Wilderness is shrinking under population and developement pressures

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 22:24
ThreadID: 72879 Views:3963 Replies:8 FollowUps:16
I started going bush in my first Pajero in 1994. I reckon things are very different now.

Is it just my perception, or are the really remote parts of this continent becoming more heavily visited, closed off by mining activities, bitumenised, and generally less remote than they were?

The whole of the Red Centre is crawling with tourists. The French Line during the winter months is like Burke St or Martin Place. The CSR is chockers. Every man and his dog has done the Gibb River Rd. The track to Cape York is pounded by hundreds of cars every day. I mean these used to be pretty remote trips!

With the Great Central Road about to be sealed, even the Sandy Blight Junction Track will be just a side road off a freeway.

With Australia's population set to climb to 40 mil, I hold little hope that my grand children will enjoy the wilderness that I have, unless they head overseas.

Enjoy it while you can.

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 22:31

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 22:31
You are right Bob. Diesel 4x4's are common place and reasonably inexpensive these days. The country and the world are a whole lot smaller. What was once considered a major outback treck seems positively pedestrian these days. Imagine the Strzlecki bitumenised! Who'd have thought. The outback is still out there it's just getting harder to find and if you want to get away from it all, you really have to do some hard yards. Funny that the Canning is like Bourke Street and yet the side tracks to Helena and other features are all but disappearing due to lack of use. Work that out!

Still plenty out there mate.

AnswerID: 386325

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:24

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:24
"other features are all but disappearing due to lack of use"
There is certainly a clear division Mick between the busy iconic routes found in the magazines or trek notes & the side tracks where individuals need to do their own homework.
Cheers Craig...........
FollowupID: 653912

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:25

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:25
Amen to that Craig. Cheers Mick

FollowupID: 653913

Reply By: Sillydad (WA) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 00:06

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 00:06
We have just come back from the midwest in WA - found the back corners of the pastoral stations to be fairly remote (didn't see anyone else for a few days at least...).

The less 'glamorous' treks are definitely going by the wayside - the trend I've seen is for people to do the big, well known treks but not look into areas themselves.

We're looking to spend some more time in some of the conservation parks through that area next time we're back there in a few years (e.g. Pimbee, the un-named one south of Mt Augustus). There doesn't seem to be much in the way of serious 4Wing required (most access is along dis-used station tracks after they were converted from pastoral leases) but there sure ain't many people visiting them! Nothing particulary spectacular, but some very nice, outback country through there.

Best places I've been in the wilderness have been on foot - SW corner of Tassie, Tin Range on Stewart Island (NZ) and Olivine Wilderness (NZ again). Done some great remote exploring by myself through there. Hard to beat that kind of solitude! Looking forward to sharing these with my kids when they're older.
AnswerID: 386345

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 07:16

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 07:16
gotta say I never see another vehicle ever when out on the tracks
spent a couple of days in the Karroun hills nature reserve and also the area to the east of there Ive done a few of the tracks for work and play
- no where else in Australia bosts such wilderness country just 500km or so from the capitol city
FollowupID: 653937

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 00:14

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 00:14
And to all those who love the bush but have a knee jerk anti green reflex, isn't this the problem? We need to keep wilderness areas as wilderness, even if it means restricting our access to these areas. Only by preserving wilderness areas as wilderness areas can we maintain the biodiversity on which life ultimately depends and also preserve all those things that we enjoy when we go bush. There are now just too many of us and our technology means we can go anywhere.
Good luck Bob in hoping that your grandchildren will see wilderness overseas. Which country would you suggest still has more wilderness than Australia? One of the great things about Oz is that we still have wilderness where very few other countries have more than token amounts., but we need to value it and preserve it, not just exploit it as a playground.
AnswerID: 386347

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 08:05

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 08:05
We have to work within whatever situation we find ourselves Bob.
One way to win is to use sites like this to maximize there knowledge of areas.

I think last week I was talking about spending a whole day driving only an hour from melbourne without seeing another car , but australia is in disaster territory with the addition of 400,000 new people last year.

Instead of population control we have recently had politicans encouraging the birth rate.

However beyond that the massive press for unnesscary resources is the basic problem.

The classic issue that drives so much of this is the seemingly simple issue of just eating less meat.

A change like this can do more than any other thing an individual can do.

This is because water is a basic driver and growing the equivalent amount of protein with crops uses only about 1/10 the water than clearing the land to grow crops to feed to animals which are then inefficently turned into protein.

THis situation is know at least recognized worldwide, but like gobal warming , will take a long time to seep thru and so many of us will only see these issues in there rear view mirror.

AnswerID: 386360

Follow Up By:- Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 22:36

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 22:36
Quote ' Instead of population control we have recently had politicians encourage the birth rate' If australias birth rate does not hit 2.8 there will not be any 'australians' .currently 1.5 (dont quote me on excact figures) In other words the natural born ozzy is going to slowly die out being replaced by immigrants. I think they are encouraging the opposite more than the birth rate.
Glen
FollowupID: 654028

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 08:08

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 08:08
Can't argue with that Glen - so the solution is a lot less immigration with less unemployment as a bonus.
FollowupID: 654042

Reply By: racinrob - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 08:41

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 08:41
Australia is seen overseas as a very desirable and affordable destination, look at the number of Wicked, Juicy and Britz hire vehicles you see everywhere including the Gibb River Road, these places were once considered "off the beaten track" but not any more.
I have just done a winter trip bush camping along the Murray River and up thru the Flinders Ranges and was surprised at the number of others doing the same thing.
I have only one thing to say to all these people, "STAY HOME".

Rob.
AnswerID: 386362

Follow Up By: Rob! - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 11:09

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 11:09
A classic case of "Do as I say, rather than Do as I do".

Have you ever considered following your own advice?
FollowupID: 653954

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 16:21

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 16:21
Perhaps Rob's comment was "tongue in cheek".
FollowupID: 653984

Follow Up By: Rob! - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 17:11

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 17:11
I hope so.
FollowupID: 653987

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 09:10

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 09:10
Yeah young Bob

By the time your grandkids get to their travelling stage the world may have 10,000,000 souls floating around this mortal coil and Australia more than there are here now. (22 million Ozzies +1million illegals + 1million tourists)

Safe travel throughout remote Australia as advocated by this site and others attract many visitors from overseas. Development of the country will see bitumising of many erstwhile iconic roads. Thats progress whether you like it or not.

Best thing is to enjoy your time here and not to worry about something you have no control over :-)
AnswerID: 386364

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 18:25

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 18:25
Willem

"Thats progress whether you like it or not" I'm glad of that, I would hat to be doing the Eyre Hwy if it was still dirt, just to get somewhere to get off road.. LOL

Also as I have no kid stuff them... :-)))
FollowupID: 653995

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 18:46

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 18:46
Mortal coil is a poetic term that means the troubles of daily life and the strife and suffering of the world. It is used in the sense of a burden to be carried or abandoned, most famously in the phrase "shuffle[d] off this mortal coil" from Shakespeare's Hamlet.
FollowupID: 653999

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 19:17

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 19:17
A play on words young robert
FollowupID: 654000

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 19:32

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 19:32
nnh, not quite. I did macbeth, hadnt heard that one before and forgot what i was going to post while looking up the reference, so posted that instead...lol...
FollowupID: 654002

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 21:11

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 21:11
Sorry fellas,
A 'mortal coil' is one which gets belted with a hammer every time I touch the wrong wire....hahaha.

Cheers.....Lionel.

ps: Willem, the place feels normal again.
FollowupID: 654017

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 08:55

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 08:55
I think Willem's use of "mortal coil" was entirely appropriate in the context of what he was saying.
I can't accept however tghat this is something we cannot control. Preserving wilderness and limiting population growth are entirely within our control. But we do need to keep talking about it to raise consciousness so that actual action becomes a political priority. Just wringing our hands and saying "we can do nothing, so let's take advantage of what we can while some of it is still here" is a guaranteed recipe for disaster.
I flew over Thailand recently in daylight for the first time in about 20 years.. Seeing how much of those magnificent forests have disappeared in the last few years was a jaw dropping experience.
FollowupID: 654045

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 15:46

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 15:46
Will's quote is appropreaite....

If we don't take controll of our destiny other will......
FollowupID: 654070

Reply By: Rob! - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 11:14

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 11:14
Bob,

Are you not part of the problem that you describe? Why don't you lead by example and stay home?
AnswerID: 386374

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:35

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:35
Rob

I have a better idea.
Make viewing 'Wolf Creek' compulsory before permits etc granted.

Furthermore, I don't tend to use the tracks I mentioned anymore (except the GRR last year). So people don't generally come across me when I go bush.

FollowupID: 654184

Reply By: robertbruce - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:21

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:21
I started going bush in my army boots in 1977. I reckon things are totally-alien different now.

now-a-days paying premium and pulling up with a 150K+ kit is the only way to get a country-smile...oh, and now-a-days it's always someone's else's back yard...

councils & insurence compaies should lighten up. the average wealthy two income family have no-where to holiday, over-booked destinations is a most common experience.
AnswerID: 386425