Shaker
I have just completed the Gunbarrel & the
Canning Stock Route, South to North.
When filling my vehicle with diesel in
Wiluna they managed to get 87.45 litres into my 90L fuel
tank, which was approximately 1/3rd full prior to filling.
They also managed to get over 23litres into a 20L Jerry can.
I will let you draw your own conclusions, but I am seriously thinking of reporting them to the relevant authority.
Reply By: slammin - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 23:20
Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 23:20
Hmmm 23l into a 20l plastic jerry isn't too hard to do but 87.45l into 60l airspace - that's an interesting trick!
By all means make a call to the relevent weights and measures office in WA. There is no excuse for ripping off the public.
I had to do it last month as our only fuel, also in a remote location, the trigger nozzle handle leaked (poured) onto the ground. The managers attitude was it was no "big deal". Low and behold this week 1 new trigger nozzle. At $2.50 a litre every drop counts ; )
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 23:27
Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 23:27
Shaker
I can’t rightly remember, but I think the pumps are the old 605’s and haven’t had a calibration in decades.
I’d be more concerned about what’s coming out of the tanks is I was you.
Kim
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 08:08
Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 08:08
Don't think about it - dob them in ! As for old tech equipment being out of spec - I bet they've got a telephone, Sat TV, Eftpos, fax and all sorts of other mod cons. If that old bowser was losing money, it wouldn't still be there.
Reply By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 09:09
Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 09:09
Gday shaker,
I was going to say the jerry might take an extra litre or two but if your fuel gauge is accurate it does sound like a bit of a rip off. I'd be reporting it myself as there may be others who have done the same and if enough people make enough noise then something might be done.
How is the trip going anyway?
How did the Pioneer perform ?
I'm about to head off for a 5 weeker myself but only up into NSW and Qld.
Paul.
Reply By: anglepole - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 09:19
Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 09:19
Yes I am too am wary of what comes out of the pump.
There have been many stories about fuel stations that decant there own fuel, 200 litres of Kero to 400 litres of Diesel.
In fact when you travel through NT many fuel stops have on their pumps "distributor provided" meaning the fuel company distributor has provided and loaded in the fuel.
Customs have a small team that travel remote Australia and checks this out because of excise not paid.
Yes I would report them to the appropriate authority.
Reply By: vk1dx - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 09:46
Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 09:46
Dob them in.
Don't even think about it. Also if you belong to any other forums let it be known there as
well.
The worst part if the contaminted fuel risk. It was interesting to see that some pumps have signs showing "Distributor Supplied". Even then its a worry.
Where the hell has the old spirit gone. Right into the bottom drawer of the cash register!!
Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 12:41
Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 12:41
Shaker Which servo was it?. From memory there are two, one is attached to
general store and the other is a stand alone servo.
| May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.
Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 14:57
Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 14:57
I think there is only one now, anyhow, it's the one attached to the grocery store, Gunbarrel Groceries I think the name is.
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 15:57
Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 15:57
Reckon he'll be quiet during next years gathering.
Wondering what the hell is going on....lol.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 19:50
Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 19:50
Im mindful of the fact thesame happened to me at Shell
Gundagai, but did u know, that if you own a landcruiser with dualtanks, and you fill the aux
tank up first, some of the fuel leaks into the main..so its possible to put 60 litres in the 45 litre
tank....just incase thats whats happened....
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 11:29
Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 11:29
Hi Dozer, If fuel can 'leak' from one
tank to the other when refueling then you have something very wrong with the fuel changeover solinod. Or, maybe there was something wrong at some time in the past and someone else has removed the solinoid and replaced it with a 'T' jointer :-))
KK
Follow Up By: Travelin OZ - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 13:15
Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 13:15
If the Toyota is a 80 / 100 series you can fill both tanks at the same inlet it is often the case when filling both that fuel will go into both tanks via the over flow/ breather line.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 13:29
Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 13:29
Yeah, that's right, it's the 70's with the twin fillers that don't cross flow. The return on my Troopy does some go to the wrong
tank but I have not had time to pull the valve out see if there is any crud in it.
KK
Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 15:42
Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 15:42
With the 80 and 100, which have a single filler with manual switch under the flap to direct fuel to either
tank....that valve, when pulled out to fill the auxiliary
tank, lets some go to the main aswell...it is not faulty, but made that way...main
tank is suoposed to be filled first, then aux.....as the aux fills up, any air left in main is replaced by trickle of diesel/petrol....has caught out many b4...reading the original post, this does not seem to be the case...
Reply By: bazza bushman - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 01:04
Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 01:04
the paradise hotel limits how much tiolet paper you can use