Holden 3LTD Colorado again....

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 21:32
ThreadID: 72169 Views:8702 Replies:5 FollowUps:13
oh...yes you are about to read rite...again ,

tttttwoed again whats that umm...5th time around that an update from last time to keep all keen in the lemons... last time it used 3L of oil yep 3L car takes 9L , they couldent understand how it could use so much oil in less then 1,000ks so they said "ok we will seal your dipstick and sump plug as we feel that someone could be taking your oil" i lough oh yea becouse used oil is soo much betta pff..

so was sent off to drive 1,000ks and not look a the oil or pay any attention under the hood if it blows it blows holdens foult so the service manager said. ok fine no problem have a new car waiting for me as i walk out his door at 8am.

drove 890ks just sort of the 1,000 kinda sucks as i was keen for a drive down to byron bay...anyways finish work and one of my work mates rushes in and yells oil oil... im like oh you gotta be kinding me walk out and heaps...heaps of oil driping out of my exhaust and under the car near the bell housing leaking from 2 spots and couldent find where it was coming from all the bolts where there from what i could see.

got towed and the towie is like oh you again this is the 3rd time iv towed you i know tell me about it if it wasnt for RACQ i would have been stuffed new car warrenty is worth bugger all wen it comes time for towing or getting back home when all of there loans cars are all bloody booked out allways.

so yea... any ideas on why oil coming out of the exhaust no i didnt even have it running sat there from 530am to 2pm

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 22:09

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 22:09
blown seal in the turbo, getting oil pumped straight through into the exhaust.

AnswerID: 382689

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 22:51

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 22:51
ged !ay
i'd suggest the valve stem seals are either missing or not fitted in place properly on the exhaust valves and this will let the oil go through the port into the turbo and blow out the exhaust in large quantities also causes a huge amount of black smoke as you previously mentioned
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 650297

Reply By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 09:58

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 09:58
Sounds like she's stuffed mate

You have to watch out for the buggers that sneak around and suck the oil out of ya motor, is it a common thing out your way?

Best of luck with it Shane
AnswerID: 382740

Follow Up By: Member - Bill K (NSW) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 11:09

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 11:09
Cozzie,
Have you had any problems with your colarado??
FollowupID: 650350

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 11:33

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 11:33
jeez mate
i 've heard of petrol sniffers but engine oil well that's a new day dawning no doubt about car dealers, wonder what there on to come up with this
i 've had a dealers service manager try and put some utter garbage over me too on 4 seperate occasions over the years but i've always been rather fussy about what i swallow mentally
i dont think some of these so called workshop guys even know whats actually inside an engine and to even suggest that some one is removing the engine oil actually needs to be entered in the guiness records book under; twisted assumptions it will be very interesting to hear what the final diagnostic results are ???
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 650352

Follow Up By: dbish - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 11:49

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 11:49
That amout of oil almost bet on turbo seals. Are they too lazy to remove turbo & look?
FollowupID: 650353

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 06:14

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 06:14
dbish...It's not that they are too lazy, it's because unless they are sure they will find something, warranty won't cover the costs, meaning the dealer has to foot the bill.

Dealerships are a business just like any other business. Don't be fooled by the badge on the cars they sell. As an ex Toyota mechanic, I can say that I have seen these "Oil consumption tests" being carried out on plenty of cars/4WD's in my time. It's part of the criteria that all manufacturers set for the dealers prior to agreeing to pay for major mechanical repairs.

I'm not condoneing the process, purely stating what it is.
FollowupID: 650449

Follow Up By: dbish - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 08:36

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 08:36
Hi Fab 72. I was a workshop manager for a SA Ford country dealership & Fords certainly Did not pay for any thing that they could avoid. That said as a country dealership your buisenes survival was based very much on customer loyalty & this dealership is 3rd generation ownership. In the above vehicles problems we would have lent the customer a vehicle & got to the botom of the problem, not fobed him of with crap about oil stolen. Our aim was a happy customer will come back for service & generaly they bought there next vehicle of the dealership ITS CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 650466

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 09:06

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 09:06
Yep...spot on dbish. Seems like the basics of customer service have and are being lost. After all, we're talking about a $40K+ vehicle here, not some $20 frying pan.

Yes, Holden have their criteria that needs to be met, but shame on the dealer (in this case) for not extending their customer service beyond the handover stage.
FollowupID: 650468

Reply By: Nargun51 - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 12:14

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 12:14
Rather than complain here, have you considered writing the service manager a letter, detailing clearly and in chronological order all your interactions with the company, and the attempted actions undertaken by the company to fix the problems?

Include in this the reasons offered by the manager for the problems.

Request the manager to put in writing the reasons for the problems, the attempts they have taken to correct them, and the outcomes of their actions

Send a copy of this to the owner or dealer principal of the yard.

Give a time frame; maybe 7 or 14 days to receive a response.

Politely suggest that if a response is not received within this period, you will seek an independent mechanical assessment.

Explain that the results of this assessment will determine your actions. If the assessment determines a fault that is not (on the balance of probabilities) caused by your use of the vehicle or that any actions to correct the issue were patently wrong, this matter will be brought to the attention of GMH or Fair Trading.

Leave the possibility of further legal action open.

Its funny how a request to put things in writing with the implied threat of legal action where the person's actions will be tested often results in action
AnswerID: 382758

Reply By: Stu-k - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 14:20

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 14:20
I would of just kept driving it and got the tow truck after it seized
AnswerID: 382766

Reply By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:41

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:41
Shaneo what's happening mate all fixed or what?
AnswerID: 384229

Follow Up By: shaneo86 - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:04

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:04
well....

Get this they did the oil test put 2 lines of chalk on the sump plug... and then told me to drive 1,000ks well only got to 890k and had oil under my car and from my exhuast. rang up holden got told not to start it they will get a tow truck out said fine holden looked at it and see what the problem is. got it back and got told never to take my car there again... they claimed that the sump plug wasnt lined upp with the lines they maid and in 870ks used no oil. so was told that someone is touching my car and that the selling dealer would not like to see this car in the future.

extreamly "pst off" in took it to Racq and asked for a spot check and they found the gearbox filler plug was not sitting flat on the bell housing and the thread inside the housing is stuffed and would need a new housing. and is still leaking oil so when by the time holden pulls there finger out there probley wont be any left.

and it real gutless now got nothing upp hills had to use 2nd where i could normaly get up in 3rd or 4th me thinks its the turbo as well slowly giving upp.
FollowupID: 651970

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 15:42

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 15:42
hi shaneo
well all is not good it does seem as though it's the turbo failing if the power has dropped off like that and the fact they claim the chalk marks dont line up with where they suppose to have put them on the sump plug is a strange one if no one else has touched it ??????

and as for the gearbox plug being xthreaded well it seems there has been a real novice checking/servicing on your vehicle because sump/gearbox and diff oil plugs will always screw right in with your fingers only at all times
so to have someone actually put one in xthreaded it would have to be started crooked and then be forced all the way in with force and a bleep on the end of a spanner.
perhaps the dealer has a young work experience person at his dealership
the plot thickens????
good luck it"s going to be a challenge trying to beat them as they might be playing games trying to shake you off
i would personelly go direct to melbourne holden head quarters and contact the state service manager and put your facts before him there is something shonky here
cheers mazcan barry
FollowupID: 652101

Follow Up By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Sunday, Oct 04, 2009 at 13:57

Sunday, Oct 04, 2009 at 13:57
Hey Shaneo whats happening with ya Colorado? have they fixed her up yet?

Cozzie
FollowupID: 653276

Follow Up By: shaneo86 - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 22:24

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 22:24
G'day,

took my car to a diff holden and they had found that dodgy Zupps at mt gravatt had sealed a ......"BREATHER" so it was building upp pressure and stuffed all of the seals in everything building upp way too much pressure and yea... You think when you buy a new car that taking your car to the dealers is the best thing but things like this really make you think what are they really doing to cars. If its happen to me whats saying that the same thing will or has happened again

Im never buying a holden again after all of this and its still leaking and the clutch smells and shudders just like before when they found the clutch had failed.

Explore Oz should make a thing called " Explore OZ buyers guide" and have everything in it from A to Z in 4wd cars with problems that new car owners are or have had to make it sooo much eazyer for people like my self and know what they are getting them selfs into you read these mags and when a new 4wd comes out they talk it upp Like the D40 and now all the recalls but yet they still try to sell it.

it wouldent take much to get owners to email the problems or recalls and that way when people are thinking to buy a 4wd they can come on here and find what problems that car has.

i really cant wait to get rid of my lemon ......!
FollowupID: 653765

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 23:10

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 23:10
So what are they going to do about it if they have found that the dealer caused it..??????????????????????????????????????????????????

FollowupID: 653772

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 16:41

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 16:41
hi shaneo 86 like i've said before i think they had a work highschool work experience toolhead working on your vehicle with out an over /see-er only an idiot would seal up the engine breather
holden should give you a brand new vehicle
FollowupID: 653843