Do late model Nissan 3.0 CRD's go bang?

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 20:49
ThreadID: 72331 Views:16215 Replies:9 FollowUps:31
Howdy folks,

What's the word on the street? Do the new common rail (2007 and upwards) 3.0 litre Nissan diesels go KaBoom!?

Not interested in the usual stuff about the old models - read it all a million times before (as has everyone else) so please stick to the topic.

Any other opinions on the GU VI (CRD)?

Any useful input would be appreciated.

Reply By: blue one - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 20:52

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 20:52
Yep
AnswerID: 383560

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 21:01

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 21:01
Thats enlightning!....Hahahahaha.!

FollowupID: 651239

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 21:12

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 21:12
and..............?

Well that was handy as a chocolate teacup. So what's the background to it blue one?

Was that gleaming pearl of wisdom direct from your colononic irrigators green grocer's aunty's hairdressers cousin best mate's plumber's neighbour, or was it actually yours that KB'd?

Not in the mood tonight. Please keep the responses useful good forumites or don't bother.

FollowupID: 651240

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 21:14

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 21:14
I'm waiting to here the story also, probably about a mate of a mate blah blah blah.
FollowupID: 651241

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 21:26

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 21:26
How's yours going Daza? Happy with it?

Did you go the auto?
FollowupID: 651243

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 07:13

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 07:13
G/Day V8D

We haven't had any problems with it so far, it's still under warranty, and if we don't trade it for a newer model, we will get the extended warranty, it tows the van ok, it's good driving on the beach, we don't flog the guts out of it, and we get it serviced every 5000ks, we have a good relationship with Gold Coast Nissan and their service people, I have discussed the issues re the blown 3ltr motors, and the info was that it has been fixed re 2005 onwards, this problem shouldn't have happened in the past, the amount of 3ltr Nissans that have developed problems whether it is through lack of proper care or what ever, is insignificant to the thousands that have given their owners good reliable trouble free motoring.

FollowupID: 651275

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 08:32

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 08:32
My concern would be that you couldnt trust a single word out of nissan's mouth, including what they tell there dealers, considering the way they have treated there customers for years, and there have been many examples on this site alone.
My other concern is that they probably havent stood the test of time yet to see if they have fixed the problems, somehow i doubt it.
FollowupID: 651286

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 09:20

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 09:20
You could be right Pesty, only time will tell,

As far as trusting Nissan, I agree a lot of people have been let down, from what I have read, but again I dont know how they approached the situation with their complaints,

I have been dealing with the same Nissan Dealership for several years, and they know that I'm a straight shooter and I expect the same from them, only one time did I cross swords with the service manager, and he promptly found out not to stuff around with me, it took only one phone call to the Principal of the dealership and it was sorted out.

I have lost count of how many 4wd's we have had over the years all makes ect, from various dealerships and we have had very little trouble, the funny thing is I remember the most expensive 4wd we purchased was the one that gave us the most trouble, it was a new 90 model Range Rover, in those days I used to lease them, and it cost us a fortune in down time, it was allways in the workshop.
FollowupID: 651295

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 12:04

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 12:04
I agree Pesty - Nissan took a long time to even acknowledge the problem in the first place. Wait until the CRD's get the same sort of mileage and see what happens... assuming it's the same engine of course.

On the other hand, the CRD engine could be so different that all the problem bits are no longer part of the engine, in which case there should be no reason to suspect it would be any more prone to explode than any other 3.0L CRD variable-vane turbo on the market (eg. IsuzuUte, Prados with D4-D engine, etc.)

DAZA, is it still the ZD30 engine? And do you mind telling us what sort of mileage you're up to in yours?
FollowupID: 651324

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 13:33

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 13:33
Yes ZD30 CRD

Around 11to12 ltrs /100ks,

Towing 2300kgs around 17/100ks,

Very low ks 12000ks on the clock,

Not even run in yet, shopping trolley for the Cook,

I drive it when towing van,
FollowupID: 651336

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 15:53

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 15:53
Daza, if the dealer told you that the problem was fixed in 2005, would they be good enough to tell you what caused the grief and what has been changed to eliminate the problem?
I am sure a lot of people would like to know the exact cause.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 651670

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 16:07

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 16:07
G/Day Dave

I'll send them an Email, requesting the info, the service manager is only to pleased to assist, when I get a reply I,ll put it on the forum.
FollowupID: 651674

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 16:36

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 16:36
Daza, I am sure it would be in Nissans interest to let it be known that they have isolated the problem and eliminated it.

Maybe there won't be as many 3.0 owners on sleeping tablets if they know the problem is fixed.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 651678

Reply By: Rockape - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:21

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:21
Yep,
cause of having to have air bags we have them, 3 of them and 2 went boom

AnswerID: 383577

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:59

Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 22:59
Hmmmmmmmm.........I guess by your name they are underground rigs. Always a good test of a vehicle's toughness and low range longevity. Not a good hit miss ratio is it.

For the same reason (OS&H / airbags) a lot of mines in WA have experimented with Luxes and even Rodeo's with varying degrees of success.

I'll be interested to see what further reports come through tomorrow. Were they definitely the new CRD 4 cyl Patrols you are referring to?

Toyota management must be on crack not to have air bagged the latest 70 series. Imagine a bare bones 4 door auto TD V8 Landcruiser 70 with factory difflocks.

No-one builds what I want to buy.
FollowupID: 651260

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 01:28

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 01:28
they are airbagged now arent they?
FollowupID: 651265

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 08:01

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 08:01
"a lot of mines in WA have experimented with Luxes "

- they take a Lexus underground ????
FollowupID: 651281

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 08:18

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 08:18
V8,
the vehicles I refer to are exploration units that are used on the highway, this is the reason for the airbags. The reason for the Patrols is exploration is a separate division so they buy what they want.

The vehicles are about 18 mths old.

I hope Nissan repower their patrols shortly as they are doing a lot of damage to their reputation.

Don't think I am a stick in the mud cruiser man either as they also have their faults.

They would still be getting a hard time though but to total 2 engines is definitely different.

We have Hiluxes as well for around the surface but they don't do any real work.
FollowupID: 651284

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 22:15

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 22:15
"they take a Lexus underground ????"

Luxes not Lexus!
FollowupID: 651404

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 00:33

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 00:33
Why don't you ask the question herehttp://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 383588

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 07:00

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 07:00
Registered last night and the WA one as well.

FollowupID: 651274

Reply By: blue one - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 03:44

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 03:44
Surprising everyone is so touchy on the subject as it has been well documented on this forum as well as others. Mine went bang in a big way, 05 model and a close friend has just lost his 08 3 ltr. Same old issue with high temps, oil etc. Buy one and try it out as Nissan may have come up with the secret solution to small motor pushing around 3 tonne. With regard to the reliability issues you would be game to take one off the beaten track on your own.

If you need advice on which other forums (in addition to this one) you can review to back up these comments just let me know and I will point you in the right direction.

AnswerID: 383589

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 06:59

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 06:59
Much appreciated.

It would seen the old ZD30 MAF, VVT and EGR valve issues have not been rectified with the CRD model then if an '08 went boom.
FollowupID: 651273

Follow Up By: Traveller - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 07:59

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 07:59
Yes, I came across a bloke last year with a 4 month old 08 model. It konked out up a hill towing a van and was no go after that. Fella couldn't tell me exactly what went wrong but Nissan fixed the fault quick smart. Owner was bitterly disappointed with his choice of vehicle.

BUT...there seems to be thousands of 3lts' out there with no issues. Their popularity being that they are significantly cheaper than buying another brand.

Towing heavy vans with 3litre powered vehicles is asking for trouble, in my opinion.
FollowupID: 651280

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 12:15

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 12:15
Steve, I wondered the same as you about a small engine pushing 3T around, but then someone compared them to the coaches we drive...

16T (loaded) coach with 9L TD engine
26T (loaded) coach with 12L TD engine
or
3T (loaded) Patrol with 3L TD engine

Now which one looks like a small engine pushing a big load around? And let's not forget these coaches are expected to do at least 1,000,000km before an engine rebuild...
FollowupID: 651326

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 13:23

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 13:23
I suspect some of the difference is in the way those bigger engines operate. They are built very robustly and not built to rev very high. Plus they have about three times as many gears before they get to top.
FollowupID: 651335

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 14:05

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 14:05
Actually, the later Scanias I drive are 7 speed and the Mercs are only 6 speed. The earlier Scanias had 8 gears in a split gearbox.
FollowupID: 651339

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 14:47

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 14:47
I think you'll also find with those big engines its all to do with torque production - how much, where in the RPM range it is delivered etc

FollowupID: 651342

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 14:55

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 14:55
Fair point. In the back of my mind I was thinking Road Ranger and I guess older coaches with around 12 speed etc.
FollowupID: 651343

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 15:22

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 15:22
Agree, there are some significant differences. I just wanted to point out that the 3.0L engine in a 3T vehicle may not be a problem in itself. Perhaps it becomes a problem when the consumer wants a 3T vehicle that will keep up with the zippy little hatches...
FollowupID: 651349

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 20:15

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 20:15
The Golden rule with diesels is (the bigger they are the more reliable and long lasting) The variable vane turbo that leads to overboosting seems to be the root of the trouble.
Thank god I have a reliable v6 petrol lol
FollowupID: 651377

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 20:52

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 20:52
The D4-D Prado engine has a variable-vane turbo in it, as does the IsuzuUte (both of them are 3.0L 4cyl too!), and they're just two that I know of - who knows how many more out there?! I guess it will be interesting to wait and see how they go in the longer term...
FollowupID: 651384

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 21:10

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 21:10
I'm not convinced about cubic capacity and life expectancy of engines being directly related. If the power and torque are generated and delivered to a drive train that is correctly geared, and oil circulation is adequate and heat dissipation is sufficient, then a small engine should last forever.

It comes down to design and obviously, if it is true that the 3.0 L Nissan motors are still blowing up, then something is very wrong with the design.

My Disco 3 has just a 2.7 L engine, yet it is a heavier vehicle than the Nissan. The engine generates more power and torque than the Nissan motor and can pull heavy loads without problems. I've scoured the Internet and cannot find a single example of one of these engines failing.

Last year I worked at a Land Rover Dealer for 6 months and there were no technical bulletins concerning engine failure. They just don't break.

So if the French can do it (the TDV6 is a Peugeot motor), why can't Nissan? Toyota have many times more 3.0 Litre engines in Prados and Lux's than Nissan have in the marketplace, yet they seem to have it right.

Nah, in this modern age of computer aided design and minimum tolerance engineering, cubes = longevity ain't necessarily so, but Nissan do have a problem IF they are still failing.

Russ

FollowupID: 651390

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 22:20

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 22:20
The golden rule is that you can only pull a certain amount of power from an engine before it will become les reliable. The bigger the cubes, the more power b ut every engine has its limit.
FollowupID: 651405

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:48

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:48
"So if the French can do it (the TDV6 is a Peugeot motor), why can't Nissan? Toyota have many times more 3.0 Litre engines in Prados and Lux's than Nissan have in the marketplace, yet they seem to have it right. "

The current crop of diesel engines in Nissan vehicles are French made.....Renault. My D40 has a 2.5 ltr diesel made by Renault that produces 128 kW and 403 Nm torque....smaller and belts out more than the 3ltr. Gotta say that I hope the design is right and the con rods/pistons and block are strong as at 100kph on the highway these engines are running 28.7psi MAP - that is approx 14psi of boost.
FollowupID: 651479

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 06:47

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 06:47
On our recent 16k trip we came across one on the side of the road that had gone boom, just pulled up to see if they were ok and was told it had started blowing heaps of smoke, rattled a bit and then stopped. The towie was on the way.
Also came up behind one on the road down the bottom of WA which was smoking badly and not pulling at all well as I caught up with him in the Humvee on a hill.
AnswerID: 383600

Reply By: Secret Mens Business - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 13:12

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 13:12
It's fair to say that if the reliability of Nissan really really concerns you, you shouldn't be buying one, have a look at a low KM's Toyota, Mitsubishi or Mazda instead. I haven't heard too much about the newer models being an issue, but anything can happen. I'm not being smart here, but it's part of the reason you pay more for a Toyota.
AnswerID: 383645

Reply By: briann532 - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:54

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:54
I certainly don't want to play the game, but can offer my 2.2 cents worth (GST included)

I have bought 2 x 3.0l tdi Patrols and have done over 300,000k's in them.
A lot of that in the outback and serious 4wd'ing.
In my opinion, whilst no doubt the toyota's are a better built vehicle, for the $25,000 price difference, I figure I'm now $50 grand ahead on the purchase of the 2, than if I had purchased the tojos.
This 50k paid for my new camper trailer.
A fair saving if you ask me.

Everything in life is a gamble, sometimes you win, sometimes you lose.

I'm sure you will make a decision that suits you.
You did the right thing by asking and getting a variety of opinions.

Best of luck
AnswerID: 383672

Reply By: blue one - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 21:30

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 21:30
05 3 ltr + 123k = kaboom

06 4.2ltr + 202k = :-)

AnswerID: 383702

Reply By: Member - Graham H (NSW) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 22:43

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 22:43
V8Diesel
bloke in town has 4 nissan Tiidas 2007/2008 models with 40 000km (these being the small 4 cylinder cars )and three went Kboom recently.
from graham
AnswerID: 383713