What's towing Vans.....!!!

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 18:06
ThreadID: 72164 Views:4858 Replies:7 FollowUps:16
Just thought I'd say, It's amazing just how many Prado's towing Vans have come to this Caravan Pk I'm living at , there's been more Prado's than any other type , there's 2 here tonight. the Station owner has one, the Caretaker has one.

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 18:21

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 18:21
I bet some are towing bigger vans than their legal weight as well if some I have seen are anything to go by.

Got passed one day by a Peugot 307 towing an old old van that looked a bit sus as far as weight goes.

I would hate to be in front of him if he had to stop in a hurry.
He was pushing 100kph when he went past me,

By the look of the van it would have only had overides on it as well and we know how well they work.

AnswerID: 382661

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 17:11

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 17:11
hi graham
i have a vw golf1.9ltr diesel hatch back and it's legal tow weight is 1250kg / with a t/ball weight of 120kg and thats on the t/bar plate and in the owners manual so the peugot could be in the same league
dont ask me how this comes about but it's ridgi -didge
i towed 3/4tontrailer load with mine once and the rear did'nt sag and it drove in a very stable manner with ample power and braking .
i have a 450 kg camper that i have towed over 5000km's and i dont even know it's behind me as far as handling goes so maybe all these big rigs are badly lacking something in their towability stakes considering there sizes and costs or there is something wrong with the towbar ratings applied to them
??????????
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 650395

Reply By: Member - Rob - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 19:24

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 19:24
Hi Doug T
We have just come back from 8 weeks through Central QLd and I was blown away by the number of Prados we saw towing. Most owners are spruiking that they are getting around 18lt per 100km. Made both myself and the missus depressed with our fuel consumption of the V8 Cruiser.

Should have bought the diesel but didn't have the moeny at the time.
Rob (Qld)
AnswerID: 382670

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce G (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 19:33

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 19:33
Hey me too

I wanted to buy a diesel prado but they are so much dearer to buy.
They must be very good.

I have a petrol pajero and get 18L per 100 kms when towing.
FollowupID: 650273

Follow Up By: Ted G - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 20:11

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 20:11
Hi Doug
I have a 2005 Prado Grande t/d towing a 18ft 6in full caravan normal consumption.
16 litres 100klm normally
Never less than 18 /100
up to 14 /100
Onley sit on about 90 to 95 klm per hour.
Ted
FollowupID: 650276

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 20:45

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 20:45
Rob, I presume you are refering to the v8 petrol cruiser?, whats it doing in regard to fuel consumption?' I have one also Hence the question.

Axle.
FollowupID: 650280

Follow Up By: Member - Rob - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 12:46

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 12:46
Axle
ALmost embarrassed to say. WIth the van and 2 kayaks on top averaged about 27-28l per 100k. I did replace the charcoal canister which was saturated. And I had it serviced. SOme times against wind I got 34 litres per 100km. I was fuming over that.
Rob
FollowupID: 650488

Reply By: Russ n Sue - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 20:20

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 20:20
G'day,

I saw a Prado towing a Kedron "Top Ender" like ours. These vans weigh 2.8 tonnes completely empty! There is now way that van was legally being towed by the Prado. God knows how they would stop the van in an emergency.

Russ
AnswerID: 382677

Follow Up By: Member - Anthony G (ACT) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 06:11

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 06:11
I would have thought the Disco would be a bit small as well for one of those vans.
FollowupID: 650306

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 08:25

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 08:25
Why would you think that Tony? The Disco is rated to pull 3.5 Tonnes, has self levelling air suspension that negates the need for level-rides, has 140kW power and 445Nm of torque. All that plus disc brakes all roundand intelligent 6-speed auto trans makes it one of the few vehicles on the Oz market that can tow a van like ours.

Russ
FollowupID: 650331

Follow Up By: Member - Anthony G (ACT) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 08:51

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 08:51
Well in my case the vehicle is also rated to pull 3.5 Tonnes, but I would think long and hard before I would pull a van that was 2.8 Tonnes before you filled it up with gear etc for a extended trip like I do, and the places I want to go.

But thats me.I think a lot of vehicles including Discos are being streached to their limits, in towings the weights they do.
FollowupID: 650337

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 10:02

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 10:02
G'day Tony,

I just read your profile and then did a Google on the specs of the 4.2L turbo diesel Nissan Patrol and I can see why you would be hesitant with the power and torque that you have available, but I find myself asking..."Given that these heavy vans are out there, and that they serve a useful purpose for those whom choose to buy them, what would be a suitable "off the showroom floor" vehicle to tow them with?"

I ask this in all sincerity as our Disco will be out of warranty at the end of this year and we are lining up for a replacement. Atm we have our sights set on a Disco 4 with the new, more powerful engine and stronger gearbox, but are open to suggestions.

What do you think is a fit vehicle that is rated to 3.5 Tonnes and can be used for off-road applications?

Russ.
FollowupID: 650345

Follow Up By: Member - Anthony G (ACT) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 13:20

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 13:20
G'day Russ, yes the 4.2TD is now power house but suits my needs as far as OFF ROAD ruggedness is concerned. When it all boil's down, dirt track/roads is where I like to venture to get to the few out of the way places that are left, bells a wistlles matter naught.

It looks on the strength of motors etc, the Toyota V8 TD is the one that would do the job. Pity about the price.
FollowupID: 650364

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 21:12

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 21:12
I am absolutely amazed what you see out there.....inspite of those that say what you can and cannot do, be prepared to see everything and anything.....and are they legal???.....it does not matter it seems, only to those who think they know better.
And Prado's....yep hundreds of them....mining companys love them and Hilux utes as well.
AnswerID: 382685

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 10:00

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 10:00
We saw a bloke in Tassie with a tri axle van, it was huge. He had 590 ltrs of water on board 3 huge deep cycle batteries, as in about 2 foot long. Big screen plasma, full surround sound stereo, plus everything else a house has. I asked if he knew his weight. He said about 6 ton. He was towing it with a prado. I asked about his tow weight. He said " Don't know but I have had a few people comment on that so I must be getting close". We left well before him. I don't even know how he got it to move with the prado. Thing was in 4 days he never left the van, just sat and watch tv.

Josh
FollowupID: 650344

Reply By: ozjohn0 - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 15:05

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 15:05
The problem I see with the Disco is that most models have a maximum Off Road Tow weight of only 1000kg. Also LR don't allow the use of WDH's. The self leveling suspension is great, but it doesn't transfer weight from the rear of the vehicle back to the front wheels for improved steering and breaking.
ozjohn.
AnswerID: 382770

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 16:58

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 16:58
Valid points Ozjohn. I choose to totally ignore Land Rover's off road weight limitation. So far so good.....I've only 3 month's warranty left anyway and it will expire before we hit the road again. I'm not sure what their thinking is about this. The car is built to handle it, so I wonder if it isn't something to do with compliance issues for Europe or the USA. The roof load weight of 75Kg is set purely to satisfy a European edict about roof loads and stability and has no relationship with the actual carrying capacity of the roof.

As for the WDH and load distribution, I've never felt it was an issue. Handling is just fine and I guess if Land Rover specify 3.5 Tonne towing and 360Kg ball weight, then the car should drive OK, which it does.

Russ
FollowupID: 650394

Reply By: splits - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 16:13

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 16:13
I called in to the Millmerran Camp Oven Festival a few years ago and noticed plenty of giant off road vans that looked way too big for even the Cruisers and Patrols that were hooked up to many of them.

Down by the back fence all on its own was a another huge top of the line off roader but the tow vehicle was a 4wd Canter truck. The truck had a cabin height body with side and rear opening doors. Inside was a decent size alluminium boat and all of his gear. I would say the van was loaded with only the bare essentials.

It looked like the most sensible big van combination in the whole parking area and gave the impression that it could go anywhere with a good safety margin and plenty in reserve.

As you start going up in size with vans, there must come a time when you start stretching the Prado/Cruiser/Patrol/Landrover size vehicles to the limit. Maybe that is the time to start looking at the F250, Dodge Power Wagon etc or even Canter size trucks.

There is a right size vehicle for every van but the popular Cruiser/Patrol size are only a little above mid range. They were not designed to tow everything.
AnswerID: 382773

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 18:07

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 18:07
hi
in a recent VW magazine i get for all toureg 4wd's no mater whether the engine is petrol or diesel 2.5 /3.0/3.6/5.0/or/v10ltr
all have a 3.5tonne towing capacity it does'nt give t/ball rates
but the power ranges from diesel 128kw to 258kw and 400nm-850nm & pet 206kw 360nm this is another example of how the ratings vary
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 650401

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 19:00

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 19:00
"There is a right size vehicle for every van but the popular Cruiser/Patrol size are only a little above mid range. They were not designed to tow everything."
You make an excellent point Splits. In the continuous pursuit of upgrading to bigger & better vans to impress the neighbors & take all the creature comforts many have lost sight of what they are still towing them with. They must be a nightmare to control in the wind & a pain in the behind to park.
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 650414

Follow Up By: Member - Ian M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 14:40

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 14:40
Mazcan Barry,
The Touareg has a 350Kg ball weight. When first sold in OZ it was something like 160kg but then they changed the rating and the OEM tow bar is now made in NZ. Self levelling air suspension like the Rover.
We tow a 18' BushTracker which is 2460 Tare and even loaded up we are well under the limit. The V10 has 750Nm and gets around 17l/100 with the Bush Tracker on the back. On Saturday in the Riverland with 80km head winds we were getting 27l/100 - not good.
Brakes are straight out of the Cayenne and are huge - but require 18" rims minimum. That is the drawback! On Saturday we spiked a tyre on a grid with a 50mm*5mm iron spike that end up INSIDE the tyre. We were heading up through the Dangalli reserve to Yunta - not hard 4WD but fairly remote. I knew we had to get a new tyre so turned back to Renmark - and still waiting for a tyre from Melbourne!
The Touareg wheel base is about the same as a LC, but the vehicle looks smaller. Interesting how many people ask how the little VDub tows the van!

IAN
FollowupID: 651008

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:31

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:31
Yesterday I passed two Identical Prados towing 23" Roadstars. Bit of a worry I thought. I tow the 17.5' poptop behind the old girl. Thats enough for me. I can back it and not scared of dirt roads. I would love the extra size with the kids who wouldnt but all the same I like the idea of getting to where i want to go with out stressing. I can tackle the roadtrains out Thargo way but next week im off up the Bruice Highway and im stressing already. Dont trust impatent youngins in their fast cars and im not a grey nomad yet !!!!
Sharon
AnswerID: 382815

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:32

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:32
Bruce
FollowupID: 650435