car fridges

car fridge verses fridge freezer

Reply By: Wherehegon - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:30

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:30
Depends on your needs, we are looking at getting another 50L waeco to use as a freezer only. Sometimes depending on where your going and how long for you dont want an, eg 80L waeco which is a very good sized unit but takes up alot more room then a 50L.. I believe that the duel units work extremely well........Regards steve M
AnswerID: 382530

Follow Up By: blue one - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:41

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:41
When we take extended trips I use a 32 ltr Engel as a freezer and a 40 ltr Engel as a fridge. To defrost I take out the frozen meal and leave it in the fridge to act as a large ice block.

Works well as the freezer usually only gets opened once or twice a day. Great for ice cream as the freezer can be set low without upsetting the fridge temps.

This set up extends our time in the bush and also gives you redundancy if one fails (yet to happen). The 32 ltr was second hand which cut down on the costs and it's still going strong after 3 years.

FollowupID: 650114

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:03

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:03
Depends on whether you really need to freeze things.
You can Cryovac meat and store it at about 2deg, and it will keep for up to 5 or 6 weeks, no freezing. Not running a freezer, only a fridge, means a lot in power consumption.
Gerry

AnswerID: 382536

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:01

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:01
Yes, that's true - heat transfer increases significantly as the temperature difference increases. I can't remember the formulas from back in Year 12, but when ambient temperature is, say, 25 deg C, it's a lot harder to keep a freezer at -15 deg C compared to keeping a fridge at +5 deg C. Simply, this means that running your fridge as a freezer, the compressor will be operating longer and more often than if you just have fridge temperatures, hence using more battery power.
FollowupID: 650161

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:09

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:09
Howdy fence, a bit more info would probably help. It's what I call "horses for courses" !
In our case we have a caravan with a frig in it, which takes care of the food items & a bottle of wine for SWMBI for happy hour. But.......... it is taboo for me to sully the frig with uncouth beer.

So, I have a small Waeco Frig/Freezer, I think it is only 18 Litre capacity, but it suits my needs for a coldie at the end of the day as that is it's only purpose. It would not suit many others as their needs might be different.

I sit it on the back seat, plugged into the ciggy lighter & give it a pat now & then just to make sure it is chugging away looking after my needs & to hell with it's big brother in the van chilling plonk & food. I hope that helps & good luck.
AnswerID: 382538

Reply By: fence - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:23

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:23
thanks for the replys.
I reckon the cryovac , which we have used in our van fridge an i had completely forgotton about would be a good way to go.Will look into whats required to cyrovac as i am nearly sure u can buy something to do it yourself.
thanks again.
AnswerID: 382540

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:52

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:52
You can, there are a few. Freshseal is one of many.

Actually kryovacing is better than freezing imho.

You know what is in the bag.
It packs more efficiently
You can decide what is for dinner 30 mins before cooking, not 1 day.
You use half the battery power.

No Ice cream or ice for the G&T though.
FollowupID: 650140

Reply By: howie - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:27

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:27
with 2 adults & 2 kids i can easily go 3 weeks without stepping into a shop using just 1 x 39L engel.
this of course requires planning, but its suprising what you don't have to put in the fridge. ( dried pasta, tins of food, long life milk, red wine, vegies etc)
also requires vacuum packing meat of course.
last years trip with 4 x blokes for 2 months required 2 x 39L engels (1 as freezer, 1 as fridge) but we could replenish along the way.
you don't say what kind of trips are expected so it's a bit hard.
my 39L engel fits a space neatly, however, if i had a bit more room, i would be getting a dual compartment model that can be changed from fridge/fridge to fridge/freezer.

AnswerID: 382542

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:50

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 18:50
Mate,

I have a trailblazer 40l that I use as a fridge freezer.

I place the frozen items on the bottom then place a 4mm mdf barrier above the frozen food. The rest becomes a fridge.

Once you learn where the sweet setting is on your thermostat, you don't alter it, unless you wish to change you unit into a freezer or fridge.

You can get seperate compartment fridge/freezers as you know but I prefer the one compartment as I can call my own tune with the way I use it.

Have a good one

AnswerID: 382545

Reply By: Holden4th - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:26

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 20:26
You can't beat the vacuum packer. I vac pack all my meat and freeze it for at least 3 months. When I take off I set my Waeco FF40 on #3, put all my frozen vac packed stuff at the bottom, and the stuff I want to keep cold above that separated by a thick layer of cardboard. I also carry a small esky into which I out milk and other quickly usable stuff. If I decide on chops for the night, I remove them from the FF40 and put them into the esky to thaw out (and keep my milk etc cold at the same time). After a few days the frozen vac packed food eventually thaws in the fridge but still remains cold and I've now got room for the milk in the Fridge.

This uses very little power for my fridge and the RAPS 36ah battery will keep it going for a few days, used judiciously.
AnswerID: 382558

Reply By: trainslux - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 11:14

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 11:14
We have an evakool 47lt fridge freezer.

I have used it as a small fridge, using just the freezer area as a fridge.
used bugger all power and was excellent.

Used as all fridge, was excellent, meat at evap end, vegies at the other.

Used on our month long trip as fridge freezer, again was excellent.
We also used a 20ltr icecool for vegies, sandwiches, and beer for the evening, and overflow from the fridge when we wanted to take that bit more.
Only problem was that if we put in frozen meat to defrost.......it didnt.
Was swapping out a 1.25ltr bottle of water each day from the freezer to the icecool, sometimes didnt swap it for 2 or 3 days, as it was still frozen.

Have run it as all freezer, but only for a short while. Once down to temp, its excellent.

Found it very versatile, and as a 60lt wouldnt fit in the vehicle, the 47, plus an esky, er 20 icecool gave us a freezer, fridge, and crisper with 67lts capacity.

Worked well for us.

Trains

AnswerID: 382755