Nissan gu petrol buying

Submitted: Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 10:12
ThreadID: 7232 Views:2087 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Hello all, I have found a 2001 petrol patrol st for what seems like the right price, are there any particular things specific to this model I should be checking prior to purchase. I also noticed on the passenger side dash there is a panel marked "srs airbag" does this mean it has a second bag (I thought standard was only one) or is it just a generic dash? Thanks for your time, Brimo.(central Qld Coast)

Reply By: Brimo - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 10:19

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 10:19
Also folks, any tips on improving fuel economy and some figures would be appreciated. (actually, any info you reckon might be useful to me!) Cheers Brimo.
AnswerID: 31067

Reply By: flappan - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 13:21

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 13:21
I've got a Ti, so I'm not 100% sure on the ST's.

One Airbag is standard, but you can get a "Safety"Option I believe, so it could well have 2. It would normally have ABS as well then.

As for the motor. I've been getting 15/16 / 100k's highway, and 20/100 city cycle.

On the weekend I got 16/100 from Canberra to Newcastle, but absolutely blew it out on the trip home 24/100 I think. Gale force head winds, and driving a large brick doesn't help for this.

You don't really buy a Petrol Patrol with fuel economy as the major consideration, but with a bit of careful driving, its not as bad as a lot of folks say.
AnswerID: 31084

Reply By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 16:40

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 16:40
Brimo, sounds like it has the safety pack check under bonet on passenger side firewall it will have 3 or 4 pipes running across it & abs unit next to space for 2nd battery. As for fuel consumption as last reply you don't buy a petrol patrol for fuel efficency.Regards Bob
Where to next
AnswerID: 31100

Reply By: Fred - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 17:19

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 17:19
Brimo as above they are gas guzzlers which as well as costing a lot also impacts on your range and therefore a lot of jerries are need if you're going to anywhere off the beaten track. Consider going diesel - heaps better. The 3.0TD seems to have a good reputation.
AnswerID: 31110

Follow Up By: spanky - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 19:22

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 19:22
The 3.o litre TD has a crap reputation. Do a search on this site and you will learn that the 3litre is crap. Buy the 4.2 and have some decent pulling power (just like the other Nissan owners have great "pulling power" if you know what I mean).

You could do yourself a real favour and get a TOYOTA and have a decent vehicle. Turbo 80 series are great (not like the boxy nissans of the 90's) or get a current 4.2 100 series diesel. Then your mates would be really jealous. All of the kids on your block would look and say "WOW BRIMO HAS A TOYOTA he is a real man". You would be the envy of the whole neighbourhood and chicks would go weak at the knees. Go on possum be a devil and buy a REAL CAR. Your kids will thank you.
FollowupID: 22088

Follow Up By: Fred - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 20:12

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 20:12
Why don't you tell us what you really think - don't hold back Wanky
FollowupID: 22095

Follow Up By: Brimo - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 14:54

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 14:54
Dear monkey spanker,
I currently own a 4.2 diesel troopy without power steering or air con does that make me man enough for you.
Love Brimo (Mrs.)
FollowupID: 22178

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 17:52

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 17:52
The only way to improve fuel ecomony is to buy a diesel.

4.5 and 4.8 are thirst, with one mag "claiming" 54ltrs-> 100klms!!! That was with sand work included, but I think some how that was a fubar in their calculations.

They are a good strong motor, and are cheaper than diesels due to the running costs.

www.redbook.com.au for a value.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2001 NISSAN PATROL
GU II Wagon ST 7st 4dr Auto 4sp 4x4 626kg 4.5i
average kms 45,000 - 55,000
trade in price guide* $31,200 - $35,300
national average price - private sale* $34,600 - $39,500
price when new (RRP) $50,790
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2001 NISSAN PATROL
GU II Wagon ST 7st 4dr Man 5sp 4x4 586kg 4.5i
average kms 45,000 - 55,000
trade in price guide* $29,300 - $33,100
national average price - private sale* $32,500 - $37,200
price when new (RRP) $48,740

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
AnswerID: 31121

Follow Up By: flappan - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 09:46

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 09:46
Its all relative.

As Truckster said, if you want economy, then a Diesel is probably a better choice.

However, if you want a bit of power then the Petrol is the go.

As for 54l /100 . . . . strewth . . . what were they doing . . . . .

I think thats a case of not paying for their own petrol, so not giving a toss about how much it uses . . . maybe all for the sake of a "test". That would be absolutely worse case scenario not common consumption.

The 4.5 is based on the 4.2 diesel motor. Know quality and reliability.

Maintance costs would be in the Petrols favour, runiing costs would be close (due to the higher price of diesel), but range and economy would most definently be in the Diesels favour.

To each their own. I'm getting about 700k's range out of mine.
FollowupID: 22160

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 21:23

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 21:23
Petrol is more than diesel round here, but it goes up and down like a hooker...

And diesels are cheaper to service than petrols from what I understand..

YMMV...
FollowupID: 22226

Reply By: Spanky - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 19:28

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 19:28
I will always be too much of a man for you Mrs Brimo you Nuf Nuf
AnswerID: 31253

Follow Up By: Brimo - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 07:38

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 07:38
probably not even worthy of a reply but, hmm.......sad
FollowupID: 22249