Landcruiser 105 lift .How high is this 2" 4" ??

Submitted: Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 20:37
ThreadID: 72193 Views:13164 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
G'day guys

I know that I'm asking a bit ,but I am trying to work out the lift on a car that I am buying .The owner does not know (he is a mate of mine and he did not have the lift done).

What I do know is .The car is a L/C 1999 105 STD with b/bar and winch on the front end) it is fitted with Tough Dog coils and does appear a bit higher than std.

The tyres are 275x70x16 Cooper ATR's and the gap between the top of the front tyre and guard is about 24cm or approx 10 ". No Flares.

So if anyone could provide me with some other knowns eg . tyre size , 2" lift and gap equals X .I should be able to work out where mine sits.!!

Your help is appreciated.

Gavan

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:09

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:09
Gav
Have you warn Mitzy out already. Had to jump the fence eventually.

Sharon
AnswerID: 382811

Follow Up By: Member - Gavan F (WA) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 22:14

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 22:14
Hi Sharon

Yep tired of pushing the Mitzi ,she is still in great condition and we recently did a 2000 km trip up to Quobba and back,but i'm out playing on the weekends with blokes with 5-7 in lifts and 35-37 in tyres.The muddies and lokka don't leave me to far behind though. Catch up in a bit. Gav
FollowupID: 650438

Reply By: GerryP - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:13

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:13
Hi Gavan,

I have a 105 which is fitted with 2 inch King springs and 285x75 tyres, but no winch. While my springs are supposed to be 2 inch, when I fitted them the car went up about 4 inches. However it has settled somewhat and I reckon the old springs were sagged in any case.

My tyres are higher profile than yours, but the measurement between tyre and front guard is only around 200 mm (8 inches). So your 10 inches makes it appear to be around an inch higher than mine when you take tyre difference into account. With the extra weight of your winch, it may well be a set of 4 inch springs...???

To even out the tyre difference though, I also measured from the rim to the guard, which came out at 385mm (just over 15 inches). If you check this on your vehicle you will be able to get a direct comparison of spring heights.

Also, generally speaking, anything over 2 to 3 inch lift will need castor correction of some description (usually offset bushes) to get the steering back to normal.

Hope this helps mate.

Gerry
AnswerID: 382813

Follow Up By: Member - Gavan F (WA) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 22:28

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 22:28
The power of the forum at work.

Thanks Gerry , hope you arn't in Perth as you would have got your Bum wet getting me that info.

Just measured the rim to Guard and its about 17 in .

I suspected that it was properly a 4 in lift from the day I first saw it. It has got castor correcting bushes and uprated RTC Dampener.

Thanks for your help

Gavan

FollowupID: 650439

Reply By: Madfisher - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:35

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:35
The correct way to take a measurement is from the bottom of the rim to the guard, takes away tyres variations.
AnswerID: 382819

Follow Up By: Member - Gavan F (WA) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 22:33

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 22:33
Thanks Pete

I havn't got the car with me yet, but the next time i'm close I will grab that measurement and post it.

Gavan
FollowupID: 650440

Follow Up By: Rolly - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 12:22

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 12:22
But, if you only have a short ruler, the distance between the top of the rim and the guard will suffice :D
FollowupID: 650484

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 12:29

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 12:29
Try calling a Tough Dog distributor ,like Malaga Suspension. They would know how much lift the springs will give approx.

Most of them advertise the amount of lift expected from a spring conservatively to allow for sagging
AnswerID: 382864

Reply By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 18:57

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 18:57
Hi Gavin,
I own a 98 mod 100 ser GXL live axle front,it has 275x70x16 Maxxis Tyres on it and alloy rims I have 170 or about 7" from the guard to the Tyre but I agree this is not very accurate so I will give you these as well 340 or 13.5'' from top rim to guard and 770 or 30.5'' from bottom of rim to guard and the good news is I'm also running tough dog springs and shocks and its a 2'' lift,Im hoping this is what you were after and also hope it helps ,Cheers :)
AnswerID: 382891

Follow Up By: Member - Gavan F (WA) - Sunday, Sep 13, 2009 at 01:40

Sunday, Sep 13, 2009 at 01:40
Thanks John

I appreciate your efforts.

You have given me a direct comparison to work from .I think that I am in the 4-5" bracket.
Which points me in the right direction for further inquires .

Gavan

Thanks again for yours and everyones help !

FollowupID: 650533