Holland Track Feedback

Hi all, we're planning to do the Holland Track from Hyden to Coolgardie this weekend coming (17-18 October 2009). Anyone been on the track in the past couple of weeks? We'll be doing it on our own (one 80 Series L/C) and don't wanna get stuck out there! Has there been much rain lately? Also, we plan to do it in just two days (Saturday and Sunday), any recommendations on a good campsite?
Peter B
Support Atheism: A not-for-prophet organisation

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 16:27

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 16:27
Hi Peter, not done the track this year but there are plenty of good camping spots.Thursday Rock is a particularly good spot. Others will comment on current conditions. Word was that in July early August the track was inundated in places.

AnswerID: 386717

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 18:21

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 18:21
hi peter
ring wave rock resort ph 98805022 the manager there will have current knowledge
or will direct you to a source of current track conditions via eg: local police or garage/shire office
plenty of campsites along the way if your going alone notify police at hyden when leaving and then again when you arrive at other end if you dont have a hf radio
i have done that and they dont mind
but dont forget to tell them you got through or they will not be amused if they were to set out looking for someone who got through ok and failed to tell them there's books availuble that were written by by the guy who re invented it and give all the imfo you need "the holland track"
FollowupID: 654293

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 18:25

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 18:25
hi you can look it up on exploreoz.com they have full details on here
FollowupID: 654297

Follow Up By: Member - Peter B (WA) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 21:30

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 21:30
Thanks Dunc, will definitely check out Thursday Rock.

FollowupID: 654325

Follow Up By: Member - Peter B (WA) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 21:36

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 21:36
Thanks Barry, seen all the info on exploreoz.com and today bought a book on the track, which recommended by the site. Was mainly looking for news on current conditions. I'll give the resort a call as you suggested and also the Liberty servo before we go.

FollowupID: 654329

Reply By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 00:43

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 00:43
There hasn't been that much rain in the Goldfields lately so the track should be fine. We were down at Burra Rocks a few weeks back (the long weekend) and drove some of the old woodline track to Cave Hill and you could have done it in your Commodore.

I've done it 3 or 4 times now and only ever found it wet once and that was with a big rainstorm that come thru over the June long weekend one year.

Can vouch for the abundence of great campsites - lots of nice open spots just along the track, between the rocks as well as at the rocks. Enjoy.

Paul B Kal
AnswerID: 386812

Follow Up By: Member - Peter B (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:40

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:40
Thanks for that Paul, we're looking forward to the trip and especially to finding a good place to set up camp on Saturday night. Seems to be heaps of choices,
Peter B

FollowupID: 654531

Reply By: Duffa69 - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 01:41

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 01:41
G'day Peter....we travelled Coolgardie to Hyden last week in our Prado & camper trailer.

No probs with the track...quite a few bog holes, but most pretty dry & / or with sidetracks. Plenty of wildflowers out at the moment.

Heaps of great campsites outside of the publicised ones....lots of choice.

2 days might be a bit quick IMO...we averaged ~25km/hr for a lot of the track due to camper trailer and oncoming traffic (most travelling west to east).

Cheers. Duffa.
AnswerID: 386816

Follow Up By: Member - Peter B (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:45

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:45
Thanks Duffa, and great news about the wildflowers, that's the main reason we decided to go this weekend!
Peter B

FollowupID: 654532

Follow Up By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:50

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:50
Yeah, I d agree with that - see if you can scam an extra day off so you're not so rushed. There's plenty to see and I've always done it with two nights on the track but thought we could do with an extra day. If you only have two days it'll certainly whet the appetite to get back for a more thorough look at some stage.
FollowupID: 654534

Follow Up By: Ranger Dan - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 10:25

Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 10:25
Hi Peter

Look at doing the Holland Track this weekend where the track conditoins good not to wet out there or was it ok.

Dan
FollowupID: 657432

Reply By: Member - Peter B (WA) - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 17:06

Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 17:06
Hi Dan, we only did the Hyden to Coolgardie section but the track was good when we did it a couple of weeks back. A few deep mud holes but most were dried up when we were there. Should still be OK, I don't think it's rained since then. Great country, very diverse from sandy plains to red mud to gravel. All sorts of vegetation too, from low desert-type scrob to big trees. The wildflowers were stunning, hope there are some left when you do it. See the attached pictures.
PeterImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

AnswerID: 389715