What are Mickey Thompson tyres like.
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 23:39
vk1dx
Sorry - Another tyre thread. I have the option of using a set of Mickey Thompson tyres for a trip. They are my son's and just sitting in the garage. basically unused. We normally run a 265 width and these are 285's.
So there are two parts:
1: Would the 285 size be okay on the standard 16*8 rims? and
2: What are MT's like?
Thanks all
Reply By: Krakka - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 05:58
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 05:58
16 X 8 rims are no problems with 285 width tyres. Haven,t used Mickey T's, so don't know.
Krakka
Reply By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 06:28
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 06:28
Ok I run MT 31's MTZ's..Fantastic in rocky /shaley conditions,done a lot of km's in this type of country and havnt had a puncture yet ( bleep e i shouldnt hav said that lol) ,Ok in clay/mud..I find them not all that great on bitumen roads in wet conditions when it comes to stopping in a hurry...
Would i buy them again,You bet..
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 06:30
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 06:30
I run 28575R16 FC2's on 16x8 rims on the Pootrol. Good aggressive tread for an A/T and will do anything the Coopers or BFG will do. Not particularly strong in the sidewall for real "off-track" swork (read: No track, making your own way etc). If you're doing normal touring on rough outback roads, the tyres will cope IMO.
Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 09:06
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 09:06
I run 285 MTZ's and will buy them again for sure
Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 09:10
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 09:10
Hi vk1dx,
When we headed off on our trip around oz 2 1/2 years ago I bought 9 Mickey Thompsom MTZs 28575R16 on 8" rims. Why 9? 4 on the car plus 1 spare. 2 on the trailer plus 2 spares. We rotate them regulary and have now done over 80'000 kms on them. I have had 3 nails which were repaired with tyre plugs and still on the car and 1 puntured with a railway spike out of
wilpena pound. I am very very happy with them and would be putting them on again. They are great off road but seem pretty good on road to, not to loud. If I was you I would be using them.
Josh
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 10:38
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 10:38
Perhaps this is not the place to make this comment but I think it is relevant so here goes.
Why do people feel the need to apologize when posting a legitimate question about tyres?
I know we get a lot of tyre posts but tyres are significant cost item that directly relates to your 4wd experience. There was a time when we would get all hot under the collar about tyres. Many thought that they somehow had to justify their choice of tyre by belittling another brand, but we seem to have grown out of that. I certainly hope we have.
Personally I read nearly every post on tyres because I am interested in other peoples experience. I learn stuff that I would not otherwise know and who knows what I might be looking for in the future.
At the moment I am very happy with my choice of tyre. They are performing
well on and off road and returning good wear rates. What are they? That is not relevant to this post so unless someone specifically asks I will not say.
Phil, it sounds like the consensus is that the Mickey Thompsons are OK and if I had the chance at a cheap set I would grab them with both hands. The only thing I will mention and I bet you've considered it already, but not knowing what vehicle you are fitting them to, do they fit comfortably in the guards without fouling anything at full lock or full wheel travel?
Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:01
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:01
I second that Duncs , as I always read the tyre posts also.As you say you can blow a lot of $ on tyres.
And I need a new set soon . >:-()
Cheers Scoof . :-)
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:23
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:23
As the poster of this thread I also agree.
There are too many people around who get offended so easily. Its like we have bred a bunch of softies and totally politically ignorant mugs.
When I started on this
forum I was calling a spade a spade and ended up in heaps of arguments because there is a large element of "weakies" that want it so politically correct and do not understand (nay comprehend) the queens english. Of course as a fool I jumped in. Mug. It's just easier to allay their fears in the first instance. I am not interested in their comments anyway as they are usually biased and you cannot understand what they type.
Don't worry, I long for the days when people can write english and comprehend the written word correctly. But it will never happen.
FYI I am the owner of a new life. I just had a pacemaker installed after 5 heart dead (total) stops and I am floating so high I don't think that even a direct insult, will upset me now. And it's spring!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:53
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:53
vk1dx go for it and don't hold back. Yeeeehaaa. LOL
Cheers Scoof . :-)
Follow Up By: tim_c - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 12:06
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 12:06
Duncs, totally agree - the only way to find out if a tyre is any good in the real world is to ask people who have tried it out. Tyres are expensive, and if we find after a few thou km that we made a bad choice, it's even more expensive to go back on it (or else you're stuck with it until they wear out). I read most tyre threads too because although I've been happy so far with my choices of tyres, there is probably something even better out there that I haven't considered yet.
And Phil, "I am not interested in their comments anyway as they are usually biased and you cannot understand what they type" Ha ha ha, so true!
"I long for the days when people can write english and comprehend the written word correctly. But it will never happen." No, at this rate we'll all be speaking arabic before we all learn to read/write english properly.
Sorry to hear about the ticker, but glad to hear you lasted long enough to get it fixed - hope it keeps you ticking for a few more years yet...
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 12:07
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 12:07
Good on you mate.
God I love this country
Pity you didn't hear me laugh when I opened you email.
Country born, city bred and country re-educatedand "born again'.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:03
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:03
Agree with you Duncs.
Read all the tyre threads.
Why, because the tyres I am happy with most probably go out of production in a year or two and I will be looking again for something else.
Reply By: Shawsie - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 10:44
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 10:44
I've got the ATZ 275 on 16x7 and had them for nearly 3 yrs. Great tyres and would probably get the MTZ when they eventually run out :o)
Reply By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:38
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:38
Thank you one and all.
I think I will go ahead with them. We don't really care what the mileage is as they are the last link with the ground and the grip is always the driving fact for us. I couldn't even tell you how many mile the ones on the car have done.
So to the posters thanks and have a good day
Phil (a new Phil that is, and I am waiting for my body to catch up).
Reply By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 12:04
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 12:04
G'day vk1dx
I run the Mickey Thopsons MTZ on my Cruiser, 285's on 80 series GXL rims.
Can't say they are puncture proof, as one tyre or is that tire, found a 4 inch long 3/8th fine thread bolt someone had lost. The tyre repaired ok with an internal patch and is still in use, all up close to 68000ks ~ mostly in true off road conditions, a very good make of tyre and yes I will buy them again, without hesitation.
Regards:
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 13:25
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 13:25
Excellent and I just checked with the local RTA and they will be legal on our 100 series as
well.
Hooroo
Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:07
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:07
Bugga that should read Mickey Thompsons,sorree!
Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 14:04
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 14:04
I run MTZ's on 265/75/16, bought them 12 weeks ago and did 14000kms up and around the
Kimberley region just recently, not none puncture. Like you i got my feedback from here, so i went out and bought them, in these early stages they are a great tyre. Many people while we were on holiday commented on how robust they are. Can't help you on the 285's.
cheers,
Lance
Follow Up By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 14:56
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 14:56
Tried to copy and paste but nothing came up
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 15:08
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 15:08
If you have facebook add my email as a friend and then I will give you access to my
Kimberley and Karunji track albums.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 15:09
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 15:09
If you have facebook add my email as a friend and then I will give you access to my
Kimberley and Karunji track albums.
My email: vk1dx@bigpond.net.au
Reply By: Rossco td105 - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:21
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:21
Hey Phil,
Just returned from a 12k km trip through the Kimberly. Fitted Mickey Thompson MTZ's before we left (Changed from BFG muds, old model, which were great tyres, new ones not available in required size before we left).
No punctures, great traction (including a mis-adventure on an allegedly 'safe' flood plain -low tide-) and look like they will wear
well. Towing camper trailer the whole way as
well.
A few people we spoke to up North are a little unhappy with the wear rate on new BFG muds, so we may have made a good choice.
You're looking at a smaller size, but ours fit the factory steel 16x8 steel rims no problems.
Ross.