Cash for caravan, but finance for the insurance !!!!

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 14:30
ThreadID: 72006 Views:4076 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
Hi All. We will be picking up our new home next Friday, our brand new 25 foot caravan, so we can start our 5 year holiday around Australia. So decided to ring around today and get some quotes for the insurance. After I picked myself up of the floor, NRMA quoted $956 per year, including contents (and that is including our discounts). Thought I could do better with CIL and they quoted me $1152 per year, including contents. GGGGeeeeezzzeee, we might be able to pay cash for the van, but looks like we might have to finance the insurance.........lol.

Does anyone else have any other suggestions for Companies who will insure vans. Not everyone will insure caravans. I know it goes on the amount and we have 60% no claim bonus,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,BUT!

Karen

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 14:39

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 14:39
Karen, it's important to look at the detail.

I am insuring our new Bushtracker with CIL because they are the only ones that will ship it back to the Bushtracker factory in QLD, from anywhere in Australia, to be repaired.

If that's costing me a few extra dollars I'm OK with it.

AnswerID: 381780

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 14:47

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 14:47
mmmmmmmm, well I did think of that. I am just waiting for NRMA and CIL to send out the booklets and we can then compare what each will offer us in an emergency. I am so shocked at the prices though. I was expecting around $500 - $600, not over a thousand though. But you cannot have insurance. I couldn't sleep at night!
FollowupID: 649353

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 14:59

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 14:59
I agree with G B, not a lot of money for a Mobile Home when you consider the risk re: the Insurance Company is looking at, the Van will be in different locations different situations they don't look at it as though you are stationary on a block of dirt with the same post code number, when we were getting quotes for our van I enquired re the question about post codes ect, and the answer was No (1) Breakins, No (2) Weather Patterns re Storms and Hail Stone Damage History, No (3) Accidents ect and as G B said recovery of the van to get repaired if required if it's major works ect, plus temporary accomadation, we all hope this never happens but when you outlay big dollars for vans it's nice to know you are properly covered.

FollowupID: 649354

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 15:13

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 15:13
P S. We insured with Suncorp, we got a good deal, owing to having other stuff insured with them plus our properties. I would hate to think what it all costs if we done them seperately.
FollowupID: 649356

Follow Up By: jomahk - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 16:59

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 16:59
Its also important to look at companies that are prepared to cover you if you are full time on the road, I dont know what bank you are with but we are with the Commonwealth because of their availability nation wide & they also have an insurance branch which I found to be quite competative. A phone call cant hurt.
FollowupID: 649373

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 17:11

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 17:11
Hi Jomahk. I deffinately will not be going with the Commonwealth. I have worked there for 3 years until last month when I resigned over the way they treat their clients. It is shameful and so wrong. I also had a lot to do with their insurance side of it, and well, lets not go there. But thanks for your reply, it all helps. It is good to get everyones input.
Karen
FollowupID: 649374

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 15:39

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 15:39
Hi Karen,

Be very clear as to what is actually included in the contents part of any policy. I found it very difficult to insure anything other then what was considered to be part of the camper.

KK
AnswerID: 381790

Reply By: ozjohn0 - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 15:56

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 15:56
Try MHIA (specialist Caravan Insurers). Don't know how competitive they are at the top end, but for middle of the road and lower cost vans they're pretty hard top beat. Especially if you look at what's covered etc.
Also if you're a Oz Parks or Family Park Member they offer a discount.
Free call 1800 676 700
ozjohn.
AnswerID: 381795

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 16:14

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 16:14
I did the ring around and ended up with CIL on our first van recently - similar damaging $ figures - even though we can never know how good a cover is until we claim, on the face of it they offered the best product - seemingly reasonable premium, with a good level of included contents and they were sensible to deal with too. Of the others I tried (some mainstream providers) results included - 1. far too expensive (even our RAA - been a member since time began) - 2. declined the cover (for stupid, ill-informed reasons) and 3. failed to quote properly because they are disorganised / hopeless. Seems CIL specialise in RV's - no tow vehicles. I added up today what it costs us just to have the Landcruiser and the van sitting at home doing nothing - it's a crime !
AnswerID: 381797

Reply By: mazcan barry - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 16:54

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 16:54
hi
also be aware some policies dont include glass breakage as well as other things mentioned here by others, so dont look in mirror to often , lol

but on the other hand if you can afford to buy a new 25ft van for a big long round aus holiday then except the costs or stay at home lol
it's a tough old world and lets hope that that's the only expense you have to face otherwise your going to be scourling every time you stop to fill your fuel tank
loosen up princess and enjoy what lies ahead

cheers and happy travlin' mazcan barry.
ps i did the round aus for 8 months in 1980/81

life is short
break the rules
forgive quickly
kiss slowly
love truely
laugh uncontrollably and never regret anything that made you smile!!

AnswerID: 381803

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 17:18

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 17:18
Hi Barry. I suppose hubby being an interstate freight removalist engineer, or truckie for short, for so many years, we can now relax and enjoy life. Too many of our mates have gone to bed and not woken up, so we gather life is too short to sit here and keep working, lets get out there. They have only been a couple of years older than us, which is frightening. It is a hard thin g to do sell your house and 50% of all your furniture, but I know when we get the van and get on the road we are going to have a ball. Once we get all the insurance info we will have to sit and disect it, and having worked in the insurance side of the bank for a while, I suppose I have a head start.
See how we go.
Karen
FollowupID: 649375

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:13

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 18:13
hi
karen/geoff
it's a smart move on your part and i admire you both for making the difficult decision as i can also relate to so many people i knew who have entered the permanent sleep mode who worked hard only to finish up looking at at interior of a padded bedroom
but i also know of quiet a few who have retired from there 5/8 year constant travels and now cant afford another house or unit because of the rise in prices while they were away on the rd and there 4wd and van aren't worth much more than a pinch now either and there's less and less caravan parks taking permanents/semi-permanents so beware the pit falls

seen yr beloved has done years of rd running i presume you'l be taking the wheel on a daily basis while he sits in the passenger seat with his feet up on the dash quietly sipping on a stubby or two
oh! yes now that would be a feat, LOL
life is what and how you make it so enjoy every day ther's stil a lot i haven;t seen but i will get there i have promised myself
ps some good advice
sort out what you want take with you then leave 40% of it behind as you will find that if you take that extra 40% it will go unused for the entire journey

believe me been there done that and that goes for 4wding trips as well
cheers and very happy travels and be nice to each other as your entering into a confined caravan space age
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 649386

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:22

Thursday, Sep 03, 2009 at 22:22
lol, have taken your advice on board, but we certainly are not strangers to camping, 4wd'ing and going on holidays in caravans. It's not our first one, and like everyone will take too much again this time. I always driver when we go away, no metter how severe the 4wd'iong is that we are doing. He does enough driving throguh the weekj, so I always drive when we are going out or going away. Other wives wish they could drive as much as I do when we go bush. I must admit I do enjoy it though, so does Geoff being able to sit back and take in all the sights. Cant wait to get out there on the road and start enjoying ourselves.
FollowupID: 649428

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 00:13

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 00:13
hi
onya karen
your a fair dinkum bonza aussie sheilla keep it up for geoff there should be more out there like you half the other wives would probably drive if only their husbands could let go of there big ego's and slip into the passenger seat for a while
ive taught my daughter to 4wd and she comfident behind the wheel and luv's it yeh! haa! happy k's
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 649441

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 18:16

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 18:16
Awwwwwww shucks! Thanks Barry. I think you and me could be friends.............lol.

But in saying that I have upset a few on here too over the years.....I say what I think and I am straight down the line.............Some people dont like that.......lol

They either like it or lump it.....................lol

Karen
FollowupID: 649536

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 07:56

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 07:56
Hi Karen
After some time both in NZ & OZ getting Insc quotes for our retirement wheeled accommodation have found the least expensive quotes in both countries tend to base the rate at around 8% of quoted value.
I had thought I would be able to insure my OZ camper from NZ through the farm Insc company, some of the brochures they put out suggest word wide Insc is possible, bit of a dream when I tried to do that.
The other problem would be if unfortunately one has to make a claim.
I joined the Campervan and Motorhome Club Australia (found out later I didn't need to as there is reciprocal rights with the NZ equivalent) lots of great info available but the probably biggest benefit is the Insc available through the club, well and truly worth the cost of membership.
While I have yet to make a claim & hope I never have to I find them good to deal with, the comments in the Wanderer from folks that have had to make a claim and recommend them is a positive.
I drove a winter in OZ with only 3rd party Insc, felt OK in the outback where if any thing happened it most likely would be my fault and so was avoidable, but was very nervous in towns and cities.
That 8% is well worth it.
Russ
AnswerID: 381874

Reply By: Dust-Devil - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 22:22

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 22:22
Do yourself a favour before signing up to CIL. read their policy conditions a couple of times, have a drink of your preferred beverage and then read it again.

GIO has one of the best covers.
AnswerID: 381988

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 22:39

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 22:39
I notice you have sold your house.

If so DONT insure with Suncorp.

We were and had the van but not the car with them.

They would insure van contents in the van or annexe but if we put it in the car it wasnt.

Illogical in that anyone coud get into an unlockable annexe and my car has an alarm and is locked.

They said they only do that as part of your home insurance.

I argued my caravan is my home and is designated as such by Centrelink.

No Bingo.

So now we are insured thru AFFINITY Insurance Brokers and have everything

insured in both vehicles, the annexe and I think the open if its under the
'
awning

and it costs about $700 for both the van $40,000 and contents $11,000.

Have just bought a new $77000 van so its gone up by about $250 for the

next 6 months

Give then a ring and get a quote.

Only thing that increase the premium is if you want items over $1000 each

specified.

AnswerID: 381989

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 22:47

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 22:47
Forgot to include Car insurance price as well

2005 Landcruiser TD $55,000 with $11,000 of listed extras was about $750.

Suncorp was nearly $950 and wanted a $1000 excess because of the list of extras.

Told them to stuff it.

FollowupID: 649579