travelling OZ with family for a year or more!

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 16:48
ThreadID: 72668 Views:2752 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
G'day everbody,
wow what a great site love all the topics, info and stories people have too share.
we are a family of 5 (kids aged 4, 8 & 9) we set off a week ago from melbourne, first leg tassie for a month or so.
would lov to hear from others that have travelled or are currently travelling especially those with a full height van.
keen to learn about how restricted you may or may not have been on your travels with a big van?
all are welcome to follow our travel site 2010arewethereyet.spaces.live.com
hope to see ya out there :)
cheers john & sam

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 16:57

Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 16:57
Have had a 21.6in and now a 25ft and no restrictions whatever.

Will however be much more expensive to take to Tassie as they charge by the metre.

Dont go into dead end streets, low carparks, watch out for branches in parks,

Watch your swing angles when turning, dont cut corners.

ALWAYS tell the park when booking the OVERALL length of the van

EG ours is a 25 ft van

Overall with spare tyre on rear and A frame is close to 30ft.

You have to get it ALL on a site.

Go to a quiet carpark, set up some markers and practice backing into a confined space.

It will stand you in good stead when in parks with not much room to manouver.

AnswerID: 385342

Follow Up By: Member - john f2 (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 22:07

Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 22:07
cheers mate
thank you for the info i will take it all on board
john
FollowupID: 653069

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 19:10

Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 19:10
Hi John & Sam
Matt & Caz members of this forum would be great to have a chat with. You can search their profile. Their van is similar in size to yours. I'm doing the same but at a much slower pace since August. Three kids overall van length is 20".
Have a ball.
Sharon
AnswerID: 385357

Follow Up By: Member - john f2 (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 22:09

Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 22:09
thanks for the info
c u on the road
john
FollowupID: 653071

Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 21:21

Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 21:21
Hi John and Sam, I got your message and tried to reply but it didn't seem to send it. My wife said she thought she spoke to you at the park in Wynyard. This is a great site with heaps of good advice and heaps of great people on here. We have met so many fantastic people from here as we have travelled. We will be in Burnie this week, then we are in Devonport and the week after in Deloraine. After that we head to Hobart to look for a house. If you are in any of these places when we are there give us a ring on 0437043706 and we will try to catch up. Travelling is so good and you learn/see so much. We are already planning another trip already lol.

Josh
AnswerID: 385372

Follow Up By: Member - john f2 (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 22:11

Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 22:11
hey guys
hopefully you got our messages before from the profile section
cheers john
FollowupID: 653072

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 21:23

Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 21:23
Hey Guys,

We are currently travelling oz in 23 foot retreat daydream we have 3 kids (14, 9 & 7) we have been on the road since November 08. We LOVED Tassie (just a bit too cool for us QLD'rs!!!) We haven't really had any issues re: being a full height van. We are not following everyone else (for want of a better saying) so we don't have to worry about booking caravan parks ect, if you guy's are doing Tassie first you shouldn't have an issue with space in parks - we try and free camp heaps when on the road - Tassie is great for free camps = try the following: Dianes Basin, Cosy Corner, Johanna Beach, North East park at Scottsdale, Marawah, Oatlands, swimcart beach, Beaconsfield Showgrounds and you can buy a family pass for $114 to visit Beaconsfield Mine tour, Seahorse world and platypus house!!!. We have no time limit and stop to work when the $$$$ run out.

We were home schooling, however the kids are currently at school as we have stopped for a few months in Kununurra WA and are both working. This is the best life and we have no intentions of settling down again....... We are leaving "Kuna" in December and heading towards Broome.

You can check out our web at http://www.travelingoz.webs.com

Matt, Caz & Kids
AnswerID: 385374

Follow Up By: Member - john f2 (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 22:06

Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 22:06
hi there guys,
wow what an inspiration!
thank you so much for all the info, hopefully we can cross paths some time soon
thanks john & sam
FollowupID: 653068

Reply By: Member - Troy and Kate - Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 23:00

Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 23:00
G'day john f2,

We are also on the road, left Melbourne in April and headed down to Tassie.
We are in a 18 foot expanda, heaps of room for 5 of us, 3 boys, 12, 10 and 7 and the boss.

You will love what you are about to see and do with your family, and you can not get that working 5 to 6 days a week, well done.

Most places you go you wont have a problem with the van, supermarkets you will have to park up the back, but shopping trolley's come in handy.
We also have met some great people on this trip, and once you start talking to people you get great tips and adivce on all sorts of stuff.

We are on our way to Kununurra WA to catch up with Matt, Caz and the kids, who we met in Tassie in April.

We also have a website so family and friends can find out what we are are to, cheaper than ringing everyone on the mobile.
It's waltersonwheels.com
I hope to see you on the road some where, and enjoy your time ahead.

Happy Days,

Troy & Kate.

AnswerID: 385401

Reply By: Member - Chris G (VIC) - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 08:46

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 08:46
What a great thread.

This is really what this forum is about.

Poor old Ron from NSW would have done well to have read it before sounding off.

Good on you all.

AnswerID: 385425

Reply By: Damo1970 - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 03:28

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 03:28
We have been on the road with our 2 kids for nearly 10 months & lovin' it!!

You can read about our adventures at www.marshallsoz2009.com

AnswerID: 387269