Nissan Terrano/Pathfinder Info?

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 21:51
ThreadID: 72919 Views:2819 Replies:2 FollowUps:3
Hello, I'm new here and having already got some great stuff from this site, I'm hoping to get some info from people with more experience than me.

I don't have a huge budget for a 4WD so I've been searching for something at the cheaper end of the market.

There seems to be good things said about the Nissan Pathfinder/Terrano. So far I've looked at a few ranging from 1988 to 1992 models. Some appear to be quite well looked after, with heaps of extras, despite their age and the mileage being around the 300k mark.

So my question is, would I be buying a heap of problems or do these vehicles go ok considering their age and miles? Is there anything I should look out for as a major headache?

I'm leaning towards a manual, turbo diesel, but is the price of diesel going to kill me?

Are their any other vehicles I could also consider?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Reply By: mikehzz - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 22:58

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 22:58
I have a 98 Pathfinder on LPG that has 350K on the clock and is still going quite well (doesn't use any oil and never had a factory service, I just change the oil and filters every 6 mths regardless of km's). Its been all over the place and never let me down. Petrol models are too thirsty but the LPG is great...costs the same to run as a Honda Civic. Can you get a Pathfinder in diesel? I thought they were all auto/petrol?

AnswerID: 386552

Follow Up By: beach40 - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 23:11

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 23:11
Thanks for the reply Mike.

I'm actually looking at the earlier models, 1988 - 1992.

Some were badged Pathfinder, some Terrano.

The one you refer to is quite different from the previous models, I believe.
FollowupID: 654102

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 23:11

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 23:11
Check out the Nissan forums like the Patrol one and work from there.

FollowupID: 654103

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 23:19

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 23:19
No worries. I notice a few dual fuel models on carsales.com.au for about 10 grand and they only have 130K on the clock. Seems like really good value to me...I'm tempted myself.

FollowupID: 654106

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 08:57

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 08:57
Hi Beach, Two chaps in our club have Teranos ['89 & '92] and a friend owns a '94 pathfinder.

Both the Teranos are 2.7 Turbo Diesel autos, one 340,000 kms, the other 260,000 kms. They are both well maintained and have given the owners years of faithful service. In fact one bloke was thinking of selling his about a year ago and I jumped at the chance, but he decided to hang on to it.

The two issuses they seem to suffer from is corrosion to the floor under the rear seat and can run a little warm when under load on a hot day. Apparently the latter was solved with the addition of an after market extra small radiator of some kind, haven't seen it but told it works ok.

The Pathfinder is a V6 petrol 5 spd manual, coming up to 200,000 kms on the dial and has hauled a small pop-top Coromal van around most of the state.
Again, no issuses and again well serviced.

Ive driven the pathfinder and one of the Teranos and have been impressed with both. Both are comfy, handle well but the Pathy is a little quicker.

There doesn't seem to be a lot of info on the net about these models unless I'm looking in the wrong places, however, talking to owners has given me the info I really want.
Next time your at the shops or servo etc and you see a terano or pathy, just ask the owner. Never found anyone that doesn't like talking about their 4by.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 386570