Member - Vic S (VIC)
Very dissapointing ,we went at 10.30 the line to get in the car
park took 25 min ,$5 to
park and then 5 min walk to the show, did not seem anywhere as many exibits as Jeefs shed and to top it all off we got soaked to the bone getting back to the car.
If its there next year we wont be !!!
Vic
Reply By: pickle - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 17:14
Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 17:14
What and you would not have got wet if you had been at Jeffs shed and walked back to the
carpark. Rumour is we need the rain.
Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 18:07
Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 18:07
You wouldn't actually as the
carpark was underneath the event ;-)
Craig........
Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 18:04
Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 18:04
Agree the car
parking (although cheap) was a shambles with one guy on the
gate taking the money at peak times leaving a que a km down the street. Later in the day it was drive straight in.
As the show was spread throughout 3 main pavillions it may have appeared to have less when in fact overall there would have been far more displays & stalls than last year at Jeffs shed. Clearly cheaper site fees has allowed smaller companies to attend, many for the 1st time. For those sticking around there were alot more active displays on the main arena throughout the day.
I actually liked the format being a cross between previous Melb 4x4 shows & the Wandin field days.
Cheers Craig..............
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 19:56
Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 19:56
**Clearly cheaper site fees has allowed smaller companies to attend, many for the 1st time.**
That only means a plus for us 4x4Hoons and a minus for the hip pocket ! lol
Take it easy..
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 20:50
Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 20:50
Sorry Vic, Got to disagree. Took two trains and a tram from Williamstown to the
show grounds, no lines, queues of hassles. Met a lot of like minded individuals who had been travelling this season on the train and tram so enjoyed some great chats (G'day John from Warragul and Jack from
St Kilda). Took me over 2 hours just to get down the first aisle! There was just so much there. Scoped out a stack of gear for the new truck and in chatting to the experts, came up with some new ideas as
well. We left at 4.30 having been there since 10.00 a.m and didn't stop in all that time. If you went for fishing and boating, you'd have been disappointed. For
camping and 4x4, I reckon it was great. There were a few bargains to be had as
well.
Well worth my $16 admission. Cheers Mick
Reply By: 2rakjack - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 19:09
Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 19:09
Long queue for
parking, Why organize the this event on the same day as horse racing next to the show ground , there were empty car parks next to the event but were reserved for race goers, then be sent down a side road to houses, No
sign age or directions to the next available car
park, total waste of time.
Reply By: ChrisE - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 10:07
Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 10:07
I managed to find a free all day
carpark (not going to tell you where as I might need it next year:), and avoided the queue but had to walk an extra couple of minutes (probably past you as you were sitting in your car in the queue). I felt that it was a bit more cramped than at Jeff's shed, so some of the stores weren't as good, and had to battle through the crowd at times. What was the go with the RACV member discount??? I read here on Saturday to take it and get $4 off, but guy at ticket window said they had to be purchased online???