Who lets the Missus drive? That is - The Better Half
Submitted: Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 19:32
Member - Tonyb (FNQ)
I love driving always have, and from day dot I was the one that drove. Problem is the wonderful wife also likes a drive, but was always quite happy to passenger and watch the sights of Australia. Last trip across Australia I might have only given her the wheel for 500 or so Ks on the flat stuff!
We got to thinking, as we a prone to going
places where not too many other venture, that this may not be a good thing. What happens if I can not drive back out and the wife has to tackle some extreme 4 x 4 obstacle on the way back out?
Well it was easy really, the wife has to learn to do the serious 4 x 4 driving which means I have to give up the wheel on some of these treks. I must admit I am not a good passenger and I am a wee bit cheeky. I say things like
Those branches really do not need to scrape down the paintwork! :-)
You do not have to drive over those rocks, you can try to miss them you know :-)
You can also use other gears other than 1st low! We do want to get more than 20Ks today you know :-)
Are we there yet , or is it my turn again, ETC ETC
Seriously it is all good fun and the wife has discovered that this is a really good thing, she loves taking the wheel and tackling the challenge ahead.
Now I have a problem that some may be able to help with....how often will I have to give up the wheel now she has found this out? :-)
Cheers Tony
Reply By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 19:46
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 19:46
Haha, I have the opposite problem... how do I get my man to drive more often? :)
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 22:10
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 22:10
Easy.........just drive like a typical woman.......hehehe.
Cheers......Lionel.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:05
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:05
Good on you Amy :-) Lionel is asking for trouble I would say :-) Cheers
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:09
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:09
Good on you Amy :-) Lionel is asking for trouble I would say :-) Cheers
Reply By: mazcan barry - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 19:53
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 19:53
hi
get over it tony your wife is equally as capable as you
it's just that problem in your head and attitude that needs training
ive met a lot of very capable women 4wdrivers who also tow large caravans as
well and there more gentle on the machinery
i taught my 17yr old daughter to 4wd in mud rocks wet and dry hills and sand and i'm proud of her and happy to sit in the passenger
seat
there's a 50/50 chance that one day you may not be able to drive and it might be after she gives ya a decent back -hander for mouthing off at her lol
you had to learn or were you just a natural
lol
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:02
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:02
:-))) Yes we all have to learn - But If I can say most of it it did come naturally. A few of us
young lads were hardcore 4 x 4 not long into our driving days, it was a lot more fun than spinning
wheels :-)
Put a 4 x4 into a
young hoons hands and we definitely found out what they could and could not do.
I may get over it...and I stress May!!! Cheers
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:17
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:17
In our case it's a no-brainer......... my better half wouldn't know a clutch from a indicator stalk. She's never been behind the wheel of anything and has no interest in doing so.
So, I get to do all the wheeling...... just hope I never break a leg out in the never never.....
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:24
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:24
Driving that bucket a bolts, you wont have to worry, it will never make to the never never to start with !!!
Pesty
Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:25
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:25
Pesty, I hope Roachie doesn't drive a Crusier!!!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 09:43
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 09:43
Karen, Wont be long hahaha
Reply By: Member - Axle - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:18
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:18
Tony!! i envy you..lol; If i was to say just one of those statements while she was driving it would be all over. " Stick your 4by up your......" and off she would go on foot in the opposite direction. Bloody hot head it is, but yep she drives, all i gotta do is hang on and shut up..lol.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:23
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:23
Axle :-) I'm lucky she gives as good as she gets, we both have a wicked sense of humor.
Still worried my driving days are numbered ;-). Cheers Tony
Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:25
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:25
I do the driving 99.9% of the time in our Cruiser. Even when we are outback or severe off road, it is still me behind the wheel. It is just natural Geoff gets in the passenger
seat and I automatically get in the drivers
seat. I suppose with Geoff doing 5000 or so km's a week in our Kenworth, he doesn't feel like driving when we are in the Cruiser. Go you girls, show your hubby's how you can drive just as good as him!!!!!!
:-)
Karen
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:27
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:27
I know the girls can drive as good as the blokes - problem is I love driving.
Most of my jobs have been car based doing lots of
miles... only get a bit sick of it after a day of 1000k. Then tomorrow
well lets go again!!
Anyway - its started now - I am going to have to give that wheel over lots now :-)
Reply By: Member - David Will (VIC) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:26
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:26
Hi Tony.
I also enjoy driving and the wife is also very happy to be a passenger, but I make her drive from time to time to keep her skills up. After she gets back behind the wheel for awhile l have to fight her for the driving
seat but it is all good.
I have all confidence in my wife's driving skills and would recommend that all other half's should know how to drive the 4wd in most situations.
Who knows one day she might have to do it all by herself to get us out of trouble.
David Will
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:34
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:34
David - That's good & why we are getting the missus up to speed
We got to a washout the other day on a back track to the
CREB track, first serious
hazard. I said "right this is first low and the line we need to take is ...etc"
The reply was "isn't this where we turn around?"
She plucked up the courage took the line and after hanging a few
wheels up skywards - across we went easy as pie - Wow! she said
Its a matter of knowing your cars limitations, was first lesson :-)
Happy driving & Cheers
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:39
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:39
Hi Tony,
I hang on to the steering wheel, and I am directed which way to point the cruiser.
Fysh is the navigator, which I have come to understand is a very important position to hold. Without her map reading skills :/ we would never arrive at our destinations. ;) Fysh is also very alert to how close I may get to the vehicle in front and at what speed we should be traveling at, If I am to break these tolerances , I am told through a high shrilling scream that I am to close or going to fast.
Who needs a GPS? ;)
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:37
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:37
Jon -
Well done thats the way to go, my problem is my navigator is usually to busy looking at the
views, that is until I say where the heck are we? (She is also a good speedo) :-)
Its then we find out it was that turn back there 20ks. It give us a good excuse to look for more short cuts though!
Safe driving & Cheers
Reply By: Holiday Hound - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:47
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:47
I like to drive and my husband doesnt have a problem with sharing the drivetime.
The other issue is if the other half cant drive for whatever reason- it only makes sense that both of you can drive.
It goes soooo boring being a passeneger all the time.
Although the ulitimate test would have to be if he still lets you drive after you nearly roll a 4wd with family tucked inside. The answer was yes.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:39
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:39
Im not a good passenger :-)
Looks like you found out your car limitations - a good lesson for future driving :-)
Keep it upright & cheers
Reply By: Member - Bruce T (SA) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 21:16
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 21:16
This sort of a post makes me quite angry. I hope it is a tongue in cheek post. I drive frequently and expect to. I love testing my skills, but I am also more than happy for Bruce to test his. We have always taken it in turns.
Bruce can't read maps and so I do that. I read all of the 4x4 magazines and condense the info we need, or point Bruce in the direction to read the info.
We look at it that we compliment each other.
However, I think there is one more really important reason for both feeling competent and comfortable. What if the worst happens and one of us is left to drive the rig home? I don't want to be doing it for the first time.
I remember backing our rig into a space at a Caravan
park on one occasion and having so many women come up and congratulate me. They weren't 'allowed' to do it which really saddened me.
Di
Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 23:09
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 23:09
Recently I talked to a woman in a van
park in NW WA. Her husband had suffered a heart attack and had been airlifted out to
Broome. She was stuck in a van
park hundreds of
miles away and was not able or confident to drive herself to
Broome to be with him. She had to get a family member to come from down south to drive her out.
Why shouldn't women drive? Do we want to be in a situation like that - or worse? I have driven our 4WD since we purchased it a long time ago and more recently did 4WD training as did my husband. We both learnt so much that we regretted not having done so earlier.
We share all our driving, usually on a 2 hourly rotation. We are each aware of the vehicle and what it is doing, and often it is me who first notices when things are not as they should be.
Sharing the driving is part of the fun of any trip - dont be put off by a bloke who thinks he is the only one who can drive a 4by.
Val.
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - A J- Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 08:37
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 08:37
We stayed in a caravan park in Mt Isa many years ago and when we arrived there was no-one about so we set ourselves up. Next morning we found out that a couple had been coming across the Barkly Tablelands in their troop carrier and van when the husband decided to have a heart attach.
The wife was a nurse so she knew what was happening and that she had to get him to medical help as soon as possible. But the troopie was his toy and she had never driven it - not only had she not driven it she had never towed anything behind a motor car.
They both survived the experience.
A J
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:53
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:53
Di - Hang loose now :-) I am amazed at this reply "This sort of a post makes me quite angry"
Why?
Above follow ups have got the wrong direction of this thread - Its not about "a bloke who thinks he is the only one who can drive a 4by". Its about how do you give up a passion :-)
My wife is a great driver and been driving for as many years as I have, just not off road.
As I said in the post it was about time we gave her some 4x4 time and yes its all tongue in cheek - we both have that sense of humor.
BUT - IF SHE IS HAPPY TO STAY A PASSENGER THAT SUITS ME JUST DANDY :-)
Cheers and happy 4x4ing
Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 21:51
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 21:51
Well its an individual thing Tony , generally they are not so much into it , but like any group , some go for it and others just not interested.
My wife is happy to say she isn't into the tricky bits , but never the less she drove the entire Simpson last year , every kilometer, to support our trail bikes and it was a really great experience for her and made her more enthusiastic about the whole scene.
I did wonder why she didn't get bogged more often , someone had told her about lockers and she punched them up and left them in.
Probably was time I had the diffs re-tightened anyway, and the clutch was already nearly worn out.
P.S. I still do 90% of the driving of highway and 100% of the
parking , but its good to know I have backup with experience now !
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:57
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:57
Yes you are correct - its an individual thing.
It is not easy when you are used to the small cars and then you get a rig you have to reverse park - No wonder she takes off around
the block for another car park :-)
Catch you out there somewhere - cheers
Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 21:53
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 21:53
I have taught my better half to drive in off road situations just in case it was required, the first time i took her out she enjoyed it so much and did so
well i had trouble getting her out of the
seat!! she is very confident and capable of handling the beast in most circumstances. i do most of the driving usually but she always asks if i would like her to do some driving. i have no problems or hesitations in letting her do the hard driving.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:59
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:59
Just what I thought... Yep The wheel has a new owner :-)
Take it easy
Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 22:08
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 22:08
goodday all
we share the driving although i probabaly do the lions share denny reckons being the passenger is boring and seems to take forever to get anywhere
the only thing i have done before we left this year is add a winch after a minor incident last year as i am getting to old for the hand winch
BUT she must do more offroad not just highway
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:01
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:01
I am lucky Julie genuinely likes to sit and watch the country go by, but now? The taste of the fun bits means they will now be shared :-)
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 22:24
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 22:24
When I'm behind the wheel the missus is my co-driver with all the duties that position entails:
Lock the hubs in.
Walk the bog.
Pull the overhanging branches aside.
Roll the boulder out of the way.
Shovel at the ready.
Hook the snatch straps up.
Reach behind and grab another beer.
When she's behind the wheel.........I grab my own beer.......hahaha.
Cheers......Lionel.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 22:28
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 22:28
Talk to the police officer...
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 12:12
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 12:12
Hahahahahahaha............I like your way of thinking Lionel.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:13
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:13
Di up there will be upset with you :-)
But you have given her all the important rolls :-) LOL
Cheers Tony
Reply By: Kurd - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 22:52
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 22:52
My wife and I first met in the NT many years ago at a time when I was doing a lot of recreational driving all through the
top end. The roads were pretty crook by today’s standards and we were driving old Holdens as we couldn’t afford 4WDs back then (1960s). Right from the start she made it clear that if we were going to get along OK she would have to be doing at least half of the driving. Firstly because she wanted to “catch up” to me and secondly because she found it such great fun. She didn’t take long to catch up and having quite a daredevil nature she also took us
places that I was hesitant to consider. Sometimes we didn’t make it back to work in
Darwin until the Tuesday but we only ever abandoned one vehicle out in the bush.
I think it’s proved to be great insurance as no matter where we are, if one of us got the vehicle in then the other can get it out again if there is an injury or illness. This is a serious consideration as one reaches a certain age but thinks you can still do all those same things you’ve been doing for 40 years.
Reply By: Member - Cookie & Di - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 23:13
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 23:13
We share the driving no matter what the conditions are. Change drivers every 2 hours. And (Di) does the bigger percentage when reversing the caravan.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:03
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:03
Wife is not good at that reversing thing - next lesson is to get the boat down the ramp - What a girl...Loves 4x4ing and
fishing, well and me!
That has to be a blokes best woman! :-)
Reply By: OREJAP - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 23:31
Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 23:31
I think it's a good idea that our partners know how to drive the fourby in certain situations. When we go on a trip we change drivers every two hours. If my wife falls asleep whilst I am at the wheel I pull over & go for a walk myself to have a break because "Yawning is a warning" I think one of the worst things is mum & kids all asleep and Dad drives onward.....Why? What's the rush? If I am awake they should be too. If we are tired we pull over & have asleep it's amazing what a 15min siesta can do for you. I was away recently with a mate & his wife. They live on a farm & drive a ute & a Patrol S/W. We settled in at our camp site and proceeded to finalise our setting up when all the wives decided to go for a drive and look at a rather large dam wall & swimming area. About an hour later my mates wife returns on foot very hot & thirsty and we all thought...What the F.....? Something dreadful has happened. No. She had just bogged the patrol. My mate flew off the handle, yelling out "useless bitch" etc etc... I had not had a beer & had just finished chain sawing some wood so I got her a cold soft drink & into the pajero, following her directions to where the POOTROL was. All the other girls were sitting in the shade relaxing. Now ALL these ladies, well their hubbys All own 4 X 4's Not one lady told her to lock the front hubs in, let down the
tyres, drag the sand away fron the wheels & select low range & drive out, whuch is what I did, I asked why they hadn't helped. Most didn't have a clue what to do, certainly the lady who bogged it didn't (Had been living on a farm for 4 years) My wife told me later when they were all discussing what happened basically said, that the husbands couldn't be bothered to teach them,were impatient, rude & it was NOT worth the domestic. I asked my wife "well you knew what to do why didn't you help her?" My wife replied that the driver needed to understand the importance of getting to know her vehicle & maybe the walk back might help some positive thinking. When my mates wife drove the vehicle back to camp she was greeted by a bucket load of abuse from her husband. I wonder why she never asked if he could teach her how to drive the vehicle?. A month or two later we heard a story that she was on her way back to the farmhouse across a paddock in the wet. Lost traction, went for a gear change & luckily she froze & just kept the vehicle straight because it went backwards, off course a little and straight into the chook shed,fair bit of damage to the POOTROL but luckily for her the flooded creek was 30 metres behind her. Had she not hit the Hen house it could have been disastrous. Cause, lack of knowledge & near bald
tyres. Topped off by hubby's ignorance. Hubby's reaction...you guess?
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:40
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:40
Boy what stories - Glad my wife knows how to do basic 4 x 4.
Im not into that attitude your mate expressed - to old Aussie for me
We will get the wife up so speed and hopefully she will still let me drive :-)
p/s Tell your mate to teach the wife!
Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 01:49
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 01:49
Hubby does all of our driving, I enjoy being the passenger and the navigator however, in saying that if for some reason Hubby couldn't get us out of where we were I know that I could, I have been driving since I was 6 years old, tractors trucks and cars without brakes, anything that was drivable on a farm, Hubby has always liked to drive, I've always been happy as a passenger. My Dad always drove my Mum, back in those times the man always drove the woman however with our kids the girls do most of the driving, times they are achanging!!!!
Deanna
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:43
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:43
Deanna - Way to go - my type of Girl :-)
My wife also grew up on a pineapple farm driving all the machinery and obviously much like you.
Don't tell her I do intend to share the driving a bit more though ;-)
Yep times are a changing thats for sure!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 02:59
Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 02:59
Ha ha ha, Bevan has often offered me to drive but I'm happy letting him do it, don't want him having a coronary LOL. I did drive out of the Bungles though, I insisted on him having a proper look at the magnificent landscape, we both survived.
Deanna
Reply By: Member - The Crow (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 07:45
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 07:45
We share 50/50 with everything. Wife tows and hitches the van, she wanted to learn just in case something happened. She has also done 4x4 courses as she loves getting out there as well. She has even suggested some of the
accessories that we got for our Cruiser.
| 200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The CrowLifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 08:47
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 08:47
I do all of the driving these days. Even have to drive 'her' car as SWMBO says I pick on her for silly driving errors...lol
It is funny how times change. My dearest won the interclub Offroad Mud Racing event on the outskirts of
Darwin in the late 1980's. At one stage she held a bus drivers licence as we had small coaches for our business. Lifestyle changes saw to us acquiring an older 4by later on and when we settled in the Boro madam flatly refused to drive the old truck feigning a sore ankle and we had to go an buy her an automatic car. Now she has progressed to a softroader with pushbutton 4x4. She has flatly refused to drive my updated manual 4by as well :-)
But I have bush trained my dearest in all aspects of 4x4-ing including changing wheels, winching, radio comms, GPS mapping and satphone use and I am confident that should something happen to me whilst 'out there' that she is quite capable of getting us out of trouble :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:47
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:47
Willem - Good to see you back, those push button 4wd is what I have :-) Its no softroader though
Hopefully after we bring her up to speed she will hand the wheel back....Nah I'm done for :-)
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 09:00
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 09:00
Tony,
It's all good fun, and we all get as good as we give.
My better half always drives when we are in a hurry, and fuel consumption doesn't count. She was a second faster than me around lakeside race course in our younger days.
I haven't driven the
Birdsville track yet, she normally likes that one. As long as we stop for a drink at
Birdsville or Maree, my shout.
As Willem says above, I am sure she can get us out of trouble if I can't drive.
We share the driving for all of our travels. she usually drive for most of the morning and I sleep while she drives, and then I drive the afternoon. She can not sleep in the car. I don't think it is my driving?
And she still doesn't mind
cooking a meal after a long day
on the road when we pull up in camp, and good for a cuddle.
Reckon I have one of the best travelling companions you can get.
Will have to work out wine consumption though, l/100k. :o)
I know it is not as bad as the fuel consumption of the car, so it can't be too bad. More like litres/week.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:59
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:59
John - Yes its all good fun - That is a great partner you have there and I am a lucky bloke too, I recon mines just dandy, whats even better is that she thinks I'm just dandy as well.
She gets 4 ltr per 100k better then me and we get to see every ant on the side of the road. We like to share the meal
cooking and the cuddles :-)
Poor Girl :-)
Take it easy & Cheers
Reply By: johannagoanna - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 09:53
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 09:53
I solved this problem...............got rid of the husband, and took the 4WD with me!!! LMAO
However after driving to
Cape York and back on my own, I am happy now to let my new 'husband to be' drive most of the time now. I think I got it out of my system!!
Go girl power!!
Jo
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:01
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:01
Jo - Way to go Girl - Teach that new hubby well - he might give you a cuddle :-)
Hope you enjoyed the Cape!
Reply By: chris_s - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 09:53
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 09:53
We did the CSR last year. My partner and I took it in 2 hour shifts. She was the only woman we met driving and was shocked at the attitude 'it's mens business'. She only got stuck once on a long difficult sandhill whilst the others in the convboy had several attempts at it. We constantly asked ourselves, 'what would happen if you were unable to drive?' in this amazing landscape.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:53
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:53
Chris - I do not take the attitude that 'it's mens business' :-)
Its just that driving is a passion and now that passion will be shared, I think it is now my role to throw in some wisecracks about her driving :-) Its all in good fun.
I like it that when I am driving over a rough patch she sits there solid as a rock
When she drives over a rough patch I toss from side to side - thats fair is it not? :-)
Take it easy
Reply By: kend88 - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 10:18
Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 10:18
We share it about 60/40. I would be happy to drive even less but we both enjoy either reading a book or having a snooze while the other drives, so the above ratio works ok for us.
KenD
bris
Reply By: DiCros - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 21:13
Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 21:13
I laughed when I read your post Tony. I have just returned from
Central Australia and drove almost 7000 kms in 2 weeks .............all on my own! There were three lots of us who went and they offered to do some of the driving for me but it became a challenge for me to do it myself. I also got to do my first real 4x4 driving and loved it. I can't wait for my next trip away.
Di
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 19:18
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 19:18
Yep - Your hooked now :-)
Now will you be able to give up the wheel? :-)
Have lots of fun now - Next trip for us is the better half driving me up to Cape Flattery North of
Cooktown - Some sandhill and beach work.
Have fun & Cheers