollowupID: 649416

Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 01:02

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 01:02
Could have had a smart arse of an inspector. There again these so called safety boys or what ever they call them have gone overboard!! Theory boys and nothing else.
The rig

AnswerID: 381715

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 01:11

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 01:11
"Could have had a smart arse of an inspector"

Yes, that had crossed my mind too (or at least something similar)ha ha, it's most likely some public servant trying to justify their position in the workplace.LOL

Deanna

FollowupID: 649268

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 06:22

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 06:22
Hi Dunworkin,
Looks like WA is catching up with NSW when it comes to the Nanny State.
I went to have the High preasure power steering hose replaced, the Hydraulic specialist told me I would have to pull the old one out and fit the new one, because their not a licensed work shop. Not that I had a problem with doing the work my self.
As a Licensed carpenter, I cant take the roof sheets off to install a Flue or a sky light because I'm not a licensed roof plumber. once the sheeting is removed I can install the Flu or sky light. Here you have an other one, As a Carpenter, I can only pour concrete blob/pad & strip footings, I can even setup for and erect form work for suspended slabs, but I not allowed to pour Slabs, or foot paths. Yet a licensed Landscaper can pour Slabs no matter how big.

You watch, soon when you go to get your tyres repaired/replaced, there will be a bloke that takes the wheel off the car, gives it another bloke that fixes the puncher, replaces the tube, balances it and gives it back the the first bloke to put it back on the car.
All because one bloke is not a licensed mechanic.

The world is getting sillier and sillier. :(

AnswerID: 381718

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 07:00

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 07:00
Geez Jon

We have to do a J S A (Job Saftey Analysis Report) even when we go on site to change a Tap Washer on a Government Building, or if I bring another Subbie on site I have to put them through a Saftey Indoctrination, and if these Documents don't go in with your Invoices you don't get paid, oh well, they are paying for all this, the Charge Meter is constantly ticking over, money is nothing to these departments.
FollowupID: 649275

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 07:30

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 07:30
Spot on Hairs

Donks1
FollowupID: 649278

Follow Up By: Ray - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 08:27

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 08:27
I've been retired now for ten+ years and had been in the mining and construction business most of my working life.
I was construction supervisor on one job and this "safety officer" came on site and asked me to fill in one of those J.S.A. thingies. After I read through it I handed it back to him not filled in and politely told him that by filling it in he would know what it has taken me thirty years to learn. I was never bothered with J.S.As again.
FollowupID: 649286

Follow Up By: landseka - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:27

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:27
It's a shame they didn't have those things 40 years ago Ray, you could have read one and saved yourself heaps of time...

Ha ha, sorry Ray, I couldn't resist.

Neil
FollowupID: 649303

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 07:03

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 07:03
Dunworkin

You know the scary part,.......... the inspector did not know how dumb he sounded making the statement. Otherwise he would have just left it alone.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 381720

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:38

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:38
I hope he gets a fully qualified technician to change the batteries in his TV remote
FollowupID: 649307

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:08

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:08
Wim, ha ha wished I was a fly on the wall at the time.

Deanna

FollowupID: 649423

Reply By: Member - William H (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 08:45

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 08:45
Morning all
same thing happen to me yesterday in Bunbury......i then said when will you get a fork lift to lift it in.....it could be to heavy for you to lift,took the battery home and put it in myself,then went back and got them to check it and to see if all was ok.
All this crap is designed to keep some lazy fat goverment fool employed,the bum should resign and join "EO" and go for a holiday in this great country.

Cheers for now...William.H...Bunbury...WA.
AnswerID: 381723

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 08:58

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 08:58
We went past some roadworks the other day and while we were passing the guy with the stop/go lollystick, we noticed on his vehicle 'Traffic Technologist'.

My wife asked me ' how many hours of study to achieve that title'?

I guess it was another course they have to do. I wonder if it included a reading course to make sure he had the right wording facing the right way.

On another note, when I was doing 4WD tours, I didn't have to do a 4WD course to drive an OKA with 12 people, or 4WD 24 seat Hino, but I had to do a 2 day 4WD course if I had to drive a Toyota/Nissan with one or two people in.
The bigger vehicles were considered to be a bus, so a different category for the authorisation. And that didn't include a 4WD course.

Go figure that one. Talk about bureaucracy gone loopy.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 381724

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 09:01

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 09:01
""to make sure he had the right wording facing the right way."" LOLOL
FollowupID: 649291

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 08:30

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 08:30
Goes to show your ignorance , the sign on the vehicle states the company name ,Traffic Technologies " and if you have ever read the manual for uniform traffic control you would know the amount of training that is involved by law before you become a "lollystick" operator.
FollowupID: 649464

Reply By: Wherehegon - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 08:59

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 08:59
Same with Bunnings (hardware) if you ask some thing in there electrical department they dont want to tell you anything bar whats written on the box as they might get in trouble, then they tell you everything must be done by a qualified sparky (fair enough) then it says on the back of the packet how to wire it up anyway. Place is going nuts, now thay want to hold the school teachers responsible for the school selling drinks like red bull etc to the kids !!! wtf, they will buy from local servo and take it to school anyway, maybe they should think about leaving the teachers to do what they are meant to do and that is teach the kids not be security guards.............Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 381725

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:46

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:46
Steve, it works both ways to a degree - in my last few years of schooling/uni-ing, teaschers/lecturers were beginning to like the expression "Facilitator of Learning" meaning that they don't have to teach anymore, they just provide an environment that is conducive to letting the students learn what they want to learn (& when they want to learn it). If the teacher is not teaching but just encouraging an 'environment for learning', essentially they have reduced themselves merely to security guards (or childcarers), and IMHO, should be remunerated accordingly.
FollowupID: 649311

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:47

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:47
Oops, should read: teachers, not teaschers!
FollowupID: 649312

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 13:02

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 13:02
Hi Steve,
Re Bunnings and electrical advice, if someone has to ask how to wire an electrical device, it would appear that perhaps their knowledge of things electrical is not enough to tackle the job to start with, and they could be a menace to themselves, disregarding the qualified sparky issue.
And Bunnings are covering their @rse, legally.
rgds
Gerry
FollowupID: 649330

Follow Up By: Bill Streater Contracting - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:37

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:37

Unfortunately stores like Bunnings etc are allowed to sell power points, lights and the cable etc even though it is illegal for anyone except a qualified electrician to install these items.

The reason i heard a few years ago is it is allowable under the Fair Trade Practices act. That is why they display signage telling you the items must be installed by a qualified person.

SB
FollowupID: 649391

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 09:04

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 09:04
NNNNooooo! Don't tell him that.... then he will travelling the road telling all the grey nomads they are breaking all the rules by putting their own awning up and down by standing on a stool instead of having a government cetrified, annnually inspected, tagged and labelled by a qualified inspector, AUS Standards approved, step ladder manufactured in China... LOL... (:
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 381727

Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 09:06

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 09:06
Sorry, should have posted it as a follow up to reply 5 of 8
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

FollowupID: 649292

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 17:37

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 17:37
HAHAHA....Fred.

As a painter, I was informed by one of those safety mobs, that I couldnt sit on a milk crate while painting skirtings. I had to use an approved adjustable castored stool.

Couple of wayward flicks of the brush soon had them off running to mummy...lol.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 649378

Reply By: Ian & Sue - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 09:20

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 09:20
Its all about protecting "yourself" from potential litigation!

When things go wrong the first thing people think of is how much can I get out of this - who can I blame. Unfortuntely its gone right over the top so that you can hardly move these days.
AnswerID: 381729

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:51

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:51
Interestingly, I've heard some say that was one of the things that brought down the roman empire - eventually it was so strangled by petty legislation and regulations that it was strangled. It either becomes so difficult to do simple tasks, or else it becomes too costly to comply with all the paperwork/procedures involved in doing that simple task.
FollowupID: 649313

Reply By: warfer69 - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 09:31

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 09:31
The law wouldn't have been passed by the MP that was hiking up the mountain the other day by any chance ???? (sorry couldn't help myself)
AnswerID: 381732

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:21

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:21
Ha ha ha ha Like it

Deanna

FollowupID: 649427

Reply By: Robnicko - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 09:59

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 09:59
next we will have to be licenced to put petrol in our cars. Surely there is mor risk in that then charging a battery!
GFC=less revenue via taxes so make up new taxes...thats all it is
AnswerID: 381736

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:12

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:12
. . . are you suggesting that decisions, on what to regulate, are based on logic ????
FollowupID: 649384

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:31

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:31
Mike,
I just mean't that the public are getting more and more sick of being regulated.

Have a good one!

Rob
FollowupID: 649389

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 10:03

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 10:03
As ridiculous as the situation is, it would most likely have been brought in because there has been accidents/incidents caused by incompedant installers then unfortunately the governing body has to come up with a set of rules to stop it happening again. Downside is the experienced guy who's never had a problem gets lumped with regulation/training/licencing he doesn't want or need.
You may think that is over the top doing an 8 hour course for a relatively simple job but you should see what paper work & training we have to do in the power industry. My record is 25 forms to fill out for a 2 hour job with 4 men onsite. Often they finish the jobs before I can write it all out. Lucky I get paid per hour.
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 381738

Reply By: Member - Kevin B1 (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 10:21

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 10:21
WA has just introduced a licence system for mechanics from 1July I believe and guess it has something to do with that. As a retired mechanic I personally agree with licensing and feel it will be good for the industry. However sounds like as usual they have gone to the extreme. Even as a qualified mechanic I can no longer charge for any work unless I obtain a licence.
AnswerID: 381741

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:41

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:41
Hi Kevin B1, we were also told that the Mechanics are going to have to do the course as well, the problem is that changing a battery goes under the Auto Sparkies licence so unless you have an ASL you are going to need to do an eight hour course to learn to change a battery that I use to do when I was still in single figures age wise.

Deanna

FollowupID: 649322

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:47

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:47
2 sides to that - it protects the industry

hairdressers of all things need to be registered and it is strictly policed

without it anyone that can click scissors can cut hair lowering wages and conditions even further
FollowupID: 649324

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 21:48

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 21:48
Hi getaboutmore, I think the hairdressers regulations have eased a little in recent years, or at least since I had anything to do with it.

Deanna

FollowupID: 649418

Reply By: Nargun51 - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 10:25

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 10:25
Did the retailer give any indication of what the regulation was?

Is there a regulation that specifically deals with this? One thing I do know is that Australian Governments are very good at putting regulations on line. It may be my lack of Google skills, but I couldn’t find anything relating to this

The best thing that I could come up with was dangerous goods (lead, acid, plastics etc) and the management and disposal thereof.

One would like to think that people involved in the management of this should have an indication of what to do and it does help prosecution of any major breaches of these laws should they occur.

Of course, he may just be using this as an excuse so he doesn’t have to worry about disposing of the batteries properly, covering his posterior if he manages to fritz a couple of thousand dollars of ECU or increasing his insurance premiums by offering this service.

It’s easy for him to blame the government (if that is the reason)

He was unwilling to pay $70 (tax deductable) and 8 hours to provide a proper service for his customers

AnswerID: 381742

Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 10:35

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 10:35
Iff and when you find the regulation for this crap put it on line here so we can see it...should be good reading.
FollowupID: 649299

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:56

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 11:56
"He was unwilling to pay $70 (tax deductable) and 8 hours to provide a proper service for his customers"

Very good point Nargun - even if it seems like a pointless exercise, it's a relatively smaller cost for him to be able to maintain some customer service.
FollowupID: 649314

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:15

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:15
"he may just be using this as an excuse so he doesn’t have to worry about disposing of the batteries properly,"

The local scrap dealer will pay cash for old batteries.
FollowupID: 649387

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:06

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:06
Hi Nargun51, it's apparently because changing the battery comes under the Auto Sparkies ticket and unless you have that ticket you need to do the course. It doesn't stop there for him, the trucks companies use to transport batteries from business to business is not to be parked anywhere near a shopping centre or residential place so if a battery business is in/ near a shopping centre they have to park down the street somewhere not near houses, I'm glad I'm not delivering batteries in my retirement, lol.

"He was unwilling to pay $70 (tax deductable) and 8 hours to provide a proper service for his customers "

I'm not sure that he is not willing to do the course, just that he hasn't done it to this point (He was only approached a week or so ago) and until he does he has not got the 'qualifications' to change the batteries which he has been doing since 1973.

"Of course, he may just be using this as an excuse so he doesn’t have to worry about disposing of the batteries properly, covering his posterior if he manages to fritz a couple of thousand dollars of ECU or increasing his insurance premiums by offering this service."

No that is not it, there is a sign up on the wall inside from the appropriate department advising customers accordingly and as Mike DID stated there is money in old batteries, I'm sure he has someone to sell them too.

Deanna

FollowupID: 649422

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 10:34

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 10:34
I remember a few years back when a car rally course was being prepared in SW WA state forests. A Conservation and Land Management guy was insisting that anyone who used a chainsaw to clear the track in their forest had to have the required certificate to operate a chainsaw and to wear all the prescribed protective overalls, boots, etc. And he was there following them to make sure the rules were adhered to!
How many members on this forum have a chainsaw operator's certificate when they find a track blocked by fallen trees?

Also, on another story, tho it's been years since I have ridden a motor bike, I was amazed when, leaving work, I found I had a flat tyre on the front of my bike. Right next door was a tyre place, so, easy, I thought, take it in there and get it fixed on the spot. No chance, mate, I was told - it must be done by a bike mechanic. Something to do with brakes, etc. Ok, I said, I'll take the wheel off myself and re-fit it after you've fixed it. Nope! not allowed. So I got them to pump up the tyre, (they were allowed to do that) and it just got me home. Then I took the wheel off and drove down to a bke place, where they fixed it at mechanic's rates, then I took it home and re-fitted it. Go figure!
Gerry

AnswerID: 381745

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:04

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:04
"How many members on this forum have a chainsaw operator's certificate when they find a track blocked by fallen trees?"
I do along with 15 others in our 4x4 club after the training in a few weeks time. Some instruction in what's arguably the most dangerous hand tool made never goes astray.
Cheers Craig...............

FollowupID: 649316

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:53

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:53
So's lawnmowing, using a power saw, a router, a grinder, etc. But most people get by with common sense. No certificate required for them even tho they're quite dangerous tools to use.
Agreed, training never goes astray, but as I said, there's no substitute for common sense.
FollowupID: 649325

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 13:16

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 13:16
I see that the safe opperation of some tools can be explained simply with a manual or a demonstration. Chainsaws on the other hand are little more complicated & the consequences should there be an accident are conciderable.
After doing the course I understand how close to chopping my leg off I've come in the past. Common sense can't teach you technique.
Cheers Craig........
FollowupID: 649337

Follow Up By: ob - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 15:13

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 15:13
No you're right and technique can't teach you common sense

Cheers ob
FollowupID: 649355

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:19

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:19
Chain saws are very dangerous things but with the safety features of today are no where near as dangerous as the power saw and bench saws that I used when going through my teens, not in one off situations but all day 6 days a week, it was a firewood business that my parents had to bring in money to clear the farm back in the sixties, no tickets or training in those days, my parents and my sister were the team and we did it for about 8 years with only one incident. Hubby and I have a chain saw and armed with a permit go and get our firewood for the winter each year, I hope that common sense will help us through our load of wood each year.

Deanna

FollowupID: 649425

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:41

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:41
I have no argument about proper training.
I would suggest that a router, spinning at 25,000 rpm, with no safety protection at all would probably be as dangerous as a chain saw. When using one, just thinking of the potential damage it could do is enough to make me super-cautious; ie, common sense.
FollowupID: 649434

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 08:53

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 08:53
The so called "chain saw operators ticket" is nought but a joke ,, any body can hire a chainsaw from the major hire companies no safety questions asked , operating book ,tools and safetygear [ glasses] supplied in a sealed plastic bag with label attached informing hirer that opening the sealed bag will incur an extra charge upon return,,, go to any hardware store and anybody can buy a chainsaw so what is the point in a chainsaw operators ticket ? Safety ? Not the way the legislation is implemented.
FollowupID: 649469

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 22:54

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 22:54
Hi Alloy c/t, so who is going to open a plastic bag if it is going to cost more? that should be incorporated in the hire charge one would think?

Deanna

FollowupID: 649580

Reply By: bruce - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:59

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 12:59
A "traffic technologist" probably has to do a course so that they know how to properly deal with rude , arrogant , impatient motorists that abuse them for doing their job...on a lighter note...had to get a stop light switch replaced on the Falcon wagon at Horsham a few months ago , went to the Ford dealership with van in tow, bought the switch , then stated that I would have to find someone to fit it (I have had the trouble before and it is a bleep of a thing to fit)
"no trouble "said the guy behind the counter" I will fit it for you"...did it there and then....better than the last time it happened at Mildura , they did not want to know me...cheers
AnswerID: 381768

Reply By: Flywest - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 14:03

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 14:03
I for one hate govt getting their mits into anything - they will only stuff it up after all.

That said changing a battery ain't what it used to be these days, with some of these new cars.

Eg.

Some are computer operat3ed - disconnect the battery, without doing certain steps inthe owners manual and all manner ofthinsg happen.

A) the computer loses it's memory - and has to be "re flashed" by the company who made the car - usually aqbout $75 unless you have your own laptop connector and software.

B) The radio etc etc will need a special code to get it all to work again.

C) The inbuilt security system, could be triggered - switching everything off - and preventing it from being re started.

All of these things could be a weee problem in the back of bourke, when some id at the servo who hasn;t a clue swaps out an old for a new battery for you and doesn't know all the ins and outs!

You have to disconnect the battery - to be able to wled on your vehicle - but now days disconnecting the battery is a weeks work to do it right.

I am not in favor of the new licensing - have had one a them govt inspectors into my factory before today and in the end had to show him the door for his own safety - before I lost my quince and did him some physical bodily harm.

He visited twice - he got the message the second time and never came back.

He knew all about safety but nothing about wood machining...

It was all over removing the riving knife off an altendorf panel saw - we used the saw for housing out timber in furniture manufacturing meaning the timber had to pass over the blade, and thos old model saw didn;t have the riving knife attached to the height adjusting mechanism of the saw blade it was fixed in height - meaning it had to be physically unbolted and removed to carry out that one operation.

Trouble was we did that operation maybe 50 times a day, so the riving knife lived it;s life in a drawer - wasn;'t worth having it on for wha we used the machine for.

Same with out jointer (buzzer) which had a spring loaded leg of mutton safety guard sposed to keep your onkaparingas outta the blades.

Most of our work was rebating timber for joinery (door jambs and frames etc).

Can't rebate with the guard on so - it too lived in a drawer near the jointer.

This guy just wouldn;t let go ofit - he figired we should spend most of every day ebvvery week putting his safety guards on and off the machines...

We simply had worked out other operating procedures that kept our fingers attached to our hands - when using those machines for those tasks, 20 years with all my fingers working in saw milling and cabinets joinery etc couldn;t convince the guy that we knew what we were doing .

The REAL threat of actual physical violence against his person if he ever came back eventually convinced him - no more problemo.

Looks like it;s comming to that for battery changing.

How long before it's an offense to work on your own vehicle at home?

This world we live in is over governed - simple as that - we are already the "nanny state"

Time to get Govt OUT of our lives.

Pokin em in the nose when they put it where it ain't needed might be a good start!

Not that I'm an advocate of violence, - but people really are getting their buttons pushed and it will only be a question of time.

I can't help thinking of that guy in the USA who was hard done bye the council in his town - they harrassed him for years - until he made a list of each and every one who done him wrong - and what property / business they owned - then armor proofed his big bull dozer with steel and concrete and set about getting even.

With less than half the town left standing he did a pretty good job!

People will only get pushed so far.

There's an old saying 'bout that [quote]40,000 Frenchmen can't be wrong![/quote]

Reputedly spoken by Marie Antionette - just after she famously said:

[quote]"The key to success - is being able to keep your head - while those about you are losing theirs.[/quote]

(Spoken from the bottom of the steps leading to the guillotine! ;o)

Cheers!
AnswerID: 381777

Reply By: dbish - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 15:02

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 15:02
I worked for a Ford dealer ship for 13Yrs & had to recover an ED Falcon that a cusomer fitted a new battery the wrong way around. Very expensive repair wrecked the ECU & Body electronic module. These sort of customers are out there. I also was the workshop manager (never have i been a qualifiied mechanic) I have had fully qualified mechanics recently that I would not let near my vehicle.
AnswerID: 381784

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 16:44

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 16:44
Couldn't believe my ears today when a mate told me that he went into the local Beaurepaire Tyre Service in Grafton after dropping off his Desert Dueler 31x10.5x15, 2 hours earlier to fix a puncher(staked the side wall, a couple of plugs would of done the trick:) ) only to be told that they no longer have some one qualified in the shop to fix it, They send all the puncher work up to Glen Innes(160km away) and it will be back Monday morning. Had he of come in yesterday it would be back tomorrow.
Are they serious, a regional country town of 18000 and nobody can repair a staked Tyre?
Shaking head :O

AnswerID: 381800

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:34

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:34
Unbelievable as I'm shaking my head!!! you wouldn't want to be travelling through and is a hurry would you.

Reminds me of a trip we did back in the early 80s, we went up the West coast of WA to Darwin and by the time we got back to Kunnanurra Hubby went into the garage to see if they could do a service on the car, the guy in the garage told Hubby to look at the hoist, it was up and a car on top of it, the hoist had jambed or something and they were waiting for a part to get up there from Perth, couldn't do it until the following week. Glad it wasn't our car up there at the time.

Deanna

FollowupID: 649431

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 05:52

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 05:52
Hi Deanna,
I guess these days we take' Overnight delivery' for granted.

My mate lives thirty five kilometers out town as it is. Which means another trip to town to pick it up on Monday, What he is going to do now, is buy two spare rims and tyres for his Hi-Lux and sit them in the shed. Can't afford not to.
FollowupID: 649444

Reply By: disco driver - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 17:06

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 17:06
"Certificates for everything" is now a thriving business.
Get yourself a "Trainer's Certificate" and you can train anybody to do anything and issue a "Certificate of Competency" for it too.

A few years back, I was required to do a 'Defensive Driving' course before I could do a '4WD Driver Training' course as part of my employment. At that time I had been driving for 44years (42 legally), 40 years of 4WD experience including army service and only a small number of speeding fines in all that time.

Why is this so important?????????
Because without these so-calloed "Certificates" I was not permitted to drive my employers vehicle in the course of my work.

This was only 1 bloody week before I retired after 22 years with the one Govt department.

Crazy?? Yes but it was a requirement of the job so it had to be done.

As an aside I had more offroad and 4wd experience that the so-called instructor, I'd been driving for 20 years before he was even born (Nice bloke but bloody wet behind the ears.)

Was a bit of a laugh at the time, 2 weeks off to drive around in cars and Landcruisers (bugger)

Disco.
AnswerID: 381805

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:50

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:50
Hi Disco, interesting read, Our son is a Safety Officer on a minesite, he got a degree through Uni and went straight up on site, the first thing he did was got on all the safety gear that the blokes have to use and spent the first couple of weeks working side by side with the blokes starting from the very bottom, the blokes asked him why he was doing it, his reply was, "If I haven't experienced it how can I unerstand how you guys work" he got there respect straight away and even a bloke that had been working there for a number of years was happy to change the way he was doing some things to comply with the safety regulations that our son was putting in place.

Deanna

FollowupID: 649437

Reply By: Ray - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:30

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:30
Who trains the trainers?
AnswerID: 381813

Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:48

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:48
Ray,
Short answer

ME
I've got a "Certificate" to prove it
(I hve a Certificate in "Train the Trainer" techniques)

Disco.
FollowupID: 649393

Reply By: Member - Happy Gutz (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 21:44

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 21:44
I've had Cert4 in Work Place Training and Assessment for years, used it once. Maybe a bloke should start doing something with it. We'll call them light duties. Yep, that should work.
AnswerID: 381842

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:38

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:38
Yep, looks like it's time to dust that Cert4 off.

Deanna

FollowupID: 649433

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:43

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:43
Wow that was a good read, some very interesting replies/ followups there, thanks all for your contributions to the thread, I'm glad that I'm not the only one shaking my head, however in saying that there will always be a need for regulations to a certain extent and I understand that but surely in cases like my post common sense should prevail, 36years of experience I'm sure there wouldn't be too much more for him to know relating to changing batteries.

Deanna

AnswerID: 381851

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 11:40

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 11:40
As you say, some interesting comments.

There seems to be some interesting assumptions about the roles of “the Government” and “bureaucrats” (workplace inspectors) in regards to this and the lack of common sense shown.

Lest break this down a bit.

The Government enacts legislation and the bureaucrats regulate the operation of this. Who were the bodies that asked (or pressured) the legislation to be enacted. Who are the vested interests in this being enacted by Parliament?

1. Consumers. Those individuals who purchase either goods or services and expect a professional outcome and standard for the money spent
2. The industry body; those who’s very reputation and continued existence relies on the consumers expectation that they will receive a professional outcome and standard for the money spent
3. The insurance companies. The consumer’s and the business’s. With the price of some ECU’s being half the GDP of a 3rd world country, the possibility of big claims impacting on profit margins becomes a factor
4. The Community. Depending on the situation or outcome, there are a number of effects that infringe on the community, everything from impact on the health system to clogging up Courts with unnecessary legal claims

I admit that if the guy had 35 years in the industry, he has probably forgotten more than someone who has running the course will ever know. Do we rely on him telling the truth as to his experience and expertise, or do we run a simple training course to refresh minimum requirements and knowledge and a multiple choice test at the end?

Of course, each case can be considered on its merits; he’d breeze through. This has some problems, you need more bureaucrats to run this testing (more expense) and it allows both influence and corruption or threats of violence (see post above) to have a bearing on outcomes.

I would have thought that a person whose business was supplying batteries would ensure that he was properly certified the day the new regulation commenced. He may be working to a different business model.
FollowupID: 649497

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 23:06

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 23:06
"He may be working to a different business model."

Don't know the guy well enough to know how he runs his business, think he may be from old school, just know he has given us good service and competitive prices so we have always been happy with him, we will still go to him even if we do need to change our own batteries, no big deal.

I agree with all your points and understand why all these regulations are put in place, My personal opinion is that a lot are created these days because of the concerns of litigation, when lawyers get their teeth into something they don't leave any stone unturned so that could filter heaven knows where. Good reply Nargun51

Deanna

FollowupID: 649583

Reply By: Member - Ian F (WA) - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 21:56

Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 21:56
Our mechanic at work had to do a course on changing tyres and basic servicing (oil change) of the company vehicles! He has been in the industry fo 30 years.
by the way I am a mechanical fitter and am looking for the last day and I wonder what a 5 year apprenticeship was for and guess what the examinors do not have a trade!!??
AnswerID: 382201

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 23:45

Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 23:45
Hi Ian F

"examinors do not have a trade!!??"

That is exactly right and was mentioned above in one of the replies, the very people that they are expecting to do the courses know more about what they are doing than the examiners. In this case all the guy has to do to "pass" the exam after the course is to change a damn battery, work that he has been doing for 36 years, go figure!!!!!

Deanna

FollowupID: 649763