Fixing up a bush town

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 20:26
ThreadID: 72121 Views:3503 Replies:2 FollowUps:12
I came back home on Monday night after a long meeting in a bush town. We finally elected an executive committee, and the outcome couldn’t have been better. A bunch of folks really commitment to improvement, and a delight to work with.

One of the hardest things in these towns is finding local leaders to push a barrow for change. It won’t come from Government, or the coppers.

Many of the so called leaders take a lot of convincing, but once they come on board the results become evident in a short period of time.

So it’s been a good start to the week for me, and I hope you blokes start to see some of the benefits when passing through in the next couple of years.

Kim

Reply By: Best Off Road, Affordable Storage Drawers - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 20:38

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 20:38
I'm guessing it is Tooradin young man?

Potentially lovely spot that needs a serious workover.

AnswerID: 382424

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:05

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:05
Yep it started off that way, but now the other coastal villages are coming on board.

A lot of people think these border areas aren’t bush towns anymore, but in fact they are.

Why don’t you come for a meeting one night and talk about your success.

You would be very welcome.

Kim
FollowupID: 649959

Follow Up By: Best Off Road, Affordable Storage Drawers - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:19

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:19
Kim,

Some lovely spots down that way.

Bass Landing that we have camped at is superb.

Corinella is a well kept secret.

Grantville is beginning to be developed.

All of them are on the way to Phillip Island, go figure?

FollowupID: 649964

Follow Up By: Twintrail(W.A.) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 00:46

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 00:46
Hi in my opion onse the tar gets there it lost as you know it
FollowupID: 649989

Reply By: Flywest - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 22:30

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 22:30
What do you do for the small towns Kim?

We have a few of those over here who could do with help.

There was an article only a week or two back in the West Australian about seabird a small lobster fishing village just up the coast from Perth who are worried that with the downturn in the industry, their town could go under.

I am relatively sure they are not the only ones in that position.

One then gets to wondering, - what could be done to help them?.

In the case of "seabird" for example - the Dutch East Indiaman Vergulde Draecke, sunk just 3 miles off shore from there in 1656, with a fascinating tale of 78 survivors who disappeared 100 opdd years before Cook settled at Botany bay in 1788 and claimed Australian in the name of the queen.

There's a lot of maritime history, displayed in the WA Martime Museum, the Gerladton Martime Museum as well - and a great big multimillion facility in Denham at Shark bay.

But poor old Seabird - which is right on the spot gets zippo zilch except for a small brick monument to the wreck and those lost, erected by volunteers and the WA VOC (Dutch East India Company) members.

Potentially the towns biggest tiurism drawcard has been stolen by every other town and govt dept up and down the west Aussie coast.

Where are the interpretive facilities for visitors to the town to read about the event right at the spot it happened?

Wheres the shipwreck survivors interpretive trail and cylceways walkways etc, named after the skipper and passengers crew etc?

These small towns have so much cultural and natural heritage to trade on and to attract tourists etc, yet they remain undeveloped - they get scant if any govt funding and support and rely entirely on one industry like the Lobster Industry to survive.

Tourism in these towns - doesn't seem to be able to get a toe hold, until they get at least ONE twin share ground floor 30 unit accommodation complex, that can cater for a bus load of high volume low value tourists (poms and pensioners on a tour bus).

Added to that they need a "must see" tourism draw card.

Geraldton has the Houtman Abrolhos Islands, Shark Bay has Monkey Mia Dolphins. Walpole the tree top walk erected by Govt (CALM / DEC).

So...

What about Lancelin?

Seabird?

There's no decent concrete launch ramp or marina been built in the last 30 years, despite all the rate payers and boat owners who have been paying boat registration fees for over 50 years now in those towns and a certain percentage of those fees put aside for just such purpose.

We see the new marinas in the Perth metro area - but what about the small seaside towns up the coast a bit?

Why a new $800 million marine for ocean reef in the northern suburbs?

Hillarys marina up the road - there's a good launch facility and marina wall etc at Ocean Reef already!

Whitfords marina

Another at Yanchep.

Why does the city areas get ALL the boating facilities grants?

Pork Barrelling?

Country towns are dieing because they are getting screwed over in the political process of govt budgeting!

Just curious what you do in these towns that turns things around - when our own govt seem intent on killing them off?.

I once read an official Labor Party internal document, saying they didn't want the cost of providing ANY govt services (police education medical etc) in towns under 5000 population - their policy is to keep withdrawing facilities in small towns less than 5000, until people go broke and leave & they become ghost towns.

Just how does one help these small towns of less than 5000?

Curious.

Cheers!
AnswerID: 382441

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 07:03

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 07:03
Maybe because the greatest percentage of the population live there in the Big City)? $800 million spent on what ever it was for Lancelin (pop'n about 650) or for the northern suburbs of Perth (Pop'n 1.5 Million or 73.5% of the WA total population)? Makes sense to me. Simple demographics.

Mick

FollowupID: 650000

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 07:06

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 07:06
P.S. Common sense would dictate that if you are going to spend $800 million on a Commercial venture such as your marina in Ocean Reef, you'd build it where it is going to make money. Probably very little Govt involvment in it.

FollowupID: 650001

Follow Up By: paulnsw - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 07:16

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 07:16
"Country towns are dieing because they are getting screwed over in the political process" NEVER Small towns are dieing as they want get off their fat rear ends from swilling grog, won't invest in themselves, cut anybody off at the knees that stands up, find every reason why they should not do anything, find every reason why they should not even discuss it, find every reason to put obstacles in the way, always blame everybody else including government for their ills and woes, talk about attracting industry to town which is a furphy.

What you should say Australians are bone lazy, fat and idle sitting on the verandah swilling grog waiting for somebody else to come along and do something. They wont stand up for themselves and rally and do things.
To turn rural towns around is not hard, but takes effort, commitment, need to invest in themselves, and a few other simple things.

Your statement about Labor Party internal document is chicken bull manure. Nobody would be stupid enough to write something like that. 5,000 is a decent size town in Australia. It would be impossible to pull services from towns and perhaps would be riots in the streets if they could get off their fat rear ends and manage to drag their fat overweight grog enhanced belly along.
FollowupID: 650002

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 08:49

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 08:49
Struth Paul, don't hold back mate LOL :-)

Agree with a lot of what you have said having worked and lived in several small rural towns over the years. It's amazing what a renaissance can occur when a few individuals put some progressive thinking together. Unfortunately far too many individuals prepared to pull them down.

FollowupID: 650015

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 09:51

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 09:51
Paul that sounds a little like NSW!! :-)
FollowupID: 650026

Follow Up By: paulnsw - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 21:46

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 21:46
well it is quite sad what happens in small country towns and I lived in one till recently. Having worked in regional economic development it is nigh impossible to get anything happening in Australia compared to working overseas. People here in Australia can live like kings and queens on social security and don't have empty bellies and don't have to do anything to enable them to fill those bellies as the cash arrives every two weeks on a magic carpet into their bank accounts.
FollowupID: 650178

Follow Up By: Flywest - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:07

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:07
NEVER Citys & their cityfolk are dieing as they wont get off their fat rear ends from swilling grog, won't invest in themselves, cut anybody off at the knees that stands up, find every reason why they should not do anything, find every reason why they should not even discuss it, find every reason to put obstacles in the way, always blame everybody else including government for their ills and woes, talk about attracting industry to cities which is a furphy.

What you should say Australians cityfolk are bone lazy, fat and idle sitting on the verandah swilling grog waiting for somebody else to come along and do something. They wont stand up for themselves and rally and do things.
To turn citys around is not hard, but takes effort, commitment, need to invest in themselves, and a few other simple things.

Yup!

Cheers ;o)
FollowupID: 650184

Follow Up By: wafarmer - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 01:40

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 01:40
(Quote)
Having worked in regional economic development (end Quote)

Hmm part of the problem not the solution.

wafarmer
FollowupID: 650193

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 23:09

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 23:09
Gooday Flywest

Irrespective of some of the comments, it can be done. If you drop me a line at kimmc@satlink.com.au we’ll have a chat.

Kim

FollowupID: 650299