Condamine Gorge

Submitted: Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 19:03
ThreadID: 72605 Views:2184 Replies:3 FollowUps:0
Evening All,

I want to do the trip through Condamine Gorge this weekend. I know it isn't a challenging track but would still like to hear from anyone that has done it recently just to know the current conditions - and any tips for a good picnic spot along the track!!!.

Ev

Reply By: Jethro T - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:11

Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:11
Hi Ev,
Drove through the high road on the weekend and things were pretty dry so I imagine the river crossings would be pretty easy.
Apparently a Land Rover went through there once without needing a tow so it must be easy.
Beautiful area and will definitely go back for a trip along the river road next time.

AnswerID: 384992

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 06:47

Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 06:47
Ev,
We went through there about a month ago... all the crossings are easy although the 2nd last one at the Killarney end has a lot of soft gravel..... wasn't a problem for us but a Ford ute was stuck there at the time and had to be towed back out.

There are a lot of potential picnic spots along there, also a few places to see local are Queen Mary Falls, Carrs Lookout, Browns Falls and Daggs Falls.

Take your camera, there's some lovely scenery out that way....

AnswerID: 385027

Reply By: youngharry52 - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 10:58

Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 10:58
Gday Ev,

Went thru about 2 months ago in a 100 series TD. was pretty straight forward. There are 2 obvious spots for smoko, the second one from the Killarney end is the bigger of the 2. you could easily camp there with a few others.... It is private property tho, so just make sure you dont leave anything behind like some others have in the past. very nice part of Oz. The waterfalls in the area are great and well worth a look too.

AnswerID: 385051