St George Gathering & we are not able to attend.

Submitted: Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 18:40
ThreadID: 72190 Views:2859 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
All successful events by way of participation, enjoyment, friendship & the provision of happy memories dont "just happen". There is usually a dedicated & well organised person, working hard behind the scenes to make sure that all details are taken care of, thus ensuring the event runs smoothly as possible. These blokes often incur "out of pocket" expenses, but being the sort of person that they are, they don't even recognise it. They do what they do because they CARE (sorry for shouting)

The task of making an event successful always involves more than one person, however there is usually a key figure who by way of their nature or maybe their location or maybe just because they are a good bloke makes it "all happen" without hiccup.

Now, I know the event has not yet taken place, but reading about the preparation for it on this site, leads me to believe that those attending will come away from the gathering with a smile on their dial, new friends, the renewal of old friendships & you will each be well fertilised with each others bull bleep .

Most of you on this site refer to Qld Kev as "Sir" or "Sir Kev & Darkie" & that is good & very honourable & is to be very much admired. However, I'm a proud Blue NSW person & I am not about to bow & scrape to anybody, let alone a Cane Toad! LOL

So I call Kev "Young Kev". & if I were standing before you, Stubby in hand & SWMBI sitting obediently by my side, I would simply say " Thank you, Young Kev, for taking the time to juggle your work & family commitments in order to ensure the St George gathering not only runs smoothly, but provides one of the most important aspects in life. Friendship, togetherness & happiness. Well done.

My wife, Leigh & I wish you all well, have a great time & I hope one day to meet you all, as well as this bloke we all love to take the "Mickey" out of! Hoo Roo & have a great time.

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 18:54

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 18:54
Barry,

You old cockroach supporter, Thank You for your kind words.

Socialising is one thing I enjoy both online and in person and to organise such events makes it so much easier LOL

The support from the Greater EO community is something that helps make organising these things so much easier. Your donation of $50.00 was appreciated as well.

I think you will still have to wait another decade or 2 to get any winnings from me for the cockroaches to win the footy though LOL

AnswerID: 382800

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 20:31

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 20:31
Jeeeeez Bazza,
I seen some suck up jobs in my time but thats the best yet, well done mate. LOL

We will raise a can or two to you in the Beer And Bull Shyte corner while up there mate, secure in the knowledge that "no one" can beat that story. ;-))
Cheers Colin.
AnswerID: 382809

Reply By: Best Off Road Affordable Storage Drawers - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 20:41

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 20:41
I'm sad to say that Jenny and I cannot attend. We had hoped to, but alas, time is against us.

Having organised gatherings of far less magnitude than the one at St George, I dips me lid to Kev (a devout Republican like me would never defer to Noble Titles and address him as Sir, LOL).

AnswerID: 382810

Reply By: Madfisher - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:44

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:44
Sally and I had hoped to attend, but her breaking her ankle in three places has thrown everything out of kilter. She has got the cast off yesterday, but still in pain if the foot is down for two long.
Anyway hope everyone has a great time, hope to get to the pair knees with no 1 son.
AnswerID: 382822

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 06:42

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 06:42
Pete,

I can arrange for a few strapping blokes (you know the ones with beer guts) to push Sally around in a wheelchair hehehehehe. I am Sure Hairs and Mark G wouldn't mind LMAO

FollowupID: 650452

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Sep 13, 2009 at 12:23

Sunday, Sep 13, 2009 at 12:23
LOL Sally thanks you for your kind offer Kev, trouble is she has used up most of her long service as well buggar.
FollowupID: 650585

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Sep 13, 2009 at 12:26

Sunday, Sep 13, 2009 at 12:26
Maybe she could use some of yours for you then LOL

FollowupID: 650587