Portable BBQ's

Submitted: Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 21:35
ThreadID: 72903 Views:15307 Replies:8 FollowUps:14
I've been researching bbqs as opposed to stoves for cooking outside the camper. Although the Jayco camper has an internal kitchen, we choose to cook outside, like most people Ive noticed. I found there is a big range of bbqs which makes it difficult to decide which is best. Got some great tips from THIS SITE about bbqs suited to camping.
Has anyone got some ideas or recommendations for the best bbq to use when camping. Need to cook for 4 people, gas, and packs up.

Reply By: Wilk0 - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 22:02

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 22:02
Hi Stevo,

You can buy a flat BBQ from Bnnings for $100.00. it folds down and (If you have the room)fits in a lot of campers.

Mine goes under the bed in my Cub.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 386442

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 22:13

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 22:13
Gooday,
Have tried several over the past 9 years and now have a Weber Baby Q100. It is about the best we have had, won't fit in caravan boot, have to carry it in the Jeep. They aer Bloody expensive at $300-00. I got ours off E bay for $165-00, used
You can do a lot more with it than just BBq, but they only come with the grill plate and about $40-00 for the solid plate, have not shelled out for one of those yet, cook the eggs inside in a good frying pan.
Boroma604
AnswerID: 386446

Follow Up By: Member - Cookie & Di - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 22:35

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 22:35
We have a Weber BabyQ,everything gets cooked in it from Bread,Scones,Roasts & Eggs (Just use Paper Bake) And ours does fit in the caravan boot,Jayco 2002 Heritage Poptop.
FollowupID: 654027

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 06:30

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 06:30
Can you use the BabyQ to heat things in a container, ie boil the billy or cook a stew etc?
FollowupID: 654040

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin B1 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 10:19

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 10:19
Re Baby Q, agree with all above, a top unit. Downside is it`s a bit bulky to carry. With regard to the solid plate I got one of the rectangular plates from a camping shop, the one with the gutter along the front and a handle at each end. If you cut the tags for the handles off with an angle grinder and grind a little off each corner, the plate will fit perfectly into the baby Q after you remove the grill plate of course. Cost of plate about $24.00.
FollowupID: 654050

Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 10:23

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 10:23
Hi Stevo,

As an alternative, have a look at the Coleman duel fuel stoves. No need to carry an extra gas bottle. We carry the tank full and an extra litre bottle of shellite inside as well as lighter, barbmate and tongs.

Rob
Rob M

AnswerID: 386469

Follow Up By: MartyB - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 12:10

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 12:10
We also use a dual fual stove. I have the 3 burner model and I have a flat plate off a coleman roadtrip grill as the BBQ plate. Very large cooking surface enough for the five of us and packs away heaps smaller than a gas stove.

from Marty.
FollowupID: 654059

Reply By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 10:47

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 10:47
We fitted a 2 burner Sovereign stainless steel roll-out BBQ in our van, plumbed into the caravan gas via a bayonet. Expensive, but convenient, and no more cooking smells of burnt steak in the van!!!

Is relatively easy to take out for side camping trips running off a 2kg cylinder we also use for gas light.

A mate has a similar arrangement in the off road camper he built on the back of a Lancruiser cab chassis.
AnswerID: 386474

Reply By: OREJAP - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 11:41

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 11:41
We have tried numerous ideas but we found what suits us best is a cheap one burner stove from K mart $20...six pack of butane cans $5 special and a cast hot plate. "griddle" one side smooth the other so in the morning if you want to cook eggs,bacon & snags use the smooth side later if you want to griddle a steak or chops use the other side. The cast iron plate we bought at Ray's outdoors for $18. For all other cooking stews,cakes, bread & roast NOTHING beats the camp oven. The beauty of the one burner stove is it's packed in a bag easy access so if you want to stop on the side of the road & boil a kettle, BBQ or heat hot dogs it;s simple & easy. You don't have to connect gas bottle. IMO. We have an outback Dove.
AnswerID: 386479

Follow Up By: Member - Gary J (NSW) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 10:18

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 10:18
OREJAP,

Just be careful that the cast iron plate does NOT cover the gas cartridge side of the stove.
I have seen a warning to this effect on some brands.
FollowupID: 654253

Reply By: Cruiser .- Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 12:23

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 12:23
Steve,

We use a Hot Ozi BBQ

Folds down to nothing and has its own container

Works a treat for us.

Cruiser
AnswerID: 386487

Follow Up By: Member - Alanc - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 23:12

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 23:12
I second comments above, it folds down in no time to a compact box that is easy to store. used to have a three legged thing which was no where as compact and easy to use as the Hot Ozi BBQ. Purchased ours from Ranger Camping a few years back. Regards
Alanc
FollowupID: 654104

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 10:20

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 10:20
Our 4wd club has many members with the Hot Ozi BBQ and all are more than happy with it.
I have one as well and not only use it when camping or caravanning but as a home BBQ also. As said packs away really easily.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 654136

Follow Up By: oz doc - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:33

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:33
We have one as well. Good when it is too windy to cook on a regulated gas stove. I was wondering if anyone has used a 'trivet' over the flame instead of the top plate so that you can boil a pot or kettle? doc.
FollowupID: 654183

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:39

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:39
Yes you can use a trivet over the burner.
We have a large one that almost covers the bottom plate this way we often boil the billy while cooking vegetables in a pot or heating up a tin of chunky soup etc. Works great when we are tenting it. The top plate is also great in the van as an extra large fry pan.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 654186

Follow Up By: Member - Brenton H (SA) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 09:46

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 09:46
Yep, Hot Ozi is the go!

Very versatile and quick to pack up. We use a large pot on the burner to heat our shower water..it's quite quick.
FollowupID: 654251

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 12:30

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 12:30
Agree with all above

FollowupID: 654263

Reply By: Member - peter C (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 12:51

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 12:51
we travel with a hillbilly camp oven and medium frypan with hillbillys gas conversion. the whole lot fits in their canvas bag [approx 50x40 cms]. plus the gas bottle. i am able tocook with an open fire;heatbeads or gas and i use this for all our outside cooking. i find it smaller,lighter and more flexible than a bbq peter
AnswerID: 386492

Reply By: G.T. - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 13:18

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 13:18
Have a look at a Gasmate G2727. Folds up fairly flat ,has a reversable hot plate, one side ribbed , other side is flat. Has a low pressure regulator with a low thru to high settings. Regards G.T. p/s you shoud be able to see it thru Google.
AnswerID: 386872

Follow Up By: G.T. - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 13:21

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 13:21
I paid $150.00 for mine 3 years ago, hopefully they have not gone up much since then. Regards G.T.
FollowupID: 654432

Follow Up By: Ferret - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 01:43

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 01:43
Greetings, trying to find one of these in Perth to look at without much luck. When you say low pressure regulator, will that plug into the extra bayonet fiting I fitted to my new Jayco for just such a thing??
Scott
FollowupID: 654558

Follow Up By: G.T. - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 16:48

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 16:48
Hi Ferret. Not sure what you mean by the extra bayonet fitting on your Jayco. The hose supplied with the BBQ has the regulator which fits onto the side of the BBQ, the other end goes onto your gas bottle. I had to buy an adaptor for my gas bottle. Gasmate can be found on Google under Sitro Group Australia Pty Ltd.
Another feature that the G2727 has is that it comes with a drip catch tray . The deck of the BBQ can be tilted forward so as to allow the fat to run off the hot plate into the tray, or the BBQ can be used level , no tilt. I am on the Gold Coast so I cannot suggest where to look for one in Perth. Good luck! Regards G.T.
FollowupID: 654611