Submitted: Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 10:36
Member - Bentaxle
I was watching a tv show "The Force" on Channel 7 in
Perth last night in which they had a segment on a Medivac flight by the RFDS on the Eyre H'way.
At the start of the segment two members of WA H'way Patrol needed to contact the Nursing Post at
Eucla for advice on best treatment for a motorist who had requested medical assistance. One of the constables was trying to contact the nursing post by Satellite phone without a great deal of success. I couldn't understand why he chose that method of communucation when his vehicle was fitted wih a
HF Radio and he could have had direct contact with the RFDS, and this radio wasn't used until they were talking to
the pilot as he was making his landing.
I must emphasise that I'm nt having a go at the constables, but it just seemed odd that they chose the sat phone instead of the
HF radio given that the radio would have had all the RFDS frequences programmed into it . Maybe it was selective editing by the programme producers.
| May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.
Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 10:40
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 10:40
I wonder if it was a GS Sat phone ;)
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 21:27
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 21:27
I would gladly use my Globalstar sat-phone as one of the runway markers for a night landing. I'm sure it would burn a lot more brightly than it would make satelite connectivity!!!!
Cheers Mick.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 10:50
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 10:50
Most likely the nursing post at
Eucla didn't have a
HF radio so direct contact was best achieved by Sat phone??
RFDS HF service is only via a couple of the major RFDS bases to my knowledge??
Follow Up By: Member - Anthony G (ACT) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 11:08
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 11:08
But it would seem that a RFDS Base would have had a better chance to contact the Nursing Post via landline.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 11:16
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 11:16
So would have VKS??
Maybe its a s simple as the copper didn't know how to contact RFDS or VKS using the HF??
Or as suggested below it makes for better TV to do what they did??
Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 12:32
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 12:32
They probably did it for the same reason that "Sea Patrol" uses satphone comms instead of the secure frequency-hopping radio that would be fitted to the patrol boats.
Much better for a television show to use telephone rather than radio for a simulation rather than risk a full-blown emergency response for what is, essentially,a make believe scenario.
My .02
Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 10:56
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 10:56
Probably because it was Television.....adds a little suspense :-)
Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 12:03
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 12:03
I thought the same thing when I saw it. I was astounded they did not use their own HF at the scene.
They were
Perth city coppers on assignment to
Eucla and possibly had no HF training and therefore not able to use the installed unit in the car at the scene?????.
The radio they did use to talk to the plane on was a portable HF, possibly the
Eucla bush nurses own radio.
JMHO
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 12:33
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 12:33
The portable radio would have been AirBand VHF..Around 125.00mHz..
Reply By: Dean - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 12:20
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 12:20
Might have helped if the
young constable had the aerial pointing to the sky instead of the ground.
That was the first thing we noticed!!
Did anyone else see this ?
As above this was probably all set up for the camera.
Dean
Follow Up By: slammin - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 13:28
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 13:28
Ditto.
We were in peals of laughter with his comment "I'm ready to throw this stupid phone across the road!" What's that thing "blames his tools... " LOL The thing we found astounding is that every sat ph we have used when it even tells you on the lcd "Extend the aerial and make sure it is held upright." Maybe not on the latest phones though ?
The sat phone is the best communications device. I would speculate if he couldn't use the phone correctly what chance did he have with multiple frequencies on the
HF radio?
Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 13:40
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 13:40
As I've said before.... so many experts on this
Forum.
Can you remember back to when you first did something....did you know how to do it ?
Bottom line is they did a good job and helped someone.....
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 14:24
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 14:24
If the circumstances are as listed above then its a poor showing to send a Police Officer into a remote area and expect him to use equipment that he may not have been properly trained to use??
Seems to reflect on poor supervision and decision making by his managers than anything else??
But as you say in the end they helped someone and thats what counts.
Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 14:33
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 14:33
John,
As in every job these days, there are shortages of "highly trained people", and the COPS is one of those. Why do you have to throw criticism on someone....it was a TV show mate and people are here bagging others, when hey should be saying "Job
well done"...someone was helped.
No, you have to continue with the bagging...
well done son.
Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 15:03
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 15:03
Gidday
I'm with you Dunco ... my late brother was a career traffic patrolman so maybe I am biased.
Remember these are the guys who are often first on the scene. They have to deal with the dead, dying, injured and traumatised ... and keep the traffic flowing!
All the while dealing with something that doesn't work properly and being careful not to speak harshly to some bystander who will complain the commissioner. yes, it does happen.
And when it is all over they might have to go and tell the relatives a loved one has been killed and take them to
the morgue for the identification.
Real life is vastly different to the fiction TV cop shows where the pretty girls and boys have all the latest gizmos and it always works perfectly.
And as my brother used to say, quite a few people like to bag the police, but who are the first people they call?
Rocco
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 17:38
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 17:38
Geez your defensive Dunco.......
I cant see where any one critisized or bagged the police? The original post was a question!
Did you read this bit?
"I must emphasise that I'm not having a go at the constables, ........"
Sure the cops get the raw end of the deal a lot of the times......... I doubt anyone would disagree, but I think people are entitled to ask questions too????
Rather than being one of those so called experts your acusing everyone of being ....why dont you enlighten us and tell us why?
Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 17:52
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 17:52
What are you on about Hairy ???
Did I have a go at you ???
Did I have a go at the original poster...I was speaking about those that specifically chose to have a go....read my emails. There are so many self professed experts on here always having a go at someone else without knowing the true facts...or guessing what may have happened....because they know better I suppose.
I'm not having a go at anyone that can't defend them self mate and I do not need to enlighten you about anything.
People can also ask questions WHEN you can get an answer and obviously they can't be answered with this one mate.
enjoy
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:16
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:16
Thanks again for your comments Dunco,
I re read your emails but still cant see where anyone was having a go at anyone, except maybe blaming TV, and comments like....
"There are so many self professed experts on here always having a go at someone else without knowing the true facts..."???? LOL
Follow Up By: slammin - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:33
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:33
Dunco, Thankyou so much for defending the poor undertrained police officer. I'm sure he appreciates your efforts at keeping this the Precious Country. It is quite obvious that indeed you are The Expert on enforcing the rules of the country whereby nothing is amusing or patently silly.
I always thought that being able to see the silly side of any situation including wars was the Australian Way. If we can't laugh at each other or ourselves we may as
well give up altogether and go and have a big sook.
The situation is quite clear and you don't have to be there to work it out. Walking around using a sat phone with the aerial upside down and abusing the said poor phone is funny. Why didn't you post in defense of the poor sat phone that had it's very existence threatened for no good reason? Poor thing it was so scared it did eventually find a signal regardless of the trying situation.
Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:34
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:34
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Chit Chat Rule
Forum Moderation Team
Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:39
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:39
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Chit Chat Rule
Forum Moderation Team
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:41
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:41
Jeez!! Dunco your a temperamental bloke.
Read again what I said and then tell us all that its wrong.
I bet he didn't go to work on the Nullabor on that day rather then down town
Perth because he thought it was a good idea, someone obviously sent him.
Having said that in the end he did the best he could with what was available to him and he helped the bloke (also from what has been said) and I was positive on my comments about helping the bloke, not being critical of the individual copper.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:47
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:47
Settle petals
Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 15:07
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 15:07
I was actually passing through
Mundrabilla at the time when they were filming. Was quite eerie as we didnt know what was going on, the old fella was standing up leaning against the bowser, in extreme agony and they were sticking the
camera right in his face. The cops were walking around with bullet proof vest type things on and were standing at the roadhouse door guarding it. There were about 6 other travellers standing right beside the
camera crew all with huge smiles on there face cause they were close to the action. We thought there must have been an armed hold up or something and they must of been interviewing the old fella for the news. Was very bizarre. We didnt notice that he was in pain until we were leaving, and then passed the
Ambulance on way out. Thats when we started feeling sorry for him and his wife, the big trip cut short and knowing that with no hospital in hundreds of k's that she would then be travelling alone with caravan back across the Nullabor. I couldnt believe how careless and selfish everyone was, he was in some serious pain and no one was helping him stand or walk. They could of laid him down in the van till the
Ambulance arrived, or at least helped him in some way instead of standing there gawking and laughing behind the
camera. I tell ya what, i took note of them and there vehicles and if i had of seen them on the side of the road i wouldnt of been helping.
Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 16:47
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 16:47
Don't be too quick to judge....unless you know the entire story.
I've had people who have been in obvious pain and wanted to fight me !!!
And some just don't want to lie down.
And re the "bulletproof" vests you mention...they are actually stab proof vest that hold a little bit of their equipment as
well, which takes a lot of strain off your back as you can remove stuff from your "gun belt"...or Sam Brown as some call them.
Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 00:05
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 00:05
Sorry Dunco, but from what i seen when i was there, and then what i seen on TV the other night, i believe my evaluation was correct. Wonder if after the old fella was taken away in
ambulance, if anyone offered the lady any assictance. I Highly doubt it.
Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 16:15
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 16:15
If you think about it,
Sat Phone maintains patient confidentiality as long as possible - HF alerts the world and soon the press.
Nuthing police hate worse, than having to inform next of kin - when they have already heard it on the news! They come in for a LOT of criticism - for not having let the next of kin know sooner, while it was still "a private matter".
Damn hard to beat the radio waves to the next of kins place.
Hence keep it private wherever possible.
Follow Up By: snapper49 - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 16:44
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 16:44
Onya Flywest
Someone who DOES know what he is talking about
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 21:32
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 21:32
My god, you've said something that makes perfect sense and in less than 5 lines...at last.
Well done Flywest. LOL ;-)
Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 09:44
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 09:44
Nope. Got to disagree 100%!
If you think about it, the first priority is the patient, not the confidentiality, therefore you use whatever communication is available to get the best assistance available for the patient.
Dennis
Reply By: DIO - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:16
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:16
Consideri the damning report on a recent 4 Corners regarding WA ambulance, the patient was very lucky to have received the care and attention given. Don't get sick or injured in WA and expect timely and appropriate medical internvention from ambulance service - was the finding on 4 Corners.
Follow Up By: disco driver - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 19:48
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 19:48
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule
Forum Moderation Team
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 19:57
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 19:57
Disco
Did you see 4 Corners? or live in WA? It was not about "ex volunteer ambo" it was about the St
John Ambulance Service here in the West.
Follow Up By: disco driver - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:55
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:55
Richard,
In reply to yours, Yes I did see the Four Corners programme and Yes, I do live in WA, and Yes, the program highlighted some unfortunate outcomes (all 4 of them).
Considering the number of patient/accident pickups carried out with a timely and safe outcome compared to those 4 with adverse outcomes I fail to see what your pouint actually is
Once you leave
Perth and/or the major rural towns ALL the St
John's Ambulance Service crews are Volunteers.
Was it any coincidence that this programme went to air about the time the State Govt was negotiating with St
John' s about a contract deal and the union representing the paid ambo's were pushing for a fully Govt run and funded ambulance service.
Disco.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 00:38
Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 00:38
Disco
Thanks for answering my question in regards to living in WA and seeing the program. I am not going to get into a debate with you over the program on this site and never intended to.
I live in
Perth my wife works for RPH, we also have a house in
Bruce Rock and know many of the volunteers there for the Ambos SES and Fire
services and we try as much to help out with donations. unfortunately with the amalgamation of shires this will/may but more pressure on these
services, as our shire pays for the fuel for the Ambulance.
Knowing where ones from, makes reading there replies essayer
Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 10:17
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 10:17
Hey DIO,
Regardless of the 'findings' of '4 Corners' programme, the slur you cast upon all of the entire Ambulance Service in WA is an insult of the highest order.
As an Ex Ambulance Volunteer in country WA, I was required to be trained to the highest level and standard possible.
Like Disco, I am very proud of that. His moderated response was very mild to what mine would have been.
No patient that we attended to or treated, was ever put at risk or suffered in any way whatsoever, we helped them, as we were trained to do!
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:27
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:27
Did you see the program Dennis?
Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:27
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 18:27
Bent, the two coppers from
Perth really didn't have a clue, waiting waiting waiting, then oops plane can't land, the white posts are still in the ground, I felt sorry for the two of them, a big oops on national tv......... There was another cop car present, they didn't know or didn't notice the posts either. May have been the same with the
Sat Phone and HF, as some one else said, untrained/inexperienced.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 19:17
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 19:17
I didn't see the show (I'm sure that's all it was a show) but I would be pretty sure the WA police department are better than portrayed, on the show, but in the further maybe we all need to read up for ourselves.
WA is a large state and even the cops cars at
Bruce Rock have Codan
HF Radio's.
RFDS
Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 23:32
Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 23:32
If there is an emergency landing strip...do you think they would know things had to be done...do they have to do it in the City... gee.
Hindsight is a wonderful tool
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 01:52
Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 01:52
Dunco
Not sure if you are talking to me, but I would hope they are trained up on these types of things, I think all cops have to do a stint in the country, not always so far out.
Again I didn't see the show so should not comment..
Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 20:36
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 20:36
Hi. I was really surprised that the two Police allowed the poor fellow to keep driving in the condition he was in. Almost 200Klm with around 20ft van behind. Could have turned nasty really quickly. Bob.
Follow Up By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:51
Monday, Sep 14, 2009 at 22:51
Even though he was in agony, the position he was in, was a bit more comfortable than moving to the passenger
seat, he wouldv'e screamed blue-murder if he had to
one, get out of the drivers
seat, 2, walk around the other side, 3, climb in passenger
seat, all without medication, I know, been there-done that, with a stuffed back, I drove my rig from
Grafton to Port McQuarie, as long as I leaned over steering wheel, all was fine, sheer-bloodyagony.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 01:52
Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 01:52
This is the closest one to
Eucla, on google Earth S31 42 13.1 E128 49 31.0
Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 23:42
Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 23:42
I finally got to see this episode as I had taped it.
Some of the comments above are so out of line and if you take offence, I will not apologise.
You cannot put old heads on
young shoulders and if I was the coppers boss, I would've congratulated them on a job well done. And as for the bloke standing around while no one helped him...easy, he couldn't sit down !!!! And after awhile, people move about as they are bored....and NOT DOCTORS.
The cops assessed so many things and the only comment I would agree with above is that they allowed him to drive which I would never have done, but I was NOT THERE and there may have been other issues that we didn't hear. The cops did follow him and they did have UHF and there was a motor home in front of him...etc etc.
Bottom line...they did a mighty fine job of which not many of you would've been able to do.
Get a life and stop kidding yourselves that you are so good.