Has anyone been to Glendon near Warwick
Submitted: Sunday, Sep 27, 2009 at 20:59
GLEN WRIGHT
I am looking to head to Glendon this coming weekend 3rd and 4th of October for a Charity event that is on out there...Has anyone been there before and is anyone on here going to this event that might want to travel up from
Brisbane together...
Any info would be helpful...
Thanks Glen
ps the event is The Motley Crew Charity Clubkhana.
Reply By: RoberHL (SEQ) - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 06:31
Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 06:31
Glen,i have not personally been there,but have been tolled it is not too bad.
Cheers Bob.
Ps,could try to google it may come up.
Reply By: rumpig - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 17:20
Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 17:20
hi Glen,
glad to hear you will be attending our 4wd clubs fundraiser Clubkhana, it should be a fun weekend with plenty to do for both the adults and kids alike (including the footy final on the big screen) with all proceeds going to either The Kim Walters Choices Program aswell as The Wesley Hospitals Prostate Cancer Program.
Glendon itself is located 38 klms (approx) outside of
Warwick as you head towards
Goondiwindi / Inglewood, there are no turn offs to take if coming through
Warwick towards
Goondiwindi other then the
well graded dirt road that enters into the property itself on the left hand side of the road (there is a
sign on the right you shouldn't miss). we were out at Glendon last weekend and took our onroad caravan there, it wasn't a problem at all, the dirt road was in great condition and only about 2 klms long to get to your
camping area.
The property itself is quite stoney / rocky, but let your tyres down on your fourby once you have set up
camp and you shouldn't have a problem travelling around. not sure if you have checked out Glendons website, but they have gas hot
water showers (free of charge) and also flushing
toilets, the main
toilet / shower block looks quite new and was in a very good / clean condition when we were there last weekend, i was quite impressed actually.
Normally this property allows motorbikes there aswell as 4wd's, but only 4wd's will be allowed on the property to tour around this weekend for our event. last weekend the bikes were there, and as much as i normally hate the sound of the chook chasers, they were hardly noticable, so that was good.
looking forward to meeting you and anyone else that wants to come along on the weekend.
if there is anything else you can think off that you'd like to know just ask.
Mal
Reply By: GLEN WRIGHT - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:02
Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:02
Thanks for that Mal.
Can you tell me what the events are like as i want to bring the family out including 3 kids aged 10, 5 and 2 but i am a bit concerned as i havent done much 4wding mainly only beach and a couple of minor fire
trails and my Patrol is basicall stock standard apart from BFG all terrain tyres.
We want to have some fun but i dont want to put my car or family at risk so would any of the events suit us or would we be better off watching.
Cheers Glen
Follow Up By: rumpig - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 22:54
Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 22:54
forget about watching, you'll be entering the comps. Glen.
this is a family orientated clubkhana event being held with the main purpose that all vehicles and drivers (including complete newbies to 4wding) are able to do the courses. there won't be any hard 4wding at all (so stock as a rock vehicles will be fine), most comps will have a big element of luck in the final outcome and not have alot to do with a persons 4wding ability.
should you want to do some harder 4wding then the property is also available to be explored at your leisure, though this property is not what you'd call an extreme 4wders paradise, more aimed at a touring the property type crowd then hardcore 4wders.
your family will be fine, i'll have a 2 and 6 year old along with myself and the wife there. we are a family orientated club and there will be plenty of other kids there for yours to play with.
Reply By: GLEN WRIGHT - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 17:38
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 17:38
Thanks for that mate...sounds like heaps of fun