4WD owners slam report

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:58
ThreadID: 72159 Views:4869 Replies:13 FollowUps:4
TERRITORY four-wheel-drive owners have ridiculed a report that says car drivers want them off the road.READ MORE HERE

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 09:22

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 09:22
NT News (Not The News) is obviously getting desperate for news..... as they totally run out of crocodile stories to run....! So they are back to writing, objective, well written...... What am I saying? lol.. (:

The NT News is up to it's ususl standard of reporting....

However, I do agree that the media has to stop it's scurrolous campaign against 4WD owners... but this sort of article is not going to help.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 382616

Reply By: BenDiD - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 09:51

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 09:51
Sounds like there have been no "Dog Chokes on G-String" stories to run this week.

AnswerID: 382619

Reply By: you eat the bear - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 10:12

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 10:12
They report on the one hand

"Mr Wheeler, 33, of Darwin City, said taking to the bush in his Daihatsu Rocky Turbo was part of the Territory lifestyle."

then they add...

"Sixty-six per cent also backed higher registration fees for the larger vehicles."

So as the Ford or Holden station wagon is bigger than the Rocky, those drivers should be paying more??? Ok - nice logic.

A Commodore Wagon is also longer and wider than my LC76 wagon (true). I'm happy to pay less too...
AnswerID: 382622

Follow Up By: you eat the bear - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 10:24

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 10:24
Oops

Commodore wagon 4904L x 1899W
Falcon Wagon 5066L x 1863W
Toyota LC76 4910L x 1870W

Anyway. My point still stands.

FollowupID: 650213

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 11:53

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 11:53
G/Day Doug

I think it's a case of the Haves, and the Have Nots, or to put it bluntly, plain old fashion Jealousy, if they dont want or can't have 4wd's nobody else should have them either, then again it could be their driving skills, they might feel threatened when they pull up beside one on the road, I rarely see 4wd owners trying to intimidate motorists in non 4wd vehicles, anyway that's my thoughts on the matter.

AnswerID: 382625

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:14

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:14
I think you are being to kind, personally i think it is simple suburban coccoon ignorance.
FollowupID: 650225

Reply By: Member - ken b (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:02

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:02
hi all. dont tell me that this,rag, has givin up on the truckies and the crocs this week. they must live with there heads stuck in a deep freezer. i think the no1 thing that all the tourists love about the n.t. is the freedom and the challange to go bush in a 4wd to see outback australia ( the most beautifull country in the world ) i have been to france twice and all the people ask about is outback australia. this rag that wrote this story only wants to sell newspapers.
AnswerID: 382627

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:47

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:47
After reading the report I had a little chuckle when reading last section where it stated that 4wd owners make fewer claims than passenger car owners.
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 382632

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 15:30

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 15:30
I want people who've had no Training or Assessment in driving an articulated vehicle, banned from towing caravans or boat trailers . . . . but that ain't gonna happen either.
AnswerID: 382646

Follow Up By: DCTriton - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 20:44

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 20:44
I want people trained by DECA to never drive an articulated vehicle...
FollowupID: 650279

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 17:22

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 17:22
And of course the reverse should also apply if 4wds are not to be used in cities (a city yet to be defined).
2wd vehicles should not be allowed on dirt roads (dirt roads yet to be defined).

A lot of hype isn't it!

So how would a 4wd pass through the city of Alice Springs, or Mt Isa?

Don't let the facts get in the way of a good story.
AnswerID: 382653

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 17:24

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 17:24
we need to start a campaign to have all cars other 4wd banned
and this also means that part time australian contraption they ride...motor bikes
probably also reduce a lot of hoon type driving
AnswerID: 382654

Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 19:39

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 19:39
Actual AAMI report: HERE

AnswerID: 382672

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 19:58

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 19:58
Harold Screwlose has moved to Darwin!!!! Woooo Hoooo.
AnswerID: 382676

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 20:12

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 20:12
Myths & Facts on 4WD's

Insurance companies would just love to charge the maximum for each class of vehicle, why then is it so that 4WD are in the lowest risk class in general???

Easy answer, they know that they (4wds) present the lowest risk, that simple!!!!
FollowupID: 650277

Reply By: Ray - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 09:21

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 09:21
First of all, please define a 4WD ? does that include all those sedan type vehicles that have 4WD (AWD) ? My 80ser. L/C is an AWD.
What about trucks and buses ? Are not these vehicles as bad as 4WDs when it comes to rear view visibility. I believe that some sedan type vehicles have worse rear view visibility than 4WDs. Does Mr. Scewloose want to ban trucks and buses also?
I do agree that people who use their vehicle to tow caravans and trailers should have an endorsement on their licenses to do so.
AnswerID: 382733

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:55

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:55
For goodness sake will they shut up if us 4x4 drivers and caravan towers have a different licence class. Probably not. There is too many out there criticising others with out looking in their own back yards first. Two words to the anti truck drivers, 4x4 drivers ,caravan towers. How dose their milk get to the shop, how dose a small servo in the middle of know where survive. On tourist who tow vans with their 4x4.
Sort the bloody hoons out first I reckon.
Cranky one tonight ain't I.
AnswerID: 382824