Fuel usage for our Kimberley trip

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 22:10
ThreadID: 72153 Views:4324 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
This we are proud of.

Car is a Landcruiser GXL 2005 auto turbo diesel. All up weight just above 3200Kg. No trailers etc and no roof racks. We basically cruised on 100 or 110 as permitted. 80 on the GRR and Kalumburu roads and 40 on the Mitchell Falls side road and the Bungles roads. 20 mainly on the Karunjie Track except for 80 on the Swamp Shortcut. Tyres at 45/40 and Cooper ATs 265/70R16.

Note we drove with an imaginary very ripe peach on the accelerator pedal. Lots of cruise control on the flats and manual control at every hill allowing the car to go up the hill etc without pushing the pedal down to maintain speed. Rather easing off slightly to keep the car from changing down unnecessarily. Basically using the diesel engine torque as it is designed to be used. Much as any decent truckie would drive his personal rig. The car was on the Ghan for Adelaide to Darwin and return to Adelaide.

Total distance driven; 8748Kms.
Total diesel used: 1039.61 Lts
Fuel consumption: 11.88 lts/100 Km.

Something that can be achieved without racing and just ambling along, albeit at 110 etc. Now we have our figures for the cape York and other top end trips.

Reply By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 22:17

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 22:17
Forgot to say:

No cruise control at all, used on any dirt road or track.
AnswerID: 382577

Reply By: fisho64 - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 00:08

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 00:08
your figures pretty much tally with my 04 TD cruiser, though slightly better as I did 5200km for 580 litres but empty, just me, east coast to west coast@125kmh.
Around town 13 l/100KM.
Still have mates who reckon LC's are fuel hogs. 1HD-FTE is sensational on diesel.
AnswerID: 382594

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 09:02

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 09:02
We are exceptionally happy with the fuel consumption and may I say with the whole setup as well. Cannot give you a figure around town as it is not "used" around town. We mainly use our Maxima. See we don't hate Nissans.

She is a great car. So much room and comfortable to drive. A mate had a patrol and I found it very stiff in the seat. The Nissans are tops but this Toyota one just seems to "cruise". It could have been the driver as well. He seemed to be pushing it all the time. I know they are good as we found it hard to separate them. In the end it was the "feel" of the driving/cabin and of course the price. Even over the corrugations. Noisy, yes but the low tyre pressure and new Bilsteins and rear springs keep us straight and level. Beats the old kingswood. Shock horror - listen to me.

I suppose it really doesn't matter what you drive as long as it does what you want it to do and safely. My wife used to go in the Redex Trials and I think she would have liked to drive this one in them.

Nice chatting with you.

FollowupID: 650207

Reply By: Chambo - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 07:31

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 07:31
I will quote my figures with the other frame of mind in driving. We have just come back from the same area.

GU 4.2TD Intercooled with Garrett GT28R running 19lb
Ultimate camper, roof racks, 33's, Jerries (3) fully loaded around 5 tons is my estimate
Used cruise going up at 110 and also coming home. Did turn it off for the hills.
Belted along the dirt, basically did't worry about the fuel
Averaged 5l/lt or 20lt/100
It was a little more than I thought it would use but my travelling partner had a Toyota FJ whatever, the one with the swiss watch engine and he averaged 6k/lt.
Considering my engine is a truck motor and the all up weight it's not too bad.

Don't take this the wrong way, but if I had just done that trip and drove it with a ripe peach under the pedal I would now be in a straight jacket. Those trips are what they are and you do them regardless of costs.

Driving the same car to and from work I usually get 13/14lt/100

Chambo
AnswerID: 382604

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:50

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:50
Hi Chambo

I try not to take anyone the wrong way. Not these days. The grammar is so bad that it is very easy to do it. Don't tell anyone but my heart stopped 5 times last weekend. That kind of makes you take a second look. I now have a computer in my chest.

We had heaps of time so that why we didn't push the pedal down. It was also the first big trip and we wanted to just see how we went. Quite happy with it as you read. Got it last week. A new life on the first day of spring.

I would have expected you to get around 18-19 from what I have heard. Last time we towed anything was a Chesney pop-top behind the old Kingswood. The car had extensive work done to it and taking the fuel cost was not considered. At very heavy throttle about 6MPG (around 130 mph) on an emergency trip to Wagga with no speed limits and on a gentle trip up to Mt Panorama we got 34MPG with the kids in the back and every cop eyeing us off.

The Toyota is parked in the drive when we are home. So I cannot give you a city mileage. It may get out for services or mods etc.

The next trip may show something different. When we go out climbing the hills around here with the club that's different. Anything up to 35LT/100Km.

Have a great day and thanks for the chat. This is one hell of a country and we have heaps to see yet.

FollowupID: 650205