4wd vans

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 10:24
ThreadID: 72967 Views:4206 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
a friend of mine is looking at a 4wd van mayby. just wondering what the delica turbo diesels are like??
darren

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 10:34

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 10:34
Grey Imports. Good by all accounts and well appointed and have seen them on the Simpson Desert tracks. But maybe they aren't suited for serious 4x4 stuff due to limited wheeltravel
AnswerID: 386854

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 16:06

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 16:06
Same wheel travel asa pajero or triton.
Will wait for the comments :o)
FollowupID: 654457

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:59

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:59
The Delica is built on the Pajero platform.

FollowupID: 654491

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:06

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:06
But it aint a Pajero. Thats for sure.
FollowupID: 654496

Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 11:39

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 11:39
We have an IVECO 4WD (camper) van. Very capable, considering the format. A bit of a snail on highways, but offroad and in the bush, it's good.
Slightly bigger than the Delica..
And with the Delica being monocoque, the IVECO is full (and rugged) chassis.
My impression is the Delica is an uprated 'vege van'...where as the IVECO is a down rated truck. The same chassis/running gear is, in fact, used as gun carriers and military vehicles in many Euro countrys.

AnswerID: 386856

Reply By: Member -Chops - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 12:28

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 12:28
Gday xr500. Have a look at the Delicaclub website. If you can't find the info that you want then it probably hasn't happened.
Delicaclub

I have a '96 TD. Good space, there are a lot more accessories available now and they have various levels of comfort and options. A lot of the running gear is similar to Pajero or Triton. we have members in all states and overseas and there is a lot of knowledge and experience in the club. Where abouts are you looking to buy?
Col
AnswerID: 386866

Follow Up By: xr500 - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 12:50

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 12:50
my mate is looking in adelaide but threr are some good ones in victoria
darren
FollowupID: 654431

Reply By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 12:47

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 12:47
Yep Delica for sure. Have two mates that own them. Tough as guts, spare parts are easy to come by, lots of after market gear available and not bad on juice too.
One of the guys I know has done a Googs track/Simpson trip in his.Seat are very comfortable too.
Good luck.
AnswerID: 386867

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 12:57

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 12:57
A lot of these in different versions were imported into NZ over a long period.

They were tagged as the "falling over vans " due to the narrowness of their track in relation to the height.

It does seem there is a bit of a cult for them here however.

In the importerd diesels one had to be very careful as the Japanese are notorious for lack of serving their vehicles.

Several guys tried Mitsibitsis for Taxis with disasterous results.

Mitsis make very good big diesel motors but make terrible small ones.

One driver bought a Sigma diesel and let his wife use it for 6 months and it seemed Ok.

It lasted 4 months as a taxi before dieing bigtime.

Another one blew the trans 4 months off the road to get parts from Japan.

The late 80's imported Pajero Diesels had a habit of cracking heads.

At one time a s/h head was fetching well into the several $k

Just my personal observations.
AnswerID: 386871

Reply By: kend88 - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 13:35

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 13:35
Know of someone who has been around Oz with his Delica, wife and two young kids, towing a camper trailer. I don't think they are approved/recommended for towing but he fitted a towbar and away they went. Completely trouble free trips and very comfotrable and enjoyable to drive. Still uses it as his family car.
Tradie at work has had one for years and loves it.

If I was looking for a family car that I could use for camping/travelling the Delica would probably be my first choice.
Must admit I am a bit biased towards Mitsubishi's, my first Magna did 350000 km and other than services and brakes tyres timing belts cost me $20 for a fuse.
Sold my second Magna 6 months old to buy a Mitsubishi Challenger to tow my 1.8 ton caravan. Touch wood, haven't spent a cent in 100000km.

KenD
Bris
AnswerID: 386873