fuel economy is poor.

Submitted: Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:09
ThreadID: 72894 Views:4712 Replies:12 FollowUps:13
Hi can anybody give me some advice?. i bought a new Nissan Patrol 3 Litre turbo diesel and was told I could expect 12 liters per 100 k/s but was disappointed and got 14 for 100 k/s. I had it on cruise control because I was thinking I had a lead foot but still got at best 7 kilometers to the Litre, this is disappointing.
a bloke told me to get it re-chipped and that will help, but has anybody any idea,s.

Reply By: ben_gv3 - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:15

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:15
As it's new the engine needs to be run in. I think it can take about 15/20000kms to be run in properly. Until then you'll be getting higher fuel consumption.

FWIW advertised fuel consumption figures are very misleading as they are calculated under lab conditions.
AnswerID: 386385

Follow Up By: Member - John F (NSW) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 15:43

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 15:43
Have to agree with Ben re the advertised figures being optimistic - the windscreen sticker on my 06 D4D Hilux said 7.8 l/100; this was occasionally achievable with gentle suburban driving - like those nice old folks with white hats on the parcel shelf. Realistically about 8.4 was the norm, but note that when the original Bridgestone 693s were changed for 694s, consumption increased to 9.0l/100. As each service approaches (10 000km) the consumption increases slightly again due to dirty air filter - yes, they are that sensitive. I learned this early on when after 20 000km on the filter the consumption had increased by about 1l/100km.
May I suggest you try driving with the motor revs generally a bit higher - I think these motors produce their max torque quite a bit higher than many others, hence may be happier and more economical spinning a bit faster. Just a thought.
Also, beware the cruise control - it will keep pushing the throttle down harder trying to maintain the set speed as you climb. I would suggest not using it except on pretty level roads.
I know these observations are pretty basic, but I have taken some interest in this topic as I like to know why things happen and have been fascinated to see the changes in consumption in my vehicle. I have never had a vehicle before with a trip computer and have observed the variations in consumption in detail.

Regards, John.
FollowupID: 653982

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:16

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:16
Yep, I've been driving one for thtree years, chipped and 3" exhaust. Have kept a faithful fuel and mileage log all that time. The beest you'll do is 7 to 7.5 kilomtres per litre, unladen and hwy cycle. Less if loaded, lead footing it or towing.

Sorrry to disappoint. Mick

AnswerID: 386386

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 04:20

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 04:20
Strewth Mick
I get 7.8km/lt out of my old 4.2, and I am about to put an Intercooler on it, if I can get one at the right price.

Guy down the road gets 8.5km/lt, and when he gasses it up expects 9.5

Cheers Bucky

FollowupID: 654039

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 07:42

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 07:42
G'day bucky, yep the 4.2's are better on the hghway cycle in a lot of cases but chew a bit more in the heavy stuff. I was getting a constant 9 to 10 Km per L out of my Navara. and 7-8 kpl when towing the tambo. Hope the new V8 ute will give me something to skyte about in the fuel economy stakes.

FollowupID: 654041

Reply By: nickoff - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:43

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:43
Have just taken deliver of a 2007 Ford Ranger 3.0 L turbo diesel, 39,000 Km. Manual Box.

Having done about 1100 Km in it so far, and two tanks of fuel, happy with an average of 9.35 Km /100Km.

Is yours Manual or Auto box? Reading many forums, it seems that the Auto Turbo Diesels seem to be a little thirstier, by about 2 to 2.5 L per 100 Km.
AnswerID: 386392

Follow Up By: nickoff - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:49

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:49
Woops, "with an average of 9.35 Km /100Km." should read with an average of 9.35 L /100Km.

Sorry.
FollowupID: 653979

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:51

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:51
mrt,

If it is one of those brand spanking 3lt crd then 14lt/100km is better than a lot that I talk to with this motor. 16lt/100km seems the norm from guys I know with them.....pretty poor for a "modern day diesel" in my opinion, my old 4.2 dinosaur gets better than those sort of figures.....(just hehehe)

Sorry if this is not music to your ears. Look for the positives though....being 3lt it shouldn't last long LOL.....just kidding..just kidding

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 386393

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 16:09

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 16:09
Haven't you got anything to do Trevor, go and turn the telly on and watch the qualifying for Bathurst and behave yourself LOL
FollowupID: 653983

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 17:35

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 17:35
MRT

Speed will affect fuel consumption.

There is a big difference in fuel consumption at 100km/h to fuel consumption at 130 km/h.

What speed was your cruise control set on.

My 4.2 TD patrol uses about 12ltrs/100km at 100 km/h and 14ltr/100kms at 120 km/h.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 386408

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 17:58

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 17:58
Hi Mrt

If its a new one you should be a long way from thinking about getting it chipped.

The first thing is to verify wether or not its getting what its advertised to do and if not
its Nissans problem.

Your window sticker will tell you but its around 14lt/100km in city, 10 something in country at 100 and 11.4lt/100km overall.

You can expect these figures from about when its new , and you get them if car is not modified and essentially by keeping up with normal traffic and at up to 100km assuming your tyres are about 30 psi.

If you don't then as above its Nissan problem.

Often though drivers don't measure accurately or base things on one trip.

If you haven't already then record every time you fill it up , keep a little note about the type of driving and tyre pressures and a steady average will emerge.
E.G. if your doping 110 then expect it to drop etc

I have friends who get 11-12 in that car and my own 4800 patrol has always hovered around 16-17 over its 200,000km for normal trip/commute.

AnswerID: 386410

Reply By: Member - TJ (VIC) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 19:33

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 19:33
G'day MRT, I've had my new 3ltr CRD since February (built Sept 08) and I've done 18500k's. I just drove 4500k's to the Gold Coast and back towing a 750kg Camper Trailer and I averaged 15.1 l/100km.

A girl I work with asked me today how the fuel economy in it was as she only gets 19l/100km. (hers built Feb 08) Shocking. Nissan have said its because you've got a roof rack and a winch. I don't think so. There are a few theories out there around Nissan tuning to meet pollution standards with no regard for economy and they are covered extensively on the Nissan Patrol Forum. Check out the link.

http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/
AnswerID: 386421

Follow Up By: cocky - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:25

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:25
Hi mrt,
We've also got a 3lltr CRD ute purchased May 08 for the farm.
Initially my farmer husband complained about the fuel consumption and reckoned the speedo was out (he was used to driving the old Navara around with the foot flat to the floor and the speedo on this new fancy ute said it was going considerably faster than he thought it was) that was until I followed him into town one day, - all I can say is that he was lucky that the ute wasn't impounded under Victoria's hoon laws.
So he slowed down and naturally, fuel consumption improved. He's done just over 50,000kms and says that he would be happy if he got 14l/100kms. Towing an off-road camper and knocking around the farm it tends to work out at 19l/100kms.
We also find that it has a cut-out when it get to 4,500 revs so if anyone has a cure for that we would really interested to know about it.
Good Luck
Dee
FollowupID: 654009

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 21:35

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 21:35
Hi Dee, to answer your question about achieving more than 4500rpm and as you said it will not go any higher......that's because the Governor has come in to stop it reving any higher other wise it would blow up......now most diesel motor achieve their maxing HP at around 3500 to 4000 rpm so any revs over that is a waste. The torque in a diesel motor is the most important comes in around 1800 rpm and peters out around 3000 rpm and that is where you should operate the motor in this rev range to achieve the best economy and power.
FollowupID: 654018

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 23:48

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 23:48
To Cocky

Revving one of these motors out to that may well qualify you for the Guiness book of records...

Fastest known detonation of a Grenade LOL

Just kidding maybe

FollowupID: 654032

Follow Up By: Damo1970 - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 01:43

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 01:43
LOL, roofrack & winch.....

I've got a roofrack fully loaded with camping gear & 2 bikes. I have a winch, dual batteries, rear wheel carrier with 2 spares, raised suspension, the rear full of gear & for the past 9 months i have towed a caravan weighing over 2 tonne around Australia.

On the entire trip - 36,000km so far - i have averaged 15.6L/100km in an '05 GU 3.0L, not the CRD version. There are too many examples out there of poor consumption in the CRD models for there not to be an issue.

I met a guy at Kununurra who was on his 4th 3.0L GU. He was towing a 3 tonne Kedron van & had done so with all 4 vehicles. He loved the first 3 but absolutely hated his current CRD as it had less power & used 5L/100km more fuel
FollowupID: 654037

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:27

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:27
mrt

A good diesel fuel system specialist will improve it.

My 4.2 improved by about 10 - 15% after having a fuel system service. This included fuel pump timing, injector opening pressures reset to optimum and new filters. It cost me about $800 I think but it was some time ago. Anyway it was worth every cent.

AnswerID: 386427

Follow Up By: Damo1970 - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 22:24

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 22:24
Shouldn't need to do any of that with a new vehicle
FollowupID: 654227

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 19:33

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 19:33
I had my 4.2l TD GU fuel system serviced with about 12,000km on the clock and it made at least 10% difference.

Maybe it shouldn't need it but it did make a difference in my experience. The guy who serviced the system explained why and it made sense at the time.

As the motor comes down the production line they just bolt bits on. When it come to injectors they just pull the required number from a bin and screw them in. They are all within spec but given the tolerances alowed there can be a fair bit of variation, By tuning out that variation the fuel efficiency is improved.

FollowupID: 654304

Reply By: Fatso - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:49

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:49
I wouldn't worry too much about the economy of any car if you were happy with other features. The differance between 14l/100 & 12l/100 is only 300 litres over 15,000 klm. The average Australian car only does 15,000 klm per year. At an average price of say $1.40/L a total fuel bill for 15,000klm is only $2,940 when you get 14l/100. At 12l/100 it is $2,520. Thast's a differance of $420.
If you want to worry about costs take a look at your depreciation. ATO would probably let you get away with 22.5% in the first year if you use it for business. If you paid about $50,000 + GST & onroads your car might have depreciated as much as $11,250.
Fuel is about the cheapest & easiest party of car ownership. Garaging & maintainence & all the other stuff nobody ever thinks about except accountants would put the average bloke off car ownership.
AnswerID: 386434

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 07:46

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 07:46
Hi Fatso

Thats always been an arguement of mine and translates to a diesel with 1/3rd better economy than a petrol being worth only about 6-7% of the true running costs , for some though because you put your hand in your pocket every week for fuel its a much more visible 6-7% and mentally harder to plan around.

FollowupID: 654245

Reply By: Rhys - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 22:12

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 22:12
The windscreen fuel consumption figures are set under very specific driving conditions and are not necessarily what you will achieve with the vehicle, what they are great for is comparing vehicles to each other, Rhys.
AnswerID: 386445

Follow Up By: Rhys - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 22:22

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 22:22
Link to Govt site explaining labels
FollowupID: 654025

Reply By: snow - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 11:05

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 11:05
I have a 2006 Patrol (manual) with 60 odd thousand km.

I do a fiar amount of highway running and typically stick around the 100kmph limit and typically only get 800km out of the two tanks before low fuel light comes on.

Running around town I find is little different.
AnswerID: 386687

Reply By: TotalPM - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 22:34

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 22:34
Use fuel treatment & invest in a DP Chip. I use both from www.fueladditive.com.au.The combination of both will improve fuel economy and increase power.
AnswerID: 387108