New World Record for Early Packing and Leaving

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 10:23
ThreadID: 72295 Views:5385 Replies:14 FollowUps:22
G'day all,

Well, over the years we've stayed at many van parks and been woken by many early leavers, but today was a new record for us. Not one, but four, vans all packed and left the MacDonnell Range Caravan Park together this morning. They started packing at 4:15 AM.

One of the vans must have had the rustiest staibiler legs imaginable and at least one of the vehicles was fitted with a reversing beeper.

I hope they read this and see how much their efforts were appreciated by all of their neighbours! Idiots!

Does anyone else have an earlier "pack up" session to beat this?

Russ

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:15

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:15
Russ.

A few years back we were in Boulia and it was well after midnight when a group of ten or so vehicles (some with campers) turned up and proceeded to set-up camp and prepare dinner. They made no attempt to keep the volume down and consequently woke up the entire camp.

You just have to wonder about some of the people you meet while travelling.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 383346

Reply By: Inland Sailor - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:29

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:29
I don't have an earlier time than that record, but you onto my pet hate!!!!!
I think that most CP's have a curfew time in the evening, in most cases 10:00 which is usually followed by the residents and sometimes enforced when broken by the management.
Again, in most cases the curfew operates till 7:00. A reasonable time for rising and making the noises that go with the beginning of the day.
But do you ever see that enforced by management???? I don't think so!!!!
The result, .... selfish people getting up at crazy hours in the morning and disturbing all the residents around them. They need to get a life and think of others. [And I bet they would be first to complain if a few campers were having a quiet chat in the camp kitchen after the evening curfew]

AnswerID: 383351

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:27

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:27
You should have given them a trophy - perhaps a can of WD40?!
AnswerID: 383362

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:50

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:50

We were camping up at Teewah Beach several years ago, it was the Easter Break, and all the campers had settled in with their tents ect, it was fairly packed out, anyway it was about 11-30 pm and nice and quite, when all of a sudden this 4wd came driving up the track looking for a camp site using a hand held spotlight he finds a small area on the side of an embankment, and decides to put his tent up on the side of a hill, they make a hell of a racket, their kids are yelling out and running around the place ect, then the adults decide to have a few drinks after they set up camp, now we all thought good at last things will settle down, by this time it's close to 1-00am, NO, the kids started to pester them about some thing, all you could here is please please you said you would do it, and then all of a sudden there was this god allmighty flash and then BOOM, they started setting off STAR BURSTS right next to the camps, this went on for about 30 minutes, and then all was quite, about 6-30am in the morning they packed up and left.
and I thought thank god for that.

AnswerID: 383364

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 13:45

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 13:45
You were robbed ! ...... of the opportunity to wake them up far to early !!!
We had ferals once in a campground - yapping away till 2 am - only thing is they thought they were due a nice sleep in till mid morning - they did not look at all happy when they were scuffling around their tent at 7am - with us having removed all hope of a sleep in. Pay back is soooooo good :-o)
FollowupID: 651003

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 14:25

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 14:25
Darian, We did the same some 15 years back at Hill End NSW.. A group turned up at 10pm and set up 6 tents around the toilets and continued the music and drinking in to the wee hours. We got up at 6am and packed up and slammed the doors on the old VL Commodore so many times while they we sleeping their hangovers off.. They were really dirty on us.. Revenge is sweet!!

Michael

FollowupID: 651006

Reply By: OREJAP - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 16:06

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 16:06
You will not believe this but July 2000 we were in the same park & having a quite ale or six and listening to the local radio station on the squak box but not really loud. This guy comes into our camp and asks "could you turn the radio down.?" Fair enough after all it was 2015hrs!!! About 15mins later he is back. "Can you keep the volume of conversation down a few decibells. We are trying to sleep"Well, I didn't think we were to noisy. But we all must consider others. Anyway about an hour later & no further visits from our neighbour we all turned in. We were all woken at sparrows fart by, "Left hand down George. No go forward. Other lock" Then the best of all. BEEP...BEEP....BEEEP...BEEP. raised voices and usual mixture of instructions about reversing up to their caravan. The vehicle, a 62 Series white coloured cruiser driven by....you guessed it...our visitor from the previous night. So I got up & went over and asked him "I see you are all off for a early start" He replied, "Yes. Make the most of the day and pull into the next park around 3 or 3:30 ish" I said, "Could you do me a favour. Leave your ignition on and the vehicle parked in reverse please?" He said, "Why?" I said, "Because I am sure everyone in the park would be really impressed by your reverse alarm. I think they should be standard on all four wheel drives. What a handy peice of equipment. Why don't you write to Toyota Australia recommending that they fit them as standard equipment?" He didn't know whether I was pulling his leg or fair dinkum. Anyway about 0830hrs we packed up and headed off into the day and blow me down...who do we catch up to? Yep, me old Toyota beeping mate and his other two cronies black smoke puring out of the old patrols & l/cruiser....sitting on 70 to 80k/pH in a derestricted zone!!! Holding all the truckies & traffic up. So we booked into a caravan park down the track not to long after passing Snale, Turtle & wet week. Who drives in behind us....FFS the 3 Amigos....Thank goodness we were well away from them & on an unpowered site. End of the story begins the next morning. I set the watch for five and put the kettle on & have to go and observe the big pack up. Heading over to where the 3 Amigos are camped I here the familiar..BEEP>>>>DA>>>BEEP. Followed shortly after by raised voices. I hear this booming voice say. "I have put up with you B*****ds since quarter to five & enough is enough.'''If you won't turn the F****n thing off I will." Apparently this rather large man reached into the cruiser turned off the motor and threw the keys away!!! I didn't bother to watch further but I thought well it takes all types.
AnswerID: 383378

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:52

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:52
OREJAP, that is sensational, and a lot of us can relate to much of it..:-))

Cheers mate.

Fred.
FollowupID: 651038

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:10

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:10
Well, reverse beepers are a good idea for a shopping mall carpark, but since I like to go camping, and since I sometimes camp in places that other people also like, I would fit an isolating switch for such occasions.

I saw someone turn up to a campsite one afternoon, he positioned the vehicle to reverse into the spot and engaged reverse... the alarm beeped once or twice before he isolated it, not that it would have been a real problem at the time of day he turned up (still light), but it was a courteous gesture to his fellow campers.

Not as bad as one young family in a group I was once camped with - everytime they opened a door on their Patrol, the alarm would go off! And they seemed to be in and out of the car constantly... I was contemplating asking them to read the owner's manual before opening another door since they didn't seem to know how to operate their car.
FollowupID: 651140

Reply By: ajd - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 17:12

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 17:12
About four years ago, the wife, daughter and I went on an off-road long weekend in the Vic High country. Day two we arrived at Woods Point and set up camp at the about 1.km outside town.

About 9.30 pm while sitting around the camp fire enjoying a red wine we see a parade of five cars arriving, they proceed to drive around and around the camp site deciding on the best spot to set up camp and with only two people in the place there was plenty of room.

They decided that we knew what we were doing and must have camped in the best spot so they moved in next to us. This had to be seen to be believed. First they made a circle with their cars all facing in towards the centre and put all the cars headlights on full beam (two of them had driving lights), all cars were left idling so they wouldn't flatten the batteries, then they started to unload the tents, all five of them still in the plastic wrapping, the large dome type with 10 flexible poles and about a hundred guy ropes.

At about midnight all five tents were partially erect so out came the blow up mattresses with 5 el cheapo compressors which drowned out the noise of the 5 cars idling. We got to sleep at about 3.00 am. but our neighbours were still going trying to start a fire.

We left about 10 am. the next day just as this group were washing their cars in the Jamieson river with soap.

AnswerID: 383380

Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:26

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:26
In the last 2 1/2 years of being on the road we have manage to pull in to camps late set up, get into bed and not wake anyone up. Often people would wake up the next morning surprised to see us having not heard us during the night. I must confess though....... One early start we had was to catch the boat back from Tassie. As we had an early set we packed up as much as we could the night before so not to wake people in the morning. All was going well until I set off the car alarm. What a bugger, all that effort wasted. It did wake our neighbours who had slept in and were catching the boat also. Ours was accidental but I do know what you mean with people not caring who they wake up or annoy. We met a couple in Renmark who said they have F.... off music (heavy metal played very loud). If someone camps near them they play it really loud so they move on, except for one couple. This couple camped so close their tent ropes were under the van, so they started the music. The old guy starts complaining about the music. His wife replies with "Well at least their enjoying themselves". How unlucky could you be.

Josh
AnswerID: 383402

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:17

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:17
Reminds me of a joke:
"Keep the campsites either side of you vacant by placing a tuba on your camp table or other conspicuous place in your campsite"

It's strange how people often have a tendency to pull into a large campsite and camp right next to the only other person there!
FollowupID: 651144

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 13:35

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 13:35
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 651161

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:26

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:26
Hi Russ,
I can empathise with you.

A few months ago when we were staying at Karijini N Pk in WA at Dales Gorge campground a group of campers left around 4AM having taken at least an hour to pack up. They slammed car doors many, many times and must surely have woken every occupant of the campground.
It was unbelievable and so inconsiderate!

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 383403

Reply By: Ted G - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:39

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:39
You probably heard of the bloke who was going around OZ and said that to pack all the things he needed he would have had to have a 4 ton truck.
The one thing he regreted packing was his welder to weld up all the wizbang doors that opened and closed 6 times a night when parked next to him.
Ted
AnswerID: 383406

Reply By: Holden4th - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:40

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:40
OK, so you wouldn't be too impressed with the Year 6 students we take to Winton each year if we happen to camp in the place you do? We arrive in two big buses, put up our tents and are then fed. By all means flee to another site when you see us coming because we will start packing up after our first night at 5:30 am and it won't be quiet.

We don't see this as too much of problem because all of you old grey nomad type guys are in vans, it's the middle of winter and all your doors are closed. On top of that you are not usually there for the one night and can sleep on after we leave at 7:30 am. Are we talking grumpy old men and women?

On top of that our kids are considerate of others and if some happen to have a bit of a nightmare and call out in their sleep I will get up to help them in this time of crisis. After all, they're only 11 years old away from home and family for 9 days and definitely out of their comfort zone. If there moment of distress bothers you we can't do much about it.

What I'm saying is that if you are on a schedule and need to leave early the next day then that's what you have to do. You do it as considerately as possible and that's what it's like when you travel through most of Australia. There will always be early leavers and late arrivals and if you can't handle the pyschology of that then maybe you shouldn't be on the road.

Alternatively, bush camp as far away from civilisation as possible then you won't have to worry.

I'll be blunt. I've travelled a lot and my own major gripe is the lack of tolerance and consideration from a small proportion of the grey nomads - especially those from the south! I live with it because they have the same right to travel this vast brown land that I do. What I'm saying is 'Get Over It'. - it's going to happen again or get yourself back home.
AnswerID: 383407

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:59

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:59
With a large group of teenagers or youngsters like you're talking about people will expect some noise and be somewhat tolerant.
We had that at Kings Canyon (American kids on an Oz tour)- was rather entertaining to some degree.
At 80 Mile beach we had a huge church group who entertained us each night with their singing.
No big deal. Big groups create big noises, but the cretins who keep opening and shutting car doors, backpacker or others camper vans with sliding doors, idling cars, reversing sensors, loud music and people who yak outside your tent or van at ridiculously early or late hours is damn right RUDE.

FollowupID: 651039

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 21:03

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 21:03
I feel so privileged to have received the benefit of your vast and considered wisdom. I suspect your friends refer to you as an ideas man, perhaps a sociologist maybe even a social commentator? Who knows but to attach such labels is just ill informed and lacking insight. Are you a journalist from the north??
FollowupID: 651057

Follow Up By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 10:13

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 10:13
Hi evryone!
This year I took a group of 9-12 year olds on a camp to Mulligans Hut in the Gibralter National Park. The first time camping for the majority I wanted to introduce them to The joys of camping and out great country. We arrived mid morning they all had to put their own tents up etc. We then had an elderly couple walk over and ask us how long were we going to be staying and what would we be doing and our plans so they wouldnt do the walks on the same days as us and they hoped we were going to make them behave and get them in bed by 8.30 as that was their bedtime but the best one was they informed us where they were camped and told us to ensure the kids didnt use the toilets near them. On the other hand we had an older couple come and comment on what a great thing w were doing introducing the students to camping and nature.
Barb
FollowupID: 651115

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:29

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 12:29
I don't quite follow the logic here, perhaps this one needs a little more explanation:
"...we will start packing up after our first night at 5:30 am and it won't be quiet.
...On top of that our kids are considerate of others..."
By all means, get out there and enjoy the travel, it's there for you guys as much as anyone else, but it seems a bit odd to think that your group is "considerate of others" when you've already resigned yourselves to thinking that packing up "won't be quiet".

And Barbara M, it's ironic how people get so territorial over a place they'll be staying in for a week or two at most! But I can understand them not wanting to do the walks with a large group of people, particularly if they wanted to see any wildlife. You could tell them (TIC): we'll all be in bed by 8:30pm as long as you agree not to get out of bed before 8:30am! :)
FollowupID: 651145

Follow Up By: Holden4th - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:00

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:00
I don't quite follow the logic here, perhaps this one needs a little more explanation:
"...we will start packing up after our first night at 5:30 am and it won't be quiet.
...On top of that our kids are considerate of others..."
By all means, get out there and enjoy the travel, it's there for you guys as much as anyone else, but it seems a bit odd to think that your group is "considerate of others" when you've already resigned yourselves to thinking that packing up "won't be quiet".

So all 120 of us tiptoe around, not a word uttered, all the equipment is cloth bound to avoid even the faintest possible sound that might wake the public. It's not resignation, it's pragmatism.
FollowupID: 651205

Follow Up By: Holden4th - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:08

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:08
I feel so privileged to have received the benefit of your vast and considered wisdom. I suspect your friends refer to you as an ideas man, perhaps a sociologist maybe even a social commentator? Who knows but to attach such labels is just ill informed and lacking insight. Are you a journalist from the north??

Your response says it all. I'm happy to see that you consider me so sagacious in matters like these and am glad that your are absorbing all that I have purveyed regarding this topic.

A journalist? Have you read all of my original post? (you got the north part correct).
FollowupID: 651206

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 20:46

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 20:46
"So all 120 of us tiptoe around, not a word uttered, all the equipment is cloth bound to avoid even the faintest possible sound that might wake the public. It's not resignation, it's pragmatism."

I could be wrong, but I don't think anyone is expecting absolute silence, it's not a mid-battle military operation afterall!

No one is expecting a group can pack up without uttering a word, but if you pride yourselves on being considerate of others, those spoken words won't be yelled from one end of the campground to the other, they might instead be spoken in quiet or even hushed tones (at least until you get in your vehicles and drive away, then you can all yell at each other as much as you like!)

No one is expecting every piece of equipment to be cloth bound to avoid all sound, but again, if you pride yourselves on being considerate of others, you might consider not launching that equipment into a metal box trailer from several metres away. You might also consider not slamming the door on that metal box trailer several times as Outward Bound groups are known for.

If a small group of say 4 to 6 people can pack up quietly for an early morning departure, is there any real reason why 120 people can't do the same? If they really are considerate as you say, instead of just stating "it won't be quiet", it might be more fitting that such a group would take reasonable steps to MAKE it quiet.
FollowupID: 651234

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 20:50

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 20:50
BTW: Holden4th, I'm not trying to accuse your group of any of these things - I don't even know what group you're travelling with. You make the assertion that the kids are considerate of others, and I just wonder how their consideration shows when their leaders have the attitude that packing up it won't be and can't be quiet.
FollowupID: 651236

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 09:54

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 09:54
Holden4th,

I can't believe that you think it is "intolerant" to be annoyed at being woken at 4:15AM. Tolerance and Sainthood are two entirely different things. Aside from the noise, these people were working in pitch black conditions. Surely, at the very least there are safety issues when decamping in such conditions?

So far as you bus tours with the kids go, we've been around plenty of them. Yes they are noisy, but it's just kid noise. Sometimes they pack up early, but 5:30 is very different from 4:15. Sometimes the van park owner also bollock them for being noisy - this has happened on two occasions where we have stayed. These kids can be annoying and we are tolerant, but adults who should know better, making no attempt to be quiet, at a ridiculous hour, stretch the limits of tolerance.

While you may label us as intolerant, I would suggest that you are self-interested to the point of lacking "understanding" of what is acceptable behaviour in an environment such as a caravan park. One wonders if you would be tolerant at 4:15 AM if someone was doing their bagpipe practice next door to you when you are at home?

Russ
FollowupID: 651299

Follow Up By: Travelin OZ - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 10:28

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 10:28
Gee Russ at this rate you will have a heart attack soon.

The great thing about living in OZ is that we are free to travel where and when we want to.

There is no law saying that we have to park up at 3pm or pack up and leave after 8am, I personally prefer to get the most out the day so if that means leaving early or getting in late that's what I will do, more to the point is, it is legal to do so.

Would I try to annoy you while doing it NO.

While I am Travelin OZ I couldn't and wouldn't care less what you or anyone else does while your travelling, I would expect the same in return, it's a free country to travel in lets be thankful for that and just CHILL OUT.
FollowupID: 651303

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 10:51

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 10:51
G'day Travelin,

No risk of chucking a hearty with me. I simply find it amazing that our Legislators make laws concerning noise/noise levels that apply to everyday life in suburbia - laws that reflect the general will of the people and really just reinforce common decency anyway - and then people think that when they are out and about travelling, those same rules of common decency no longer apply. There is just no rationale for such thinking.

As for "The great thing about living in OZ is that we are free to travel where and when we want to." I disagree. I think it still encumbent upon us to keep the "when" part of your statement within the bounds of common decency.

In the instance I quoted, four vanners managed to wake everyone within a 40 metre or so distance of them. That is, lots of people. That's just a bit too self-serving I think.

I can definitely "chill out" easier after a decent night's sleep!

Russ
FollowupID: 651306

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 12:35

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 12:35
Russ, are you complaining about someone packing up and leaving just because it was early in the morning, or because they made a lot of noise while packing up early in the morning?

I have nothing wrong with people arriving late or departing early as long as they try to reduce the noise. Afterall, you might consider how many times you might have turned up at a campsite mid-afternoon only to disturb some toddler having an afternoon nap.

Also, we're not all retired and some of us still only get 4 weeks of holiday each year. If we're going to see anything outside our little corner of the country in that short time, it means we have to put some serious km behind us each day, at least at the start and end of our trip. My most recent big trip was to the Kimberley - with some long days of travelling it still took a large chunk (five days) out of our holiday just getting there, then we could slow down and enjoy something new...

People will always have different bed-times and waking up times depending on their habits and schedules, that's life because we're not all robots. The only thing I ask/expect is that if your schedule is different from those camped around you, you should at least set-up or pack-up (or even chat around the campfire) quietly.
FollowupID: 651329

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 13:19

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 13:19
G'day Timbo,

It is the combination of the two. As you say, either in isolation may not be a problem...leave at 4:00 AM and make no noise, no problem. Make a heap of noise leaving at 8:00 AM, again no problem.

I simply think that it is just bad manners to wake all and sundry at such an early hour, so that you (metaphorical "you", not you specifically, Timbo) can maintain some self-imposed schedule. If you can't see it all during this year's holidays, come back and see the rest next year.

Russ.
FollowupID: 651333

Reply By: flashcher - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:49

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:49
No Holden4, I will not get over it. Some people are just down right rude and inconsiderate. Ask any man what it is like putting up with a sleep deprived wife, and you will know what these people are talking about.

Oh I am not even a grey nomad, but gee I can't wait until I am so that I can get out and explore this great country of ours. All the while being considerate of my fellow man and not thinking that I am more important then anyone else.
AnswerID: 383409

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 20:04

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 20:04
Late arrival for this one, but can relate to all the scenarios previously mentioned above.
Here is my pet hate in camp.
The bloke who gets up at sparra's fart, and immediately kicks over the shiny new 4x4, and leaves the motor running for half an hour or longer, while he's packing up, brushing his teeth, cleaning the windscreen, checking the hitch for the umpteenth time etc. etc. and finally departs with much fuss.
Aaaaaarrrrgggghhhhh!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 383415

Follow Up By: Member - Michael John T (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 23:49

Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 23:49
Ahhh it's fun to go travelling and camping isn't it......... Our road rules are be in camp by 3.30 to 4.00pm and don't leave until afterr 9.00am. That way you get to meet the fellow travellers, old or young, arround you. Just enjoy the experience, none of us are perfect..

have a good trip.

FollowupID: 651078

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 13:31

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 13:31
hi
after reading all this if i was'nt better imformed i could easily believe yr not aussies
but are a bunch of winging poms
i 've experienced a sample of all that has been said on here today and well that's australia all over
enjoy it while it's still ours and get a life to go with it cheers and happy travels everyone all the best of happiness as you experience this wide brown land of our???
stop hating the other bloke for what he's doing it aint that bad surely
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 651158

Follow Up By: ajd - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 15:22

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 15:22
Lighten up, its just travellers tales.

FollowupID: 651173

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 00:44

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 00:44
Hi Russ & Sue, we must be the lucky one's as we haven't had too many problems in that department except coming back over the Nullabor last year after the Birdsville Races, a free camp area about 85kms East of Norseman, at daybreak a couple of 4WD utes pulled in letting all in sundry know they are coming and unloaded a couple of dirt bikes and started racing on the dry lake bed that we were all camped on the edge of. Needless to say we had an early start that morning, breaky in Norseman, it was too noisy to even be bothered to get up and make breakfast.

Reading this thread one wonders why we have been so lucky, BTW I'm not a heavy sleeper either and we are on the road quite often.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 383459

Reply By: rags - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:50

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:50
HI
This reminds me of a poem in a book that i have called CARAVAN BLISS and other verses by R G[bob] Magor that captures this issue brilliantly,but due to copy right issue as outlined in the book i will not reproduce here.
The book may still be available through the author/poet and the contact no in the book is 08 8558 2036. His works of bush poetry are great if it is of interest to you, and some travellors may have heard him as he use to perform around various caravan parks etc in central aust,not sure if he still does,and i have no connection with him.
thanks
Russell
AnswerID: 383544