How do I register a C/T in NSW if I have bought in QLD, if I'm still in Qld?
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 11:19
Member - Boo Boo (NSW)
G'day all
I have bought a camper trailer up here in Qld and want to change the rego over to NSW, but we will still be in Qld when the rego expires.
Can the change over of rego be done on the internet? I have contacted the RTA in NSW, but as yet I have not had a reply to my email.
I think my other option would be to get a permit from Qld to tow it for a month after the rego expires, thats if a permit runs that long.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 11:29
Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 11:29
Go the expensive way and spend 50c on a phone call. LOL
I had a similar prob a few weeks ago in WA
A 2 min phone call fixed it all
Nothing like asking the correct people to get the correct answer.
And yes most regos can be renewed on line.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 11:44
Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 11:44
Graham,
He want to register a QLD plated Camper in NSW while in QLD. Not renew a current registration.
Graham,
Have a read of
Oversized Caravan and this registration problem he is having.
Reply By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 11:36
Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 11:36
Boo Boo,
I brought a camper from Victoria, no straight rego swap, to register it in NSW I had to Blue Slip the trailer to get registered. No checks needed since but you won't be able to do this on the internet. You may have to ask for an extension or premit from QLD RTA.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 11:45
Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 11:45
Tony
You are quite right, I spent my 50 cents and was told the trailer had to be in NSW and blue slip etc.
They suggested I talk to QLD RTA and get the rego extended!
I will pop around there in a while and see what can be done.
Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 12:29
Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 12:29
hi
wa is fairly strick when i came home from the east with my new vw golf with qld plates and a camper trailer with sa plates this was in may/2005
they treated both like they had never been registered before even though neither had expired and were legal to drive and tow if i was only visiting w.a you have 3 months to change over
but because they were being transfered to wa rego
i was charged an inspection fee for both
no wonder they call w.a the police state
Follow Up By: gbdid - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 15:09
Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 15:09
Quite possibly you will be able to get a short term registration.
Cars can be registered for just 6 months so probably the CT can be registered for the period.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:12
Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:12
I bought a Landcruiser in Qland and brought it to WA. No bother what so ever.
A $56 inspection fee, refund of all Qland rego pro rata, and the stamp duty in Qland was about $3K less than WA. So ahead on all counts.
Mazcan you would have saved thousands in stamp duty also.
Boo boo, just extend the rego, it will be refunded anyway when you hand in the plates.
Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 13:07
Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 13:07
hi
fisho64
apples with apples fisho the LC value is a lot higher than a golf deisel h/back i saved
$1250
the vehicle inspector i struck here only got the job 2 days before i went in and
he was very efficious and grumpy the c/trl was registered in
adelaide where he came from
and yet he nearly wasnt going to pass it as in his opinion the rear lights were to close together i said fair go your state passed it and the prevous sa owner had driven all around w.a on a big tour with it as such so whats the problem
had to be carefull he was one of those that i very quickly realised that one wrong word would create a brickwall
but put it down to just another experience i lifes journey !!
but like most of us know a nationally affiliated licensing sytem would cure all this
and then he bitched about vw putting the VIN plate in the boot yes thats right in the boot ?
on the floor is where it is - lol - and i said mate i bought it i did'nt make it
you;ll have to ask the germans why it"s in the boot
Reply By: garrycol - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:35
Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:35
You will need an NSW address that can be verified.
Garry
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:56
Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:56
The Qld Transport lady was quite helpful when I explained my plight.
Because my wife is working in Qld and has a contract with a residential address we can register it in her name in Qld for 12 months then sort it out when we ger back to NSW.
I say get rid of States and uniform health, education, police and RTA's etc.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 14:17
Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 14:17
Boo Boo, you'll need a recent weighbridge ticket to take to the blue slip issuer.
Last two caravans I bought came from S.A. and Vic, and both times I had to get a weighbridge ticket for the people that did the blue slip.
I took everything out that I possibly could before weighing, including empty
water tanks, in order to get the weight of the empty van at or under the Aggregate Trailer Mass as shown on the compliance plate.
They also checked the load rating of the tyres to make sure they allow for the Gross Trailer Mass as shown on the compliance plate.
Bit of a pain, but weigh ticket only about $15 and blue slip about $45, here in Cessnock.
If ya already know that mate, sorry for telling you how to suck eggs LOL LOL
Cheers from Fred.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:10
Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:10
In answer to MAzcann Barry.
I Traded my QLD registerered caravan in
Geraldton on SEPT 1st.
There were three options
Trade it with plates on and it needed a QLD roadworthy.
Take plates off and it is no longer a vehicle but dealer would have to get it inspected and I would have to pay for any discrepencies.
The easiest way was to take plates in to Roads in WA Get a receipt for them and send to QLD for refund of rego.
Register van in my name in WA Several types including vans can be changed over WITHOUT INSPECTION.
Took about 10 mins and then just had to
sign form with dealer.
The original poster should just extend in 6 month regos and do it when he gets home.
Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 13:21
Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 13:21
hi graham h
i rang rta as they were called in those days 2005 and they had new staff 3 phones and got 3 different version
on what to do and then struck a new inspector as
well talk about brickwalls but that"s bunghole ( bunbury ) all over
they are now called " department of planning and infrastructure"
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 13:32
Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 13:32
Yep that they are but I couldnt remember when i replied.
I also couldnt find them in
Geraldton due to the pompous name and after
driving past the building about 5 times I asked at the info centre and found it
Seems you can change a lot of regos over without inspection nowdays,
things must have changed a bit since you did it.
We are in Bunbury today
Follow Up By: disco driver - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 23:54
Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 23:54
Just to correct a minor point, the Department for Planning and
Infrastructure was an instrument of the previous Labor govt here in WA.
Colloqually it was refered to as the Dept for Everything.
Once the current Lib Govt had used up all the leftover Stationery etc with DPI all over it, the Dept name reverted to the Department of Transport.
If you have any new dealings the paperwork will say Dept of Transport.
Disco.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 00:07
Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 00:07
Whatever but the building still has Dept of Everything on it.
Or it did on 1st Sept
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 00:23
Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 00:23
Also the receipt I have for the new van registered on Sept 1st is headed as follows
Goverment of WESTERN AUSTRALIA
Department for Planning and
Infrastructure.
ABN 40 996 710 314
New Registration Receipt
ETC ETC
Tax Invoice Issue Date 01/09/2009
Reply By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 22:54
Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 22:54
And to top it off Boo Boo - once registered in NSW, if the trailer has brakes you will have to get a roadworthy certificate every year as
well (about another $32 on top of the rego)
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 00:32
Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 00:32
Gday Boo Boo,
If your in QLd and need to drive it out of Qld because it isnt regeisted, cant you just register it there and change it to whatever later?
Reply By: Stevo@50 - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 21:22
Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 21:22
Hey BooBoo,
You'll need a NSW address to be able to register it in NSW. The owner has to provide ID showing their NSW address.
You will then have to hand in the QLD plates and get NEW registration for NSW. this will entail a mechanical inspection report. heres a bonus - If the vehicle is less than 5 years old, a yearly pink slip (roadworhy cert) is not required, unless you are selling the vehicle.
heres a link to the RTA site info you need This site has some helpful info for camper owners
Reply By: X_PAC6969 - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 19:38
Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 19:38
R U SERIOUS........BOO BOO?