Blue 10mm water pipes and Tpiece fittings for caravans

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:09
ThreadID: 72327 Views:5392 Replies:4 FollowUps:8
I have got no Idea how to disconnect the blue water hose from those black fittings I have T pieces, elbows and just straight connectors that I want to re rout and shorten but I cant work out how these things come apart do I need a tool or am I one myself LOL!! HELP PLEASE HELP!!!!

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:17

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:17
If they are what they usually are just push the pipe further in and then pull it out.

The piece that is furtherest out is a pressure clamp that is held in by just that.

They are called John Guest clamps and the only tool you need is you LOL.

When you replace the pipe push it right in and then pull it back a bit will lock up.

Make sure you cut square and no ragged edges

AnswerID: 383539

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:25

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:25
Gday Johny Boy,
Try this link click here
AnswerID: 383541

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:38

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:38
Hi Hairy ,
I just got it off thanks to Graham but thank you also ,as now I have a better understanding of how they work.

FollowupID: 651215

Follow Up By: johntoyo - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:22

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:22
Hairy, thanks for a great link. A drawing is worth a thousand word, especially as when you get older, and having to get under a van is nice to be kept as short as possible.
FollowupID: 651251

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 11:36

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 11:36
No worries...........I know the feeling
FollowupID: 651465

Reply By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:32

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 19:32
Hi Graham,
You are an absolute LEGEND!!! I'm sure I had tried that (a zillion times!) but after reading what you wrote I got it I GOT IT!!!! I'm rapt mate this now means I can continue after work tomorrow arvo ,thanks again,Hey I typed this and sent it then went and sat down with the better half and after the first commercial break I said I gotta go check if my mates have dropped me a line about theses fittings and that's what I love about this site ,I don't call my mates up the road or my brother I just go to the study and find my Cyber mates which I have to meet at one of these gatherings one day for sure.

Cheers and thanks again :)
AnswerID: 383542

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:18

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:18
No worries I had to do some on my van last week.

Just dont break any cos Bunnings dont even know what they are.

Specialised irrigation shops sell them as do Caravan repair places surprisingly enough.

Im told the blue and red pipe is actually truck air hose so is best kept out of the sun as its not UV tolerant.

Have fun.
FollowupID: 651249

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 23:09

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 23:09
You can also buy it in black or white (translucent).
FollowupID: 651261

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 06:16

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 06:16
I love the pic of the Kookaburra on the bird book mate !!
FollowupID: 651269

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 09:14

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 09:14
You can also get little crescent shaped locking clips to stop them coming undone when you don't want them to.
Measure the nsertion distance and mark it with a piece of tape so that you are sure that the joint is fully made and sealed too.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 383614

Follow Up By: Rolly - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:10

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:10
You learn something every day.

I didn't know that these fittings existed, let alone how to handle them.

My thanks for the "heads up".
FollowupID: 651475

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 14:20

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 14:20
I just bought some line but it was black not blue and also the little horse shoe shaped clips from Jayco alls good,now I just need to fit it ?
they still have those clamps you weld on the drawbar to hold the jocky wheel $2
BARGAIN!!
FollowupID: 651485