now this looks like fun

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 09:55
ThreadID: 72273 Views:7886 Replies:16 FollowUps:25
where didnt they take this van?
this has to be better than working :-)))

Reply By: Member - Anthony G (ACT) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 10:05

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 10:05
I reckon they run a bit short on the old IQ.
AnswerID: 383214

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 10:10

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 10:10
Tony

but they did give that van hell :-)
FollowupID: 650846

Follow Up By: Member - Anthony G (ACT) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 10:19

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 10:19
Thats for sure.
FollowupID: 650847

Reply By: Rockape - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 10:19

Wow!!!!!!!!! driven by one little old lady.

Gotta love Sunday drivers.

Have a good one
AnswerID: 383216

Reply By: Member - Rodney B- Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 10:19

I reckon they deserve a medal dragging that van all the way so next time you think of wimping out of taking an off road camper trailer up the Cape remember these guys.
Boy I like the way the V8 Tojo's perform dragging that van.
It shows them starting to cross the Jardine but did they make it to the other side?
AnswerID: 383217

Follow Up By: youngharry52 - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 12:08

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 12:08
Yep they sure did, that is, after using 2 winches and snatch straps etc

FollowupID: 650861

Follow Up By: garrycol - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 13:25

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 13:25
And a whole lot of backup vehicles and people - oh and Toyota sponsorship by the sign on the drivers door.
FollowupID: 650863

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 15:16

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 15:16
Yeah, remember coming across long sand stretches like that too, and in the middle would be a japanese bike tourist with gear spread all over the place after coming off.

The Jardine crossing looks like they did it south to north, and when we did it a good few years ago, the main channel was on the north side and well over a metre deep. Would have interesting to see if the van floated through. :o)
FollowupID: 650874

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 10:54

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 10:54
So who are the Gall Boys??

Look like a bunch of wankers.

AnswerID: 383219

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 11:09

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 11:09
The Gall Boys are the makers of the Kedron Caravans. They are out there promoting their product. One of the toughest rigs a lot of money can buy.
FollowupID: 650854

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 10:59

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 10:59
Great advertisment for Toyota. I want one lol .
Wish I bought the whole series at the caravan show, heaps cheaper. The DVD on Fraser is ok. Shows the tow bar clean snap off their Prado.
AnswerID: 383220

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 11:53

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 11:53
Geez Mark

That track is not as bad as some of the roads in Northern NSW lol lol. especially the road out to Broomes Head, are you familiar with the place? lol.

AnswerID: 383224

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 12:08

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 12:08
DAZA

probably from all the northern terrorists who visit Brooms Head.........with their overloaded boots in their vans :-))))
FollowupID: 650862

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 12:29

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 12:29
Well, the track is a lot worse for wear after they had been through... Notice that the tyres were definitely not reduced in pressure for driving through sand. The last bit shows they had a very large crew... and I bet they did a heck of a lot more winching and recoveries than shown here. "Wan_ _ _ s" is right...!

Would love to have inspected trailer and 4Xby immediatly after to see how much damage they really did.... Makes for spectacular video though... Probably encourage a lot of other people "who also have no idea" to get stuck and need rescuing to boot....
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 383230

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 13:26

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 13:26
SWMBO bought the 7-DVD set, and after watchin' a couple of 'em, I can't be bothered watchin' any more, as it became increasingly obvious that they (the Gall boys) are/were promoting Toyota as much as (if not more than) their own product, with showing of the actual destinations falling a very long way down the list of priorities...

This leads me to strongly suspect that these 'excursions' are financed (and vehicles supplied) by Toyota..
Nothing wrong with that of course, but when it comes to laying blame for track damage, and encouraging others "who also have no idea" to try the same, I have to wonder,
Who is the real culprit here???

Just my perspective on it ;-)

Regards, Ed C

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 650864

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 13:53

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 13:53
I don't think I would like to buy any of their vehicles or vans second hand after being treated like that.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 383233

Reply By: ben_gv3 - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 15:08

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 15:08
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 383242

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 15:29

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 15:29
Similar to a few comments above.

Would they be doing it if they were ordinary working stiffs who paid full tote for the van?

Would they be doing it if they paid for the tow vehicle and not had a support crew?

If you or I put a Kedron through that sort of punishment would they honour the warranty?

I doubt it, so really don't see the point of the trip other than to have a hoon and write it off against the business.

AnswerID: 383243

Reply By: ben_gv3 - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 15:45

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 15:45
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 383249

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 17:17

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 17:17
I don't get why they needed to take the caravan - looks like they were driving fast enough to do the whole trip there and back in a single day!
AnswerID: 383257

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:20

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 18:20
The Tojo was a loan car from Sci Fleet Toyota at Kedron
Just what do you buy as a "Demo" vehicle.
Mike.
AnswerID: 383266

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:36

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:36
It’s a well made video promoting the ability of a couple of top class vehicles.
It seems to have rattled the cage of a few knockers and wingers who are possibly just a little jealous.
FollowupID: 650915

Follow Up By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 00:20

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 00:20
I agree with you Dennis.......
FollowupID: 650955

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:50

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:50
Jealous? What, that those guys are out there in fully kitted near-new vehicles (or at least, they WERE), escorted by excellent support crews, visiting top places and most likely getting paid for the privilege while I sit in an office? You betcha, but it still doesn't justify that sort of abuse of machinery...

Yes, they might have the money to do it and yes, the vehicles can obviously take it (at least in the short/medium term), but it still 'Galls' me to see such abuse/waste (similar to some of the 'stories' on TopGear).

If these people have really got so much money to throw around, why don't they throw it in a useful direction eg. where even your loose change could provide life-changing help to people genuinely stuck in poverty? And we all know there is no shortage of them around the world...
FollowupID: 651152

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 10:55

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 10:55
Tim you’ve made me see the light.
I’ll race out and flog the 4wd and van this weekend.
Where would you suggest I send the money – the starving in Zimbabwe or perhaps the lepers in Bombay?
FollowupID: 651308

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 13:03

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 13:03
Wow, I wasn't telling you to do that! I was just suggesting that if someone has money to burn breaking things just because they can afford to, perhaps they could instead drive to the conditions and instead of repairing/replacing everything after each trip, they could direct some of their obviously superfluous funds to a more useful cause.

If you are convinced that it means you should sell your 4WD and van, I'd suggest you contact an organisation such as CBM or World Vision who will be able to advise you on the areas of greatest need. No, I'm not a rep for either of these organisations, but you asked for some suggestions...
FollowupID: 651330

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:50

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 19:50
Gday Mark,

Just goes to show that 4wd's and off road vans can do exactly that.
I was starting to think they were just a talking point for when they make make camp?
AnswerID: 383277

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 15:23

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 15:23
ROFLMAO!!! Good one!
FollowupID: 651350

Reply By: ChrisVal7 - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 22:59

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 22:59
The Gall boys own and manufacture Kedron caravans (as has been posted by others above) and this trip, as in several similar trips, is about pushing the vans to the limit to see what needs to be improved. This attitude is to be applauded in my view.

They openly say (in person and on the videos which they sell) that you shouldn't try to copy what they do, as they have a factory back home to repair the damage, and a solid backup team to help retrieve any situations gone to custard.

The Galls are the most unassuming and modest people who are fantastic to deal with. Any problems with their vans post delivery are dealt with swiftly and without hassles. We are onto our second Kedron van and are delighted with the product as well as the experience of dealing with the Galls.

Having said all that I wouldn't want to buy one of these demo models....

Oh yes, and Toyota Internationally say they rely heavily on advice from Kedron about towing issues in the Australian context and seek a lot of information from the Galls. So I guess their support in the videod trip is all about similarly testing their product.
AnswerID: 383301

Reply By: Traveller - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 08:43

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 08:43
Yeah.......Bushbashing at its best. For years the 4x4 'movement' has advocated to tread lightly etc etc etc. So these blokes, with money to burn and not a care in the world about anything they may do out there, go and do these promos. Youtube stuff for twits. The Gall of it!!!

Most travellers won't dare to do such silly things with their vans or 4bies and even though they say 'Now listen kiddies, don't try this at home' the idea has been planted that your van and vehicle could actually do that and some of the inexperienced travellers may still attempt such things.

I was bragged at by a traveller not so long ago...."Oh, WE took our XXX van into that place, no worries!". The silly people are still out there and common sense has departed this mortal coil.
AnswerID: 383325

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:40

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:40
Talk about all bitter and twisted.
If I were fortunate enough to own a Kedron (and I am not).
I wouldn’t waste it by sticking to the bitumen and 4 star caravan parks.
It horses for courses and depends on your experience and equipment.
It would be silly to take a typical onroad van towed by a smaller 4wd to places that these vehicles are designed to handle.
FollowupID: 650998

Follow Up By: Traveller - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 13:27

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 13:27
If you had the money for the Kedron would you have the experience to take it where the Twits went? Probably not. And what is the point of doing silly things as depicted in the video?
FollowupID: 651000

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 13:32

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 13:32
"Bitter and twisted"

"It seems to have rattled the cage of a few knockers and wingers who are possibly just a little jealous"

Hmmmm!! Strong words Dennis, people express a personal view that differs from yours and they they are labelled in someway emotionally distorted in that view??

Its got nothing to do with the perceived capabilities of the vehicle and caravan.
I don't see anywhere in this thread anyone doubting those abilities.

Its about the way in which those "Film makers" have gone about "proving" to the world how good they and their product is, dragging that van to the top of Cape York without any consideration to the damage they are possibly causing to the image of 4 wheel driving and more importantly the additional damage to a track that is obviously already suffering big time from the constant heavy use it gets now.

Why couldn't they have shown the capabilities of the van by utilising a private 4wd park rather than on a public road or track??
It is after all a promotional video for the products being used and is not fully telling of the problems they may or may not have suffered and the true level of backup support, IE vehicles/people that accompanied them on the trip that without they would have stood no chance of getting to the top.

Would you do it without the back up they had??

FollowupID: 651001

Follow Up By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 13:44

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 13:44
I was at the Cape in July = August this year....whilst there a group of approx 80 bash cars were doing a variety club run for disadvantaged kids (well done guys) they were doing various parts of the OTT and in places were causing some damage......Dont see anyone having a whinge about that???
FollowupID: 651002

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 14:13

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 14:13
Yeh I agree Dave.
It’s the tall poppy syndrome – knock the successful.
I travelled to the tip of Cape Yorke last year via the old telegraph track. I didn’t take my van up there. But that doesn’t mean that they shouldn’t. No one has exclusive rights to a public track. Good luck to them.
FollowupID: 651005

Follow Up By: Traveller - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 18:12

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 18:12
Nothing to do with tall poppy syndrome. Its a comment depicting the Twit mentality that some people have, more likely fuelled by oodles of amber liquid and a 'boyz' club attitude. Not saying they can't do what they like. Am saying they are Twits though.
FollowupID: 651027

Follow Up By: Member - Happy Gutz (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 18:18

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 18:18
Dave, that would have been the Endeavour Rally at the cape. I've been in a few of them, it's bloody amazing just where these cars will go with a little preparation. As an aside, this year and last year as well were won by my brother and his wife in an old 6cylinder Fairlaine. Using ordinary old gas Monroe Wylie shockies, top effort.
FollowupID: 651029

Follow Up By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 18:47

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 18:47
G'day Happy

Yes it was the Endeavour Rally, i spoke to some of them people, they were all a top bunch....even though some places did get chopped up a little from them going through i didn't think any damage was done, in fact it made for better 4wheel driving for our group.....I took some pics as they went through a River crossing, cant remember which river it was just at the moment....would this be the Fairlane in question??

FollowupID: 651030

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:33

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:33
Thanks for the info Traveller – “more likely fuelled by oodles of amber liquid and a 'boyz' club attitude”
I’m glad we've got guys like you on this site that can spot this sort of thing - somehow I missed it.
FollowupID: 651037

Follow Up By: Member - Happy Gutz (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 20:18

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 20:18
No, not that one, Ken's is just an old yellow beast. The one pictured belongs to Lionel Moore, own's Moore's Trailers at Pittsworth. Think he got top fund raiser this year
FollowupID: 651044