cape york
Submitted: Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 20:00
pat305
Hi, I am going next June/July up to the cape in a 05 Prado v6 towing my off road camper would like to go via OTL should I be worried about anything like some of the
creek crossings. Would appreciate feedback thanks Ken
Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:02
Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:02
If you go from south to north the entry and exits are easier. The steep side is usually on the south side. Some of the crossings north of elliot falls can be fairly deep even that early. Walk the crossing or wait for someone else. Nolans brook claimed a few cars while we were up there in June this year. Nothing to worry about, just take it slow and check first. Carry some extra spares as you can easily punture a tyre on the track. It is an awsome trip.
Punsand bay is a great spot to
camp near
the tip and they have a pool. Good fishing there too. Elliot falls is great and fantastic swimming. Have fun
Josh
Follow Up By: joff1 - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:59
Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:59
G'day Josh
How did you get on after your little issue up there? I found a desent gouge out of my radiator when I did an inspection. Fortunately I didn't split a core, only bent over a bunch of fins. I reckon it was either Ducie or that hole on the way into Punsand
Joff
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 23:07
Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 23:07
Hey joff, How are you going? Yeah I reckon I did my radiator on that hole going into punsand. Magic spot up there. We had a ball. We caught heaps of fish and met so many people. On the way back down got to help a few others with trouble for a change lol. It was an awesome trip. On the way back down we spent a couple of days at
lake Tinaroo near
Atherton with a couple we met at punsand. We are already planning a trip back up there.
Josh
Follow Up By: pat305 - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 18:52
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 18:52
Thanks Josh for the info it has ease my worries, can't wait to get up there for my turn. Ken
Reply By: Member - Glenn H (NSW) - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:07
Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:07
Hi Ken, you can click on my profile to see our previous van crossing a
creek in Iron Range NP. But we gave the Old Telegraph Track a miss with the van and took the bypass. Go into
Places and check Telegraph
Creek and you will see it linked to a third of the
creek crossings. Lots of fun in the Pathy and no need to take camper unless you're set on it. You have 6 months to research this site and others. Hit Top Ten Tips for the Cape in the Archive for starters.
Leaving from
Cooktown first week of May 08 we did Battlecamp Rd to
Laura, then up PDR. Did Lakefield on the way back. The 40km from
Weipa Rd to Batavia is fun with 4 good creeks....... Cheers, Glenn
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn H (NSW) - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:14
Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:14
It's Thread 58399 - quicker this way.... G
Follow Up By: pat305 - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 19:35
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 19:35
Hi, Glen liked the pics and thanks for the tips on
places to research taking wife and three kids so camper trailer makes the better half happy.
Ken
Reply By: DaveO*ST-R - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:49
Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:49
Ken,
Have not long returned from the Cape. I have nowhere near the knowledge or experience of many others on this
forum .. I can only relate my travels. We did the OTL early September, south to north towing an off-road camper with no difficulty to speak of. All we did was use common sense and care, took our time through some of the more testing bits and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We had no problems with Gunshot, albeit taking the easiest option. I look forward to doing it all again in the not too distant future.
I think that as Josh said, when we did the track, north to south was definitely more difficult..I think I might have had to drag the winch out in spots, had we chosen to head back south. Come to think of it, I can only recall seeing one vehicle towing a camper heading south on the OTL. (PAtrol towing an Uktimate) Nolans Brook was the only
creek crossing where I got a bit anxious..the bottom was rather soft with
water height about 2 foot. Even without stopping (thankfully),
water still seeped through the door seals slightly. All the other crossings, we had no problems with at all.
You have plenty of time to plan your trip, and from what I researched and then experienced on our trip, conditions can and do change with very little notice.
PS We also stayed at
Punsand Bay. We checked out all the other
places..Loyalty Beach, Seisa etc whilst having a drive around and I still think Punsand was the best. We had a beachfront, (unpowered) site and it was a magnificent spot.
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 23:17
Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 23:17
I should have mentioned we did it north to south towing our trailer. We winched up gunshot (thanks to the guys who helped out,watched). When we got to palm
creek we dropped the trailer off at the bottom, drove up then winched the trailer up. Got through with no damage at all which was good after our bad run up lol. Certainly wasn't as hard as I was expecting.
Josh
Follow Up By: pat305 - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 19:48
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 19:48
Hi, Dave glad you had a good time I'll be doing the same at gunshot no need for damage up there, just reading your post gives me itchy feet can't wait till next year,
Punsand Bay sounds good, thanks for everything.
Ken
Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 20:12