river crossing wash down

Hi All ,
just recently purchased a 1990 fj80 cruiser and we went to the coorong for the long weekend
on advise from the salt creek servo we took the salt creek crossing only to find ourselves in above the wheels in salty coorong mud and water
my concern is the wash down after this .
what is recommended and any tips would be greatly recieved
as I worry about the rust
by the way we made the crossing twice and had a great time over at the beach

Reply By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 15:01

Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 15:01
This reply is probably different to many that you will receive, but I spoke recently with a friend who holds a PhD in metal corrosion (he is an engineering lecturer these days) who says that fresh water is the best thing to wash down with. If you are really really concerned he said you can use WD40 or something else greasy (eg lanolin, fish oil etc) but washing the salt off the car will do more good in the long run than spending money on any other treatment. Interesting!
AnswerID: 385977

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 16:11

Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 16:11
dunno why that should be different - i would recomend fresh water and heaps of it - not necc high pressure cleaner as while that cuts off mud it lacks the volume to wash away
FollowupID: 653522

Follow Up By: Haza - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 16:28

Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 16:28
Use a lawn sprinkler under the car, I give my car a hose down first and stick the hose in all the hard to get places and then put the sprinkler under and leave it there for a while and then move it and so on.
What more can you ask for washing the car, watering the lawn and crushing down a few cold ones while your at it.
Hope you don't have water restrictions.
FollowupID: 653524

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 18:14

Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 18:14
I thought many people would recommend some kind of product- eg 329 or some kind of salt remover.

Just took mine down to the Happy Wash to clean the mud off! Can't do the under body wash at home because of water restrictions. $22 later the car is nice and clean. 4WDing is going to send me broke one day ;)
FollowupID: 653549

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 19:41

Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 19:41
Amy, just scratching my head trying to see some logic here.

If you have water restrictions at home, where does Happy Wash get their water ?

If it's from a different source, I can understand that, however, if its from the same source, your've just done 22 bucks !!!

Cheers.......Lionel.
FollowupID: 653578

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 20:03

Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 20:03
Haha, I think Happy Wash get their water the same place as we do- from the tap. Just that they are on a business plan and so are not subject to the residential water restrictions like the rest of us (car wash with bucket only). Therefore they can have the $22 and the mud too!
FollowupID: 653581

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 20:18

Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 20:18
Haha, I think Happy Wash get their water the same place as we do- from the tap. Just that they are on a business plan and so are not subject to the residential water restrictions like the rest of us (car wash with bucket only). Therefore they can have the $22 and the mud too!
FollowupID: 653585

Follow Up By: get outmore - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 23:01

Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 23:01
darn water restrictions
were ok ATM in the west - I have a car wash just down the road and find for proper cleaning a combination of the high pressure then the hose at home works well.

the HP cleaner as i said cuts off the mud alot better and the hose at home washes it away and pluss i can get to the hard to reach places better even if it means getting down and dirrrty.

However i usually try and avoid mud and let the young bucks cut it up after rain. Sometinmes on a trip theres no way round it
FollowupID: 653616

Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 08:06

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 08:06
Yep same method here- Happy Wash is the self-serve high pressure hose (must be an SA thing!) and then I give her the bucket wash once we're home. Either it's really expensive, I am really slow or mud is just a pain in the butt to get off the car! :)
FollowupID: 653630

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 12:56

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 12:56
I'm with Haza.... and I thought I was the only person that uses a sprinkler under the car. I use one of those "Tractor" sprinklers that are self propelled and travel along the hose. Run the hose under the car and away it goes. Works an absolute treat.
FollowupID: 653670

Reply By: mazcan barry - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 17:59

Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 17:59
hi
in 2002 july while crossing savory crk CSR south to north and after looking for any neg signs in the water my 4wd ploshed down into two deep bog ruts left by a vehicle that had obviously got stuck going north to south near southern bank water sqirted and gushed out from under the bonnett in every possible place and those that know savory creek will endorse it's 15 times saltier than the sea
well i got through ok but when the heat dryed the water
everything under and around the eng bay was pure white with salt coulnd'nt do anything about it i left convoy as planned and went to 80mile bch
while there over night got buckets x30 of water and flushed it under the engine bay with truck wash then after getting back home 3 weeks later i did it all again and then literally drowned everything in wd-40 i still have the vehicle and have only 2 minor elect probs cause by savory creek one was glowplug relay and the w/screenwasher motor so do above and all should be ok i used high pressure to wash down with ( using a sprinkler ???????))
AnswerID: 385999

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 21:10

Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 21:10
I reckon I heard about this today. I'd be washing that sucker out thoroughly with warm soapy water (car wash) and spraying lots of fish oil or something similar in it.

How heavy were those logs of wood really - or was that someone else?

Louie
AnswerID: 386049

Follow Up By: wizzwozthere - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 10:04

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 10:04
Hi Louie,
where were you to see these logs ??
Mate unreal our mate works for a council and his connections supplied the wood
I could not believe it either !
three to four people to shift a single log smaller next time.
plus we had the owners at gemini downs a bit worried about how we plan to put them out at the end

yes I will reconsider doing a crossing in future .
had fun doing it though I might add.

I am glad to see that what I did when I got home was to head straight for a cleaning place ,
but what worries me is the salt water trapped in the channels that is still leaking out???
I have done the engine bay with high pressure water and Inox after all over ,
but what about the rest ?

I have noticed a slight miss at idel as well know
I thought these things where bullet proof
FollowupID: 653655

Reply By: Voxson - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 08:23

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 08:23
Next time go another 20 odd kms further toward Kingston and cross at 42mile crossing and then drive back to tea tree....
A lot dryer.
AnswerID: 386093

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:59

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:59
I would use one of these with Diesel in it after the wash down

AnswerID: 386104

Reply By: wizzwozthere - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 10:13

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 10:13
for all of your suggestions so far much appreciated>

I do like the idea of diesel in a spray bottle,

I have done the pressure water clean down at dazzlers and very costly at $38.00,
also have used Inox spray all over the bay and engine,
but know have noticed a miss
I reckon it might be water some where
or an issue with the new gas system and old plugs maybe

thanks to all
cheers wizz

AnswerID: 386106

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 16:29

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 16:29
Take the nozzle and all other fittings off your garden hose, find a hole in the chasis rail and poke the hose in. Then turn it on and go have a cuppa. When your cuppa is finished stick it in the other side and do it all again. If you look under the car you will see where the water is getting out. If there is a section of rail not leaking find another hole and poke the hose in.

Water, water and more water is the answer to getting rid of the salt. Diesel, kero, fish oil or anything else is only worthwhile once the salt is gone.

AnswerID: 386152

Reply By: wizzwozthere - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 10:50

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 10:50
Thanks for the tips ,
as mentioned I have done the pressure clean
I think this weekend I will do the hose in all the holes and then fish oil the channels

thanks to all
wizz
AnswerID: 386236