Fred G NSW
Just read this story.
Aussie Hats Ain't Aussie Hats
I'm in my 60's, (like a lot of you) and have seen a lot of changes, and experienced a few national and international events and conflicts, and this is an aspect of our modern Australia which doesn't sit too
well with me.
What are some of the dinky-di Aussie things we can still buy ?
Probably not many of the 4 x 4's (or any vehicle for that matter) we drive, but I am pretty certain my caravan is genuine Aussie (built at least), don't know about the components though.
And my old Akubra hat is Aussie.
Fred.
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 18:01
Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 18:01
You Fred
Are you not Australian Made....
Australian wont work for the pay, needed to be payed, so we can buy them cheep. or what there worth.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 18:26
Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 18:26
Nice profile pic there Richard, getting toey here now LOL.
Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:21
Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:21
Richard,
I had a mate who went over to Hong Kong a few years ago to sort out some boat problems, he came back and his words were "they do top work but hell they are slow"
We put ourselves down and there are the one's that use the system,
How long do you really work before someone say's you are not a bludger.
Most Aussies have a top work ethic.
Aussie's who go overseas are really sort after.
Don't put ourselves down
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:02
Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:02
Rockape
"Most Aussies have a top work ethic." I agree totally I'm one of them would take a pay cut to keep a good worker on.
It is that we have a good lifestyle and good working conditions and good pay packets, (except the low payed worker).
Yes and we do put ourselxes down too much, but that our age 200 + years old,, maybe.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:08
Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:08
Fred
Yes start of the
Sandy Blight Junction road great trip, read the permit latter and we should not have camped there, but it was getting dark and it was the first place we found.
Turned out a very nice spot.
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:21
Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:21
Gidday Fred
Last week I had a meeting with an Australian business who have just taken a substantial contract off the Chinese. Part of the deal had a bit to do with the price, but they wrapped it up through quality and service. The latter sealed a substantial number of contracts.
In my very strong view and experience, the biggest mistake this country ever made, was trying to compete on price, rather than focus on quality as a marketing tool.
I’ve had a few drinks today with a couple of mates, so forgive my dribble. LOL.
Kim
Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:30
Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:30
Hey, Kim
you nailed it, we have some very smart people here (not including myself, cause my knuckles are still draging along the ground)
Super funds1 just have to invest in the quality inventions Aussies put out and not send them overseas
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:57
Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:57
Gidday Kim, no dribble there old mate, just the plain old truth. Just look at what's been invented/started here in OZ and then sold/taken overseas, and sent back to us.
Fred.
Reply By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:45
Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:45
Fred,
This is not so much an Aussie product but a tradition.
The thing that really gets my goat is the way all forms of media describe the date. They all use the American format i.e. October 02 instead of the traditional format 2nd October.
I know that we live in a global community but it seems to me that anything that is prefixed by Global e.g. Global Warming, Global Financial Crisis is hyped up by the media and not as critical as they like us to believe. I think they think it smart to adopt this language.
I say bring back the Australian traditions and don't let the media beat the Ocker out of us.
Kev
Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 10:16
Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 10:16
Dick Smiths Vegemite & Peanut butter!!......Maybe...LOL
Cheers Axle
Follow Up By: Travelin OZ - Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 10:24
Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 10:24
Altria Group is the parent company of Philip Morris USA.
These guys own Kraft that produce Vegemite and Peanut butter.
Sorry Axle.
Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 12:06
Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 12:06
Was at the Royal Show in
Perth yesterday, browsing thru some RM Williams racks of shirts on display, and checking the country of mfr. Where else but China!
So much for an Aussie Icon.
Gerry
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 14:09
Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 14:09
What about the RM boots ? Are they still made here ?
I used to like the Blundstone boots, which I think were made in Tassie.
They were great for driving and travelling, really comfortable.
I think they're made off shore as
well now :-(
Fred.