tow ball weights

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 18:31
ThreadID: 72120 Views:12283 Replies:10 FollowUps:16
could anyone help me out,we have bought an old jayco jaydove, mainly because it was at a great price and the cost of family holidays staying in cabins at van parks has got more expensive.we currently have a honda crv which could tow the van all day,but even though the crv's have a towing capacity of 1400 kg ,the towball weight limit is only 50kg which sounds light,but when you get underneath you can see why.
the old jaydove at the ball would be over 100kg's which is pretty heavy considering the van only weighs in at 650kg's but when you see how far back jayco put the wheels you can see why.
to get to the point i am looking at a couple of older pajero's , one is a 1988 model and i have looked about but can not find their ball weight limit, they have a towing capacity of 1500kg's could anyone help me out. thanks.

Reply By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 18:50

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 18:50
See if you can put some gear behind the axle, like a water tank or a tool box on the back. This will take some weight off the drawbar and saves you buying another vehicle.

Also take it to a weighbridge and actually see what the drawbar weight is. It might supprise you to what it actually is.

AnswerID: 382411

Follow Up By: john&thejayco - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 19:25

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 19:25
g'day greg,we took it on a short trip and i filled the water tank which is above and behind the axle and we packed as much gear as possible behind the axle which did help a little but not any where enough to take the worry away.with the van empty i put the bathroom scales to the test by jacking the jockey wheel off the ground it slipped past the limit of 120kg's pretty quickly. minus the block of wood and the jack it's still pretty heavy, but the missus reckon's the scales have been known to lie.it's still a long way above the pitiful tow ball weight of the crv, i kick myself for trading in the old 1997 patrol now ,but a van wasn't on the horizon then.
FollowupID: 649949

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 20:08

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 20:08
It is very bad advice to pack the rear of the van.

Any van that is tail heavy will snake badly and should be avoided at all costs.

Fill it up as you would going on a trip with all the gear you expect to take.

Take it to a weigh bridge and weigh it with the wheels and jockey wheel on the scales.
Pull the jockey wheel forward and weigh it with just the wheels on the scales
The difference is your ball weight.

The ATM may surprise you as well.

Jaycos now have all the weights listed on their compliance plate so perhaps you could check it.

Check whether there is an allowable upgrade for the car.

You could get a lot of motel nights for the cost of the van and a car upgrade.

Hope it all goes well whichever way you go.

AnswerID: 382418

Follow Up By: john&thejayco - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 20:28

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 20:28
thanks Graham,
next chance i get i will get it to a weigh bridge and weigh it the way you described, also i will ring a honda dealer and find out about any allowable upgrades. thanks again.
ps.where would be the fun in motel nights,maybe it's back to tent night's, but as you get older the ground get's harder.
FollowupID: 649954

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:20

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:20
Graham, Australia has always subscribed to that theory of draw bar weight to be stabilised.

In most parts of the world trailers are as near to balanced front to rear as possible and a stabiliser device fitted to counter the possible sway , we in Australia say the opposite, but we may have to change our thinking on this as more and more cars have lighter tow ball weights than used to be.

There are many good stabilising devices on the market that are much cheaper than a new car would be.

AL-KO anti sway coupling

I towed a large double axle Giest c/van in Germany - Austria behind an Audi 100 with 70 kg ball weight max (the actual ball weight was only around 45kg) and I have to say I have never been so comfortable towing a big van as I was with that rig, fitted with the AL-KO anti sway coupling.

This was despite some big winds around Hamburg while driving at Autobahn speeds and truck buffeting on the back roads was a breeze as was alpine driving on twisting roads in Austria.

We may need to re-think our ways here, sooner rather than later, the way car construction is going around the world. No longer does Holden & Ford build cars for heavy tow ball weights and not everyone wants to drive a 4 x 4.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 649966

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:57

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:57
You may well be correct but until manufacturers do that we must stick to the tried and true with existing vans.

The Geist use a Winterhoff coupling which grips the towball and creates a resistance as you say.

My neighbour has one on a Sunland but I dont know if it makes it any better as he also has a WDH.

The European vans are also a lot lighter and it has to be proved how durable they are here.

The question posted pertained to an Aussie built van and the advice was given in answer to that.

FollowupID: 649974

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 06:32

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 06:32
Graham
the point I was trying to make was, that john&thejayco have options available to them here in Australia, right now, to rectify their immediate problem of trailer balance & subsequent control of that trailer without having to buy a bigger or heavier car, I therefore did not lose sight of the original post about an Aussie built van, it can be "balanced correctly" without losing control.
Cheers, Colin
FollowupID: 649997

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:01

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:01
Ok, you say the options are there.

So what are they.

FollowupID: 650033

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:32

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:32
Read my reply properly, mate.
FollowupID: 650037

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 15:16

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 15:16
"Take it to a weigh bridge and weigh it with the wheels and jockey wheel on the scales. Pull the jockey wheel forward and weigh it with just the wheels on the scales. The difference is your ball weight.

"The ATM may surprise you as well.

"Jaycos now have all the weights listed on their compliance plate so perhaps you could check it."

No, the ATM will never surprise you. It is written on the VIN plate. The ATM is not a variable weight. It is a figure set by the trailer manufacturer and it is the maximum weight that your loaded trailer is not to exceed. The ATM may only be altered by having a qualified (and certified) engineer assess the trailer and any modifications you have made to it. You then need to have your trailer reweighed for its new tare weight and the registration details ammended.

FollowupID: 650085

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 16:20

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 16:20
From FollowUp 2:

"In most parts of the world trailers are as near to balanced front to rear as possible and a stabiliser device fitted to counter the possible sway , we in Australia say the opposite, but we may have to change our thinking on this as more and more cars have lighter tow ball weights than used to be."

It is only the European situation that use light ball weights and even then they only come down to 7% ball weight. The American situation is 10 - 15% ball weights.

European vans are constructed with a different philosophy to our vans. It is not just because their vans are lighter. Stability depends on how the load is distributed. If you want a light ball load then you can not have significant weight at either end of the van. We can build vans with the heavy Oz type construction with most of the weight in the middle and low ball weights.

This means:-
1. Much smaller boots to limit the load up front.
2. No front or rear kitchens.
3. Batteries and solar panels located over the wheels.
4. No or very light bumper bars.
5. One water tank located over the axles and only one spare tyre mounted immediately behind it.
6. And certainly no tool boxes, boat trailers, outboard motors, batteries and other heavy items that some Richard craniums like to hang off the front or back

For an explanation of how caravan stability is effected by weight at the extremities - see this link

"There are many good stabilising devices on the market that are much cheaper than a new car would be.

AL-KO anti sway coupling"

Al-Ko anti sway couplings do not remove ball weight from the trailer. They should not be used to correct inherent instability in trailers, only to give added stability.

There is also an excellent study on caravan stability conducted by the University of Bath (UK.) It suggests that at lower speeds the friction devices might be of some benefit but at high speeds and at high oscillations they may be dangerous. The basic thinking is that friction devices help preventing things from getting out of line. However once your rig is severely out of line they also impede the rig from coming back into line - read this link for more info

FollowupID: 650096

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:47

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:47
Nomadic navarra You missed my point entirely.

What I was trying to say was he may well be surprised by the actual ATM when he weighs it.

Or should I have said The all up weight when he weighs it.

Means the same doesnt it.

I agree with your comments about the idiots that load them up till they are full and still stick the rest in.

I cant believe what I see getting around and whats towing it as well.

Unbelievable.

FollowupID: 650139

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 19:48

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 19:48
"Nomadic navarra You missed my point entirely.

"What I was trying to say was he may well be surprised by the actual ATM when he weighs it.

"Or should I have said The all up weight when he weighs it.

"Means the same doesnt it."

Graham - I think it is you that has missed the point. ATM is is a legal entity. You may be able to weigh a van to ascertain its aggregate weight. As I said above, The ATM is a figure fixed by the manufacturer. It is recorded in the registration database. How the hell can you measure what is in a database with a weighbridge? The all up weight and the ATM are different things. Anyone who really knows the subject should be aware of this.

FollowupID: 650154

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 19:59

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 19:59
Whatever

I know the ATM is a set figure

As I said he may be surprised what the ACTUAL all up weight is when he weighs it.

Usually it exceeds the ATM unless you are very careful.

FollowupID: 650160

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 20:51

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 20:51
Hi john,
Graham is right about the weight being over and behind the wheels, Can be Very dangerous if you get it wrong.
Here is a good readCaravan Stability
Happy travels

AnswerID: 382427

Reply By: simon - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 07:55

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 07:55
new doves have a ball weight of 137kgs which would increase when loaded, the old ones would not be to far different how old is it, I had a 02 model and was more like 950kg not 650kg that dry weight with no load no water or gas etc
AnswerID: 382463

Reply By: The Lobster - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 08:39

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 08:39
Assuming the vehilces you look at already have tow bars installed, the total towing capacity and the ball weight should be on the 'compliance' plate on the tow bar itself.

Hope that helps

matt
AnswerID: 382467

Reply By: brushmarx - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 09:00

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 09:00
I asked the Queensland Minister for Transport this question, and he seemed perplexed as to why I needed an answer about the approved towball weight of 150kg. He said his towball only weighed about 3kg. " they are only little round lumps of steel, why would you have one that weighs 150kg?"
Sorry.... I lied, Qld Government Ministers don't answer questions,
AnswerID: 382471

Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 09:45

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 09:45
50kg is a tad over 22½ lbs. I wouldn't even recommend leaning on that tow bar let alone hitching anything to it. Suggest you consider an alternative tow vehicle - check the towing, oad carrying specifications of it before you buy.
AnswerID: 382482

Follow Up By: DIO - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 09:47

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 09:47
Woooooooops - 50 kg is actually about 110 lbs. Sorry - seniors moment. I would still be very cautious applying any worthwhile load to it.
FollowupID: 650024

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 10:53

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 10:53

I posted here recently about a camper trailer I bought.

The bottle jack scale from Maytow told me I had 400kg on each wheel and 100kg on the ball.

Thats a total of 900kg. The compliance plate said the overall weight could only be 750kg.

I had the water tank full (65 ltrs), a spare up front, a battery and two full 4.5 kg gas bottles and a few odds and ends in the trailer when I took it to the weigh bridge.

Total trailer weight was onlt 740kg and the ball weight was was 76kg. Which to me is just about right.

The ball weight and van weight on your van sound a bit 'off'.

The weight of my trailer (empty) was suppose to be 450kg, I believe this was the weight of the trailer alone, without the tent and every thing else mentioned above.

I suspect in my case and many others I will end up about 50kg over the Fully loaded weight of 750kg.

In a nutshell I agree with others. Get it onto a weigh bridge the results may surprise you.

AnswerID: 382490

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 10:56

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 10:56
I forgot to say that the way things are at present I think you will still need about 10% over the ball which is more than likely going to be over 50kg.
FollowupID: 650030

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 10:59

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 10:59
I forgot to say that the way things are at present I think you will still need about 10% over the ball which is more than likely going to be over 50kg.
FollowupID: 650031

Reply By: john&thejayco - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 13:12

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 13:12
thanks guys, i am only going off the rego papers that say its weight is 650kg's , i am guessing thats empty of about everything.
it is a 1980 model ,but i would think the weight of the new ones would be pretty close to the mark on this old girl as well.
the towbar on a couple of vehicles that i have looked at have had the towing capacity on them,but i have not been able to find towball weight capacity.
AnswerID: 382505

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 14:41

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 14:41
To find out what is the towing and tow ball weight of any vehicle, download the Motor Vehicle Towing Mass Guide. This covers most vehicles that are both suitable and unsuitable for towing caravans. It also details whether WDH is recommended by the vehicle manufacturers. If WDH is recommended by the manufacturer, I would not like to be in the position of making an insurance claim if I was not using WDH when the accident occurred.

AnswerID: 382515

Follow Up By: john&thejayco - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:20

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:20
cheers mate, that list supplied with all info on just about every vehicle you could imagine really helped and it weeded out the 1988 pajero as not having much better tow ball capacity than the honda with a limit of 75 kg's.the couple of pajero's i was looking at were the1988 and a 1994 , the 1994 wins hands down with a 2500kg towing capacity and a 250 kg's ball weight.these are both old buses that need a bit of love, but a blokes gotta have a past time. I've got to keep the honda,because the family loves it and the car dealers will only offer you half its worth.
The kids just loved the one trip with the van and they are busting to go again, and thier not the only ones.everyone has been a great help,so when things get back on track,and we can get out there.hope to see you all out there.
FollowupID: 650165