Nitrocharger Shocks vs Bilstein shocks

I know Bilsteins are great but has anyone had Nitrochargers fitted?
Cheers Jack

Reply By: Member - Anthony G (ACT) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 13:07

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 13:07
Had both, now stay with Nitrocharges in OME's. I found the Bilsteins were a bit firm and actually broke at the eye of the shock.

At least if you had a problem with the OME shocks you can just about get them anywhere off the shelf.
AnswerID: 384189

Follow Up By: Member - Bushpig - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 13:25

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 13:25
Thanx Tony
I am leaning that way at the moment.

Cheers Jack
FollowupID: 651920

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:36

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:36
Bilsteins life time warranty should have fixed the eye issue, and I dont know of ANY brand that cannot break an eye from time to time. With the Bilsteins lifetime warranty you need never buy another shock again.
JMHO, Colin.
FollowupID: 651934

Follow Up By: rags - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 19:57

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 19:57
Have OME on Prado but broke the top of the rear shock [not eye but a thread mount] but replaced with the same to suit suspenion set up, no warranty claim
Russ
FollowupID: 651964

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 14:44

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 14:44
G'day jack

Have not had the Bilsteins but have been running OME's since new.
The front end on the LC100 gives them a workout but they do nor seem to get too hot.
Did the Gunbarrel and CSR and when others failed, I had not probs not even any fading.

On an other note, are you still comming to St George?
Is so, we can catch up there.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 384194

Follow Up By: Member - Bushpig - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 16:09

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 16:09
Hi Wim
Yes I'll be there. Ariving Friday arvo. See you then. Cheers Jack
FollowupID: 652104

Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 15:36

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 15:36
Bushpig,

I've got Nitrochargers, fitted them 4 years ago before we did the simpson. Since then i 've done the high country a number of times and the Kimberley. I reckon there great. No problems at all.

cheers,

Lance
Home Away from Home

AnswerID: 384200

Reply By: ajd - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:29

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:29
Steer clear of EFS.

Konis's are great though.

AnswerID: 384225

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 16:54

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 16:54
Could you extrapolate on that?

Just curious because I've got a set on the hilux, I'm finding the front end bumpy at high speeds (like 110km) on the bitumen, and occasionally is seems more bouncy than it shoudl be when going over slower bumps. However the vehicle doesn't carry any load so I thought that was just a hilux trait. The Husband thinks I'm just being fussy in not liking how it rides.

In the past OME's failed too quickly on our heavy 80 series (it had all the gizmos like wheel carriers etc so it was heavy). We found that the Tough Dog big bores worked really well in comparison.

Next time we're buying suspension would probably go with Tough Dog again I guess, depending on the weight of the car.
FollowupID: 652116

Reply By: MARIC - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 22:16

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 22:16
hi all, has anyone tried KingsShockies they are an USA manufactured shockie around $2500 - $3000 for 4, sposed to be ants pants, I have OME LTR's on my nissan but want something for VW Touareg?
AnswerID: 384263

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 08:55

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 08:55
hi guys
i have tryed ome's they were good but the set of toughdog foamcells were better and they were given a real bashing over a lot of bad corregation with a loaded ute and they made the ute extremely stable for towing the caravan they did 85000km before a seal started to leak
just my experience and opinion on the ever and ongoing subject of what shocking and whats not
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 652048

Reply By: jackablue - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 09:04

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 09:04
I had OME all round and replaced the front ones with Bilsteins. What a waste of money. I think I will be buying another pair of OME.

AnswerID: 384291

Reply By: Member - Bushpig - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 17:32

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 17:32
Thanks everyone for your input. Nitros are now on my shopping list. Damn the 'hobby horsing'. I'll beat you soon.

Cheers Jack
AnswerID: 384344