Around OZ..with or without a dinghy

Submitted: Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 15:41
ThreadID: 72352 Views:4889 Replies:10 FollowUps:15
Hi All, we're planning a trip around OZ in 2010. Got a Defender and CT. We'll probably camp at a few coastal places and inland waterways - where a dinghy might be useful. But also be spedning time inland away from the water. Question is do we plan on taking a dinghy [or opt for a canoe for rivers, creeks, billabongs, etc]? Is a dinghy worth taking given the extra weight, boat gear, idle time, etc? Appreciate views from those who have done the trip and did or did not take a dinghy. cheers,

Reply By:- Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 16:37

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 16:37
G'day,

Probably many different opinions on this one. We travelled with a tinny and hardly used it; just added weight and drag really and in the end was a hassle to set up for the little time we used it. We ended up selling it because we didn't even use it at home.

I have seen a type of canoe that I like though which would be easier to load/unload by myself on a normal roof rack and will run on an electric motor in inland water ways. You can see it at www.duraplas.com.au called the Jacobi Canoe (I have no vested interest). I figure for coastal areas I will hire a boat or go on a charter.

Each to their own I guess and depends how long you are travelling for.

Ev
AnswerID: 383657

Follow Up By: greenextreme - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:03

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:03
Thanks Ev. An unused and well travelled dinghy is my fear. A canoe might be the go. cheers,
FollowupID: 651410

Reply By: austastar - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 16:43

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 16:43
On a trip from Melb to Kalbarrie over 3 months in a camper van we found lots of places in South WA where we would have loved a dinghy.
Would it have been worth the hassle of carting it all that way?
Maybe not, but if it had been a couple of kayaks on the roof?
Definite possibility.

AnswerID: 383658

Follow Up By: greenextreme - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:05

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:05
It's always the case. When you leave something at home you find lots of opportunity to use it [murphy's law].Places like Kalbarri hire canoes, dinghy's etc and this is part of our dilemna [i.e. other places don't hire them]. Thanks.
FollowupID: 651411

Reply By: Ian & Sue - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:27

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:27
A bit of added expense I know but here is how we have solved our problem of taking our kayaks around Oz.

We are avid kayakers and hate getting to places and wishing we had them with us. Our "problem" is that our Jeep has a resin top and while I know we could fit racks its a lot of mucking around and amongst other things would greatly increase our fuel consumption. SO. I did a heap of research and we ended up buying (from USA cause it was heaps cheaper) a very high tech inflatable kayak. My husband has been a competitive paddler for years and even he was impressed when we took it for its first run a week ago, nothing like you would imagine. It packs up pretty small and fits under the bed in the van, absolutely perfect solution - for us anyway. I arent sure whether I can tell you the site to view them but if you go to U-tube and type in Inflatable Kayak the company has their videos showing them off. We got the double and our two jack russells fit perfectly with us!
AnswerID: 383670

Follow Up By: you eat the bear - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:41

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:41
And a little chew from a salty does what???
In that environment I'd be a lot happier in a tinny to be honest.
FollowupID: 651369

Follow Up By: Ian & Sue - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:47

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:47
Yep - I guess I hadnt thought of that one.

We are from the Pilbara and there arent many salties there!

Sue
FollowupID: 651370

Follow Up By: greenextreme - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:11

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:11
I like the concept of inflatable canoes. A mate has a sevylor with a 3hp O/B that ceases to amaze me. I like the idea of inflatable sailboats, but crocs and sharks and strong currents are not friendly to inflatables. Back to the drawing board. cheers,
FollowupID: 651412

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 21:20

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 21:20
What we save on not carrying the extra weight and drag, we can put into the odd fishing charter - they know where to go and know the waters and hazards which we don't. This of course applies to sea not the inland waterways.

AnswerID: 383699

Follow Up By: greenextreme - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:13

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:13
Agree. Works well when charters are available but leaves you wondering when faced with an open waterway, river or creek and not a sole in sight. Bring on Inspector Gadget and his instant boat [if only!].
FollowupID: 651414

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 21:42

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 21:42
We travel with a porta bote which packs up to a big surfboard size on the rack It takes us 12 minutes from the rack to the water with the yamaha and all safety gear ready to go. It is slower if people are around because they come up and watch and ask questions.

We have the 3.27 metre unit that will top 20 km on the water 2 up with our 8 hp motor.

Pete
AnswerID: 383703

Follow Up By: greenextreme - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:17

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:17
Indeed a great alternative and something that can be sold after returning home. Quite possibly one of our better options. Cheers,
FollowupID: 651415

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:55

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:55
Was about to say about porta-bote. We have seen a number of people travelling with them; one had his strapped along the side of his caravan. You still need somewhere to carry the outboard and fuel.

There are other versions of flat pack boats, but i haven't seen anyone with them.

We got an inflatable big enough to take two heavy adults, but it hasn't been out of its packet. We just didn't have room to fit it in. About the only time we would have used it was at at Lawn Hill, where we hired a canoe. Basically, if there aren't salties, i can swim - if there are, i'm not going into the water in an inflatable, kayak or canoe.

Mh

FollowupID: 651480

Reply By: dbish - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:14

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:14
I only did one trip without my 10Ft tinny on the tug roof towing the caravan & found it hard work in head winds. Dont tavell without it now find i use less fuel.
AnswerID: 383719

Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:25

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:25
Hi Dbish

What sort of fuel differences have you seen?

Regards Wilko
FollowupID: 651416

Follow Up By: dbish - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 00:22

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 00:22
Hi Wilco 65Liters for 350Kms with out tinny 65Liters for400Kms with tinny @ 100Kms/Hr tow vehicle Ford XF panelvan on LPG van Millard Micro (I like to try & keep up to road trains)
FollowupID: 651418

Reply By: Wilk0 - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:22

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 23:22
I think its a matter of how long your going for and how long you'd would use it.

If your going for 1 year or two I'd definitely take one ( I stopped in Cooktown and made good use of my tinny for 4 1/2 weeks)

If you are doing a quicker trip 2 -5 months then you'd have to way up the pros and cons. Fuel usage versus desire to use a tinny

I love my fishing so that dictates the areas i spend most of my time. When I do a trip thru the centre I generally leave it at home.

When I do the rougher off tar trips, It generally stay at home as well .

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 383721

Follow Up By: greenextreme - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 11:43

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 11:43
Agree, time on the road is a key factor. We plan to spend 9-12 months, and may not be staying any one place for more than 2 weeks. I also enjoy fishing but have found beach fishing at dusk / after dark can be more productive. What we'd miss is no snorkelling or cruising around coral / atolls with no dinghy. cheers,
FollowupID: 651466

Reply By: Darrin - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 01:39

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 01:39
Like Wilko said, it all depends on how long your going for and how much you like fishing and the freedom to use your boat when & where you want. We did an extended working trip between '97 & '03 and sometimes used the boat 20 days in the month. If u r planning to spend alot of time in the NT u need a boat.

We are planning another 6 month long trip in 2011 and are not sure whether to take the boat or not - space & weight will be the main issues as we now have 2 kids (5 & 6yrs).
Dammed if u do dammed if u don't!
AnswerID: 383728

Follow Up By: greenextreme - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 11:46

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 11:46
Agree, damed if you do and damned if you don't. With one kid and a yearning to travel light we're inclined to leave the dinghy behind and opt for longer [10-12 day] stays inland / away from the coast. That way we might not miss the dinghy and instead find places to use our canoe. cheers,
FollowupID: 651467

Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 11:07

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 11:07
Interesting comments about wind drag. I'm sure there was somebody on here recently, saying that a tinny on the roof actually improved wind-drag because of the pointy shape. Maybe that was opposed to a big roof-top tent or something?????????????

We take sea kayaks around with us and find little or no difference in fuel consumption (also have a little Jack Russell onboard)

AnswerID: 383748

Follow Up By: greenextreme - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 11:53

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 11:53
Dinghy on our roof reduces economy from around 11litres/100km to around 14litres/100km. A significant reduction but one we can live with. The dinghy can always stay on the roof however the downside is carrying the outboard, fuel tank, anchor, life jackets, oars, etc...for 9-12 months and only use them for 15-20 days [out of 300+ days]. Our canoe on the roof might be the better option.
FollowupID: 651468

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 16:54

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 16:54
there's another - reply no 6 above.

Was beginning to think I'd imagined it
FollowupID: 651520

Reply By: Mitza - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 10:43

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 10:43
Hello,

Depends on what you want to do. If it's merely fishing then you should get the dinghy. But if you are interested in exploring creeks, coasts, bays, you should get a kayak.

We had a kayak for almost 3 years (sold it now - with a toddler and a new baby on the way we haven't got time) and it was great. We did a lot of snorkelling and exploring the bays and was just great. It's healthy too because you get fit and also cheap as you don't need spare parts and fuel. We plan to buy another one when kid's ages will be right.

A dinghy gets you in troubles with loading/unloading towing issues where a kayak sits nicely on the roof racks.

Also if you are not a professional kayaker and don't have plans for doing sea kayaking for days you should get a sit on top as it is easy to get in the water (for snorkelling) and back. You can get a double kayak for around 1000 mark or a 2+1 for 1200 approx.

AnswerID: 384174

Follow Up By: greenextreme - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 16:19

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 16:19
Agree. A canoe or sea kayak is ideal for bays, estuaries, rivers, waterholes etc and can easily accommodate our young daughter. Fishing for dinner can be achieved off a beach and there's no guarantee of catching fish even if you use a dinghy. In making a decision between taking a dinghy or canoe/kayak it seems most people factor in length of trip, purpose/frequency of use, fuel economy and having space to carry stuff. And on this basis, I'm inclined to opt for a canoe / kayak....until someone can convince me otherwise. The dinghy is staying home. Thanks to all who commented.
FollowupID: 652106