navara d40 suspension...

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 17:50
ThreadID: 72413 Views:12375 Replies:9 FollowUps:14
Hey, i have a 2008 d40 king cab navara.. the rear suspension is useless. bottoming out on the highway with no load on it.. hate to see what would happen if i loaded it up.. also blowing smoke fairly bad, can see the stain on the tailgate and it hasnt even done 15000km's.. its goin back into the dealer tomorrow for 15000km service.. wondering if anyone else has had these dramas or did i just get a lemon?? any comments would be great cheers.

Abe

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 18:07

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 18:07
How do you drive the thing.

I havent managed to bottom my Cruiser out even with the van on the back.

Would be most surprised if you could bottom anything out on a highway unless

you hit some horrendous rough patches.

As far as black on the tail is it a diesel or a petrol.

I got a black backend from a tank of bad diesel up north.

If you "drive it like you stole it" you will get this sort of thing.

Can you see marks on the bump stops from where it is supposedly bottoming out If not its something else.

AnswerID: 383961

Follow Up By: abe21 - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:53

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:53
If i did "drive it like i stole it" then i wouldnt be complaining and i would expect things to go wrong but i dont, i drive it around town and on the highway with bugger all weight on the back and i can clearly see the marks where the bump stops have been hitting and can feel when it bottoms out whilst im driving it.. obviously the suspension in your cruiser is much better than mine because i wouldnt even consider towing with my ute at the moment..
FollowupID: 651937

Reply By: Member -Paul M (WA) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 19:18

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 19:18
I have 2003 STR- D22 Navara , runs well do my services every 5000 km
also at least once month low range 4x4 with some rpm keep the bugs out
also fitted a 2inch lift kit
AnswerID: 383968

Reply By: Member - Marco T (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 20:26

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 20:26
Hi abe21,

All D40's are lemons - I know I had one. Traded it 2 weeks ago and glad to see the back of it. I had the 2007 STX manual diesel.

I had a good run with mine - better than many who have them. I don't mean to scare you but have a look at this site:

www.complaintscorner.com.au

D40 Navara is currently in the top 5 most complained vehicles on the market - forget about the 3L Patrol.

RE Suspension: yes useless. You will need to upgrade to heavy duty after market. I did this - ARB system 2in lift. I had to. I carried max GVM most days (work vehicle) Also towed 1.5ton 1-2 days a week.

RE Smoke: Mine smoked in first & second gear - then was ok after that. I have looked at many on the road and they all seem to do the same. I did not have a black stain on tailgate though.

Other things you may find your self complaining about soon - I personally had a winge about 1,3,4,6,7,9,10,:

1. Fuel usage
2. Clutch
3. Front brake pads & rotors
4. Ventilation system noisy (chattering)
5. Chassis bending behind cab
6. Blinkers, lights, wipers all stop working from time to time. Need to turn off vehicle and re start to fix it.
7. Heavy gear oil smell in cab. This happened arter 40K service and happens most days, specially when doing long K's.
8. Radiator fans loose blades
9. Radiator bash plate is too thin and if you knock front end hard enough you will dislodge radiator and push it back into the fan. If you intend going off road with this 4x4 vehicle suggest you get TJM bash plates - I did.
10. Vehicle not geared to tow 3 ton. It is a joke that they can get away with this. I towed 1.5 ton and to start up hill was almost impossible without burning the clutch - refer to complaint 2.

If you find you are having real problems with the car I would be printing off some of the horror stories on complaints corner and showing the dealers to force your point. Remember the squeaky wheel gets the oil.

Marco
AnswerID: 383985

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 13:28

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 13:28
But they still won 4wd Ute of the year for two years....How can they be so wrong!

The mag said they where the best out of all the utes.
FollowupID: 651781

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 15:57

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 15:57
Gidday

Ute of the year is probably like car of the year. They drive them for a week, not months and probably unladen and not towing and soft road not off-road.

And you can bet the manufacturers go through their press cars pretty well before hand to make sure everything is as it should be.

Just remember that the Leyland p76 and the Holden Camira were cars of the year and they are widely regarded as the two worst assembled cars ever to come out of an Australian factory...

I looked at all the utes before buying a Ford Ranger last year and there is no doubt that the Navara is an impressive LOOKING package with some great features. What I read here steered me away from it

FollowupID: 651791

Follow Up By: Rocko Wallaby - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 19:23

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 19:23
Heyas

A lot of the problems with all these "new generation" utes is that they're sacrificing huge amounts of function for ride quality.

Many people don't seem to buy a Hilux or Navara for a work truck anymore. Many buy a vehicle which is "apparently" a work 4x4, but have no willingness to sacrifice ride quality. They expect them to drive like a family wagon because, fundamentally, that's what they really want. A family wagon which goes offroad. My old man is no different. He's had 60 series landcruisers, traded in on 80 series, and then 100 series...and now the Navara. Not one of these vehicles ever went off road anything remotely significantly. In fact, I don't recall they've even done beach work. How many people do you know who have "real 4x4's" in a similar usage? I know plenty.

The Navara is a very pretty vehicle. Nicely put together. Nicely appointed. None of this is remotely the point, in my opinion. It's a WORK ute. Not a small 4x4, soft roader, large 4x4...it's designed as a WORK vehicle, primarily!

I have an old 93 Hilux 2.8D ute, as well as my frontera. Has the same springs in it from the factory, and rides nearly 3 times higher to the chassis rails than my old man's new Navara. I stick a ton of sirt in the back, and it STILL rides a lot higher. Sure, it drives like a gutless pigdog, but as a function of what it was specifically designed for (ie. a WORK vehicle), it achieves everything it was designed for, even 16 years later. I use it as just that...to work around the property.

Would a modern buyer accept the ride quality of my old Hilux. Course not. They want a soft ride. Sacrificing much in the way of function in the process.

I dare anyone to regularly stick a ton of dirt in the back of a new Hilux, Navara, or any of the 1/2 arsed "tradies utes" now on the market. I know, from direct experience, the Navara has zero chance of handling it, factory set. As I said below, dad's crew cab has almost bottomed out on the bump stops with 300kg of canopy on it.

Personally, I think it's totally unacceptable for a $45K vehicle to require major suspension mods in a brand new vehicle just so it does the job it's supposedly made to do! Not to lift it for 4x4ing, but just so it doesn't bottom out on the BITUMEN! Yet, it's the ride quality the public want, so it's what the general public get.

I don't think anyones knocking the Navara, as such. But it doesn't meet it's expectations, regardless of how pretty it is, how well it's put together, and how many awards it won. It's just one of the new range of soft core 4x4's. Just what a tradie wants, apparently. That, or the manufacturers all missed the point totally.

Cause if it was mine, I wouldn't take the sucker off road straight from the factory, without replacing the entire suspension, to save myself. It'd be disasterous.

Rocko
FollowupID: 651828

Follow Up By: abe21 - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:02

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:02
hey there

yeh mate have seen that website before an i am hoping i dont run into all those dramas with my navara. will defiantly keep an the dealers back about it an hopefully can get something done.. Cheers
FollowupID: 651969

Reply By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 21:17

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 21:17
I think Marco is a bit off queue here with his statement that all D40s are lemons. I have a 2008 2.5 diesel auto dual cab and reckon its pretty damn good. From memory most of those whinging on complaints corner are bitching about fuel consumption and not much else - and the auto with the DPF is a bit thirsty. The first edition of the D40 did have a weak clutch but this issue has been resolved. I just completed a 19000km trip is some of the harshest and remote areas of Australia (Wapet Rd, Gary Highway, Gunbarrel Highway, Heather Highway, crossed the Simpson via the French and WAA tracks) and not one single problem. Met up with another guy from Adelaide with a 2009 King Cab and he too had a faultless trip.

I wonder sometimes what people expect from a ute....they are afterall bloody trucks and not designed for the comforts of a station wagon...although the D40 goes a long way towards achieving just that.

From my experience they are a great vehicle....and surprise surprise my local dealer is pretty good too and doesn't take the standard first response "No that's not covered by warranty" from Nissan. I could feel a slight shudder at 80 kph going uphill and thought it was from the torque converter. The dealer mechanic agreed and the job was completed in 3 days (including waiting for delivery of the part from Melbourne).

I've read most of the post on complaints corner and I just thank my lucky start I'm not married to any of those guys.....whinge, whinge ad infinitum.

Flame suit is on and waiting to repell boarders. But hey you have to call it as you see it.
AnswerID: 383989

Reply By: AG10 - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 06:30

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 06:30
Gday i have a 2009 navara , same problem with the rear springs , haven't been to nissan yet but considering air bags about 500 to 600 fitted problem fixed cheaper than upgrading suspension , and i have 4 utes and they all blow smoke mainly in the low gears , i thought it was not enough air in the mix but will ask nissan at the next service
AnswerID: 384010

Follow Up By: sjp - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 06:22

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 06:22
be carefull ,i thought(read) airbags were the cause of some utes(not only navaras)breaking their backs,duelcabs only.
FollowupID: 652018

Follow Up By: sjp - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 06:33

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 06:33
opps should've kept readind before i opened my mouth
FollowupID: 652019

Reply By: Rocko Wallaby - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 07:37

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 07:37
Hey Mate
My old man has this exact problem on his D40. The rear suspension is garbage, with any weight in the back. He put a canopy on the back, weighing 300kg, and it completely bottomed out.
SInce he just bought my Campomatic Ranger camper off me, we needed to upgrade the suspension. A lift was no good, due to height restrictions in the garage, and there was no point upping the springs, which would simply crap out the ride quality.
So we went with some BOSS Suspension Airbags, bought on eBay.
All I can say is...brilliant.

The upper bracket was not the best designed, as it seemed sloppy to fit, but otherwise the fit was easy, the quality of the components was very good, and the difference to the ride is incredible. They can handle 2000kg, and can be pumped to 200psi. However, 35-40psi achieves a brilliantly stable lift of the back, even with the heavy camper on it. Also taken some of the wallow out of the back end.
Sure, we fitted it a week ago (taking about 3 hours), so no idea on long term durability, but it was the best $500 we could have spent to fix the dodgy rear end, without a lift kit. In the futre, if we wanted to lift, it'd still fit!
So, great product.

On another question, have you had any issues with rusting of the chassis? His is showing signs at all seams and steel plate edges of the rails, and cross members. It's 12 mths old, and done 17000KM, for hells sake! My 2000 Frontera has done 220K, and the body is showing no corrosion signs anywhere!

Nissan Navara Quality leaves a lot to be desired!

Rocko
AnswerID: 384014

Follow Up By: Rocko Wallaby - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 07:44

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 07:44
Let me clarify that bit about upping the springs crapping the ride quality.

Fitting harder rear springs would do that. I'm not talking about a lift kit. Personally, if it was my vehicle, I'd dump the factory suspension for a quality lift, since the ride is ludicrously low from factory. However, again the height restrictions are the issue, so a lift kit is out.
Rocko
FollowupID: 651748

Follow Up By: abe21 - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 19:54

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 19:54
Hey mate
i couldnt agree more, nissan quality and after sales service is terrible. Once they have their money they dont want to know you. I like the idea of the airbag an it looks like a cheaper way to go for now, rather than a suspension upgrade ( maybe down the track for extra clearance). Dont see why i should have to do anything when the load i have on is much less than what the ute is rated at.. but nissan dont seem to understand that.. About the rust on the chassis i cant say i have noticed any but will defiantly keep my eye on it.

Cheers Abe
FollowupID: 651963

Follow Up By: Rocko Wallaby - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:22

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:22
These are where we bought them on ebay. If they don't have them listed, they'll list them for you.
http://myworld.ebay.com.au/eds4wdshop
We paid $470 with free postage

Scotty
FollowupID: 651977

Follow Up By: Ianw - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:29

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:29
I would be vary wary of the towball load applied to these vehicles, especially if an airbag system is fitted. Heavy load, applied way back from the axle and mostly to a single point on the chassis (airbag contact point) on a vehicle known for bending chassis? Not me. Let us know when your chassis bends.
FollowupID: 651980

Follow Up By: Rocko Wallaby - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:52

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:52
Care to elaborate a bit more on that, mate?
The airbags are almost centred on the rear springs, which they augment, not replace, so you go from 2 points of contact to 3, spreading the load further. You can still happily rock the vehicle, compressing both springs and airbags, without too much effort, in the same way new springs would do it. Furthermore, they replace the bump stops, which have been bottoming out there anyway, straight from the factory, at the point where the chassis is already heavily reinforced for the bump stops to function. Can't be any worse than that!
How would airbag augments be any different, or be inferior to, new rear springs, especially harder or lifting ones? You're not replacing anything on the chassis, so why would it "bend", and how could it possibly affect the towball load? None of any of that is in any way modified from factory.
FollowupID: 651984

Follow Up By: Ianw - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 22:04

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 22:04
The chassis is designed by experts to have the weight supported at two points on each side, about 120cm apart, therefore spreading the load. If one puts a tonne load on the back it is supported by the 4 spring attachment points and the front wheels approx 200kilos each. The load is well spread over the chassis. The load on the spring mounting points increases evenly as the load increases. With an airbag in the middle, pumped up to level the vehicle, you probably have most of this weight supported by the airbag at a point on the chassis which is not designed for it. (You said yourself that the springs barely support the rear of the vehicle). The towbar extends possibly 150 cm to the rear of the airbags, so a 250 kg load there is doubled by the leverage, and possibly quadrupled when bouncing over a rough road.
That is my view. I may have taken small liberties with figures but you can see my point. With the history of these vehicles I personally would not fit airbags. I would upgrade the existing suspension.

FollowupID: 652000

Reply By: mazcan barry - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 20:32

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 20:32
hi
to those who may be interested ::
in 1997 i bought a mazda bravo sdx i only did 20,000km and it was hitting the bump stops with half a ton or the 16 ft viscount caravan in tow and wallowing about towing the van so i went to ape suspension in wangara w.a and they fitted an extra main leaf in each rear spring and then i fitted a full set of toughdog foam cell shockies the vehicle was transformed into a very stable smooth riding 4x4 and many people have driven and riden in it and all comment what a nice stable ride it is
i have now done 135000km and it still hasnt sagged and is just as good 13 yrs later so i personelly dont believe the whole suspension needs changing that's overkill in my opinion
mazcan barry
AnswerID: 384108

Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 21:13

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 21:13
Once when I was looking for a trayback I had the Navara D40 extra cab at the top of the list. Finished up spending a lot more to get a landcruiser. I was new to traybacks so had no personal experience to draw from. The Navara on paper seemed to cover what I was after.

Why it dropped off the top of the list was I worked out that I needed to carry heavy loads from time to time. I had observed my grazier mates and others seemed to grossly overload their vehicles on occasion (maybe even frequently). Now I figured that I needed near enough to a genuine one ton capacity. The Navara, Hilux etc looked to be struggling at that load let alone the overload that these vehicles get. So more or less had to upsize to Patrol or Landcruiser. As it turned out I underestimated the loads I would carry and am glad I went up a size.

I wonder sometimes how many of the "problems" vehicles get are a result of being pushed beyond what they were designed for. Chassis bending would be a case. Anyway don't want to open up a can of worms on that. But I think it would be reasonable to wonder why if someone bent the chassis of a Navara they did not get a Patrol instead.

I agree with someone's earlier comment about the towing capacity of the D40. It is nominally about that of the Landcruiser and I would much rather the V8 than a 4 to do that sort of towing.

I do not recall seeing any D40s on my Simpson Desert crossings. A pity because I would like to have known how they would have handled it

AnswerID: 384113

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 12:27

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 12:27
Hey Flynnie......crossed the Simpson West to East in late August 09. In the convoy of 4 vehicles there were: 1xLC 105, 1x120 Prado, 1xHolden Frontera, and two D40 utes one a dual cab and the other a king cab with a camper on the back. Honestly, I thought the Simpson (French Line and WAA Lines) was one of the easiest off road trip I've done. None of the dunes were overly difficult and gotta say that I was also expecting Big Red to be more of a challenge as well. All of the vehicles in our group handled the conditions with ease.
FollowupID: 652444

Reply By: montana - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 21:46

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 21:46
for suspension on a d40 you cant go past dobinson with good shockies. i have 125,000km on my 3yo,havent saged from day one.like all new vehicles they are lacking in a few departments,had a few problems,dealer service is not worth talking about.with the smoke do a ecu reset and if still the same get someone to check fuel rail pressure,maybe a faulty sensor
AnswerID: 384120