Why you should fill your fuel containers on the ground.

Submitted: Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 07:14
ThreadID: 72246 Views:5514 Replies:8 FollowUps:22
Following on from the hot engine fire, this is why you should fill your fuel containers on the ground. Petrol container fire

Reply By: Member - Porl - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 09:41

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 09:41
ok, I'm convinced.
AnswerID: 383068

Reply By: mazcan barry - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 11:51

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 11:51
hi
that is part of the reason the other part is if you fill a container while it's in the back of a vehicle and you overflow it the fuel petrol or diesel will drip down through the body onto the exhaust underneath and catch fire when you start up or after you've driven off
2 months ago while i was filling a 10ltr jerrycan on the tailgate of my ute at a servo in mandurah wa the attendant saw me via security cameras then stopped my pump and told me over the microphone to hang up the hose then she came out gave me the lowdown in no uncertain manner re above and also mentioned static electricity that is law in wa
hope this helps
mazcan barry
AnswerID: 383079

Reply By: 69conroy - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 15:50

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 15:50
hi
i work at a sevo in SA and as far as i know it is only allowed if approved fuel
container is grounded [on cement driveway] i tell people that they can blow themselves up but not ME and we still get abused !
AnswerID: 383104

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:54

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:54
There is plenty on youtube about service station fires, people simply do not know how dangerous petrol is, and how much respect it should be shown.

fuel pump fire video.
Shane.
AnswerID: 383134

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 19:50

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 19:50
You're absolutely correct Shane. Petrol Vapours (and we are talking PETROL) are so bloody dangerous, they can travel a long way, and if they find a source of ignition, which can be a long way from you, act as a fuse and as you watch the ignition race back to you in a heartbeat, your freckle won't have time to tighten before your lights go out, and other's come on.
Just talk to any fire'y about petrol spillages, getting into stormwater drains, and the effects of vapour ignition, a block or three away.
Some goose on here the other night suggested you can stub out a cigarette in petrol and it won't catch fire. Middle Eastern Countries are looking for blokes like him :-)
BTW, IMHO Do Not Ever Transfer PETROL after happy hour has commenced, your lack of judgement will bring you, and others, undone.

Fred.
FollowupID: 650764

Follow Up By: TassieD - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 20:09

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 20:09
That goose as you say is quite correct in a certain set of circumstances. It is the vapour above the petrol that ignites. Petrol cannot burn without oxygen so if the air/fuel vapour ratio is high or low you can throw your cigarette in the fuel. It will simply get wet and go out. Simple chemistry.
FollowupID: 650767

Follow Up By: Member - Rodney B- Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 20:34

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 20:34
Yes, but don't throw a second one in after it or "Kaboom"
As apprentices we used to quench hot steel in cut down petrol cans full of petrol or Kero until we put one in straight after and luckily only lost hair off my eyebrows. Boy did the foreman kick my arse till my nose bled. Taught me how to appreciate flammable liquids.
FollowupID: 650770

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 20:44

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 20:44
Most of us know what bloody ignites mate, the idea here is to simply get the message across to the unwary.....don't offer ignition whilst petrol (and petrol fumes) are, or could, be present. Any pool of petrol is going to have vapour around it, and for an unknown distance. No time for Russian Roulette.
FollowupID: 650773

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 01:07

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 01:07
good on ya Fred, Im "that goose". Take it out of context, you should get a job in the media maybe.

Try it your self and you will find out its true. It wont even ignite vapours, that requires a spark or flame or heat above the ignition point. A smoulder isnt hot enough.
The comment was in regards to the genny fire in NT and what may have caused it, not a recommendation on ways to cause havoc in the Middle East.

Thanks TassieD.

Save the insults thanks Fred, you are welcome to quote my posts but only in context, otherwise leave it out thanks.
FollowupID: 650823

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 16:43

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 16:43
Actually Fred, I'd go one up on "Do Not Ever Transfer PETROL after happy hour has commenced" - I never transfer PETROL in a camping area because you never know if someone's got a pilot light, campfire, gas stove/fridge, etc. or just lit up a ciggy downwind (or about to light up)...

Fisho, I think Fred's comment was a joke, hence the ":-)", rather than an insult but regardless IMHO it seems a bit careless to suggest that you could safely stub out a ciggy in petrol - you never know, someone MIGHT just take it out of context, with potentially disastrous consequences...
FollowupID: 650887

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:02

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:02
Im sorry to be insensitive, but if someone was stupid enough that out of context, then the theory of Natural Selection would take effect.

As it happens I was correct. The fire WASNT started by a hot exhaust tailpipe, cigarette etc, it was a pilot light. Both of the above wouldnt start a fire without an ignition source.

"DISCLAIMER"
please do not try anything I have suggested anywhere in my posts without first consulting an expert or Safety Specialist. Any "discussion" is of a general nature and not intended for any specific situation. Information supplied here is not to be read by any person under the age of 18yrs old, nor an adult lacking commonsense or experience in the subject discussed.
No responsibility is accepted by either myself or any member of my family for failing to take reasonable precautions against any accident.
FollowupID: 650987

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 21:12

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 21:12
fisho you just beat your chest with the comment "As it happens I was correct. The fire WASNT started by a hot exhaust tailpipe, cigarette etc, it was a pilot light " Wow.!!"

Who argued against that fisho??

The comments we were responding to here fisho, were in respect of some goose irresponsibly IMO saying it is ok to throw a lighted cigarette into petrol.
You owned up to being that goose, and ya know what?
Nothing you have offered has caused me to change my mind.
I've had my share of fire training, and I am extremely passionate about fire saftey, I have seen the tragic side of fire incidents. But I am not saying I know it all, far far from it. I understand the "controled" experiments you are talking about, however, that control isn't in place out in the bush.

Put all the disclaimers you like behind your replies, that won't absolve you from stupid statements.

This not a personal attack BTW, just my opinion.

Fred.
FollowupID: 651059

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 22:12

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 22:12
sounds personal, and would be if we were standing beside each other.
Doesnt matter-life exists away from here also. Laugh and move on.

unfortunately I'll have to leave the disclaimer on here in case someone "misinterprets" my comment.

"DISCLAIMER"
please do not try anything I have suggested anywhere in my posts without first consulting an expert or Safety Specialist. Any "discussion" is of a general nature and not intended for any specific situation. Information supplied here is not to be read by any person under the age of 18yrs old, nor an adult lacking commonsense or experience in the subject discussed.
No responsibility is accepted by either myself or any member of my family for failing to take reasonable precautions against any accident.
FollowupID: 651068

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:55

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:55
LOL! Are you gonna put that on all your replies/follow-ups from now on?! ;-)

BTW: Yes, there are many things that one CAN do, but many of them certainly should not be considered to be wise.
FollowupID: 651153

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 13:22

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 13:22
:sigh:

its a sign of the times maybe that we will all have to-lest someone does something silly or misunderstands.
And maybe the more officious posters who always follow instructions will not be confused anymore! :-))

"DISCLAIMER"
FollowupID: 651156

Reply By: OREJAP - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 20:48

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 20:48
I find it amazing that there are rules, regulations & prohibitions on what we can & cannot do in relation to work place safety yet, we can use a petrol bowser without any safety training or basic precautions. The dangers of petrol is, as we all know very high yet the average person in the street can disperse it without any form of safety education. Gosh, we don't have eye wear to use, gloves or any form of protective clothing!! There are signs at servo's telling us to turn the motor off, do not smoke & not to use a mobile phone about the only one of those instructions obeyed is the non smoking one!!! Unroadworthy & dangerous cars are driven onto the apron of a servo to have voliatile fuel put into them by untrained members of the public. I know I am being "pickey" but just think for a moment of some of the rules & regulations in life that are just damn over regulated but, one of the most dangerous things we can do is basically left to the I Q of the individual handling it.
AnswerID: 383166

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:04

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:04
OREJAP you are spot on. The day will come, when a Coroner will recomended that petrol can only be dispensed by a driveway attendant. DEJAVU...Remember those days ???
FollowupID: 650797

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:44

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:44
Can't say I disagree about the dangers of uneducated people doing a dangerous thing with little or no safety equipment etc.

Just look at what we do when we are finished fueling up though.... we point our big metal coffins at each other on a narrow strip of bitumen at a closing speed of up to 220 km/h and take pot luck that the other guy is not drugged or drunk out of their teeny non-caring mind and take us out in a heartbeat. And we do it for hour after hour, day after day, year in year out.

I'll take the perils of the servo forecourt any day.

Muddy
FollowupID: 650803

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 23:03

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 23:03
No argument there Muddy, we all take that risk every day.
But, some things are out of our own control, and some things are not.

Stay safe on the road all.

Fred.
FollowupID: 650809

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:04

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:04
So how is it that my boat doesn't explode when I fill it? It's stainless steel fuel tank is mounted to the floor and the boat isn't grounded. It sits on timber rails that have plastic slides on them which insulate it from the trailer. Plus it's fibreglass.

Just a thought.

Louie
AnswerID: 383186

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:22

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:22
Because, by law, all Fuel Pump hoses are conductive, so when you pick it up, your static is discharged.

When you touch the boat, its static is discharged.
FollowupID: 650801

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:31

Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:31
Louie, you need a trigger, i.e hot motor, exhaust, motor running, electrical spark, bbq, etc, to offer the petrol fumes ignition. I doubt you have ever filled your boats tank with the motor running.
Many a precious leisure craft has seen it's demise because of petrol fumes in the bilges or confined cabin spaces, as soon as ignition was offered, which can be as simple as turning the ignition key.
The triangle of combustion needs 3 elements.
1. Fuel.....i.e petrol, paper, wood, etc. (combustible material)

2. Oxygen

3. Heat.......i.e. electrical spark, hot motor/exhaust,

Take any one of these away and NO FIRE can happen. That's how you fight a fire, by taking one of these away.

When handling petrol, the easiest and most obvious exclusion must be #3.

Above all, common sense must apply, not bravado. No prizes for second here.
FollowupID: 650802

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 17:01

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 17:01
Interesting you should mention the demise of a boat due to petrol vapours in the confined cabin spaces - a certain incident off Ashmore Reef currently "hot" in the press comes to mind...
FollowupID: 650890

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 17:32

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 17:32
Maybe there was a smoker amongst them :-)) LOL LOL

Fred.

FollowupID: 650893

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:40

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:40
From reports I've read, there were rumoured to be 'some people smoking' at the time...
FollowupID: 650905

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:03

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:03
I was probably referring more to the static charge thing that everyone goes on about. I think Mike DID covered it. So the thing about a plastic jerry can on the back of a ute is a load of crap then, right? I did see a boat fire on a friends boat some years ago where fuel had dripped on to the exhaust headers. When he opened the engine cover up she went. Luckily we had plenty fire extinguishers around.

Fred, when I was a lad a lot of people came here on boats. I can recall that some of the girls were smokin!

Louie
FollowupID: 650909

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:01

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:01
Louie, as I understand, the important thing is to make sure that the bowser nozzle is in constant contact with the fuel container during the entire refueling process.

I think the requirement to have the jerry placed on the is for the risk of spills - if the jerry is placed on flat/level ground, it's less likely to fall over during refuelling. Probably more of an issue: it's one thing to overflow the petrol onto the concrete driveway of the servo, it's quite another thing to overflow it into the back of a ute which could also be carrying, I don't know: a load of camping gear (swags, clothing, etc.). It's easier to clean up the spill from concrete than from, say, a canvas swag where the vapours would be very difficult to remove. It's easier (and fairer) just to say "no refuelling in the back of a ute, no exceptions" than it is to have the attendant come out and assess your particular situation to determine whether or not it's safe, only to have a potential confrontation with someone who doesn't want to remove their jerries for refuelling...

Placing the fuel container onto the ground also allows the attendant to be able to see if you are using an appropriate container before allowing the pump to start.
FollowupID: 650992

Reply By: X_PAC6969 - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:50

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:50
Hi there just wondering if this applies to plastic Jerry cans on just the metal ones i use a plastic one which is designed for flammable fuel
AnswerID: 383357

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:39

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:39
It applies to all fuel containers plastic or metal.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 650997

Reply By: X_PAC6969 - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:50

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:50
Hi there just wondering if this applies to plastic Jerry cans on just the metal ones i use a plastic one which is designed for flammable fuel
AnswerID: 383358