Landcruiser 200 series clutch problems
Submitted: Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 14:09
Member - Arhtur K (QLD)
I have a 2007 - 200 series Landcruiser ute. I am on my 4th clutch at 37,000 k's. The last clutch has only done approx 1,000km's, and the problem still persists. Toyota claim it's engine movement. I have to take it back tomorrow, to see if they can sort my problem out. Does anyone else have a problem with their 200series with severe clutch shudder? I know of another who has had 5 clutches replaced and another with 3. I feel that the clutch in the 200series is the same as the 6cylinders and are not heavy enough for the torque of the v8's. Is there anyone who can help me with this problem?
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 14:26
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 14:26
I'm sure you are talking about the 79 series, not the 200.
Apart from that, I haven't had any clutch problems in
mine over 40,000 kms.
Mine is June 2007 vintage.
The torque, and power, in the single turbo V8 in the trayback are exactly the same as the torque and power in the manual 100 series. It uses the same gearbox. That's why Toyota detuned the engine so I don't think the torque is any cause.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 01:39
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 01:39
His profile says he own a "200 series cab chassis"??
Must be loaded to have cut and shut a 200 series :-))
I guess if he spells his name wrong (Arthur or Arhtur??) he may also have his model/series vehicle wrong???
Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 07:39
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 07:39
Maybe a cut down 200 but the 200 doesn't have a clutch so that is the give away...it's auto only.
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 14:51
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 14:51
I would be checking the engine mounts.
Murray
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 02:37
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 02:37
gearbox is bolted to the block via bellhousing, even if the mounts fell on the ground it shouldnt cause a clutch prob.
A few others maybe but not a clutch!!
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 15:56
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 15:56
Gday Fisho
If you read what the gentleman has said "toyota said it is engine movement" ....so check the engine mounts.
Murray
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 21:25
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 21:25
If hes got a $70K+ vehicle which he cant identify, and his name appears to be spelt very unusually Id be guessing his diagnostic skills are pretty lacking also.
200 series isnt a cab/chassis, doesnt have a clutch (auto only).
If he gave them any of the info put here they wouldnt have a clue what he was talking about.
Was probably the cleaner or receptionist who provided that diagnosis :-))
Reply By: RoberHL (SEQ) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 15:07
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 15:07
Aurthur is that you?,
from
Mareeba Rodeo grounds early June 09.
Cheers Bob.
Reply By: Rockape - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 18:14
Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 18:14
Mate if it is the new V8 ute we have 30 of them at work with no clutch problems at all.
If it is the 6cyl 1hz 78 series we also had 30 of them, again with no clutch problems.
I don't quite understand what the engine movement is.
Reply By: fisho64 - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 02:42
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 02:42
Toyota are the only ones who can help you. But it doesnt really add up, any of the info given???
Reply By: dieseltojo - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:50
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:50
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule
Forum Moderation Team
Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 18:33
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 18:33
Well I checked the
members list and that is how the vehicle is described there. Mystery given Toyota don't make a vehicle that matches the description. Presumably it is a 79 series as others have said. I have done 22,000 in
mine and no clutch problem. I did have to learn again about double shuffling or double de clutching whatever it's called when changing gear. Last did that 30 years ago.
Must be something wrong with AK's vehicle as no one can wear out clutches that quickly.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 00:59
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 00:59
Flynnie
I would not be "double shuffling or double de clutching" in your vehicle, as it will have a synchromesh gear box, not a crash box or constant-mesh gear box.
So every time you double clutch you engage the synchromesh twice for every gear change, add twice as much wear, per gear change than necessary.
This I was told when I first started to drive Volvo Trucks (synchromesh gear box) from trucks with spicier or road
ranger (constant-mesh gear box) in them.
When I went for the job The bloke that toke me for the test drive went off he's tree.
It was a hard habit to break.
Our Troopy was had to change when new and when cold I just try to match RPM better, she's done 150000 KM
Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 19:54
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 19:54
Thanks for
the tip Richard.
Never did it before the Simpson crossing and found gear changes went smoother if I "double shuffled". Before that really had problems changing into 3rd in low range. Snicked a bit. The bad corrugations made it really hard to do smooth changes.
I have taken your advice and have stopped doing it. I must learn to judge the revs better or something.
On another thread I found I had picked up another bad habit of holding 5th gear too long on hills. Too much torque and smaller bearings on 5th gear so I now use 4th and more revs on the big climbs. The thread was more about towing but the advice on that thread looked to have broader application.
We live and learn.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 20:08
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 20:08
Flynnie
Re. 5th gear we where the same, my wife use to drive the Troopy as a daily drive and she found that she would be speeding in town 80 + zones.
So I told her not to put it in 5th
Now I will only put it in 5th when over 100 km - 95 on maybe. I tow the van in 4th as we can only do 100 km/hr in WA and I cruse at 90 thats fine by me, we get where we need to get, and if someone comes up behind me I can speed up to 100.
Yes a man that knows it all must be dead...
Reply By:- Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 22:37
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 22:37
G'day Arhtur K (QLD). No one including yourself has described what sort of use or abuse the vehicles have been subjected to prior to the shudder persisting. Some likely causes of shudder have been mentioned but the uses between clutch changes has not. Have they been bogged in beach sand and half burnt out the clutches getting free? Have they been towing heavy wind resistant caravans up long inclines or stop start in metro traffic or maybe loaded with twice the recommended weight on the tray. I wear a wrist watch which is
water resistant so I wouldn't expect it to last if I wore it deep sea diving. Regards. Pauper.
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 22:41
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 22:41
Hi Arhtur,
A couple of thoughts on the subject based on some things my long departed motor mechanic uncle told me about clutches. I do hope they are still relevant,
Are you the only person who drives the vehicle?
If not, do/does the other person/people have a habit of resting their foot on the clutch pedal? My uncle always reckoned a small amount of pressure on a
well adjusted hydraulic clutch was sufficient to throw it off the flywheel a tad and increase wear.
Is there absolutely any reason the first clutch wore out fast that you know of? Something like the above or slipping it to back a caravan or boat?
I'm looking at the notion the flywheel has been glazed or burnt at some point early in the vehicles life and Toyota have been to lazy or vague to remove the flywheel and surface grind it to fix it properly.
Wild eyed one here. Are the front or rear brakes draggng? This is way out there as you'd smell it something shocking!
I guess if Toyota says it's engine movement then in the absence of something more substanial I'd ride them like a favourite in the home straight until I got satisfaction.
As a useless aside I've got a factory TD6 Troopy, the model before yours. I'm currently teaching my daughter to drive in it. If the clutch can handle the "I want it now" generation then I doubt it's the design!! More like a weird problem in your individual vehicle.
Good luck mate and keep on Toyota's tail.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 01:18
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 01:18
Hi Arthur
Funny thing is your name is spelt correct in
My Profile - Member - Arthur K (QLD) but not when it was posted on the
Forum, now thats a bit strange maybe one for David Martin to answer.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 06:35
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 06:35
There is such a thing as Editing your Profile. But this will not Change any Profile Names that have already been posted on the
Forum, only subsequent replys/follow ups.
He may have misspelled it in his original creation of his member profile and only noticed his error after posting in the
forum, which he has now corrected.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 10:53
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 10:53
Kev is correct.
It was not that way when I first looked at his profile so the poor bloke obviously made a spelling error when he first set up his profile.
He still has his car listed as a 200 Series??
So he either has it mixed up or he cut and shut a 200 and fitted a manual box for good looks.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 14:08
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 14:08
"There is such a thing as Editing your Profile" Gees thanks Sir Kev, I Would never had know that.... ;-)
John I can't believe someone could make a spelling error, I don't..... I just don't know how to spell, so I can't make errors.. :-)
The post is a strange one "4th clutch at 37,000 k's" and someone can't find the problem????
If it is just Clutch shudder then get use to it, Its part of the Toyota "oh what a feeling" thing...
Must be a good dealer to change 4 now maybe 5 clutches?
Any way I hope he gets it sorted out, and comes back on line and lets everyone know how he got on.
Reply By: dieseltojo - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 18:12
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 18:12
Hi all,I made a post re Arhtur and it has been removed by the moderator.
I realy must apologise to all if I caused offence to any members Particularly to Arhter and Bob who is no doubt a great bloke and a help full member.Mate if we ever meet I will gladly buy you an ale,and we can have a laugh over this .
Regards Paul