somewhere to go away camping (yes im still kind of new to it :))
Submitted: Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 16:48
brisa
Hi ..
Being new to this i have a question that i would like to ask. taking my kids (8 and 13)
camping a few wks ago down to a
camping ground at
Rathdowney, i found that they just loved it an would love to go again. Not realising that it was goin to be school holidays and great weather that everyone is deciding on going away
camping im now sittin here trying to decide what im goin to do. i cant not take them an disapoint them since they have been lookin forward to it but i got no idea where to go i would like to go somewhere that isnt goin to have a million ppl there, im happier to
camp were there isnt many ppl .. long as there are some kind of toliet around the kids will be happy. i dont really want to travel too far something within say about 5hrs drive of
brisbane. where they can at least swim, maybe go for a bush walk. they would like to head towards the nsw and qld border but i dont know where to take them. ive been to girraween which i think they might enjoy for a couple of days but i dont know about the croud since we wont be leaving untill either the 31st september or 1st october. ive also been down to sundowner. i also have to take into consideration that we dont have our own 4x4 an may have to borrow a friends station wagon since lol my car isnt big enough for us when we go
camping.
any help and suggestions would be greatly appriciated.
thank you in advance
brisa
Reply By:- Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 16:54
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 16:54
G'day Brisa,
I imagine you are right about most
places being busy in the holidays. We went to
St George at eatser to
Kapunda fishing and
camping ground. It is right on the river so you can swim, has amenities and some powered sites. Great place, worth the 6 hours drive from
Brisbane.
Enjoy where ever you go
Ev
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 17:27
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 17:27
Ev,
The National Gathering is
camping about 10km from Kupunda LOL
I reckon if you want some great stuff for your kids to do with a great mix of people come on out to
St George for the Gathering.
I will be in
St George on Thursday sometime and will be at the campground on Friday morning setting up.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By:- Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 18:05
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 18:05
Hi Kev,
I have been reading with interest all the posts about the National gathering, it sounds great and I love it out
St George way. Unfortunately work intervenes and I won't be able to make it but I look forward to hearing the stories of which I'm sure there will be plenty!!!
Enjoy
Ev
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 18:12
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 18:12
I am sure the truth will NOT get in the way of some of the stories as
well LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 20:54
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 20:54
Im in Imbil at the moment. Two
camp grounds are great. In town where I am at the moment Island Reach where you can hire a canoe kids ride their bikes and swim. Sunday and Wed the Mary Valley Rattler comes to town. With markets. Or 8ks out of town is the
Deer park. Great swimming. They have a huge dance floor area. Great
camping spots and heaps of van sites Play ground and so on. I have only visited that one. Yet to set up
camp there. Takes me about an hour to set up but it took me a couple of days cause its so relaxing. Tonight we had our little
camp fire going.
Follow Up By: PradOz - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 23:26
Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 23:26
Love your toyota spa bath :)))
Reply By: Family Friendly Oz Camping - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 08:59
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 08:59
Hi Brisa,
Have you looked into National parks in
Brisbane area, I did a google search and found this list that may help you.
http://www.ourbrisbane.com/see-and-do/camping-near-
brisbane
There is quite a list there, I don't live near Bris so I don't know what they are like but it may be work checking out these options.
Happy
Camping
Tina
Reply By: 60series_adventurer - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 18:38
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 18:38
If you Google "
Camping spots in south east qld" you will get heaps of ideas. It is good that your kids love
camping, our 2 year old started her
camping life at 3mths and she thinks it is great!! Have fun
Reply By: brisa - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 18:30
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 18:30
Thank you for your suggestions it has been very helpfull. all of which i have been googling to see where we can go an what we can do. i think that them (kids) loving a
camping trip is goin to b a good thing since that means that i can get to go out doing it a lot more :)