Projecta Dual Battery System

Have you got anyfeedback on the Projecta dual battery system. They sell in Repco for about250 bucks.

Are they good quality/goodvalue?

Reply By: oldpop - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 20:31

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 20:31
MikeW

BIL has had two replaced under warranty in two years don't know how the one is going

Hope that helps

Oldpop
AnswerID: 381968

Follow Up By: oldpop - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 20:32

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 20:32
Should read Third one

Oldpop
FollowupID: 649551

Follow Up By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 20:41

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 20:41
Thanks Oldpop,

Would you say your BIL does a lot of hard offroad km's (River crossings corrugations etc) or relatively easy bush tracks?

Cheers Mike
FollowupID: 649554

Follow Up By: oldpop - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 20:46

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 20:46
No mostly on black top on a round Aus lap in a prado towing a jayco van I don't think he knows where L4 is

Oldpop
FollowupID: 649556

Follow Up By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 20:53

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 20:53
Thanks Oldpop
FollowupID: 649558

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 21:03

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 21:03
Have you considered a (Aussie made) GSL isolator?

Have a look at ebay Item # 190331124525

150 amp electronic unit, start price $135, Buy-it-now $145 + postage..

I've been using one of these for several years, with no issues...

Good value, I reckon;-))

Regards, Ed C

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 381975

Follow Up By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 21:26

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 21:26
Thanks Ed C

Wll check them out,

Cheers Mike
FollowupID: 649565

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 21:43

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 21:43
Mike,
You can't beat a Redarc isolator (Aussie) for engineering simplicity and reliability.
Get one as I did on Ebay item No. 170377793564 for just $89.95
Australian dealer.

AnswerID: 381981

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 22:17

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 22:17
Second that and go to Battery World and get the cable

About $6 m for 4 B&S and get them to clamp the ends on and will cost a

damn sight less than a Projecta Setup and a lot better .

Mine was under $200 and I paid $140 for the Redarc.

Added a relay so that car uses both batteries to start same as original.

FollowupID: 649575

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:19

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:19
Hi Graham

Do you have a switch in line to switch off that relay if the aux battery is very low on charge so it does not pull the main battery down during cranking.

It may never be needed but just in case.

Derek
FollowupID: 649597

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:46

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:46
I got my cables from a local Auto Parts store.
Bought standard starter cables ready made with lugs. Available in various lengths.

A well maintained battery system should not need two batteries to crank the engine but if mine ever does I will simply use a jumper lead from the auxiliary battery.
Would not wish to put cranking current through the battery isolator solenoid thank you very much!

FollowupID: 649601

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 10:48

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 10:48
Hi Derek
No I havent but it shouldnt be down as only have the fridge on when travelling. Everything else is pretty light. Always can pull a wire pretty easy.

To Allan B

Dont know why you wouldnt as they have a connector to allow you to do that so must be designed to do it.

FollowupID: 649609

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 11:21

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 11:21
Graham, The Redarc specs are 100A continuous, 400A inrush, but I would still prefer to not subject it to starter currents unless I really had to.

FollowupID: 649610

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 22:49

Friday, Sep 04, 2009 at 22:49
Another vote for the Redarc. Derek who adverstises on the site does good deals also. But get some good quality cable from your local auto sparkie or battery joint and get them to crimp your ends after your have worked out exactly how much you need. Job done.
AnswerID: 381990

Reply By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 07:03

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 07:03
Redarc again.

Their product support is outstanding. Mine failed at about 2.5 years old (warranty is 2 years). I rang them to ask about getting it fixed, no problems they said, send it back to us, we'll test it.

I posted it on a Tuesday and a brand new one arrived in the mail Friday, no charge. New one is three years old and going strong.

AnswerID: 382002

Reply By: paulnsw - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 08:04

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 08:04
Another vote for Redarc and no voltage drop
Projecta everything is cheap dodgy seriously over priced like Bushranger
Bushranger air comp $220 identical unit Supercheap $79
AnswerID: 382006

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 08:26

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 08:26
I don't know anything about the Projecta gear but do note that they package it with all the wiring, connectors etc that you'll need. The cost of this is significant.

My only criticism of the Redarc is that after you turn off the vehicle, the relay continues to consume power until the starting battery drops to 12.5V. I'm not interested in running the battery down this far for no benefit - a waste of electrons and it will shorten battery life. You can overcome it by installing a relay in the negative lead of the Redarc, so it only works when the IGN is on.
AnswerID: 382012

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 10:00

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 10:00
Yes Phil, That characteristic of the Redarc solenoid remaining pulld-in after the engine stops has given me a little concern also.

Now that you mention it I will measure the current consumed and consider connecting it to de-energise with the motor stopping. As you say, easy with a relay.

I would think that any brand isolator system that does not have a connection to the ignition system would do the same. And as you say, a waste of electrons, and we can all use as many electrons as we can get!

FollowupID: 649602

Reply By: you eat the bear - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:42

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:42
I've got the Projecta 150 amp dual battery system (and so have a couple of mates). Its only been installed about 6 months but so far no issues. It is mounted near the rear firewall immediately under the bonnet (if that makes sense) so hopefully drowning it in water crossings wont be an issue.
Main reason I went with Projecta was everything is in the kit including fuses, cable etc. so the installation was very straightforward - even for me!

AnswerID: 382020

Reply By: malley - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:54

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:54
I went with the redarc system about 5 years ago in my 86 4runner and never had any problems (just sold it).
I remember reading the forums at the time and was impressed by the positive feedback even back then.
A simple system but pretty effective
AnswerID: 382021

Reply By: BenDiD - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 14:27

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 14:27
Hi Mike,

I put a Projecta 150 Amp model in my NS Pajero a few months back. The bracket for it is bolted to the battery cradle. I bought it in Broken Hill after my expensive TJM "DBS" system failed at Cameron Corner, killing my 2nd battery. I bought the Pojecta box from the Kiwozzie 4x4 in Broken Hill after the owner (can't remember is name, but a really nice young bloke) said he runs them in his comp trucks and family wagon (Patrol) without any issues.

I have had no problems with mine and the thing I liked about it was that it was one box with a few and so anyone can install or replace if it dies and they seem to be widely available, even outback. I am sure I only paid around $150 + fitting of $75 which included a good 40 minutes trying to revive the TJM system.

It's easy to see if there is power to the box (red light), if the batteries are connected for charging (blue light), and to connect the batteries push the button marked"PUSH" and a green light comes on. So easy, even SWMBO can figure it out!

Good Luck

Ben
AnswerID: 382042

Follow Up By: BenDiD - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 14:31

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 14:31
Sorry, that should be "one box with a few wires".
FollowupID: 649623

Reply By: Wilk0 - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 15:58

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 15:58

Thanks for all your feedback, I think I'll price the Redarc isolator .

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 382046

Reply By: Bullet2Deadly - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 00:54

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 00:54
Gday Mike,
Ive got the 150ammp projecta in my disco and its been running for 3 yrs,never missed a beat or flattened a battery.I wont say its better or worse than any others but easy to install and simple to operate,wouldnt hesitste to get another 1Cheers Ean
AnswerID: 382595