Roothy's latest DVD
Submitted: Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 12:42
donk
Just had a look at the latest 4WD Action DVD that comes with the mag and there is a section showing a
Cairns tour operator & Roothy crossing a
creek in near Lakefield NP
Roothy's 4# series was not ably to engage 4wd (on the DVD case it says a stick was stuck in the linkage but in the film there was no reference to this ) & the operator he was travelling in a new 79 series was towing him through a crossing with a winch extension strap
The 79 got stuck in the crossing (probably because of the weight of the 4# series) & the resulting 5 mins of video showing the recovery is a classic with lots concerned looks (mainly from the operator & his wife on the incar camera) & is worth a look (a critical person might say they did a few things wrong in the confusion)
They also had a 78 series there for the camera crew & i wonder if it had gone across first (perhaps it did) & assisted in the recovery if things might had gone a bit smoother
Regards Don
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 12:59
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 12:59
Have not seen it, but have seen and read enough of him in the past to ask Can you believe anything that Roothy does??
He fits that same category as the Gall Boys.
Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 14:58
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 14:58
I wouldnt drop him down that low. I reckon he is pretty fair dinkum, good host and does a damn good job of driving an old bucket to incredible
places. Bloody good laugh too.
Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:01
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:01
Do you now which edition it came with?
I have isssue 138 and its about Tassie
Follow Up By: ob - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:19
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:19
Me to
Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 14:22
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 14:22
just googled it... issue 139....
Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 19:40
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 19:40
Don't know about issue 138 or 139. Picked up the latest yesterday and it has No 133 on it.
Reply By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:22
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:22
I have seen that DVD the exspesions on that ladys face is so funny I had to laugh when she is looking at the
water coming in when they where stuck in the
creek and he had to jump out the LH window.
On just about every trip that green heap of junk he drives breaks down , I don't know if he is just a pretty average driver or he should
park that thing at the wreckers. All the sponsors must be getting sick of fixing that piece of snot.
Maybe it's not the rig it's the driver he is a bit rough on the old wagon, just about every part has been replaced or cut and shut.
Scoof . :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 14:55
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 14:55
I think you'll find any vehicle that has been to the
places that car has and done what it has, would be pretty beaten up. There is no way in the world a new 200 series would get to any of them
places and still make it back. That is a guarantee.
Roothy for Prime Minister i say. Legend
Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 15:23
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 15:23
Yeh maybe but the others that go with him don't seem to have the same hassels he has with the green snot wagon.
Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 16:47
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 16:47
Probably because the other cars dont go with him on every trip. And you'd be suprised at the amount of breakdowns that happen behind the scenes. Part of owning an
old car is the frequent need of fixing worn parts, part of going out bush and 4wding means there is the chance of damaging parts and or vehicle, and part of modifying cars with more power and more traction is the absolute certainty that you are going to break something if not careful. Add them 3 together and i reckon
Milo doesnt do too bad. Plus each time it breaks something they get to do a story on it.
Follow Up By: Traveller - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 18:49
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 18:49
I drive an old banger (1994). While you do worry about breakages I make pretty sure that the bus is up to scratch before venturing into the beyond. It has 420,000km on the clock and has gone over some severe country in the past years.
This year it has done 16000km over some pretty ordinary tracks and cross country stuff with no trouble. Next years treks might include the Cape and maintenance will be done over the next few months looking at parts etc that need to be replaced.
The old 4by has a normally aspirated 4.2 diesel, no computer and no rust. Some dents are to be seen on the bodywork.
I would like to have a late model 4x4 but it is out of the question financially. So I have to persevere with my old 4by
Reply By: Member - Duane A (WA) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:54
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 13:54
I watch it last night and a good old laugh , the tour guides
cook has some classic looks on her dial
well worth the veiwing , as for roothy no matter what his antics are he is great for 4wd and carvaning just your typical aussie i reckon he great, he cant
cook but he can put back a beer , happy travels.
Reply By: paulnsw - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 17:59
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 17:59
Roothy and the magazine is a waste of paper and damages the environment printing the rubbish
so much in the magazine is rubbish and wrong. Roothy has not a clue about much. get the magazines passed on seccond hand as I would not spend money on rubbish fifth rate journalism
Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 18:23
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 18:23
With you there Paul. They don't call it the "knuckle draggers magazine" for nothing. Certainly the worst of the 4x4 mags with inaccurate articles, little or no concern for the environment, biased reports & in general does nothing for the image of Four Wheel Driving. The Mag's not worth paying for that's for sure let alone the Videos.
Cheers Craig..............
Follow Up By: donk - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 19:35
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 19:35
I wouldn't say it is accurate but it was worth the cover price for that 5 mins of video
Regards Don
Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 19:41
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 19:41
That Rooth cretin was the reason I did not renew my subscription. Apart from his dvd, which is a nothing more than a 60 minute advertisement, he is a 'one trick pony' when it comes to cooking, and generally just a 24 carat goose. He seems unable to put his pants on without reaching for a beer. Pathetic. Anyone watching it would think the 4WD fraternity were a bunch of drunken yobbos who drive through remote areas with the sole intention of destroying it.
jack
Follow Up By: donk - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 19:57
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 19:57
I actually find the Gall's video's quite entertaining as
well
Perhaps i am easily amused ?
Also regarding incorrect information, if you were concerned with this you wouldn't bother looking at any internet forums as there is as much incorrect info on forums as what is in the magazines
Regards Don
Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 20:25
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 20:25
Good comments Jack,
That was my last copy of the mag, didn't renew my subscription.
Sick of the videos and the number of adds.
Kev
Follow Up By: Shawn - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 21:24
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 21:24
Totally agree Jack, I stopped buying it about 3 years ago because all his articles were based around beer and getting pi@%!. The intelligence level they were written for was scary.
Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 20:52
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 20:52
I have a pile of DVDs that came with the mags, honestly i have watched 2 of them. i found them to be rubbish really, my work partner has watched more of them and finds them watcheable. each to their own i guess.
Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 23:15
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 23:15
they are more watchable if you skip the advertising, they only take about 6 1/2 minutes to watch then!!!
Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 22:39
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 22:39
We also stopped the magazine a few years back and really only stuck with it because of a few handy giveaways. We had a go at the caravanning mag which is even worse. Each section is an ad of some chocolate factory and then a 10 minute plug for a cheese factory and then you go to the ads. Just like the TV programme. We actually looked at that
Cape York dvd the other night and thought it comparatively ok. Don't mind the Gall boys' dvds. Good entertainment. Sure, they do a few silly manouvres but all pretty good value and I like their honesty, in that they have a few blues and don't cut them out. Met them at the show and they seemed genuinely embarrassed at some of the things but it gets a bit boring when it's all done by the book. At least they acknowledge their mistakes. People can be a bit precious about them sometimes.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 15:27
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 15:27
"People can be a bit precious about them sometimes". With due reason - What idiot tows a caravan up the
CREB Track? Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 15:53
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 15:53
Tony,
I think you could do with a cold shower mate. Try and get a bit of perspective. They do it to
test the product to it's limits and then improve on it's weaknesses. Yep - they (particularly David) get a bit gung ho but they can't know it's limitations unless they push them. Sounds like you have other "issues"
Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 16:46
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 16:46
Test the product on roads that people will tow them - Not on the
Creb Track where caravans are not to be taken.
Total rubbish is entertainment like this. There are many
places where vehicles can not pass on the
Creb Track - You do not need a caravan coming the other way. How inconsiderate is that?
Apart from that - Its just one of those
places a caravan should not go. For any reason!
Test - Yeh Right! - Sell more Videos is more like it.
Steve - I call a spade a spade - Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 18:19
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 18:19
sell videos? They practically give em away. In fact, they literally give em away as I can atest.......and no, I don't own a Kedron van and doubt if I ever will.
You call a spade a spade? Don't we all mate. It doesn't mean you're right though.
Jog on.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 20:57
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 20:57
Steve - Then obviously can not speak from experience then. If you have driven an admired the
CREB Track you would understand the point of view, a point of view I would say 99% of responsible 4 x 4 drivers would share. Im off for my run now thanks for the concerns with my health. Cheers Tony
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 22:51
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 22:51
It looked staged to me - including the face pulling by the lady. If it wasn't staged they wouldn't have captured every detail on video. All part of selling a magazine. The DVDs have a few good segments - Alan Gray is good value.
They wouldn't sell many magazines if Roothy wasn't there. If nothing else, he's entertaining at times, and appeals to a lot of people. He is very good at his job (selling mags).
As for factual information, it would be good if some of the journos did some decent 4wd training, so they could learn about safe recovery.
And it is all an advertisement these days, but I guess the advertising pays for the "free" gifts they give with the subscriptions. They used to say great things about their sponsor's products. Now they say great things about everyone's products because almost everyone advertises with them now!
Follow Up By: donk - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 23:41
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 23:41
I looked at it again & i don't think it was staged & if it was it was a good acting job as the look on the guides face at some points looked like genuine panic to me as the 79 was taking
water in
Also when roothy was on the front guard of the 4# and the guide started winching looked like things had gone a bit out of control
From the look of it both vehicles had dash mounted
camera's & this accounts for the in car footage
To his credit
John Rooth stayed relatively calm during te recovery but i guess this is because of potential repair cost of the 4# compared to the 79
Interesting enough on the advertising side of things in the video's Maxtraxs no longer rate a mention even though a couple of times through the video a set would have been handy (perhaps they have pulled their advertising dollars from the magazine)
Be interesting to know why the transfer would not engage the front end
I assume it was a internal problem as the external linkages are simple & it should not have been to hard to rectify a external linkage problem or bodge something up
Regards Don
Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 13:11
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 13:11
It didnt strike me as staged. The tour operators nervousness about being stuck in a 2ft deep croc infested
swamp look realistic enough for me.
Reply By: puttputt - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 09:06
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 09:06
I agree with you Jack.
I used to buy the mag, now I don't even read it for free at the library.
And their road tests and 4wdoty don't seem to make a lot of sense to me, I nearly bought a 4wd using their 4wd of the year contest, and would have made a big mistake (4wdoty 2004 I think it was, when the prado 120 was first included), but then went against their verdict and bought a Prado 120(which they weren't impressed with) and was glad I did.
Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 16:00
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 16:00
Somebody on this very
forum bumped into them "testing" vehicles up in the Cape, I think it was. He said the way they thrashed the Disco 3, which had won every award going, wasn't just negligent but was bloody childish and destructive in their efforts to make sure it didn't win their's.
Reply By: Member - Effie C (NT) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 17:05
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 17:05
Has any one else noticed that Roothy sounds like "Uncle Arthur" at times (this will
test your age group), but really the green heap has the motor gearbox and transfer case all rebuilt and it still continually breaks down, no 4WD this time (again) about time it was sent to the scrap heap.
By the way my 8 year old is amused by his antics, but I can't abide by how they preach tread softly and then continually go thru the mud, chewing up tracks just for the "fun" of it, double standards
Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 18:13
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 18:13
I doubt if there's much of the original vehicle left now. His "wonderful old girl" has just about had everything replaced three times over, courtesy of a nod and a wink and a free plug on one of the dvds. I'm sure my ancient Defender would be just as wonderful (it's better actually) if I had access to the freebies he gets. Suppose I'm just jealous of all the freebies they get. Then again, he is pretty good at the job. There'd be a fair bit of hard work behind the nice bits that we see on the edited version. He has the personality to carry it off and I reckon he'd put in his share of the graft. His constant references to VB come over a bit juvenile at times but I think that's being a bit picky. I don't mind him too much apart form his tunnel vision to all things Tojo and Jap in general. I've had Cruisers, Land Rovers, Mitsubishi and they have their own strengths and weaknesses.
Follow Up By: OREJAP - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:00
Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:00
Yes the "Old Tojo" reminds me of an axe I once owned. Had it for 30 years it was a great axe only ever had 6 new handles & 2 heads in it's lifetime but gee it was a good axe!! I suppose we should not take Roothy and others to seriously I suppose we must decide what is fact & what makes good theatre. A bit like Sam
Newman there is
John Newman & "Sammy"
Newman.
John is a gentlman & Sam acts in the manner to fit the characturer.
Reply By: puttputt - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 21:37
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 21:37
I remember the mag had a competition, where the winner got to have a meal cooked by Roothy, I wondered what 2nd prize was, a week of eating meals cooked by Roothy.
No doubt he works flat out to meet all the deadlines for the 4by and caravan mags, and their dvd's. It also takes a lot of juggling to fit all those adverts in such limited space in the various publications and dvd's, and making sure they don't get in the wrong ones.