Which tyres are best for the inlaws Pajero?

Submitted: Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 17:18
ThreadID: 7245 Views:2189 Replies:4 FollowUps:8
Hi all...Trust you all had a good w/end.

We had the inlaws pajero on the weekend - by default...and noticed quite a vibration in the steering. When I got home, checked the tyres and they are nearly bald and are badly warn. I briefly spoke to the 'father-in-law' that 'I love so much ??' and suggested that it would be good idea to replace them...would you beleive that he suggested I try and buy some cheap 'retreads' or some second hand tyres? Part of me reckons that wouldn't be too bad of an idea! Anyway, I said I would find out what would be an ideal tyre for his '95 GLS Pajero. Dosh shouldn't be an issue (although it always is with him - you can tell we are best mates!) He rarely does any 4WDing - beach stuff at most, although some gentle off road wouldn't be out of the question. He does a lot of highway and around town driving. I was thinking some sort of A/T tyre might be the way to go...any thoughts would be greatly appreciated...

Sparky :)Lovin' life!

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 18:01

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 18:01
If all he does is road work, then go with a H/T dont waste the $ on AT's.

there are regularly H/Ts for sale second hand, as most put A/Ts on their cars
AnswerID: 31122

Follow Up By: diamond(bendigo) - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 18:25

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 18:25
gday truckster.
i managed to price simex centipede i think they were.
34" our cost $330.
who makes them other ones you were sking about?šqUC3<BuIL
FollowupID: 22080

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 19:08

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 19:08
I'll get ya on ICQ tonight, Im not home at moment.
FollowupID: 22086

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 19:13

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 19:13
Definitely go the H/T's Cooper are the best around at the moment IMHO. If money is no object then go for Coopers too!Laterally Literal
Seriously Serial
FollowupID: 22087

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 19:10

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 19:10
In-Law's...get em slicksLaterally Literal
Seriously Serial
AnswerID: 31135

Follow Up By: diamond(bendigo) - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 19:23

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 19:23
i was going to say that lol.
just put some second hand recaps on lolšqUC3<BuIL
FollowupID: 22089

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky (Brisvegas) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 07:28

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 07:28
SLICKS...now that's a great idea!

FollowupID: 22142

Reply By: Member - Bob - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 19:32

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 19:32
Stick with original Yokohamas, either the superdiggers or geolanders. They perform well on hwy, handle well, give good life, and don't fall apart when taken on the rough.Bob
AnswerID: 31143

Follow Up By: Lyds - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 21:00

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 21:00
I agree with Bob.

You should go to a Cooper or any offroad tyre dealer and pick up some traded in Yok's for a decent price.Cheers,
Stuart
- To err is human, to moo bovine -
FollowupID: 22108

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky (Brisvegas) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 07:30

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 07:30
I like the Yokohamas...seem to get a good wrap.

Thanks, Bob.

SOmeone suggested slicks...now that might be a go for the inlaws!

FollowupID: 22143

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 20:06

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 20:06
Sparky,
Well as the others have said a good H/T sounds like the go, if the inlaws are a bit, you know..... You might consider A/T's to drown things out a bit, if things are really tuff go for the muddies biggest blockiest tread you can find. If you go for the Coopers and guarantee the 8,000,000 k's make sure he knows about the tyre rotation schedule in the fine print, plus I think it mentions steering alignment checks as well.
I'm still a BFG person, I've had no problems with them, I also had a good spin out of some Olimpic Overlanders, they where certainly quite enough and also had plenty of tread after 65,000 k's before I sold them and bought my BFG A/T's.
I wouldn't go for the recap option, heaven forbid even suggesting it no inlaws are that bad.....
All my opinion stuff as usual. Keep the shiny side up
AnswerID: 31154

Follow Up By: Member - Sparky (Brisvegas) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 07:27

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 07:27
Thanks Martyn -

You don't know my inlaws...seriously! They didn't want me to marry their daughter...said that as a teacher I don't earn enough dosh...not professional enough...and now accuse me of being cheap taking he gorgeous girl 4WDing and camping! GGrrr - anyway, life goes on...

I did suggest H/T's to him but...???!

Thanks for the advice.

FollowupID: 22141