v8 conversion

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 16:44
ThreadID: 72078 Views:4102 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
I just wanted some input , thoughts experiences, from anyone who has had a 6.5 diesel conversion , I know they are costly BUT are they any good?
I have an 80 series that needs a new heart , with my job ,I tow every day & weekends when the weather lets me , tow a 6mtre ali.
got any thoughts on the matter,
cheers,

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 16:46

Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 16:46
Just put a Yota Factory Turbo in it as it will end up cheaper and have a similar power output.

AnswerID: 382166

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 17:21

Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 17:21
I have a 6.5 V8 (non-turbo) and it has good pulling power/torque; but without a turbo the power is not a lot better than a 4.2TD Patrol.

They are a solid, old-fashioned, no nonsense donk, but whether you view that as being a good thing or a bad thing is a personal choice. They are very reliable.

As an alternative, you could look at doing what another member did on this forum..... Project TONI was a Toyota 4.2TD turbo diesel motor (out of a 100 series), placed into a GU Patrol. I believe this is probably a better option in just about every regard. Fuel economy, power, parts availability etc. The downside (to me) is more complexity and lack of the V8 rumble.

My Patrol is pretty hefty, and i use it to tow my camper trailer 90% of the time; I still get a respectable 17L/100k economy.

Cost of either conversion would be about the same i think.

AnswerID: 382168

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 17:24

Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 17:24
http://www.exploroz.com/Members/46173.625/8/2008/Project_TONI.aspx

FollowupID: 649727

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 17:46

Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 17:46
Thanks for the "plug" Bill.

Two more are to be built before Xmas this year the club is no longer an exclusive one.

Jason has built countless 80 Sr conversions so far, with incredible results in the 80 Sr.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 649729

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 14:37

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 14:37
As someone who has a 100 with the 4.2 turbo in it, I would seriously think of Roachie's proposal. We got 10.6Lt/100 on the way to Adelaide recently sitting on 110/100 as applicable. Admittedly not towing. Total weight before departure was 3515Kg. The suspension has been upgraded (by an engineer) to cover us. We aren't game to risk life and limb nor the insurance by not doing it correctly and legally.

I believe the 4.2 TD motor has proven itself by now to be quite reliable.

Just my two bobs worth.

FollowupID: 649808

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 16:58

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 16:58
Phil, (sorry to digress off topic)......

I'm interested in what you said about weight and suspension and engineering etc.

Are you saying that you have beefed up your suspension and then had a engineer provide you with a certificate which has enabled you to increase the official GVM of your vehicle to 3500kg+?
If so, I'd love to know who did the engineering and what state you're in, please??

Cheers and thanks

FollowupID: 649822

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 17:58

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 17:58
He told me what to do and I did it. They are pretty well laying low until this kafuffle sorts itself out. I guess I just have to trust him at this stage.

I can say though, that I am sure it won't fall apart on us. Thats basically whay I wanted.

FollowupID: 649829

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 17:51

Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 17:51
Cassa 48
email me via my profile and I can give you more info on the 1HD-FTE conversion for your model. Are you in NSW?
Colin.
AnswerID: 382170

Reply By: The Lobster - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 22:27

Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 22:27
Probably depends on your budget. As people have said, the 6.5 diesel engines won't give you that much of an improvement in actual towing ability. The 1HD-FTE is an option, as are other engine conversions. A 1HD-(F)T would probably be a lot simpler and cheaper than a 1HD-FTE due to the lack of EFI etc. But engine conversions can end up with reliability problems and the overall cost and complexity are often high. I would tend to look at which stock vehicles in your budget will do the job. Obviously a new V8 TD cruiser would be the ducks testicles, but they aren't cheap.

Maybe look at a factory TD 80 series. Unfortunately they're not that common, are pretty sought after and have held their value very well so I would expect to pay at least $15k for a decent one, and over $20k for the later (post '95) multivalve (1HD-FT) versions. That may fit the bill and be within your budget, and may eliminate the complexity and potential reliability issues of an engine conversion.

Anyway, that's my $0.02. Hope that helps.

matt
AnswerID: 382209

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 06:02

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 06:02
Matt,
the towing ability is improved heaps with the 6.5 over the 1hz, it is not a quick engine but the torque is something. Mine puts out the same torque (dyno figures) as the new V8 diesel cruiser and the torque is very high just above idle.

Having said that, the turbo 1HD-FT engines weren't available when I converted mine, if they were I would definatley have stuck one of them in.

FollowupID: 649765

Follow Up By: The Lobster - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 08:25

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 08:25
Sorry mate, I probably didn't write what I meant. I meant to compare the 6.5 to the 1HD-FTE, not to a stock 1HZ. Yeah, the dyno figures would be pretty similar, but I don't think it would tow as well as the toyota V8 TD. I guess it's because the 6.5 is such a big heavy engine and it takes a bit of torque and power just to move itself before you even think about towing anything.

The 6.5 is definitely a good towing setup, I'm just not sure if it's the best way to go in this case.

matt
FollowupID: 649771

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 09:06

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 09:06
Matt,
the engine is not that heavy, 15kg heavier than my old engine.

The Toyota turbo is a much more refined engine, and it uses a similar amount of fuel.

The old 6.5 can get up and boggie at the right revs, had my van on the back 1.6t and the Troopy weighing 2.95t, passed another caravan with no room to stuff around and afterwards looked at the gps, max speed 129km/h

Have a good one
FollowupID: 649774

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 02:35

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 02:35
Don't know where you are Cassa 48.

lil birdy told me recently that someone in Brunswick is wrecking a Sahara LC 80 series that rolled onto its side in a cutting up north damaging both a pillars & writing it off.

It has a 6.5 chev conversion in it - with billet alloy supercharger on it.

The engine box and supercharger are all for sale and undamaged in the accident - would probably bolt straight into yours & are for sale.

Might save you a few $ over the cost of having the Brunswick diesel place do a new rebuilt one for you.

Shouldn't be hard to track down who has it Brunswicks a small town! ;o)

I guess who gets it first gets the bargain.

AnswerID: 382217

Follow Up By: cassa 48 - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 21:18

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 21:18
sounds interesting , will look into that ,

thankyou, cassa

FollowupID: 649869

Reply By: casper - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 19:03

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 19:03
Hi All, I have a 3.Lt GU that is soon to go to Jason at Total Care to fit a 1HD-FTE and 5sp auto. I have found the information on this site invaluable!
I chose this motor over the Chev 6.5 primarily because:
All up cost of conversion is about 4k less, but i will get a "second hand" motor not a reco 6.5
Better fuel economy
1HD-FTE + 5sp auto is a match made in heaven IMHO!
Transport car to and from WA ex Vic
I was worried about keeping the 6.5 cool.
Also i just couldn't get my hands on a Chevnissan to test drive!

I have been talking today to an engineer in Vic about the VASS certificate i will need for Vic roads and, in short, he said that as we are fitting a 04 car with motor of the same era i.e. emission controls ect, he seemed to think this conversion "should" be straight forward. But when i mentioned the Chev V8, he said it would not pass (because of emission regs). If this is the case i would advise that anyone thinking of doing a conversion should first check that they will actually be able to register the vehicle when the job is finished.
Having said that, a blown 6.5? now we're talking.

AnswerID: 382297

Reply By: Member - William H (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 14:57

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 14:57
Cassa

If you want a chev diesel for your toyota and all the parts to do the conversion just give me your mobil number via my profile/email and i will tell you where to call,are you in WA. if so that will be easy for you,as the toyota that has the conversion is running out of rego next month, and it will be cheap

The motor runs very well.

Cheers for now...William H...Bunbury...WA.
AnswerID: 382389