Get a box trailer? Buy a bigger car? or SQUEEZE it in?

Submitted: Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:05
ThreadID: 72705 Views:8758 Replies:15 FollowUps:6

Related Pages

(first post - be gentle!)
We went on our first camping expedition as a family (girls 3yr and 5 yr) last weekend. It was a great success - with 1 drawback...

Our El cheapo 'Spinifex' tent from Anaconda pretty much fell apart from the word go - zips split, peg anchors ripped off the fly and it generally proved itself to be a bit shoddy.
We returned it and got our money back from Anaconda and have now re-invested in a similar Coleman tent (which hopefully is a little better made). The downside is despite being basically the same sized tent - it is BIGGER (thicker fly = bigger bag).

We managed before to squeeze all 4 of us into the Camry as follows:

rear footwells: Sleeping bags, tarps & chairs
spare back seat: esky & washing up tubs
boot:
tent
50lt box with food in
50lt box with mattresses & lamps
30lt box of cooking utensils, pans, plates & cutlery
15Lt box of water from supermarket
9lt Gas tank
Cooking stove
oh - and we just about managed to squeeze in a bag of clothes/towels somehow.

At the end of that the car was absolutly chocker-block full.. We couldnt fit in another pair of socks...

Our concern is that with the new tent being significantly larger we're going to have to leave somethiung behind... but it ALL feels essential.

So whats the solution?

I'm a complete n00b to 'equipment based camping' - having never camped with more than I could carry on my back before!

Any idea how much it'd cost to get a towbar fitted to an '05 Camry? Is it a good idea to get a cheap $400 second hand rusty old box trailer to chuck boxes into? Or should we bite the bullet and assume we need a bigger car?
The alternative might be for us to take 2 cars when we go camping - but somehow that feels silly....

Any thoughts? - All suggestions welcome!!!

Reply By: robertbruce - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:24

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:24
a station-wagon might be the go, an un-canopied tralior is a security-risk...
AnswerID: 385489

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:35

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:35
The harsh reality is the bigger the car the trailer ect the more
crap you can take and you end up in the same boat.
All depends on how many times a year you are going to go camping,and what you want to invest into for maybe 2/3 times a year.
But a roof rack basket could be a cheaper more simple option.
Trailers are good and easy to pack but get a good one or hire one.

Rob
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 385491

Follow Up By: Member - John M (NSW) - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:02

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:02
I agree with Rob S, you are on the journey of your life, look around at what other do and upgrade to suit yourself, your needs and your financial capabilities.

But always follow the "KISS" rule and you will have great fun.
Maybe soon you will have a 23ft Bushtrcaker Van (or similar) and a serious 4wd to tow it with. (being a Nissan & Toyota owner I could not pick between the 2)

Enjoy yourself and the "Great outddors"

Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain!

FollowupID: 653140

Reply By: rocco2010 - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:55

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 19:55
Gidday

Been there done that. in the 1990s we (2+2) had a holiday in SA which involved travelling via the Indian Pacific from Perth with the car on the train then driving back. We loaded up the car, loaded up our cabin on the train ... and when we got to Adelaide there was literaly no room in the car when we transferred the stuff from the train.

Talk about a learning experience. We actually had to freight stuff back to Perth!

I am still no expert but learnt from that and having only resumed camping again the last few years every trip is better and there actually seems to be more room in the ute each time

An idea may be when you get home make a note of anything you did not use and don't take it next time. Clothes are one of the hardest things, particularly with kids, but how many changes of jeans and jumper do you need for a weekend away?

On my first visit to the CSR I decided after 5 or 6 days to put on a clean pair of strides.Within a few minutes i Figured out that was a waste of time and next trip didnt bother with too many extra clothes. After all, everybody else was in the same situation

I see you have a lot of things in boxes. Maybe rethink how many you need, as clothes and soft things like sleeping bags can usually squish into a small space better than if packed in a box.

And as suggested above, a roof rack is great for lighter items it may cost you some extra in fuel but that is a small price to pay for getting out there.

Rocco
AnswerID: 385498

Reply By: chisel - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:22

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:22
In my opinion you'll never fit enough into a medium sized sedan to have a comfortable camping experience.
I'd probably suggest a bigger car (maybe a territory or kluger?) but a trailer would also do the job.
AnswerID: 385500

Reply By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:40

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:40
The girl and I started our teavelling life with our whole world jammed into a Camira, after that we figured we needed a trailer, that proved to be an issue with security and water-proofness. After that we moved on to a Commodore wagon, and the trailer. That was OK till we discovered the joys of the 4wd from work. The Triton and trailer allowed us a lot more freedom, especially with 2 young boys at that stage. A year ago we ditched the tent (most of the time) for a Jayco offroad Flight, which cut back on some of the need for other equipment which we previously had to carry. Now we have recently purchased a Patrol to tow the van easier and on it goes.
From my experience, limit what you can carry if at all possible, but with a growing family you will need to look at a larger/ more powerful vehicle sooner or later (usually sooner) and enjoy what you can do and see with whats available to you at the time.
AnswerID: 385503

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:48

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:48
If you are going to do a bit of this consider a dual cab ute. With young kids there's going to be bikes and odds and ends that will no doubt require room. Have a great time, the kids will always look back on these times with great joy! Cheers and happy travels.
AnswerID: 385506

Reply By: PradOz - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:52

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 20:52

welcome to camping. whatever you decide on you will never have enough room as you become more adventurous. so my suggestion is you think ahead with any purchase you make from this point forward and buy the best quality product that you can for anything you need so it lasts. that way you can keep adding to your equipment as you go without needing to wait while you replace the cheap nasties that wont last.

2 x cars equals 2 x rego and other significant costs. So unless you really need another car i would give that a miss. if you do get another car, or change to a larger one, think about if you would like to travel off road a bit later on even if it isnt 'hard core' off road, a better choice vehicle will mean the difference between a great camping experience and a poor time or even a possible disaster. plenty of inexpensive 4wd's out there as the city folks downsize to more fuel conscious vehicles. Most of those 4wd's have never been off road so you can end up with a great vehicle if you search and plan well. Choices of petrol, diesel and LPG and of course a combination of these.

trailers can be really handy to have if you have somewhere to store one. Cheap to rego too. Buy the best quality one you can afford if you go this option and look at your security options for both the trailer and its load. Your security measures wont stop anyone dead set on flogging your gear though - unless you take a watch dog with you :))

roof racks or roof pods are ok but plan the load so it is safe.

Of course you could make everyone wear all the clothes they want to take with them, layer upon layer, and nurse their sleeping bags and pillows etc etc on their laps. Wouldnt be much fun but i guess everything else would then fit in the Camry ;)

remember you may add larger items like generators, car fridges etc as you get more experienced, so whatever you decide on now may not last too long before you are back in the same situation. its very easy to take way to much stuff with you from your clothes and food to all those tools and little things you take "just in case"

Whatever you do I am sure you will continue to have fun

P.S. didnt see a first aid kit on your list above :)
AnswerID: 385510

Follow Up By: DadAgain - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 21:11

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 21:11
Thanks..

Actually we already have 2 cars for our 'regular' lives (1 camry, 1 astra) - so the doubled up rego is already covered. Its just driving seperately that'd seem a bit strange...

We could stash a trailer beside our house without any drama at all (and no significant security worries) and when camping elsewhere - well we'd be around wouldnt we? and whats the point in worrying about the securiy of a trailer when the BEST you can do is have stuff defended by a YKK zip and a micron thick piece of canvas!

Our watch dog would be useless - Xena is a 10yr old cavalier spaniel who'd struggle to do more than lick any would-be thief to death!

Good point about the first aid kit - pretty sure that *might* have been in the glove-box (medical stuff always falls into the wifes domain) - but worth considering more seriously next outing!

I guess we'll see how we go on the next couple of outings (hope to sqeeze a couple of weekends in before xmas)
FollowupID: 653148

Reply By: portlester - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 21:01

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 21:01
We have also gone through the same evolution. Here is what we did.

Once the car was too full with kids to pack all our camping gear in, we bought an O'Brien's offroad butterfly trailer. It has been fantastic for us, with a kitchen on one side (with stove & plenty of storage room for food, etc), the other side set asise for all our camping gear and fridge and is fully lockable and waterproof. It's also meant the car is not chock a block with camping gear - unfortunately it is still always full of all the junk that the kids must have with them in the car!

The trailer has seen us grow from 2 kids to 4 (with the 5th due this Monday!); migrate from a pajero to recently a landcruiser and our holidays go from the tamer caravan parks to the more adventorous off the beaten track. It has been the best purchase we have made in many a year.

Now for the sales pitch - maybe. With the new bubs almost here; our trusty tent finally wearing out on our last holidays and our plans to head round Australia next year, we are tossing up whether to migrate to a Trak Shak campervan or stick with a new tent and trailer. So the trailer may be up for sale soon - although just thinking of getting rid of it now has me thinking of reasons not to.

Anyhow it was not meant to be a plug for my trailer. If an offroad trailer is not what you are after,you could always get an onroad tradesman's trailer which have heaps of room and are also lockable.

AnswerID: 385517

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 10:08

Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 10:08
Portlester,

You would love a Trak Shak. We have had ours for 13years now and still call it the freedom machine.

Nothing I have seen has as much living and storage space and is as easy to set up and pack up.

They are also as tough as an old boot. You will not break it.

FollowupID: 653167

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 21:05

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 21:05
The dual-cab ute is a great option. The new ones are not too uncomfortable and you have room for just about everything.

Having said that one of my work colleagues set off for Fraser this morning (jealous again, offered to go as a guide but he declined). He has the boss on board and 2 girls aged 5 and 3. They are travelling in a dual-cab Hilux with a camper trailer.

I recently did an 11 day trip with my son and one other guy. The biggest problem we had was getting the back of the Patrol to close. It was a bit full but gee we were comfortable.

The bottom line is you will fill the space you have.

If you have two cars as it appears from your post I would suggest making one of them big enough for your camping set up. You could probably trade the 05 Camrey and end up with a half decent mid size 4wd or dual cab ute for not much more money and if you got a dual fuel the running costs would not be too bad.

I hate to say it but if you enjoy camping you have started the snow ball down the hill. It will only grow.

AnswerID: 385518

Follow Up By: DadAgain - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 21:21

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 21:21
The snowball was started many years ago I'm afraid - it merely took a few years off!

I've always been a fan of camping and have camped all over the globe from coastal cliff caves in England, mountain treks in Peru and Lion infested game parks in Africa...

My favourite EVER holiday spot was at 16,000ft in the Andes when I carried my tent on my back, didnt see a soul for 5 days and revelled in the awesomeness of icy mountain peaks, bright blue glacial lakes, pampas grass and cactus and Llamas... If I can get my kids to enjoy being outside and appreciating nature the same way as I do that'd be great...

For now it may be well 'managed' campsites with plenty of facilities but I can *easily* see us slipping into off-track expedition mode once the girls get a bit older and more adventurous.
FollowupID: 653151

Follow Up By: DadAgain - Monday, Oct 05, 2009 at 10:57

Monday, Oct 05, 2009 at 10:57
Had a bit of a think this weekend.

We've always fancied a Prado - but worry about the outlay of $55K+ for a car (which we cant really afford). Wife also is starting to be concerned that a Prado would be too big for her - so has starting eyeing up the Subaru Outback.

Took a Subaru for a ride this weekend and it was... ok... very sensible, reasonable and just not really inspiring.... and ultimately its still a $50k vehicle!

We discussed the trailer option, but wife is VERY unhappy about the idea of leaving a trailer cluttering up our yard.

Next option (and cheapest yet) - would be to use the roof rack we have in the shed. I'd forgotten all about it. I'd need to get some new "Thule" feet to fit the camry since the feet we have were from a Landrover Discovery with rails. But I'm sure I could get a set of feet cheap enough and then we're all set - plenty of extra room (for the time being).
FollowupID: 653370

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 23:51

Friday, Oct 02, 2009 at 23:51
DadAgain

My experience is that I have kept getting bigger vehicles to fit all my camping gear.

My camping gear however seems to have grown with each vehicle I have owned and now requires a camper trailer as well.

The trouble and strife is now complaining about no toilet, shower or air-conditioning in the camper trailer. I feel a caravan will be next.

My advice therefore is whilst your family is happy tenting it keep to your present vehicle and just take the essentials.

When it is time to upgrade your Camry look at a vehicle more suitable for your needs at that time.

It would also be cheaper to purchase a camper trailer than to upgrade your vehicle.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 385531

Reply By: just goin - Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 15:15

Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 15:15
Get a cheap BOX TRAILER....yearly rego costs cheap - no comp, insurance necessary and you can use it at home when you arent camping (or family and friends will).....they always come in handy....

We have one and we will never get rid of it....it was old and rusty and we did it up cheapily and we take it away every xmas camping with 2 kids and 2 adults and often take the home gas 4 burner bbq with us - loads of room with the trailer for bikes etc too....but not loads of money sitting in the shed all year hardly being used!

Very practical idea....

We currently have a caravan and have had camper trailers as well but we still use the tent and box trailer every xmas.....

ENJOY - CAMPING IS A REAL HOLIDAY! NO WALLS AND THE GREAT OUTDOORS!
AnswerID: 385585

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 18:34

Saturday, Oct 03, 2009 at 18:34
Start with a trailer, then if you have the finances and change your set up from there I'm sure the trailer will always come in handy at one time or another!

We've always had a 4x4, when it was just the two of us it was a Ute with storage then a bed on top and canopy overhead. We got a cheap box trailer after that and added some of our own touches.
Since then we've had a few quite expensive camper trailers towed behind a Trooie or 80 Series Toyota. And now we have kind of gone backwards, just purchased a cheap Daihatsu Applause and Hubby still has his beloved Cruiser Ute (which isn't much good to transport two adults and two kids!).

We haven't been camping in the last few years really, that combined with finiancial restraints has seen us downgrade. But we do have a good trailer that with a tradesman top added down the track (similar to that Obrien) I reckon it will be a beaut set up to still go away camping and travelling. Well either than of find $20k to convert the Cruiser to a dual cab...which would be our ultimate vehicle....maybe in a few years!

I am curious how much it costs to put a tow bar on a normal car as well because our Applause hasn't got one... can't be more than a few hundred surely?

But yes before I ramble on too much more, I'd seriously consider a trailer, security issues would be the same if you have a dual cab, particularly one with a tray & no canopy etc.

Depends how serious your camping and travels are likely to get and how quickly. A prime consideration is weather you will soon be wanting to go off road on 4x4 only tracks? In which case a new car could be the best investment.
AnswerID: 385614

Reply By: Mandrake - Monday, Oct 05, 2009 at 11:14

Monday, Oct 05, 2009 at 11:14
Check out the POD range

POD price lists

I was impressed and eventually bought the camper to go in it...

Lockable and light - bit pricey but they are good units ..

Mandrake - Still PODDING along .
AnswerID: 385805

Reply By: Mitza - Monday, Oct 05, 2009 at 17:07

Monday, Oct 05, 2009 at 17:07
Hi Dadagain

Welcome to the forum.

We have had the same problem when surfing the net for camping options.

Started looking around for a caravan, then a pop top caravan, then a jayco dove, then we looked at camper trailers, then simple trailers and finally decided for a tent.

It's seems that one could spend a fortune on camping gear! Options are endless...

We have a Camry wagon 01 and we bought a good quality tent and matress. One of the back seats gets folded (2/3 one) for accomodating the tent, matress and table+chairs and the boot space gets loaded up with stuff.

Our daughter is 20 mo and we are expecting another baby next year. I guess we will finnaly end up with a box trailer and that will accomodate kayaks and bikes but this is still couple of years from now on...

AnswerID: 385832

Follow Up By: Outa Bounds - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 19:48

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 19:48
Now this is exactly what I'm trying to convince Hubby about! A camper trailer is just that ... . a trailer with a tent stuck on top and a few niceties, but look at the price!

I'm trying to explain to him that having our little trailer and having the two 3 man hiking tents (one for us and one for the kids) will be just as good, if not better in some ways. Beisdes we can always get one of those quick to erect touring tents for when we all want to sleep together in one.

I guess the proof will be in when we start going on camping trips again now with our new more basic set up (we had a camper trailer before).
FollowupID: 653728

Reply By: peterjg - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 21:25

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 21:25
Check out this for light "weight" car camping.

http://mycampgear.com/2009/07/25/tips-packing-smaller-vehicle-camping-trip
AnswerID: 388554