Road Trip

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 06:58
ThreadID: 72049 Views:4343 Replies:14 FollowUps:7
Hi everyone just new to yor forum. At christmas we plan on doing the great ocean road and going through to SA then back home to the sunny coast. Now we are in a dual cab navara and have ourtent on the roof racks and all our basic camping gear(eg. gas cooker, esky, chairs, clothes,first aid,recovery gear, and sleeping bags etc) Now apart from the basics remembering room is the key factor especially as we have 3 little children, is there anything that should be a must for our trip. thanx

Reply By:- Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 07:03

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 07:03
G'day,

Christmas = hot......ditch the esky and invest in a fridge!!!

UHF is handy

Have a great trip

Ev
AnswerID: 382001

Reply By: Rod, Sydney - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 08:05

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 08:05
I'll second the comment on the fridge and the UHF.

I'd also suggest some gear to look after your tyres - compressor and repair kit. This will not only make you more self-sufficient but also give you more flexibility - you can properly deflate your tyres for sandy travel and then get ready to be back on the main roads.

Have a lot of fun. Cheers
Rod, Perth

AnswerID: 382007

Follow Up By: bruce - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 10:39

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 10:39
Gear to look after your tyres...we have been around mainland Oz 1.5 times , to good old sunny Qld once , umpteen trips from southern Vic to the Murray river and beyond , numerous other trips around the state of Vic and in all that time and all those trips we have had one blowout and that was east of Esperence on our new 2nd hand caravan that we bought in Perth , and if I had stayed on the road instead of straying to the edge as I should have we may not have even had that...maybe we have been lucky but more probably having good tyres is the reason....cheers
FollowupID: 649606

Follow Up By: Rod, Sydney - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 10:42

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 10:42
Ahhh - you have plenty of experience and know to expect the unexpected. That's good. Cheers.
Rod, Perth

FollowupID: 649607

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 08:22

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 08:22
Hi Olgus69
Like above, the next best and most important addition to any camping trip is a good car fridge. Sure they are not cheap, but they are a long term investment, giving you many years of enjoyable camping and not relying on ice, which if heading bush, will be next to impossible to get in remote locations.

As for the Great Ocean Road and SA, make sure that you do the Fly Walk in the Otways and Robe at that time of the year is alive with holiday makers. Have a great trip.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 382010

Follow Up By: Member - Cantiva Clay (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 11:25

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 11:25
Hi Stephen,
where did you get the fold out awning on the Prado - was it expensive / difficult to install? I'm after something like that but wondering if I should just buy a bunnings tarp cable tie it to the roof rails and buy some after market upright poles. Thoughts?
FollowupID: 649611

Follow Up By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 12:18

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 12:18
CC
Hope you don't think I'm butting in. There are a number of commercial awnings available. To my mind they are too expensive. I was able to get a length of aluminium about 50mm by 7mm from my local recycling centre to which I attached a length of sailcloth c channel. Had the local canvasmaker make me up an awning 2500 x2000 with a rope insert which just slides into the channel. For rigidity I have inserted a wooden pole in the outer hem. I simply carry 4 poles and some ropes and pegs to tie it down. All up cost me about $160. I leave it attached to the roof basket and roll it when not in use. Here is a pic - unfortunately not a great angleImage Could Not Be Found . Since that pic was taken I have removed the middle uprights and replaced them with horizontal bars as appear on Stephens pic.

teege
FollowupID: 649613

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 13:23

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 13:23
Hi Cantiva
The unit on my Prado is a Black Widow 2.5 metre awning. Very easy to install, and as you can see, very sturdy when erected - under 2 minutes, including pegging it out. Black Widow make the awnings in 3 sizes, 2m, 2.5m and 3m wide.The only reason that we peg it out, is we have been caught out at night a few times when strong winds come from now where. They are not cheap, but compared to some brands on the market, at least they are 100% Australia Made up in Queensland. When zipped up and away, they are not out of place.

Here are a couple of extra to show what it is like when used and all packed up.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
Who has been here

FollowupID: 649617

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 19:19

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 19:19
Gidday Stephen

You’re the only person, apart from myself, who seems to carry a draught skirt to block off the wind underneath the car.

The difference in cold weather makes for a comfortable camp site.

Kim
FollowupID: 649643

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 19:54

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 19:54
Hi Kim
We have used this set up for many years and it works a treat. We call it "Our Little Head Board". Also acts as a place to keep our boots behind our pillows, knowing that they are safe from dingos. Like you say, the wind break effect is great as well.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 649647

Reply By: Paul G K (vic) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 08:26

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 08:26
You may find it hard to find a place to camp as Christmas time as the Great Ocean Road is very busy and usually booked out.
Hope you have a good trip Paul K
AnswerID: 382011

Reply By: Ray - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 08:47

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 08:47
Don't put too much weight on your roof rack.
AnswerID: 382015

Reply By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:14

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:14
Watch out for overseas tourist in Blitz vans and the like driving on the wrong side of the road on the G.O.R, there will be hundreds of them, more annoying than flies
AnswerID: 382017

Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:16

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:16
Consider these:
a fire extinguisher and fire blanket.
a fridge.

UHF radio - No need as yet until you want to go off the beaten track or join a group. Besides there will be plenty of phone access and heaps of others on the road that may help.

Enjoy

AnswerID: 382018

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:32

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 09:32
Stable tables (you know the cushion type that sit on your lap?) for the kids to colour in on when you are driving. Have a look through some of the past Blogs, I have seen a few with tips when travelling with kids which may be helpful too.

Next would be maps and a sense of adventure. Fairly easy to get all other "necessities" anywhere along the road on your trip, you will not be too far from anywhere if you are sticking to the coast.

Travel safe,
Trevor.
AnswerID: 382019

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 10:51

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 10:51
I would second the compressor, especially given you are going thru Robe so letting down tyres to 18-20psi is useful on those sandy tracks if youwant to go there

AnswerID: 382025

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 10:57

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 10:57
Finally, enough cash to cover the unexpected as Murphy haunts with travellers.

Weigh the rig when loaded up as you may well be surprised and perhaps a

trailer for the gear would make life in the cab more tolerable.

Have a good trip the GOR is beautiful but very busy.
AnswerID: 382026

Reply By: Member - Cantiva Clay (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 11:21

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 11:21
Pack 25L of patience! The GOR is packed and slooow going over Christmas - did bits of it last year and it was frustratingly slow at times. There are ways around it - try to plan your tripping in opposite times / directions to the main loopy travels secondly spend time studying the maps and planning your routes around the main thoroughfares when close to populated areas - surprisingly they are often more scenic and less travelled - they just take a bit more navigation effort. Also search the net for info on "travelling with kids" there are some really good articles around on this and research on the web eg Exploreoz /places, Google earth POI (points of interest) and local state tourist websites. Also have you considered towing a trailer or pop-top camper trailer - means you can move lots of gear out of the wagon making the car part a lot less stressful - it also means at interesting places you can dump the gear and zip of in the wagon "gear free". Lastly nows the time to check you have all your equipment because we are just about to leave the off season camping gear sales - there are some great specials around eg Annaconda 30% of tents etc.
AnswerID: 382027

Reply By: olgus69 - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 11:36

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 11:36
Ok maybe i should have given a bit more info. I also have ordered a compressor and the whole fridge thing is too hard had one before. I have an esky that holds 2 blocks of ice and lasts bout 4-5 days in summer, surely its not too hard to replace 2 blocks every 4 days, got to stop at servo every now and then for diesel anyway.Etertainment for kids is a good idea, thinking of a dvd player for kids, and we have a trailer but relly didnt want to drag that thing everywher if i didnt have to, and we have an atlas with gps points for local caravan parks.
AnswerID: 382028

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 11:50

Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 11:50
Gay olgus
Just take the esky, as they are good to bath the little ones in.Go and have a good holiday, nothing has changed since the last trip. Tourists everywhere, just like you.
Have a good time, do the Otway sky walk.
Murray

AnswerID: 382029

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 12:18

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 12:18
Along the Great Ocean Road, there are very few opportunities to "bush camp" and many places you'll have stop in a caravan park. During that time of year, you would almost certainly need to book ahead - when we were there a few years back (same time of year) we organised the evening accommodation early in the day after we had to do an illegal road-side overnight stop the first night since all the accommodation was already full.

You haven't said which route you're planning through SA on your return home but remote areas like Birdsville Tk and/or Strzelecki Tk are not generally recommended for travel during the summer months - they are usually very hot during the day at that time of the year, and also very isolated with few other travellers (due largely to the heat).
AnswerID: 382251