Who's Travelling The Farthest To The St George Gathering ?,

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 15:54
ThreadID: 72138 Views:3580 Replies:5 FollowUps:25
Not knowing most of the people who are attending the Gathering, I was wondering who has to travel the most kilometres to get there, and whether they do it in one go, or planned stop overs, re: take their time and smell the roses so to speak, being Queenslanders and living on the Gold Coast we will take our time and chug up over the Toowoomba Range, the Cook wants to have a look at some of the entrants in the Toowoomba Carnival of Flowers, then stop over at Dalby, then meander out to St George, and try not to disturb the peace lol lol.

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 16:29

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 16:29
Daza,

Me thinks there will be a couple of contenders for that one. I think Russnic NZ is even including a swim leg in his quest to be in St George LOL

AnswerID: 382521

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 16:53

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 16:53
That's great Kev, he must be a avid Exploroz-er.
FollowupID: 650099

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:12

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:12
He must be a bloody good swimmer as well LOL

FollowupID: 650104

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:26

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:26
My swimming is not so flash.
Avid? or should that be rabid, probably a bit mad I suppose,
I don't mind flying, if it means getting across the ditch occasionally.
See you all there,
all going well.
FollowupID: 650135

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:57

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:57
***He must be a bloody good swimmer as well LOL***

Nup bloody long Snorkel !
FollowupID: 650141

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:50

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:50
Hi Guys,

I will also be jumping the ditch to the 'West Island'. :-))

6am departure (leave home at 3am) Arrive Bris about 7am local time. Allowing for half a day to pick and stock my vehicle should be there on Sunday afternoon.

KK
FollowupID: 650170

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 22:32

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 22:32
Hi Kiwi
We kneed to bring a bit of edgamcation to our cozy-bros ovre thier at times don't we.
Please don't expect me to do that.
"Gone Bush" home address makes him and others from WA. further away than from my home base.
Next years gathering?
We might need a toss up.!!
FollowupID: 650183

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:31

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:31
Back again KK
How can you do that in so short a time?
My trip starts here 10.45 to ChCh - Auk arrive Bris. 5.10 pm. Get through the airport/immigration hassles I might get the mile or so to the 'GARAGE ADDRESS' catch up with the lovely lady "Gwen" catch up with the mail that can only be sent to the "GARAGE ADDRESS" might have the red tape etc sorted by midnight. Next day get the Registration renewal sorted out along with the red tape I haven't allowed for and, allow a day for that along with restocking etc
At least with Ken Tame & Assoc got the Insc done.
Get the messy stuff tidied up head North & catch up with Rosscoe. A few holes to drill some talking to be done & some fittings fitted, I will head west a bit when I can. Take the best route SW or so avoiding busy messy places I hope to be in Saint George four days after leaving home.
See you there.
FollowupID: 650190

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:02

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:02
Hi Russnic,
6am departure from Wellington seven days per week. Why are you going via Auckland ? You could go Christchurch or Wellington or even Queenstown - Christchurch - Gold Coast.

Unless you left your bookings to late - school holidays ! :-))

KK
FollowupID: 650221

Follow Up By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 20:11

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 20:11
Found some time to reply.
I have been working on getting over there before the flies get to thick and the temperature gets too uncomfortable, I have to change my bookings three times now, originally Ingill ChCh Bris. and trying to keep the price to change on a par is the reason I am going out from Auk. it is not by choice but at least I will get there on the same day.
In a few weeks time when the snow is gone you will be able to fly from Queenstown to Brisbane for around half the price of flying to ChCh. from here.
Competition is a good thing at times.
FollowupID: 650426

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:12

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:12
I think we would have been a contender but there has been slippage in the delivery date of our van from just before the Gathering to well after.

So, unfortunately we won't be there.

We will be in QLD but half way through October instead of late September.

We hope everyone has a good time, maybe we will run into people after the event somewhere. We will have an ExplorOz windscreen sticker on the rear window of the van so if you see a Bushtracker being towed by a light goldy coloured 200 series Cruiser (rego" HONEY BUN") it will be us.

AnswerID: 382527

Follow Up By: Member - Anthony G (ACT) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:26

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:26
Gone Bush thats your rego. Whats the other halfs?
FollowupID: 650110

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:48

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:48
"HONEYBUN" hahahahahahahahahaha
Lucky ya not a pirate Bushy LOL "Captain HONEYBUN" would've thrown the fear of god into all them there varmints yer'd have plundered. LOL LOL.

Cheers mate, enjoy the new Bushtracker.
FollowupID: 650121

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:56

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:56
goodday GB
which way are you heading after picking up the van
after st george we are going to lightning ridge for a week or so then heading out towards yowah quilpie and those areas

FollowupID: 650125

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:03

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:03
Just a thought Steve, don't know which way you're going to St.George, but if your going anywhere near Coonabarabran you are welcome to stay on our bush block on the Newell Highway.
FollowupID: 650128

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 19:37

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 19:37
Anthony,

you're right GONE BUSH is my rego. It's on the trayback. HONEY BUN is Mrs Bush's rego on her 200 Series which she has kndly allowed me to put in front of the new BT. I can see the less powerful (but more useful) trayback being consigned to the sales yard when we get home.

Steve,

we intend to do all the touristy things in QLD since we haven't been north of the Sunshine Coast before. We'll go up the coast and down through the inland areas then into the New England district of NSW on the way home. Over about 2 months I reckon.

FollowupID: 650150

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:13

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:13
Gone Bush, like I offered Steve, if you are visiting the North West Slopes and Plains, feel free to use our bush camp, out of Coonabarabran for the Warrumbungles, Pilliga Scrub , Narrabri etc.
FollowupID: 650163

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:29

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:29
Thanks Fred, that's very kind of you.

I'll certainly look at that on our trip home.

thanks

FollowupID: 650166

Follow Up By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:53

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:53
thank you fred for the offer i may be in touch will have a look at travel plans

FollowupID: 650206

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:25

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:25
Depends what state you live Daza. We are from Newcastle, NSW & whilst we are not able to attend the St George gathering, hypothetically if we were able to attend we would sort of head up that way via the Northern Territory, which of course would make us a serious contender for most K's travelled to get there.

We wouldn't be seen in Cane Toad Qld for quids, so we would cut across at a bit of a right angle from the NT when we got far enough North which would sort of take us across towards the coast in a straight line to St George. We would travel at night on the back roads once crossing the border so no one could see us in that horrible state. This would further add to distance travelled.

Is Kev offering a prize for longest distance travelled? LOL

AnswerID: 382529

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:50

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:50
Barry,

The prize will be 1 can of cockroach spray to use if they meet up with you hahahahahahahaha

FollowupID: 650122

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:54

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:54
Barry. Captain "HONEYBUN" would have beat ya mate, if he were going. LOL.

I wonder if the "Flag" is making an appearance this year? LOL
FollowupID: 650124

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 21:04

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 21:04
Hi Fred,

Will you be at your 'Bush Block' after St George ? We will be heading down that way and on to have a look around the Snowy Mountains when we leave St George.

KK
FollowupID: 650174

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 06:33

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 06:33
KK I won't be at St. George, as I will be in Southern NSW. I won't be at Coonabarabran, but you're welcome to use it. Send MM and I will give you details if you want to plan it in. Lots to see and do in the District.

Fred.
FollowupID: 650194

Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:55

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:55
Hi Daza

We are travelling up from McCrae on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria, haven't decided which way yet still looking at the maps. We will be leaving
home on the Thursday be at St. George on the Friday, approx 1500 km.

Matt & Julie

AnswerID: 382562

Reply By: Member - John Q (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 18:08

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 18:08
Hi Daza,

From Brisbane to St George via Townsville about 2,800km. Leaving next Monday & should annoy Kev if he is around on Wednesday arvo. I have a RAAF functin to attend in Townsville hence the long way around. Look forward to catching up with others in St George but sorry to hear Gone Bush (hi Stephen) will not be there.

AnswerID: 382659

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 18:41

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 18:41
John,

I'll still be in Calliope on Wednesday next week.

I have just been down to the Calliope River to see Member Scrubby who is in the area slowly making his way to St George for the Gathering.
I think will be to longest travelled as he started in Bendigo in May and has been up to Darwin and Cairns.

See you next week

FollowupID: 650270

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 22:19

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 22:19

If you need a place to park whilst in Townsville I can help you out.

I've got a new D-MAX due for delivery sometime around the EOM ex Brisbane. Still tossing up if we will have to go St George then Brissy. Love to have the new vehicle for the gathering of "the Clan" LOL.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 650292

Follow Up By: Member - John Q (QLD) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 07:23

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 07:23
Hi Malcolm,

I've sent you an MM.

FollowupID: 650317

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 09:43