Reseating Beads using Dive Cylinders?

Submitted: Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 20:35
ThreadID: 72101 Views:3877 Replies:7 FollowUps:15
Hi all, following my ThreadID: 71996 Posted: 2 Sep 09 21:42 I rec'd some useful responses.

One member (thks David) referred me to Air-up systems at http://www.air-up.com/products.html but they are a bit pricey for me, even though they would be perfect.

Somewhere else I've seen pics of 4WDers re-inflating tyres using a dive cylinder. As I have some of these they may be a good option for me.

Has anyone any experience in setting one of these up for that purpose pls and if so, would the set-up have the grunt to re-seat a bead? Note that my cyl typically holds 240bar which is about 3,500 psi so it would certainly have the potential.

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 20:43

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 20:43
You can get a tyre fitting that will fit on your scuba feed line and inflate your tyres that way, still means you need to cart your reg etc as well as the cylinder.

Problem with scuba tanks are they are heavy and bulky to cart around.
Susceptible to possible valve damage to the cylinder valve if they are not properly restrained in the vehicle not to mention the damage to the vehicle etc they will cause if they come loose.

Also expensive to fill and difficult at that in remote areas.

Just easier to get yourself a good quality LP compressor like the ARB units.
In most instances they will have no issue reseting the bead.

AnswerID: 382317

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 20:47

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 20:47
Hi JB,
as an ex-diver who has seen some terrible stuff happen with air-cylinders, I see more potential danger than I see positives in using dive cylinders to inflate tyres. You would have to very strictly control the amount of air going into the tyre, then "STOP" air flow instantly once the beads had re-seated, to prevent over-inflation and possible explosion of the tyre.

I see a lot less danger in Mick O's method of re-seating tyres than this one.
regards,
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 382318

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 20:48

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 20:48
Hi John, A friend of mine managed to gat a firemans BA cylinder which is a lot smaller then the normal dive bottle. Fit's in his vehicle a lot better to. I can check what his valve system is if you like I know it's not the normal dive regulator.

KK
AnswerID: 382319

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 22:09

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 22:09
Yes pls KK.

FollowupID: 649880

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:35

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:35
Hi John, I have spoken to 2 of my friends who use compressed air cylinders for tyre filling.

1. Dive instructor. He uses a dive cylinder and has access to high pressure refilling gear plus periodic certification for his dive bottles so he uses a normal dive regulator. He tells me that a basic second hand regulator sells occasionally on Trade Me (NZ version of ebay) for around $100.

2. The second guy is an ex fireman and uses a BA (breathing Apparatus) bottle. These are smaller then SCUBA bottles and not subject to the corrosion of salt water. However, unbeknown to me these bottles do have some unique problems. The BA bottles have a sharply tapered thread and use a direct pressure hose that has the regulator on the end of the hose. The hose carries about 3,000 lbs so as you can imagine its very stiff and has special high pressure properties. The firemen have their demand valve and regulator built into their mask. The BA cylinders have BOT stamped on the neck (British Board of Trade) and this standard is different to the specs on a dive bottle. I don't know the details but it seems that these bottles use different fittings from that found at dive shops so unless they are modified they can not be filled as easily as the normal dive bottles.

It seems that my friend with the BA bottle who always made out that this was the way to go has contacts that make it easy for him to use and service but not for us non - fire fighters !

So I have now found that if I was going to use a high pressure bottle it would be a SCUBA bottle with a second hand regulator. And I would have to be near a dive shop to replenish the air. :-))

Sorry if I had gotten your hopes up about a what looks to me like a good system (BA) as those bottles are an ideal size for one vehicle.

Ray H.
FollowupID: 650167

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 21:00

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 21:00
John,
Works a treat does a SCUBA cylinder!

I use mine quite regularly when I come off the beach after fishing.

I wouldn't bother taking it for say a Simpson Desert crossing as I could do far more with the space it takes up and its weight.

Otherwise it certainly does everything you are suggesting it could.

Filling is as per the post above, it requires a HP compressor.

As to those Air Up systems (or should I say CO2 up?) yes they are expensive and their advertising is "interesting"

They alledge on their website the cylinder is filled with liquid CO2. The source cylinder may well contain CO2 in its liquid form but that cylinder they sell doesn't.

A liquid CO2 vessel (or any other liquified gas vessel) is double skinned (think bloody big thermos flask) and in the case of liquid CO2 at about 2,200kpa and -16 degC. Yeah right, Air Up is liquid CO2!

The other problem with CO2 is Carbolic Acid, a drop of water in the regulator or any other fitting is going to cause a heap of Carbolic Acid and a heap of etching of anything metal. In particular brass and aluminium. Hmm, the most predominant metals in an Air Up system and your wheels - tyres!!

Would I use Air Up on my alloy tubeless rims?? Tell em they're dreaming!!

AnswerID: 382323

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 21:43

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 21:43
John,

I reseated 7 tyres on my last trip using my bushranger airmax compressor and nothing more. No butane, compressed air cylinders or otherwise. As long as you have plenty of lubricant around the bead to facilitate it reseating, the compressor works fine.

AnswerID: 382324

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 22:27

Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 22:27
Thks Mick, I noted similar from your response to my last thread.

My compressor is, I think, a clone of the Airmax so I'll certainly test run it before getting any extra kit. Just need to get the R&R breaker first to testrun it all.

On the video you were using a cordless drill to run a terminal piece to clean/rough-up the inside of the tyre. Was it a burr bit?

FollowupID: 649883

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 10:14

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 10:14
Mick and John,

These things tend to come full circle.
Next thing you'll use a handpump to reinflate tubeless like I did in the 1970's :-))
Then I went to a KMart pump
Then I got a Blue Tongue
Now I've got a bigger pump.
All have been used to reinflate tubeless tyres.

Important stuff in my experience is to not distort the bead during removal - lubrication and good levering technique help.
Use tyres that are relatively big for the width of the rim eg. a 265 tyre goes better on a 7" rim rather than an 8" rim.
Remove the valve core during reinflation
While a good pump helps, anyone can get a whoosh of air with something as simple as a length of fuel hose connected to the valve of an overinflated tyre. I make something a little bit fancier but the principle is the same.

Since the magic of tyre plugs, there's been much less need to patch tyres. But it's good to keep practicing this stuff. I travel with larger groups of people so theres always tyres to fix. And we teach it on 4wd club trips.

Never ever needed butane - IMO its a party trick!

FollowupID: 649908

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 11:38

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 11:38
Thks Phil.

I agree. Plugs are great but during my recent trip to Gregory NP I only had 3 tyre incidents but all were sidewall slashes (2 from rock and one from a stake). Only one took a plug and while the air is still in, it is now unroadworthy.

That's why I have decided to get serious and invest in the rest of the gear. Thks for the tip about 'whooshing' from another tyre.

FollowupID: 649909

Follow Up By: Mitsi Blaze - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 13:16

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 13:16
As Phil mentions you can even use as we used to a hand pump, one thing I would suggest is a trick I learned a loooong time ago. Put a ratchet strap around the tyre and pressure it up slightly, (2" is best but 1" if thats all you have) it pushes the beads outward towards the rim.

FollowupID: 650053

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 13:50

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 13:50
Thanks Mitsi.

FollowupID: 650059

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 19:09

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 19:09
Gday Blaze,
Sometimes a ratchet strap helps, but if you do it up tight, the modern steel radials often buckle under the strap.
FollowupID: 650144

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 07:29

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 07:29
if you must use a dive cylinder or similar (as I do) Make Sure You USE A REGULATOR

high pressure air or even nitrogen is dangerous stuff if not using a regulator

its not so much the pressure its the volume of air that can be delivered into the tyre that does the reseating...hence high pressure can get it in ok...but can you turn the cylinder off quick enough before it goes KABOOM?...and remember, if it does happen it has the potential to kill...so play it safe use a purpose built reg that can handle those cylinder pressures and reduce it accordingly

Have seen the top a refrigeration compressor go thru a factory roof cos a worker pressurised a airconditioner not using a regulator...he opened the valve up full and it filled very quickly...too quick for him to have time to turn it off
lucky he still had his head.....
AnswerID: 382350

Follow Up By: snapper49 - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 12:42

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 12:42
I cant believe people would be so silly to carry around cylinders of highly compressed air to inflate a tyre
They are virtually bombs waiting to go off
A good quality air compressor is a much safer option
FollowupID: 649911

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 13:02

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 13:02
IMO ...no more dangerous than an LPG cylinder when properly restrained...and after all considering the weight who wouldnt make sure it is.

lots of holidaying 4wd out there without cargo barriers with unrestrained cargo in the back .......in a serious front end smash you wont need a dive cylinder to smack you in the back of the head to kill any of those in front.....? an unrestrained can of coke hurtling forward can porbably do that job just as well
FollowupID: 649913

Follow Up By: snapper49 - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 14:29

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 14:29
Cant really compare a compressed air cylinder with an LPG cylinder
Both have different inherant problems
LPG isnt highly compressed but is highly flamable
The Air cylinder will be holding compressed air at somewhere around 3 to 4000psi which is extremely dangerous. One faulty tank or a knock on the regulator valve and i wouldnt want to be anywhere near it

Sorry but its a no brainer for me
FollowupID: 649916

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 15:44

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 15:44
Settle down! People carry around dive tanks every day...to get to the beach, dive boat, ramp..etc.

Every day they are carted in vehicles...some times on road and others across very arduous terrain to get to the site...hell they dive charter I went on once threw all our gear (tanks included) into the back of an unrestrained ute to deliver from the shop to the beach.

Most people dont carry around cylinders to inflate tyres.......they use the cylinders they are carrying around to inflate their tyres...note the difference.

Doesnt mean they are all no-brainers now does it!
FollowupID: 649924

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 15:45

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 15:45
"Cant really compare a compressed air cylinder with an LPG cylinder"..???
you cant compare a Low Pressure highly flamable gas CYLINDER with a High Pressure non flamable gas CYLINDER ... i know which one i would prefer to have leaking vapour ....

you dont honestly believe you dont get faulty LPG gas cylinders??? all pressure cylinders must be checked by by law?

LPG gas cylinder valves dont get knocked off either?...ask BOC/SupaGas etc how many get knocked off their cylinders ....and they also have shields around valve.

If correctly restrained i wonder what happens to a high pressure cylinder if the valve was removed in an instant.??? I suspect it just vent's its vapour to atmosphere...now if the cylinder aint correctly restrained then thats a different story (dont refer to the qantas thingy...we aint in a plane and you and I dont know what actually happened..i do have my theory tho) ...ever noticed why the cylinders are always upright when being transported, and also when they're used (as required by OHWS)....they are supposed to be just in case the valve is forced out; it aint going nowhere if the high pressure force is going vertically upwards
FollowupID: 649925

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 18:45

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 18:45
Once had a dive cylinder in the boot of my Torana move and open the valve. I thought the burst disk had gone. Popped my ears, that's all.

Where I work we carry compressed air cylinders around all the time. Have doen for years. Every truck in the fleet carries at least 8 and we have a couple carrying 36 each. Never had a problem. But yes they are properly restrained.

Have been to incidents involving LPG cylinders leaking and on fire. That is why mine are carried, properly restrained on the trailer and not in the car for all but very short trips like up to the servo for a refill.

FollowupID: 649945

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 07:29

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 07:29
Why carry a cylinder of compressed air around to blow a tyre out onto a rim when with a bit of luck the vehicle will still have some receptacles capable of holding enough volume of air capable of doing the same thing. ie inflated tyres.
Inflate a tyre up to near max, fit a connection from the inflated tyre to the tyre needed blown out.
It is volume not pressure that blows a tyre onto the rim so it will work better with valve cores removed.
For a few dollars a suitable hose can be constructed with a valve between two tyre valve connections.
Takes up less space and safer than a cylinder of compressed air lying in the back.
AnswerID: 382459

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 13:49

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 13:49
Many thks for the tips Russnic. Cheers.
FollowupID: 650058